Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cinema Food - Do You Smuggle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

No, I'll pay full prices as I am aware they have to charge what they do
    A bit off-topic but its it or is it not against the law to consume alcohol in cinemas??

That's why I asked as I didn't think any cinemas had a license to sell alcohol.

Anyway, it wasn't last night.

They poured the Beer into a plastic glass and all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

I smuggle some stuff, but purchase there too
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    That's why I asked as I didn't think any cinemas had a license to sell alcohol.

Anyway, it wasn't last night.

They poured the Beer into a plastic glass and all :)

Movies@ Cinema's serve beer and wine in the Mezz screens they have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭arsenallegend

i taught they gave up checking people for food years ago:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I use to always smuggle (was never checked) but haven't done so in ages cause I haven't been to the cinema with the lads in ages. The problem is when you go with a girl you don't want to look stingy to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭CptMackey

My self n the girlfriend always smuggle, apart from ice cream.
    No way im paying 3 quid for a bottle of water that i can get for a euro next door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I will buy Ice Cream and Water occasionally but normally I either get a small packet of nuts or a sandwich for the cinema. I don't know what it is but I have to eat something at the cinema even if I am not all that hungry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

anyone remember using their straw as a pea shooter? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Fcuk that......

Costs a small bloody fortune to get sweets, popcorn and a drink for 4 kids at the cinema!!!!
    Always bring my own:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Smuggle now, even the feeling that you're screwing the cinema is a good enough excuse.

I usually stay away from coke and popcorn, peanuts etc... except around once a month when I go to the cinema.

In Mahon point, shopping center, Cork the cinema and tesco are 50m from each other, whenever I bring my goodies to the til the checkout girls always smirk 'off to the cinema i see' in a kind of a 'dead right' kind of way. Peanuts, Coke, popcorn and sweets for 2 easily under €5-6.

Some people can be a bit excessive. Was sitting behind a family of 4 during the Dark Knight who had two plastic spar bags with 2x2litre bottles of Fanta, mutlipacks of Taytos and a Nestle Multipack and a pic and mix bag. every 5 mins the kids would ask their parents for a top up and another bar/crisps which then ensued the horrible sound of both parents rumbling through the plastic bags only to pull out the wrong flavoured crisps and then repeat the process until successfull, followed by the crunching of crisps ( way more louder than popcorn). Good thing it was my third time seeing the movie otherwise I wouldn't have know what was being said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

CptMackey wrote: »
    No way im paying 3 quid for a bottle of water that i can get for a euro next door
    Lux23 wrote: »
    I will buy Ice Cream and Water occasionally.

Sure even 1 euro is a rip off for a bottle of the same water that comes out of your tap at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭nachoman

me and a mate smuggled burgers and chips into the cinema couple of weeks back and stunk up the joint. :pac:

nachoman wrote: »
    me and a mate smuggled burgers and chips into the cinema couple of weeks back and stunk up the joint. :pac:

I'd rather people did that than the cunt I was sitting beside last week who had the largest bag of popcorn and eat every piece with is mouth open :mad:

It was the same sound as someone walking on popcorn, all 12 inches from my ear, bastard.

He even started throwing the stuff into his mouth and playing 'catchy' with himself.

I sooo wanted to punch him in the side of the head.

I glanced around at one stage and three Chinese girls were give him daggers, rude inconsiderate asshole.

He was built like a brick ****house though, so I said nothing :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭nachoman

I'd rather people did that than the cunt I was sitting beside last week who had the largest bag of popcorn and eat every piece with is mouth open :mad:

It was the same sound as someone walking on popcorn, all 12 inches from my ear, bastard.

He even started throwing the stuff into his mouth and playing 'catchy' with himself.

I sooo wanted to punch him in the side of the head.

I glanced around at one stage and three Chinese girls were give him daggers, rude inconsiderate asshole.

He was built like a brick ****house though, so I said nothing :p

I always eat with my mouth closed, out of consideration for other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

"smuggle" food into cinema??!! WTF iv brought sweets,coke and popcorn with me since i can remember. unless of course i have more money than usual and want a treat as the cinema popcorn is much nicer! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Some people can be a bit excessive. Was sitting behind a family of 4 during the Dark Knight who had two plastic spar bags with 2x2litre bottles of Fanta, mutlipacks of Taytos and a Nestle Multipack and a pic and mix bag. every 5 mins the kids would ask their parents for a top up and another bar/crisps which then ensued the horrible sound of both parents rumbling through the plastic bags only to pull out the wrong flavoured crisps and then repeat the process until successfull, followed by the crunching of crisps ( way more louder than popcorn). Good thing it was my third time seeing the movie otherwise I wouldn't have know what was being said.

yup

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    "smuggle" food into cinema??!!

Yup, the have a strict NO FOOD POLICY.

But it does seem to be exclusively Cineworld. Vue say you can bring anything except hot food in and I know UCI have no problem with it either. Not sure about Savoy or Screen etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Chocoholic84

Damn right I smuggle! I don't care if the cinema barely makes any money on the films and have to compensate with over-priced food-that's their problem. Come on, why would I pay a tenner for a popcorn and coke when I could buy the same thing in Spar for 3 or 4 euro? I go around twice a week and if I bought their stuff every time, that's twenty quid a week...I don't think so!

Now, there IS the odd time I do buy their nachos...I weaken! Doesn't happen alot though :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm 1 of their unlimited card holders and never once saw said "signage".

Is it in really really small print on a really really small sign... or just really really far away (...from where you'd expect it to be)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I might buy a popcorn or an ice cream but in general ill smuggle a drink in, i dont need a huge bucket of drink that will make me piss half way through the show and a bottle is more then enough for a 2hour film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭d1975

if I'm going to town I'd go into a fast food place get something to eat there and I'd be full I just sneak in a bottle of coke or something

I'm 1 of their unlimited card holders and never once saw said "signage".

Is it in really really small print on a really really small sign... or just really really far away (...from where you'd expect it to be)?

I only seen it on the small time listing brochure that comes on Fridays.

It's on the back under the map.

Just before Christmas it said:

"Patrons are advised not to brings bags into the auditorium."

They changed that to what it is now, which is:

"Only food purchased from inside the cinema will be allowed into the auditorium."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

I wouldn't mind paying the cinema prices if the food was any good. Nachos in cineworld are mank, maltesers and minstrels can be got cheaper in the spar across the road, and their popcorn is pretty low standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

I thought it said "do you snuggle".

So to answer: Yes I do - to both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Rabies wrote: »
    yup

haha Touché

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Birneybau wrote: »
    I go to the cinema for the film,not the food...

Eat beforeand or after..

What is this obsession with popcorn and the cinema?

I can't speak for anyone else but I only buy snacks such as popcorn when I am at the cinema if I am actually hungry and not for the sake of it...

Don't see why anyone would to be honest :confused:

kingtut wrote: »
    Don't see why anyone would to be honest :confused:

Well, I have an oral fixation so I just have to have something in my mouth when watching a movie.

That's set a few jokes I bet :p

Hmm, all this cinema talk. I'm working in town today and my gf is going to a french class after work. Anything good out in Cineworld I can smuggle stuff into?

NothingMan wrote: »
    Hmm, all this cinema talk. I'm working in town today and my gf is going to a french class after work. Anything good out in Cineworld I can smuggle stuff into?

Extract is good.

It's on 10 mins after I escape finish, I'll never make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

I pay but to be honest, the prices are ridiculous and I'm beginning to think about smuggling
    I wonder if most of the smugglers also smuggle their crap back out wit them or leave all the wrappers and containers in a pile on the floor.

I also wonder if those who refuse to pay the extortionate prices smuggle their own alcohol into pubs.

I generally buy a bag of sweets and a drink at the cinema when going to see a film. The drink is okay at a little over €2 for about 500ml and the sweets cost €3.00, about 20 cent more than most shops, in fact I've seen some places like petrol stations selling the same bags of sweets for more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Sometimes smuggle. Usually eat a meal in McDee's or BK first, and get a chilled bottle of water in the Ben and Jerrys stand, along with vanilla covered in hot caramel, with white polar bear chocolate things on top.

Boots has water in things that look like fridges, but don't actually cool the water.

It's on 10 mins after I escape finish, I'll never make it.

Have you seen I Love You Philip Morris?

Brilliant, based on a true story too.

Not the usual Jim Carrey flick at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Cheryl Cole's got a great little arse
    When I used to go to the classical cinema in Harold's X I brought in my packet of manhattan popcorn a chocolate bar and my cadet coke. Now I just buy it in the cinema. It's handier for me. Large popcorn and large coke :) Nyom nyom. I don't buy the other sweets though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

I pay but to be honest, the prices are ridiculous and I'm beginning to think about smuggling
    Well in Mayo the cinemas need every cent, So I pay the full charge, Anyway I only go once a month. But in Dublin I think I would smuggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭larchielads

when we were kids we smuggled in food the whole time. (startin to do it again to be honest), but this one time we went in we had bought our usual selection of diff sweets and bars of chocolate and bottles of coke and fanta and the like. well we were half way thru the film and as usual we were after devouring our food whem my cousin pulls this yoghurt out of no where, we were looking in amazement at this yoghurt and all thought how the hell is he goin to eat this, we were laughin thinkin big dope brought a yoghurt to the cinema,then all of a sudden to our astonishment(mostly disgust cos we all wanted the yoghurt it lokked absolutely lovely) he pulls out a spoon that he had taken from home!!! CLEVER BACKSTARD!!!! suffice to say he really enjoyed the yoghurt.

Cutlery into the cinema:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I pay the full prices alright, but I generally just buy a bottle of water and a bag of sweets or something.
    Used to just bring chewing gum to the cinema and drink a bottle of water.
    I honestly can't believe the prices of stuff in the cinema, fcuking extortionate.

Oh, and I voted for the Cheryl Cole option, she has a lovely bottom.
    But of course, they all have lovely bottoms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

The worst are the rip off charges for the pick n mix. Where do they get off charging the extortionate prices for those?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

The worst are the rip off charges for the pick n mix. Where do they get off charging the extortionate prices for those?

Yeah, that really irritates me.
    I am quite fond of the pick and mix,
    but 10 fcuking euro for a bag of sweets is fcuking disgraceful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ooPabsoo

If people didnt pay it,they wouldnt charge it:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Yea sometimes i smuggle in food but not alot ,prefer to concentrate on the film rather than eat/drink.
    I never buy anything in the cinema shop they are a total ripoff, no excuse for their prices including all that "overheads" bullsh!t.

Once i even brought a taco and a small bottle of wine ,taco was very messy in the dark and I forgot the damn napkins :mad: ,never again.
    Now i just stick with the normal stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

I particularly like the customers who present almost 1Kg worth of sweets at the counter and then grumble when they're charged a lot.

Pic&mix is generally expensive though, there's one in Johnston's Court in Sligo charging a lot if I remember correctly, something along the lines of €2 per 100g, it was certainly more than the cinema I normally go to.

If it makes you feel any better you're helping to pay for all those feckers who steal pic&mix on the way out of the films :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Rarely go, but ya I smuggle when I do. There never really is a right selection on offer at the cinema I find. I want a packet of Maltesers not a quarter ton ffs.

Have you seen I Love You Philip Morris?

Brilliant, based on a true story too.

Not the usual Jim Carrey flick at all.

This was one of the films, alone with Perriers Bounty that my gf went to see without me, despite me expressing interest in both of them. I have no problem going on my own, but if I saw something she wanted to see i'd be in trouble. Stupid girls.

On the picn'n'mix issue, I use to work in a petrol station that did pick'n'mix. The weighing scales wasn't hooked up to the till like most are so I use to charge the nice customers under a euro for a sack full of sweets. Also use to bring massive amounts to partys. Remember 1 customer telling his kid he can only get 2 or 3 cos they were expensive. I just told him not to worry about it and go nuts. Charged him the few cents his kid had to spend. The stuff is a rip off and I swept so much of it off the floor I couldn't charge those prices for it..... unless you were a cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

This was one of the films, alone with Perriers Bounty that my gf went to see without me, despite me expressing interest in both of them. I have no problem going on my own, but if I saw something she wanted to see i'd be in trouble. Stupid girls.

On the picn'n'mix issue, I use to work in a petrol station that did pick'n'mix. The weighing scales wasn't hooked up to the till like most are so I use to charge the nice customers under a euro for a sack full of sweets. Also use to bring massive amounts to partys. Remember 1 customer telling his kid he can only get 2 or 3 cos they were expensive. I just told him not to worry about it and go nuts. Charged him the few cents his kid had to spend. The stuff is a rip off and I swept so much of it off the floor I couldn't charge those prices for it..... unless you were a cnut.

fair play to ya. I used to do the same. Gives you a nice warm fuzzy feeling inside knowing you helped someone out. Either that or it was all the sugar from the sweets I used to nick!

I've posted in this thread already saying I always bring food and drink in with me. But I forgot to mention another thing. I almost always sneak into a second or third film after only paying for one. You'd be surprised at how easy it is in some cinemas.

:p

Well, you should make sure you see 'em alone or with mates so.

Don't go with her though or she'll be telling you what's gonna happen.

When I seen KickAss (yes I'm a paedo), the chick next to me kept telling her boyfriend: "Oh watch this bit as I nearly missed it..", "Did you notice the gun..", "Wait to hear what she says, wait, wait .. did you hear that?."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

When I seen KickAss (yes I'm a paedo), the chick next to me kept telling her boyfriend: "Oh watch this bit as I nearly missed it..", "Did you notice the gun..", "Wait to hear what she says, wait, wait .. did you hear that?."

I think at times like that an elbow to the face should be socailly accepted...nay, expected!

I'm just a popcorn person for movies. rarely got for anything else (unless there is a double bill of joy) And I do buy it from the cinema (cept cineworld coz tehir popcorn sucks!!)
    The prices are high but the taste is too :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Skinfull wrote: »
    (cept cineworld coz tehir popcorn sucks!!)

I used to only go to cineworld because it was the best cinema by miles.

Now I nearly always go to the Movies@ cinemas! They are quiet and there are no scobes (unlike cineworld). The only downside is they dont always show every movie there!

I should have went yesterday after work rather than coming straight home and cleaning up. (My gf really does have it easy). Watched Taking Woodstock on my big TV with surround sound, almost as good as the cinema.

I too am a Kick-Ass pervert, or so the Daily Mail tells us, good film but if someone is talking beside me I will ask them to stop. Also if someone repeatedly kicks my seat, I will give them a :( look, if it keeps going I will give them the :mad: look and if it keeps persisting I will say it to them in my :mad: voice. You pay too much to be there to let some inconsiderate ner'do'well ruin it for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Centra are currently doing a €3.00 500ml Ben & Jerrys tub special, this is certainly worth the smuggle. :p