Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kicked out at 18?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    Are you a cub? No, then this doesn't apply to you. Did I say you were all spoiled? No.

Chip on my shoulder.. Yea right. Astounding and dumbfounded by how many people can't get their head around the fact that some of us just aren't interested in all that shallow crap that came with flash, crass, New Money Ireland.

I am a cub. I'm 21, still live at home. Have my degree plus work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Sofaspud wrote: »
    So if your parents, or indeed anyone, forced you out of what had been your home your whole life, seemingly when you had nowhere else to go, you wouldn't think they were cnuts?

Obviously not. But I guess I should light up my torch and get my pitchfork if I wanna fit in here. :rolleyes:

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I am a cub. I'm 21, still live at home. Have my degree plus work.

Why? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I have no interest in flash crap either, I've never taken my parents for granted, I'm grateful for all I have in life, I've always preferred to support myself and not rely on my parents/siblings/exes... but that's not going to make me agree with what that guy's parents did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Because I want to save up for a bit before getting out there. I want to move out with friends. It's ok with my parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

I can't believe Iamxavier got post of the day, I literally got half way then had to stop cause I nearly got sick...

No-one has all the answers.
    Situations in life and answers to those situations are all very specific.

I know at least when My sis got out of Uni she couldn't get a job in Ireland and my mother wouldn't let go on the dole!

She bought my sister a ticket to France, My sis then got a job there and that was it. In hindsight what seemed cruel ended up being the best option going. She made my sister really live, fend and work for herself. We all have that survival ability and even in this modern world it's what keeps us surviving and successful.

Effluo wrote: »
    Exactly. That's why it's best not to judge people who still live at home in their 20s until you know what their situation is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

I can't believe Iamxavier got post of the day, I literally got half way then had to stop cause I nearly got sick...

I know at least when My sis got out of Uni she couldn't get a job in Ireland and my mother wouldn't let go on the dole!

She bought my sister a ticket to France, My sis then got a job there and that was it. In hindsight what seemed cruel ended up being the best option going. She made my sister really live, fend and work for herself. We all have that survival ability and even in this modern world it's what keeps us surviving and successful.

She HELPED, that is my point.

Dudess wrote: »
    Exactly. That's why it's best not to judge people who still live at home in their 20s until you know what their situation is.

The persons parents, don't know what the kids situation is? :confused:

http://blogs.nerve.com/modernmaterialist/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/larry-david-yelling.jpg

(i love this pic)

The persons parents, don't know what the kids situation is? :confused:

http://blogs.nerve.com/modernmaterialist/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/larry-david-yelling.jpg

(i love this pic)

What if Effluo were Taoiseach?

Chillaxe wrote: »
    What if Effluo were Taoiseach?

I have no idea what you're talking about.

I'm done with this thread, the situation to start with is quite unlikely.

It's just all a bit silly and I'm worked up like.... gosh I dunno....

Larry David?
    http://static.tvfanatic.com/images/gallery/larry-david-as-himself.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

100% in agreement - the amount of crap here about how Ireland is a terrible deprived country on a par with Albania is laughable. But not moving out of home at 18 is not the same as being a spoilt brat.

That's true. To be honest, the thought of being kicked out of the house at 18 and being told to fend for myself completely would have been quite daunting for me. Same for most people I'd guess.
    If I ever have children I'll make sure they become reasonably self sufficient by the time they're 18 but I'd make sure they'd know they could ask for help if they needed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I knew so many students going around with designer handbags and MAC make up a few years back. All seems ****ing stupid to me. I guess I'm just jealous. All I want is for my Daddy to buy me Armani sunglasses... Maybe your parents will adopt me IamXavier?

I would need to see pics first.
    I'm 25 now, been working since I was 17 in 5th year,

I got my first job when I was 13.
    saved all summer to support myself in 6th year. I moved out at 21 (to mind my Gran) and kept a part time job and used my grant to support myself like most of the girls in my college that moved up to Dublin to flat share (having gone to college at 18 themselves).

Well aren't you just great... You done what most kids do (apart from minding your gran, fair dues), although they tend to start working at a younger age. Why did you leave it so late to start working if you are so worried about being a dependant??? That part does not make one ounce of sense.
    My big brother kept moving out and back again. Saved up to travel around Asia for 18 months. Returned and got a job in a DIY shop. Dad (retired!) waking him, driving him to work, Mam making his lunch & dinner, doing the cleaning and his laundry. Brother saves enough to **** off to S. America last year and is still there. Well for some eh?

Snap, although it was my younger brother that done this. Although, he was let off work and had no option but to go abroad, he's making a nice wage in oz now.
    I'm sure many of you see nothing wrong with this picture,

That's because there is nothing wrong with it, what so ever... It just seems like you are resentful that your brother got this chance to go abroad.
    I wouldn't do that to my parents.

Do what? Did your brother commit some kind of crime?
    They raised me to have a healthy attitude to money, seems only a handful of posters here understand what I mean...

How have you come to that conclusion? I have a great understanding of money, I worked in a bank once :)
    I don't know what everyone is getting so snippy about, maybe you just know I'm right. Gravy train has proved it can't last forever. I wonder which of us will fair better?

I don't think you are right ;)
    It's your whole attitude, EVERYTHING you write.

Everything? I have an attitude? Maybe you can tell me a little more about myself while we are here. I'd never say no to a free psychoanalysis.

Also, you are making a lot of assumptions ;)
    You can't even tell. That's sad :(

Now now. Lets not go down this road :P

This is called taking advantage of someone's generosity. Most parents will disappear backwards and diaapear up their own asshole for their kids. It's up to you to be decent enough to say, "No it's fine. You relax, I'll take care of myself." Again, concept lost on you...

You keep making assumptions about me. It's hilarious. Concept lost on me? You will find it's not.

Since you have made soooo many assumptions, I invite you to tell me a little bit about my history and myself. However much you think you know.

If they offer you money, and you have none, you would still say no? Even if they have 3 houses, a couple of cars and are pretty well off? Why? Pride??? Don't make me laugh.

Yea, it's the friends that are sad...

Well, they are for begrudging their "friends" what their parents give them. Why is it any of their business?
    Some people that move out are capable of putting on a wash and buying and cooking a healthy meal. Some people even get satisfaction out of that. I always find that the jealousy argument is used when someone has run out of logical points.

It's pretty obvious, either way, what's it to ya? It's none of your business yet you vent your anger and fustration at people who recieve a lot from their parents. Why?

Ever hear of KIPPERS?

Nyom nyom nyom, I loves kippers...

I wonder what the statistics for Ireland are?

Me too...
    iguana wrote: »
    London is far more expensive than anywhere in Ireland by a long, long way and people in London only get £65 a week.

I haven't lived in london, I don't know what it's like, but I do have the internetz and I can see the prices pretty clearly of houses, apartments and bedsits in certain areas.

Luxuries, like eating out, electronics and communications can be cheaper here but the actual basics that people need to survive are more expensive. You have to pay for every last drop of water that comes out of your tap. You have to pay the council for your right to live in your area.

I am not sure about your ESB, gas or oil charges, I do know your grocery shopping is a lot cheaper than here...

And you get far less money to cover all that with. There are plenty of people on the dole in London and they get by, it's tough, but it's possible. And it's easier in Ireland.

Have you been on social welfare in both countries? Living both in Dublin and London at the time you were on social welfare? If not, then you can't possibly say which is more difficult.

I have checked it out. You are an adult in Ireland at 18.

Correct, legally you are an adult. You can drink alcohol and smoke. That's all great.
    You are either talking complete nonsense, trolling or you have the completely misinterpreted the allowances given to parents with adult dependents in full-time education.

The state sees you as being a dependant if you are under 23 and are in fulltime college. Even if you are not in college, they do not pay you the full social welfare payment, any idea why?

[quote=[Deleted User];64803878]Eh...yes, you need to know what you're talking about or you're just talking out of your a*se. I've lived in Ireland and England, and you're very, very wrong if you think Dublin is anywhere near as expensive as London.

I just checked two websites, I checked the whole list of available apartments, houses and bedsits for both Dublin and London. They were very similar. If anything the dearest house I seen for rent was in Dublin ;)

You said Kings Cross was expensive,

It is.
    then you said you can get a room for sweet FA in Kings Cross.

You can.
    Which is it?

Both, why does it have to be one or the other... All I did was searched. I found expensive places and rather cheap places too. Can you comprehend that?
    You have no idea what you're talking about.

I done a pretty simple search, checked a few websites and got my answers. You can do it too. Check the prices and come back to me :)
    I live in London.

That must make you an expert auctioneer then...
    Even the worst kip of a house in the worst kip of an area is expensive.

It can be, if you are unable to shop around for an apartment, or are seriously stuck and need immediate accomodation. Not eveything is going to be extremely expensive.
    Or perhaps you think £530+ pcm plus bills and council tax isn't expensive.

It's not. Try €1200 a month, plus bills etc etc.
    Perhaps you are forgetting that if you live out in zones 4 or 5, your weekly travel costs are ridiculously high.

I bet your traveling costs are not 400+ a month ;)
    Perhaps you don't know how low a lot of the salaries are in London

Em... a lot of the salaries in Dublin are low... How is this a point?
    or what the minimum wage is.

£5.73 Or has it gone up last year?

Plenty of nice, big apartments you can have all to yourself in nice areas are above 1K. You wouldn't get a horrid little bedsit for that in most parts of London.

Em... I think you need to check out the prices again, I guess it has been quite some time since you have checked out the market?

Just because parents offer doesn't mean you have to take it.

No it doesn't, but if somebody takes it then why should they be given crap about it?
    Lots of parents are well intentioned and worried about their kids - that doesn't mean you should just take, take, take.

That's not a problem, if you are taking what is being offered to you, how is that wrong? If they starve to death after they give you a few pound, then it would be a problem, but that is not the case.
    You really don't have to take everything offered to you.

You don't have to, but there is nothing wrong with taking. Parents are happy to know they have helped financialy in troubled times. Most of them anyway.
    It's quite nice standing on your own two feet, you should try it sometime.

Assume much? Why is it you think I am not already standing on my own two feet? You have made a lot of assumptions tonight... why?

Oh so we can be right or wrong now, can we?

Yea, you have been wrong quite a lot in this thread.
    Incredible arrogance there.

No need for that. Have I aimed any insults at you tonight? No? Then don't insult me, good girl.
    You might want to educate yourself a bit more if you want to talk of right and wrong,

You know about my education too? Do I know you or something? No? How is it that you have come to yet another wrong conclusion?
    as most of your info on London is complete garbage.

You mean the info I got from property managment sites? I only recited what I read.
    I wouldn't be as crass as to dismiss your opinions as being 'wrong', however.

Where have I stated that your opinions have been wrong? Opinions can't really be wrong. Different? Yes.

Here, read this part again ;)
    Cringe all you want... you have been wrong a few times in this thread and post

I can debate just fine, thanks. It was simply an observation.

Keep it to yourself in future? You know nothing about me, so you are not capable of making such observations ;)

No, you think they're jealous. I could think of nothing worse than having to live with Mammy and Daddy as an adult

Good for you, a lot of young adults love living at home, they have a great relationship with them etc etc. What has it got to do with you exactly? Nothing... Why comment on it? Only to vent your hatret, angst and begrudgery... If it is something else, then please tell us.
    having to ring home if I was going to be late for my dinner, as if I were a ten year old.

That's common courtesy, letting the person who cooked you food that you will be a little late.
    I actually felt quite sorry for people still stuck at home during college. The whole student house thing was a huge part of the college experience for me. Horses for courses.

Why? If that's what they wanted, why feel sorry for them? If anything, they should be feeling sorry for you.
    Haha you're actually pulling that card,

Card? The living in modern Ireland part? Well it's not so much a "card" as it is a fact.
    after accusing another poster of being jealous and rubbing it in her face that you've been lucky?

Mind pointing that out to me? Where I said I was lucky? What is the corelation between me saying I am lucky and saying others are jealous?

You're really something else.

Thank you :cool:
    My point was, my parents are as wealthy or even better off than those of the people parading around in Abercrombie hoodies acting like their sh*t didn't stink.

Mine too.

I just wasn't brought up to believe the world owed me anything.

Nor was I.

Your posts don't strike me as being written by someone who knows the value of money.

Where have I mentioned anything about me squandering money, pissing it up against a wall, wasting money? Anywhere at all?

Another assumption. :)

Yep. Loads. I used to give grinds in South Dublin and could hardly believe the sense of entitlement among the 16-17 year olds. I've never, ever seen anything like it. I go to college with former Etonians, my sister's friends are all Cambridge students from seriously wealthy backgrounds, and I've still never seen anything like the spoiled South Dublin princess.

I lived in South Dublin for 17 years, I rarely witnessed this "South Dublin Princess" type person.

I know you find it difficult to understand, but parents that could, gave their children a lot. What are they to say? No daddy, thanks for the A&F hoodie, but I would rather a Primark one, or none at all? That's definately the least logical answer.

Me too. That's great, once the kids appreciate it. I'd love to give my kids as much as I could. The moment I felt they were becoming spoiled or taking it all for granted, that would be it. I'd be ashamed to raise a spoiled, entitled Celtic Tiger cub-like brat.

If they appretiate it, they can take all they want. If they don't appretiate it you are going to be ashamed? It's quite obvious that a lot of children don't appretiate what they have, but most do.
    Are you a cub? No, then this doesn't apply to you. Did I say you were all spoiled? No.

Chip on my shoulder.. Yea right. Astounding and dumbfounded by how many people can't get their head around the fact that some of us just aren't interested in all that shallow crap that came with flash, crass, New Money Ireland.

What shallow crap? Who here is interested in shallow crap exactly? Is this another assumption? It very well could be, but I will wait for your answer before I conclude :)

You do seem very confused. Where is it you live? Is it on this planet? Can you think of any reason why, in this current economic climate (there's the hint) that this young person might be living at home with his parents?

No, I'm not. I was never spoiled. I missed that waste, greed and sense of entitlement that defines a cub. Thank **** for that! Just because I was born to this generation does not make me a product of it.

Who gave you the right to point out who is and who is not a celtic tiger cub? Well? You have such hatred for those who have a lot. Why? I think there is a subtle hint hidden in the following quote.
    My parents never really benefitted hugely from the Celtic Tiger. No new cars, house extension, massive 18th/21st party or foreign holidays. Just my dad doing his normal job that he did all my life and my Mam stayed at home.

Ah, your posts make a lot more sense now. Thanks for clearing that up for us.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Because I want to save up for a bit before getting out there. I want to move out with friends. It's ok with my parents.

It may be ok with your parents mate, but Lil Kitten ain't going to be happy, you best move out dude...

Woohoo, post of the day... Thanks for showing me, I would never have known.

But why did you nearly get sick? Come on, tell me. :)

Why did your mother not let your sister go on the dole? Why did your sister not go on the dole anyway?

No idea why, but what your mother done seemed to be very cruel. An income is an income in this climate. Turning down cash, fair play.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭fuelinjection

Holy **** ... what's the record for longest relpy ever ?

"It is."

"I am.

"I am not full of myself"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Holy **** ... what's the record for longest relpy ever ?

"It is."

"I am.

"I am not full of myself"

Now now... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭fuelinjection

Now now... ;)

Only slagging ! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I moved out at 21 (to mind my Gran)

Why doesn't she mind herself? She's an adult, isn't she?

FAIL

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

[quote=[Deleted User];64803878] you're very, very wrong

Oh so we can be right or wrong now, can we? Incredible arrogance there. [/QUOTE]

Ah, cut and paste multi-quote - is there nothing it can't misconstrue?

I love the way people get so hell-bent on proving others wrong that they'll exaggerate any old guff to the point where they would never buy it themselves in a million years and then sit back and wait for the bugles of victory.

• I just checked two websites, I checked the whole list of available apartments, houses and bedsits for both Dublin and London. They were very similar. If anything the dearest house I seen for rent was in Dublin ;)

Oh.My.God. You checked a few websites. I'm sure if I'd just checked a few websites, I'd have a very different view of London prices as well. For a start, most of the affordable places on Gumtree etc are scams. Secondly, you obviously have NO IDEA of how many extras you need to pay on top of the rent. Have you ever heard of council tax? Water rates? These aren't £20 a month or whatever you seem to think they are. They easily add another couple of hundred onto the rent each month.
    It is.

OK, define 'cheap'. Include all the relevant council tax etc. I'm curious to know how 'cheap' you think it is to live in Kings Cross. I have a very good idea since it's 5 mins away and most of my friends live there but I'd quite like the laugh.
    Both, why does it have to be one or the other... All I did was searched. I found expensive places and rather cheap places too. Can you comprehend that?

You might want to work on your English, then. The way it was phrased made it look like living in Kings Cross was extravagant, then that living in Kings Cross was cheap. As if you were comparing two areas. There are cheaper and more expensive properties everywhere - why even make a point of mentioning Kings Cross when saying you can get a room for £1000 a month if you want to be extravagant? It's not one of the nicer areas of London.
    I done a pretty simple search, checked a few websites and got my answers. You can do it too. Check the prices and come back to me :)

Oh you 'done' a search, that means you now have an excellent idea of the London rental market. You are clueless. You can find anything online. The question is, does the place even exist? Lots of ads are 'bait and switch' to drum up interest in an agency who will then turn around and tell you that place is gone but they've another for £300/month more. Lots of houses advertised for a low rent are absolute hellholes you couldn't live in. Do you have any idea about the areas of London? I'm sure you can find a cheap-ish place in council estate where people get stabbed every day, but that's hardly comparing like with like. And again, COUNCIL TAX AND WATER RATES. You don't pay these in Dublin.
    That must make you an expert auctioneer then...

I actually live in London and have helped several friends search for rooms, including one just last week. I would dare to say that I have a much better idea of how much things cost than you do.
    It can be, if you are unable to shop around for an apartment, or are seriously stuck and need immediate accomodation. Not eveything is going to be extremely expensive.

Everything is expensive, with the exception of council or student housing.
    It's not. Try €1200 a month, plus bills etc etc.

What is this, 2005? Even then, what room in Dublin ever cost 1200 euro? You could get a nice 2-3 bed apartment in a lovely area for that, easily. You really have no idea, do you? Have you ever left home? I'm thinking of returning to Dublin later in the year and have viewed a number of properties, lovely one and two bed apartments, for *well* under a grand. No council tax, no water rates. I rented in Dublin for 6 years, I'm well aware of how much things cost.
    I bet your traveling costs are not 400+ a month ;)

Another 'fact' pulled from your bumhole. How on earth are your travelling costs 400 euro a month? If they are, you're not using the available discounts/unlimited tickets or you're commuting from God knows where, which makes your argument invalid. I'm sure I could easily spend 400 a month if I paid cash every time, given that the trip out to my boyfriend's and back, a distance of about 5 miles, costs almost £6 *with* my Oyster card and the minimum Tube fare, even to go one stop, is £1.80. I lived in Dublin for years. It's not a cheap city. But I've never met anyone other than you who tried to claim transport was more expensive in Ireland.
    Em... a lot of the salaries in Dublin are low... How is this a point?

You think the minimum wage is low? It's one of the highest in the world.
    £5.73 Or has it gone up last year?

Yep. Now google 'London Living Wage'. You'll find there's a big difference between the minimum wage and the amount on which one can live in relative comfort.
    Em... I think you need to check out the prices again, I guess it has been quite some time since you have checked out the market?

Nope, last week in fact. Only I checked out the real market, not some vague Internet prices.
    No it doesn't, but if somebody takes it then why should they be given crap about it?

They shouldn't. The thing is, you're acting as if it's completely out of the question to turn down money. As if only an idiot would do that. As if it's a ridiculous thought.
    That's not a problem, if you are taking what is being offered to you, how is that wrong? If they starve to death after they give you a few pound, then it would be a problem, but that is not the case.

You don't have to, but there is nothing wrong with taking. Parents are happy to know they have helped financialy in troubled times. Most of them anyway.

Because lots of people just like to be independent! You just don't seem to get this. My parents wouldn't really miss a few hundred quid every month, does that mean I should ask them to pay my rent so that I can save my wages to go on holiday in the summer?
    Assume much? Why is it you think I am not already standing on my own two feet? You have made a lot of assumptions tonight... why?

Just some of the things you said and the fact you seem to have absolutely no idea of how much things cost.
    You mean the info I got from property managment sites? I only recited what I read.

Well if you read it on the Internet, it MUST be true! :rolleyes:
    Good for you, a lot of young adults love living at home, they have a great relationship with them etc etc. What has it got to do with you exactly? Nothing... Why comment on it? Only to vent your hatret, angst and begrudgery... If it is something else, then please tell us.

Again, twisting my words. There's nothing wrong with liking to live at home. You were the one who stated that people were jealous of you. I honestly have never in my life felt jealous of anyone who was living at home during college. If anything, I felt sorry for them, that they weren't getting to experience as much as I was. That's my personal feeling, I'm sure they felt perfectly happy at home. My point is, you think people are jealous and begrudge you - what is there to begrudge? What is it you think people are so jealous of?
    That's common courtesy, letting the person who cooked you food that you will be a little late.

Wow, point sailing over heard. The point is, college is about independence for a lot of people. Cooking your own food, cooking what you want, when you want, coming home when you want. Becoming an adult. That's why a lot of Londoners move away for college when they have some of the world's best institutions on their doorstep. Sure, it would be 'easy' to live at home, but that's not the point.
    Why? If that's what they wanted, why feel sorry for them? If anything, they should be feeling sorry for you.

Why? Sorry that I was totally independent and could do exactly what I wanted all the time? As I said, if they were happy with that setup, fine. I wouldn't have been. If I'd wanted that, I could have stayed at home. So why on EARTH would I be jealous? :confused:
    I lived in South Dublin for 17 years, I rarely witnessed this "South Dublin Princess" type person.

It's probably normal for you, then. Because they're everywhere.
    I know you find it difficult to understand, but parents that could, gave their children a lot. What are they to say? No daddy, thanks for the A&F hoodie, but I would rather a Primark one, or none at all? That's definately the least logical answer.

No, no, YOU are the one who finds it difficult to understand. Of course I understand why people would say yes. But I also understand why people would say no thanks, I'd prefer to buy it myself. The fact you think this is so crazy speaks volumes. I know quite a few people who regularly turn down offers from their parents and have done so since they were in their mid teens.
    If they appretiate it, they can take all they want. If they don't appretiate it you are going to be ashamed? It's quite obvious that a lot of children don't appretiate what they have, but most do.

I don't think they do. I have been a bit harsh on Celtic Tiger cubs here. True, some of them are great and do appreciate what they have. But from what I've seen, they are the exception to the rule. I've yet to meet a privately schooled student from Dublin who had even the slightest idea of how lucky they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

darkman2 wrote: »
    I know a guy that was kicked out of his (very nice) house at 18.

Yup, I got pretty much the same offer. Best thing they ever did for me tbh.
    darkman2 wrote: »
    TBH I wish I was kicked out at 18 - it would have thought me a thing or two very bloody quick!

...and this is why.

You ask what is “that shallow c**p” that most of you don’t have an interest in, then say I’m a begrudger because we didn’t have stuff like extensions and big cars and foreign holidays. As mentioned before the disposable, take take take, now now now attitude that helped lead this Credit crunch anyways. You don’t think you have it but everything you post says otherwise. Although you’ve been horribly wrong about me, so maybe I’m wrong about you. :)

Shocking to believe that maybe we didn’t NEED that stuff I mentioned. There’s a difference between want and need you know. We didn’t want it either. Had a beat up old Fiesta that we got from my aunt and used to drive to the countryside every year to a relations farmhouse. We had the cove and the rock pools and the local farm to play on and we were happy. No TV or anything. Better than going on some sun holiday to be babysat by the Entertainments people while my parents lazed by the pool. Didn’t need a huge house either, but luckily I had my own bedroom, cos I’m a girl :D A lot of similar minded people on here, and I think they know what I’m talking about. I guess we aren’t on the same plain in our thiking, Xavier so will butt heads.

I guess it’s the difference between when I was a kid in the 80s and early 90s, to now –like we made our own Halloween costumes. Now they’re all just bought in Smyths. Where’s the fun in that? Come to think of it, when’s the last time you saw a kid washing cars, or running a sale of work or making “perfume” to make 50p to spend on 10p crisps, Smilie bars and penny jellies? Give me that childhood over what I see these days.. And as for me not working sooner, I didn’t think it relevant to say that I earned £4 a week delivering newspapers aged 12. :rolleyes:

You seem to be under the impression that money = success and be all and end all to life. I guess that why you say people are jealous or begrudging when they disregard this life style. This might not be true, but some of us have picked up that vibe.

My brother didn’t commit a crime no, but that doesn’t mean that it was right or just or ethical. It wasn’t. Like I said, I COULD turn around and ask my dad for five grand to do what I want but I don’t want to. I have gone on 3 or 4 foreign city break holidays in a year. So I’m not jealous, and I paid for these myself. Although I do get 2 months summer holidays paid a year, so I guess… hmm they pay for themselves.

You mention turning down free money. It’s not FREE, it’s your parents’ money! That they worked for, it didn’t grow on a tree. Just because your parents made some cash in life deosn’t mean thay have to share it with you. It’s their discretion. That’s what’s being lost on a lot of people. If parents dion’t take you in and provide for you while you save for your own place are they cnuts that deserve a slap in the jaw too? It’s like these D4 girls that think they’re rich. Um, no, your Dad may be but you have nothing and are relying on their generosity. You’re well ****ed if daddy leaves his money to charity and not you. Too many kids being taught that they can buy their way through life. Even if your parents do have big cars and 3 properties. Why do they feel the need for this anyways? Insecure? Keeping up with the Jone’s mentality? Got something to prove? I don’t know, seems silly to me. I lived in Clontarf for 3 years and the mindset out there was driving me demented.

Don’t talk about the current climate blah blah. I’m not different. Public sector job (lucky to have one, but salary is cut to bits), him in private, saving for a mortgage, saving for a wedding… We aren’t going to go running to mammy and daddy to be bailed out. His parents had him at 18 so they need their own life. We’ll manage. We’re getting there. Ok for some but I’d rather not give my/ his parents that burden. My Dad is comfortable in knowing that one of his brood is up and running and he doesn’t have to worry, he feels he did his job in raising me well. I can’t just turn around now and move back home or whatever. He will keep an eye on me and an interest but doesn’t have to mind me. Anyways I could not live at home with the under my roof, my rules attitude. Or the infamous “I pay for the computer, TV, phone so I control all”. I can’t imagine my boyfriend not being able to stay over, or being given out to for coming in late waking them up, or ringing home if I’m late for dinner. Not my cuppa tea at all!

If people need to do this fair enough, and if parents think it’s the right thing to do that’s ok too. It’s the ingrateful attitude that I have a problem with. Some of the responses here have been an eye opener.

• Lil Kitten wrote: »
    You mention turning down free money. It’s not FREE, it’s your parents’ money! That they worked for, it didn’t grow on a tree. Just because your parents made some cash in life deosn’t mean thay have to share it with you. It’s their discretion. That’s what’s being lost on a lot of people. If parents dion’t take you in and provide for you while you save for your own place are they cnuts that deserve a slap in the jaw too? It’s like these D4 girls that think they’re rich. Um, no, your Dad may be but you have nothing and are relying on their generosity. You’re well ****ed if daddy leaves his money to charity and not you. Too many kids being taught that they can buy their way through life. Even if your parents do have big cars and 3 properties. Why do they feel the need for this anyways? Insecure? Keeping up with the Jone’s mentality? Got something to prove? I don’t know, seems silly to me. I lived in Clontarf for 3 years and the mindset out there was driving me demented.

Or the infamous “I pay for the computer, TV, phone so I control all”. I can’t imagine my boyfriend not being able to stay over, or being given out to for coming in late waking them up, or ringing home if I’m late for dinner. Not my cuppa tea at all!

Indeed. People always say 'oh but my parents treat me like an adult blah blah'. The fact is, even the most liberal, tolerant parents are the bosses of the house and that parent-child dynamic is still there. If some people like that, fair enough but it's not independence. Every time I go home I feel like I've gone back 10 years. When I lived at home I thought I had loads of freedom, and I did compared to most, but once you live away you realise what a huge difference it makes. I genuinely can't imagine why anyone might think I was jealous because they still live at home.

Lil Kitten, you're not a hero because you don't get help from your parents.
    If some "D4 girl" sees the world on "Daddy's money", who cares? You only live once but you seem to think that it's a failure if you don't do it all by yourself?

Fuk that and get off your high horse already.

• Lil Kitten, you're not a hero because you don't get help from your parents.
    If some "D4 girl" sees the world on "Daddy's money", who cares? You only live once but you seem to think that it's a failure if you don't do it all by yourself?

Fuk that and get off your high horse already.

Think the general point behind it is that many Irish twenty somethings have a ridiculous sense of entitlement. There's a lot of people acting like it would be unquestionable to have to become financially independent at 18 - why? That's exactly what happens in many other countries. I'm using the UK as an example because it's so close culturally and geographically. People here don't think it's their God given right to stay at home and be supported by their parents during college. It's not like they're making any huge sacrifice, it's just the way it is. Some parents can't afford to keep them, some of just of the mindset that 18 is an adult and adults are responsible for themselves. Sure, the parents in the OP sound pretty harsh and I wouldn't want them as parents. But I think a lot of people are majorly overreacting here. I have one friend here in London who lives at home and he's the exception. He's 21. The rest of my friends moved out several years ago. I must have missed the memo that said kids now must stay at home until at least 23. Someone used an example of the Dublin kid living at home and working and the Cork kid living in an apartment funded by the parents. Not saying it doesn't happen, but plenty of people work, study and pay their own rent. That's what I'm doing right now. Why would I need my parents to support me? They could, and would, if I got into difficulties, but I'd feel like a scrounger taking their money just because I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 springwell7616

We've had our 15 year old niece staying with us since december because her assholes of parents didn't want her either. Can't understand the mentality of feckers that have kids then don't parent them??
    Who the hell in their right mind tells a 15 year old that they're out on their ear when their 18, a couple of sick barstewards!! and there's a lot of them out there!

[quote=[Deleted User];64809074]Think the general point behind it is that many Irish twenty somethings have a ridiculous sense of entitlement. There's a lot of people acting like it would be unquestionable to have to become financially independent at 18 - why? That's exactly what happens in many other countries. I'm using the UK as an example because it's so close culturally and geographically. People here don't think it's their God given right to stay at home and be supported by their parents during college. It's not like they're making any huge sacrifice, it's just the way it is. Some parents can't afford to keep them, some of just of the mindset that 18 is an adult and adults are responsible for themselves. Sure, the parents in the OP sound pretty harsh and I wouldn't want them as parents. But I think a lot of people are majorly overreacting here. I have one friend here in London who lives at home and he's the exception. He's 21. The rest of my friends moved out several years ago. I must have missed the memo that said kids now must stay at home until at least 23. Someone used an example of the Dublin kid living at home and working and the Cork kid living in an apartment funded by the parents. Not saying it doesn't happen, but plenty of people work, study and pay their own rent. That's what I'm doing right now. Why would I need my parents to support me? They could, and would, if I got into difficulties, but I'd feel like a scrounger taking their money just because I can.[/QUOTE]

There's a difference between becoming financially independant and becoming homeless. You have to be a horrible cunt to make you son or daughter homeless. That's all thats to it.

I'm not arguing on the case of the OP's friend here since I don't know the details.. I mean in general if the parents can afford to keep the son or daughter in the house but don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

What goes around comes around.
    If I were his parents I wouldn't be holding out any hope in my old age that my son would wipe my arse for me and make sure the nurses weren't playing poker with my pension.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

You only live once but you seem to think that it's a failure if you don't do it all by yourself?

Not so much a failure as a pathetic twentysometing leech that's too afraid to cut the apron strings and leave Mammy's cooking and crisp washed clothes.

**** THAT tbh.

Don't get me wrong, I don't agree with turfing kids out when they reach a certain age. I'm sure if I ever had kids I'd be all for helping them as much as I can. Especially with college.

However I really don't agree with these self entitled working adults taking complete advantage and leeching off their parents because they are too afraid to face the world. Grow the **** up and pay your own way.

Looking for money from your parents for a mortgage/wedding? Arse. That's pathetic beyond belief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

After careful consideration I have come to the conclusion that either

1.) The person in the Op has complete cúnts for parents or

2.) He was born on the 29th of Feb :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Maybe the age is a bit young, but i think the sentiment is correct. They could of waited until he completed college and then ask either for a fair rent in return or for him to find somewhere for himself. If they aren't attending college then 21 would probably be a better age to tell them to pay a rent to them like they would anywhere else or pay one to a landlord. Get out into the world. Experience your own life and become a proper man/woman.

Nobody is really entitled to anything. You should learn to look after yourself. People seem to think your man would struggle to survive in the outside world. If he hasn't got drug/alcohol/mental health issues his chances ending up sleeping on the streets are slim. Social welfare exists after all. Junkies and alcos will use their expendables for their addictions. A healthy person would use it to grow.

Adversity, after all, creates character. It's when you are struggling near the bottom that you truly find out your deepest self. But these days it seems you can live without looking to improve unlike in the past. People drift along in life ultra-protected from the world and when the world turns bad for them, and it will from time to time for everybody, they are utterly unprepared to deal with it. I'd be very interested in suicide figures which take into account a brief outline of people's lifepaths and upbringing, hard as it would be to collate such figures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

o1s1n wrote: »
    However I really don't agree with these self entitled working adults taking complete advantage and leeching off their parents because they are too afraid to face the world. Grow the **** up and pay your own way.

Are the parents not adults too ?

Are these kids holding a gun to their parents heads and forcing them to cook their dinner/make their bed/wipe their arse ?

And is it really any of your business ?

Master of the Universe

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Are the parents not adults too ?

Are these kids holding a gun to their parents heads and forcing them to cook their dinner/make their bed/wipe their arse ?

And is it really any of your business ?

Oooh, did I hit a nerve?

These 'children' are taking advantage of their parents good nature. Which is wrong. It doesn't matter if the parents are okay with it. Sometimes it's nice to say no.

And as for being my business, again, hit a nerve? I honestly couldn't care if it's my business or not. I still think it's pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Shelga

I've been following this thread for a while, and the attitudes of Lil Kitten and Jasiah Tall Whirlpool really annoy me. I'm a 22 year old student in my final year of college and was living at home until very recently.

Would it have made sense for me to move out when my college of choice is 6km from my family home? Yes, I could have moved out in theory, if I wanted to spend every free moment working, but I put logic before pride and stayed put. Oh but of course I deserve your pity and derision, just because I did something you didn't do.

Does your 21 year old friend know how you feel about his living at home? Your attitude of moral superiority and judgement is so tiresome. According to you, anyone who does not immediately up sticks and work in McDonalds for 30 hours a week as soon as they turn 18 in order to gain "independence" is to be looked down upon. You may say "if it works for them, fine, but I wouldn't do it" is not judgemental, but it reeks of pontification and condescension.

I hugely appreciate everything my parents did/do for me. As soon as I start earning, hopefully this summer, I plan to vacate home permanently. I'm annoyed that I even feel the need to justify myself to you. Perhaps because I'm already well aware of how lucky I am, and acknowledge it regularly to my parents. And I did work regularly throughout college, but I'm not going to spend ~€150 a week on accommodation just so I can be "independent", to the detriment of my studies.

Your generalisation of "Celtic Cubs" is also a little irksome- yes I am all too familiar with the D4 type you talk about, going to Trinity myself, but I take offence on behalf of my boyfrind when you say you've never met a privately schooled South Dublin person who doesn't realise how lucky they have it. He is from South Dublin and has worked very hard at a demanding degree and has just been offered a great job. He appreciates all his parents have done for him but worked hard to get where he is. Stop generalising, inverse snobbery is just as annoying as the real thing.

When I have children I plan to help them through college if they want it- of course if they decide the Leaving Cert is the end of their education, then they will be expected to get a job, pay rent etc. I don't think wanting my children to work hard at attaining a 3rd level qualification without having to worry about paying rent should be considered spoiling or pampering them. Just please stop judging everyone on your terms.

Someone earlier in the thread said you think if parents don't throw their children out at 18 then they are spoiling them rotten- it is so much more complicated than that. Not everything is a sblack and white as you seem to think, and I'm glad I try to be a bit more open-minded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Oooh, did I hit a nerve?

Insofar as its any of your business (none at all actually) No
    These 'children' are taking advantage of their parents good nature. Which is wrong. .

You seem to have this bizzare black and white view of the world where its automatically assumed that anybody living under the same roof as their parents is living rent free and having their arse wiped for them while ignoring those living away from home who assume some kind of entitlement to parental help with rent/deposits/mortgage along with a big inheritance at the end of it all ?

Not so much a failure as a pathetic twentysometing leech that's too afraid to cut the apron strings and leave Mammy's cooking and crisp washed clothes.

**** THAT tbh.

Don't get me wrong, I don't agree with turfing kids out when they reach a certain age. I'm sure if I ever had kids I'd be all for helping them as much as I can. Especially with college.

Looking for money from your parents for a mortgage/wedding? Arse. That's pathetic beyond belief.

Well when ya put it like that.. For the record I havnt got anythin of my parents in two years. Still workin my way through college loans.

Master of the Universe

Insofar as its any of your business (none at all actually) No

I see a lot of 'it's none of your business' being thrown about. Which to me indicates some people are in this situation and taking some of the comments in this thread as a personal insult.

A large proportion of the threads on boards deal with issues that in reality would be none of anyones business. To say on thread, 'it's none of your business' on a general issue is just sillyness. All it does is show up someones insecurities on the subject.

But anyway -
    You seem to have this bizzare black and white view of the world where its automatically assumed that anybody living under the same roof as their parents is living rent free and having their arse wiped for them while ignoring those living away from home who assume some kind of entitlement to parental help with rent/deposits/mortgage along with a big inheritance at the end of it all ?

Straw man much?

Here's what I said as you don't seem to remember -

I never said I automatically asumed everyone living at home was in that situation. Now you're putting words in my mouth. If you're living at home and paying rent/helping out, fair enough. My comment was aimed at those manchildren who live at home with their folks, don't pay rent and don't contribute while working/in their twenties. While the whole time thinking they're entitled to that. It's sad.

Yea, Shelga, that's exactly what me and Izzy were talking about :rolleyes:

You and your boyfriend appreciate you parents, then the comments don't apply to you. So stop getting all huffy. Wow, people just LOVE taking their insecurities out others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

My parents have put me through college and I am in no way ashamed.

I couldn't claim support in the form of grants so why should i be left to fend completely for myself without aid from my family when kids who's parents have less then mine get a hand from the government? The way our society is laid out indicates parents who can afford to help you get through college, should.

I used to struggle with guilt over my parents luck and fortune and how they don't let me go without. Noones ever had to question do i know the value of money. I know i'm fortunate, thats great but i worked my ass off in college, then work and now back in college and i return the favour to my parents by doing my best. I often get the line from my parents "don't work so hard, enjoy yourself for a change". When i meet people who look down on me for not living on baked beans it makes me so angry and some of the stuck up attitudes on this thread certainly did hit a nerve for me.

Maybe when some of the begrudgers have children and are in a position to ease their children into the outside world with help with rent/food/expenses at college, they'll think twice. Or they'll be bitter and not use their surplus wealth to aid their family. Who knows.
    There's a big difference between parents helping you through college and being a spoilt brat.

edit: for the people who had to fend for themselves completely, without state/family aid, I have the utmost respect but I do not believe if their life could have been easier then would not have accepted help.

Shelga wrote: »
    Your generalisation of "Celtic Cubs" is also a little irksome

Yes, I can see how this definition I gave that is used as a general guideline, and media term is a generaliastion and all encompassing of anyone born from 1980 onwards, including everyone on this thread that lives at home & is in college. :rolleyes:
    lil kitten wrote:
    No, I'm not. I was never spoiled. I missed that waste, greed and sense of entitlement that defines a cub.

You don't think like the above, then again, DOES NOT APPLY TO YOU.
    Whereas if you do think like that, you need to cop the **** on a grow up, I'll stand by that.

The touchiness here needs to be toned down because it's really irritating

Yea, Shelga, that's exactly what me and Izzy were talking about :rolleyes:

You and your boyfriend appreciate you parents, then the comments don't apply to you. So stop getting all huffy. Wow, people just LOVE taking their insecurities out others.

If it's not what you were talking about, then why generalise so much? The kind of people you seem to be talking about- people in their late teens/early 20s who take, take, take off their parents while thinking they have every right to- really aren't as prevalent as you think, especially outside Dublin. What makes you think that all these people are so "ungrateful"?

And no one has said that people "should" live at home til they turn 23 (I think it was Jasiah Tall Whirlpool who was under the impression that this had been said). I just think that you are thinking in extremes, and no one thinks that the type of person you have in your head, however uncommon they might be, is a good thing.

If it's not what you were talking about, then why generalise so much? The kind of people you seem to be talking about- people in their late teens/early 20s who take, take, take off their parents while thinking they have every right to- really aren't as prevalent as you think, especially outside Dublin. What makes you think that all these people are so "ungrateful"?

I wouldn't really know any true "celtic cubs" that have been described. Those who expect families to pay for aroun the world trips ect.
    I'm sure they exist but maybe not many outside of dublin?

Yes, I can see how this definition I gave that is used as a general guideline, and media term is a generaliastion and all encompassing of anyone born from 1980 onwards, including everyone on this thread that lives at home & is in college. :rolleyes:

You don't think like the above, then again, DOES NOT APPLY TO YOU.
    Whereas if you do think like that, you need to cop the **** on a grow up, I'll stand by that.

The touchiness here needs to be toned down because it's really irritating

Its also as irritating the tone you're taking with shelga, with the caps, emoicons ect so how about a draw?
    I think the touchiness is caused by misunderstanding so lets all calm down and understand eachother without raising one another. This is a sensitive issue for some, myself included.

I wouldn't really know any true "celtic cubs" that have been described. Those who expect families to pay for aroun the world trips ect.
    I'm sure they exist but maybe not many outside of dublin?

Well the basis for Ross o Carroll Kelly wasn't plucked from thin air!

They're dying off now because the wealth is. They were all over the place a few years ago. Definitely all over Dublin. My friend & his wife got €1 million house in Dublin (got €700,000 towards it from his Mam). It's only worth half that now, poor suckers in negative equity. Not like they weren't warned by anyone, but they would only buy in SoCoDu. :rolleyes: They got the wedding paid for by her parents, had it in a castle, black tie only (!) and the registry from Brown Thomas...

My cousins went to fee paying colleges and got an apartment when they finished. Don't even appreciate it or realise what a boost to the rest of their life that is, one says "Well I had to pay a bit of rent to my mam like, so it's not as if it's free!". I asked one of my cousins if she expects her Dad to pay for her wedding "Well he paid for my sisters', he can pay for mine!" Same girl also wants at least 5 bedrooms in her house. She was working in House of Fraser, spending all her money on designer make up and handbags.

I teach with a girl from Kildare, she apparently has "no money". She lives at home and earning 36k a year. Had to get a loan to pay for half her trip to Oz for a year and saved the other half herself. Her Mam does EVERYTHING for her. Including forcing her to go to Mass and ringing looking for her when she's not home! She's back now, broke as fcuk and in debt, teaching, living back with her parents. She's 23!

There is no word of a lie there. So believe me, it happens.

And I don't give a **** if I sound moaney, "begrudging", judgemental or apparently "jealous" whatever.... If you can't see my POV then don't respond because we have absolutely nothing to say to each other.

If you can't see my POV then don't respond because we have absolutely nothing to say to each other.

Why are you on boards? ;)

And no one has said that people "should" live at home til they turn 23 (I think it was Jasiah Tall Whirlpool who was under the impression that this had been said).

Lane Raspy Mackerel has argued (wrongly) this many times during the thread. That your parents are responsible for you until you are 23 because you are apparently not an adult. I think he's confusing it with grants maybe?

If you can drink, get married, earn minimum wage, be tried as an adult etc etc etc at 18, then you're an adult! :D

Why are you on boards? ;)

Hahah! Not aimed at you!! I'm just sick of (the same few) posters that either don't have an utter clue what I'm saying or are misreading my comments and getting all defensive or attempting to line for line tear down my posts (failingly). You know how it is.

I think Iguana, Jasiah Tall Whirlpool, Prinz and O1s1n are saying roughly the same thing. Everyone else getting offended though. :confused:

Isn't this talk of flash, spoiled Celtic Tiger Ireland moving quite a bit away from the original issue though? The kid who was kicked out could have been allowed to stay and - wait for it - still wouldn't have been an obnoxious Celtic Tiger cub.

Plus, not being spoilt and not being interested in flash stuff hardly warrants a medal. I've zero interest in expensive cars, big houses, designer clothes/shoes/handbags, expensive cosmetics/jewellery/household stuff/gadgets - never had. And I've worked since I was 16 and paid my way through college and never asked my parents for money. But I've still led a very comfortable life which would be considered one of extreme luxury by those in many parts of the world.

Isn't this talk of flash, spoiled Celtic Tiger Ireland moving quite a bit away from the original issue though? The kid who was kicked out could have been allowed to stay and - wait for it - still wouldn't have been an obnoxious Celtic Tiger cub.

Plus, not being spoilt and not being interested in flash stuff hardly warrants a medal. I've zero interest in expensive cars, big houses, designer clothes/shoes/handbags, expensive cosmetics/jewellery/household stuff/gadgets - never had. And I've worked since I was 16 and paid my way through college and never asked my parents for money. But I've still led a very comfortable life which would be considered one of extreme luxury by those in many parts of the world.

Agreed.

This thread should have been closed a long time ago as it has been blown out of proportion. I think regardless of how expensive a country is, what era it is or what time it is, I don't think it would ever be right to throw your own family onto the street without the means to support themselves. Especially when you can!

I only mentioned Cubs in a throw away line reponding to a poster. It was the "his parents deserve a smack in the jaw, they're c**ts, if they wanted a life they shouldn't have had kids, I'd never speak to mine again, they're ****ed when they need a home" etc etc that made me link the horrible sense of entitlement and selfishness. As did other posters here.

I was shocked as well at somone saying they watch TV and get their dinner handed to them, someone else saying the get crisp laundry handed to them etc. I didn't see much of any chipping in or gratitude posted until recent posts from you, spinandscribble, shelga etc.

The "you're just jealous" and use of "begrudger" is how it got off track to saying, no maybe YOU feel that way about life, but some of us don't.