Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hot Plate Meals

Options
  • 06-03-2010 3:18am
    Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭

I'm a student with two hot plates, one big one small. When both turned on together they are very low heat so normally I can only use one. I have a decent square saucepan about 4 inches deep heavy cast iron. I have one other frying pan and a pot I use to make pasta.
    Would anybody care to suggest some easy meanls to cook with this setup? I'm getting sick of bolognese.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Hot plate cooking:

Make chicken stock, leading then to one pot meals like chicken soup (clear broth), chicken noodle soup, chicken and corn soup, and then chicken stew (lots of vegetables and potatoes), and also to risotto including chicken risotto, chicken and mushroom risotto, and chicken and spinach risotto using the stock and the chicken; paella (using the chicken stock and the chicken); and a number of various and unnamed chicken and rice meals, cooked in a single pot or pan by absorption, including vegetables and herbs/spices (the chicken and chorizo bake on the cooking club threads could be re-engineered for stove-top cooking).

Beef stew. Beef stroganoff. Beef ghoulash. Fried steak and onions. Sausages and onions. Sausages on puy lentils, cooked in stock, with diced vegetables stirred through.

Fried pork chops with apple rings in the pan, served with mashed potatoes and a side of beans.