Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bushnell Rifle Scopes YES Or NO ?

• 07-03-2010 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭

Hi All,
    I have a shooting buddy that believes he knows all there is to know regarding rifles, rifle scopes and shooting in general.
    The argument we have is this, at present I have a couple of .223s in my ownership and one of them is fitted with a Bushnell Elite 3200 5-15X50 scope that I bought from opticsplanet.com in the US for about $380
    He on the otherhand has a Barska rifle scope (not sure of the model)5-15x50 that he bought from gunaccessories.com for $150 with an IR Target reticule.
    He reckons his Barska scope is way better then my Bushnell and says that Bushnell are S***E.
    I have looked up both Barska and Bushnell scopes on the net and Bushnell get way better reviews then Barska.
    Can I ask you lads your opinion on both scopes - your opinions are well respected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

vixdname wrote: »
    Hi All,
    I have a shooting buddy that believes he knows all there is to know regarding rifles, rifle scopes and shooting in general.
    The argument we have is this, at present I have a couple of .223s in my ownership and one of them is fitted with a Bushnell Elite 3200 5-15X50 scope that I bought from opticsplanet.com in the US for about $380
    He on the otherhand has a Barska rifle scope (not sure of the model)5-15x50 that he bought from gunaccessories.com for $150 with an IR Target reticule.
    He reckons his Barska scope is way better then my Bushnell and says that Bushnell are S***E.
    I have looked up both Barska and Bushnell scopes on the net and Bushnell get way better reviews then Barska.
    Can I ask you lads your opinion on both scopes - your opinions are well respected.

Bushnell anyday the week. Great glass, good in low light. Bro has one and I'm gonna try buy it off him. Thought he would get fed up shootin as he's a newbie but seems he's taking a keen interest:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭clivej

Lads here will know I rate the Bushnell scopes highly. I have 3 on my guns and just sold a spare one to my son for his CZ Lux 223, tight old sod I am. ;)

I had the best of a Nikko sterling scope but after one look through a Bushnell Banner I could see how much better they are.

Bushnell 3200 elite 4-12x40 now on my sons 223.
    Sako 75 .308
    08112009doecalf2.jpg

Sako 75 .308 now has the Bushnell 4200 elite 6-24x50 Tactical
    Sako753081.jpg

CZ Varmint .223 with another Bushnell 4200 elite 6-24x50 Tactical
    10052009115.jpg
    10052009114.jpg

CZ Style 22lr + custom stock with a Bushnell 3200 elite 4x10. Great scope on my 22lr.
    CZStylewithnewstock2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

A mate of mine baught a bushnell 6500 tactical elite for his .220 swift this year.Got it off opticwarehouse for 600 euro which is nearly half the price of a Leupold tactical and in my book just as clear .As clive said ,very good scopes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭vixdname

Thanks for the replies lads, heres a photo of my set up and I have to agree with ye that I find the Bushnell scope top notch. Irrespective of what my "All Knowledgeable Friend thinks" !!!

DSCF0535.JPG

By the way, how do I get my photos to show under my messages like the reply from clivej rather then just having a link to click on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

DSCF0535.JPG

By the way, how do I get my photos to show under my messages like the reply from clivej rather then just having a link to click on ?

Click on the link in your own post.
    Highlight and copy the url it takes you to.
    Go back to your message and click 'Edit'
    Click on the icon on the top of your post that looks like a postcard with mountains on it.
    Another dialog box opens.
    Delete the "http://".
    Paste in your url.

You should get:
    107057.JPG
    Perhaps you should use a smaller photo, though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭clivej

Thanks for the replies lads, heres a photo of my set up and I have to agree with ye that I find the Bushnell scope top notch. Irrespective of what my "All Knowledgeable Friend thinks" !!!

DSCF0535.JPG

Best to open an account at PhotoBucket.com and upload your photo's to there. Then at PhotoBucket.com you can view your photos and copy the
    link to your image and post it here on Boards.ie using the insertimage.gif button

That way your not using all your image allowance on Boards.ie

Try to resize your photo's to about 600x400 (max ish 800x600) pixels before you upload them as they show and fit on the pages better. As you can see the photo of your rifle is on the large size at 2300x1700 ish pixels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

From my own experience with Bushnell they are brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I had a bushnell banner on my .22lr it was my first scope and it was a perfect for the job. Glass was fine and it never broke so I cant complain about build quality either

I have since grown to hate parallax adjustable objectives so would not get another one based on that.

I'd have zero hesitation getting an Bushnell Elite with side focus though. Actually looking for one for the brothers stalking rifle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

think its gas when someone thinks they know everything about hunting/shooting. there are chaps out there hunting 50 years and even they wll tell you that their still learning:rolleyes::rolleyes:. think your friend is setting himself up for a big fall someday with someone who'll actually know more than him haha

ps have a bushness dusk/dawn on my .22 and have no complants about it at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

I have the Bushnell Elite 6500 series on my .223 click on the picture below in my sig.

Lovely clear and crisp glass have no fault with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

I don't know a whole lot about Bushnell scopes but most people I know that have them appear to be happy with them. Unless you want to spend Nightforce, Swarovski or S&B money they seem to be the business. Don't rule out the Zeiss Conquest series either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,679 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Bushnell Elite are the top-end of the Bushnell range, Japanese made and quite different from the Banner series, which are Chinese made AFAIK.
    For relatively small money they perform well, maybe not as good as a high end Euro scope but relative to price probably not far behind.
    I like my 4200 3-9x50 and have had no problems with it in fact in wet weather the rainguard coating makes a big difference on the hill.