Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Riverside - Is it a bad estate?

• 08-03-2010 2:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

I've heard alot of bad things about Riverside on the Tuam Road but was interested in trying to move there due to it's proximity to work. Does anyone have any experience living there or knowledge of the area?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's fine afaik. It's one of those quiet estates I think.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Riverside is OK to live in bar the low ( pre 1973 oil crisis) build quality but have you ever heard of Bohermore???

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Riverside is OK to live in bar the low ( pre 1973 oil crisis) build quality but have you ever heard of Bohermore???

Bohermore! say no more!

Yeah I've heard of it alright. Not really a fan of it to be honest with you. Cill Ard, Cos Ard and An Larnach seem ok from a distance.

I was looking for somewhere on the Tuam Road, Ballybrit area. Preferably a one bed. I'm pretty scattered though, I'd even move out of the city if something caught my eye. I don't have to move until the end of April so got plenty of time to survive

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

I lived in riverside for 2 years, cant really fault it. Nice quiet estate and bus service right at the start of the estate.

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

RIVERSIDE MUTHA-****A!!!!!

Stop trolling Clemon

lighten up

bye

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I can recommed Larnach, lived there for 2 and a half years, really good build quality and the management company are really good to deal with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Apparently moral turpitude is in jeopardy in the area due to the proximity of a sex cinema :eek: according to cllr. padraig conneely who does not even represent that side of town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭AutumnComission

I used to live in Riverside in my first year in college and had the best days my life there but it was all either students or parents who have reared their children and the older generation are still in the estate with no generation in between. Nowadays, 8 years later, I live in Claregalway and go in and out to Moneenageesha (skul opposite Riverside) every day. The traffic isnt as bad as they all make out, and the rent is seriously cheaper. The country side is beautiful but lovely to be a 10 minute drive away from the city at the same time. There is a chalet out the back of my house which my landlady s renting out. . the girl who was living in it has just moved to Oz. She asked her to keep it for her til Sept as its newly built, very clean and perfect for one person - spacious - but the landlady is keen to rent it out. . Drop me a line if you'd have any interest. Cheers and hope I helped.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

It's close to the porn cinema although they're trying to shut it down now

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭mike kelly

What kind of pervert would go to a porn cinema?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

mike kelly wrote: »
    What kind of pervert would go to a porn cinema?

Ummmm me?

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭teepee

Sure it was the old Galway Dump , Houses built on tayto bags , LOL .
    On a more serious note i know a few lads living there and there good hard working lads , good neighbours i would say . Riverside has a rep from the 80s when you might have grounds for saying things might be a bit wrong area but not now , :D

Hey All,

Thanks for all the suggestions. Think the consensus is that it's grand. Think the last post about reputation from the 80's is accurate. I grew up around Galway so I've got all these old preconceptions of certain areas that probably aren't as bad as they were.

Thanks Again

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭teepee

Sure look at shantalla is full of Doctors & Solictors , any time a house gos up for sale its sold sraight away . During the 80s , it was a no go area .

teepee wrote: »
    Sure look at shantalla is full of Doctors & Solictors , any time a house gos up for sale its sold sraight away . During the 80s , it was a no go area .

Yeah I lived in Mervue for a year and it was grand...my sisters car got broken into by some young lad but other than that for the year I was there it was good. Ballybane in certain parts seems ok now too...all bar one big no go area!! :P Westside had a rep too and it seems like mostly students now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭LawnMower Man

Ive never had any problems and living in Riverside a few years now, its a very quiet estate and very convenient to the city and anywhere you need to go really.

There's also a local shop which is very handy and also a great park behind Riverside where you can take a jog around and watch everyone stuck in traffic lol.

Speaking of dumps how many of you remember when Toft Park in Salthill was a dump or the Swamp in the Claddagh? I heard it said that Riverside was built on a dump which is totally untrue as the dump that time was in the big field behind Ashbrook which borders the dual carraigeway.

biko wrote: »
    bye
    Hello Derek Mooney

Not sure what you mean by that but I bet it's not nice.