Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assault on Clare St yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Could well be. You're sure there was someone inside it now? I heard it was 17 polish gangsters all of whom are part time ninjas, mate of mine works in Portley's, he's in the know.

Have some respect - there's a difference between not believing hearsay as a matter of course and ridiculing an eye Witness's version of events on some misguided crusade.

- Yeah the car got dented and its windows smashed in a clumsy three-point turn and the girl slapped her own head off those baseball bats multiple times, accidentally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Raiser wrote: »
    Have some respect - there's a difference between not believing hearsay as a matter of course and ridiculing an eye Witness's version of events on some misguided crusade.

- Yeah the car got dented and its windows smashed in a clumsy three-point turn and the girl slapped her own head off those baseball bats multiple times, accidentally.

The eye witness who saw it happen yesterday, a few days after the car was smashed in? About as reliable as a Fianna Failer in the witness box.

I'm not on some crusade either, just would like people to be able to talk about these events factually, not hysterically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Liam79

You think I am making this up?
    Why on earth would I do that? Its a 100% true story. I heard it happened yesterday but it may have been the day before, but either way that poor girl was dragged from her car, on Clare St in public view, beaten senseless and her car destroyed by 4 men with bats. Anyone from in an around Clare St will confirm this or anyone working in the area. I heard it from someone working in the shelter just up the road.
    Thats 100% true and for you to pour scorn on her misfortune, no matter what her association to certain elements, is pretty low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Millie

Mc Love wrote: »
    Ok i think you are a little bit OTT - unless you were being sarcastic

No I'm not being sarcastic the city is going downhill rapidly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,364 ✭✭✭campo

Millie wrote: »
    No I'm not being sarcastic the city is going downhill rapidly.

If you dont like it then leave simple as really...Ok you would probably make a loss but if you are regretting moving to this is so good awful city then dont let the door hit you on the way out

Liam79 wrote: »
    Why on earth would I do that? Its a 100% true story. I heard it happened yesterday but it may have been the day before, but either way that poor girl was dragged from her car, on Clare St in public view, beaten senseless and her car destroyed by 4 men with bats. Anyone from in an around Clare St will confirm this or anyone working in the area. I heard it from someone working in the shelter just up the road.
    Thats 100% true and for you to pour scorn on her misfortune, no matter what her association to certain elements, is pretty low.

A 100% true story that may have happened anytime over the last three days, or yesterday in broad daylight. Why not go off and find out the full story before rushing on here to post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

I know this is an easy thing to say but does anyone else thing that the Gardai have let everything get totally out of hand?

Jesus Christ this city is just turning into a complete **** hole.
    I am really, really sorry I ever bought a house here.
    Ok i think you are a little bit OTT - unless you were being sarcastic
    campo wrote: »
    If you dont like it then leave simple as really...Ok you would probably make a loss but if you are regretting moving to this is so good awful city then dont let the door hit you on the way out

Some off us are trapped here.

- At this stage I'd leave in a heartbeat if I could; I'd feel better if I was at least 60 minutes drive from Limerick - in any direction......

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

I heard it happened yesterday but it may have been the day before, but either way that poor girl was dragged from her car, on Clare St in public view, beaten senseless and her car destroyed by 4 men with bats.

Only last week someone on here was claiming Limerick needed Batman.

Now we've got 4 of them and ye're still giving out.

I don't understand why people get so defensive about what is true.
    Every other day there is an incident of some description involving anti social, scummy behaviour in the city.
    The city centre is rapidly decaying with empty units popping up all over the place and is over run with scobes.

When I moved to Limerick approx 8 years ago the place was definately not as bad but it is on a downhill slope and I am finding it very hard to see a turn around for the place.

Some off us are trapped here.

- At this stage I'd leave in a heartbeat if I could; I'd feel better if I was at least 60 minutes drive from Limerick - in any direction......

How are you trapped? Viet Cong placed landmines all around your house again? You can always find a way to leave, I think Talkingclock is in charge of the escape committee.

honestly find it so sad that someone would let themselves stay in a place they clearly hate. If i hated Limerick I'd find a way out, even if it was Andy duframe (?) style.

If people are not happy living here then move , statement like im trapped here is one of our famous gangsters holding you hostage or something???

I love my city yes it has loads of problems along with every other main city in the world thats just they way things are
    but if people want to do something about it dont post on the internet get onto your politicians or do some volunteer work to make a difference in this city.

I think Talkingclock is in charge of the escape committee.

Credit where its due :D

Its not just me and my bike anymore, there's lots that can keep you anchored against your will; I'd have moving on as a long term goal and I intend to work towards it making the timeframe as short as I can humanly manage.

- I'll still follow the car theft, burnings, shootings, assault, theft, battery, rape, car-jackings, muggings, beatings, revenge attacks, punishment attacks, loitering, littering, executions, scorn of the Law and weak excuses - just from a safe distance.

If people are not happy living here then move , statement like im trapped here is one of our famous gangsters holding you hostage or something???

I love my city yes it has loads of problems along with every other main city in the world thats just they way things are
    but if people want to do something about it dont post on the internet get onto your politicians or do some volunteer work to make a difference in this city.

I agree completely. You get one go at this life, why live somewhere you hate? Seems bizarre to me, find out what's trapping you and get out of the situation.

I also agree a lot of the negative energy on this forum would be better off being turned into something positive rather than being miserable online. volunteer, coach sports, set up clubs, run for office, make a change. I know it's not as easy, but at least it would achieve something.

Credit where its due :D

- Its not just me and my bike anymore, there's lots that can keep you anchored against your will; I'd have moving on as a long term goal and I intend to work towards it making the timeframe as short as I can humanly manage.

Depends how strong your will is. People survive abuse, torture, famine, war, and illness often on the strength of their will, if you really wanted to leave you'd just leave.

I agree completely. You get one go at this life, why live somewhere you hate? Seems bizarre to me, find out what's trapping you and get out of the situation.

I also agree a lot of the negative energy on this forum would be better off being turned into something positive rather than being miserable online. volunteer, coach sports, set up clubs, run for office, make a change. I know it's not as easy, but at least it would achieve something.

What's your particular stance going to achieve apart from over-exercising your tolerance, honing your blind spot and making your excuse reflex Olympian in stature?

What blind spot? I can see the many problems that Limerick faces, however, I can also see and feel why I love it. If I ever stop loving Limerick I'll leave.

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    Only last week someone on here was claiming Limerick needed Batman.

Now we've got 4 of them and ye're still giving out.

I shouldn't be laughing at such a horrendous pun, but genius.

If I could sell my house without being at a loss then I would sell up.
    It is not because I hate the city but I hate what it has become.

As for contacting my politican etc, believe me I did and it was duly shut in my face.

What blind spot? I can see the many problems that Limerick faces, however, I can also see and feel why I love it. If I ever stop loving Limerick I'll leave.

You shouldn't let your love of Limerick stand in the way of our right to identify and highlight its massive flaws as a first step towards solving them.

- I think the "I Love Limerick" notion when used as a universal deflective mantra which is just blindly and repeatedly chanted ad nauseum is really beginning to irritate People - It probably time for "Lets Fix Limerick" instead......

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Every other day there is an incident of some description involving anti social, scummy behaviour in the city.

Its the same in every city
    The city centre is rapidly decaying with empty units popping up all over the place and is over run with scobes.

Blame the City Council/Gardai

Wouldnt be the first time you made something up Liam, am I right?
    Why on earth would I do that? Its a 100% true story.
    I heard it happened yesterday but it may have been the day before, but either way that poor girl was dragged from her car, on Clare St in public view, beaten senseless and her car destroyed by 4 men with bats. Anyone from in an around Clare St will confirm this or anyone working in the area. I heard it from someone working in the shelter just up the road.

You cant really confirm it happened though, you werent there so your account of the story may have changed from the first person to tell it to the person you heard it from

Its the same in every city

Nonsense, you can't just ignore the scale, rates of incidence and magnitude just cause it suits you.
    Mc Love wrote:
    Blame the City Council/Gardai

Ha? Is there a point? Whats the context/reasoning?

Mc Love wrote:
    Wouldnt be the first time you made something up Liam, am I right?
    Why on earth would I do that? Its a 100% true story.

Interesting mud slinging :eek:

Mc Love wrote:
    You cant really confirm it happened though, you werent there so your account of the story may have changed from the first person to tell it to the person you heard it from

So Who thrashed the Car? Was there a freak meteorological disturbance or something?

You shouldn't let your love of Limerick stand in the way of our right to identify and highlight its massive flaws as a first step towards solving them.

- I think the "I Love Limerick" notion when used as a universal deflective mantra which is just blindly and repeatedly chanted ad nauseum is really beginning to irritate People - It probably time for "Lets Fix Limerick" instead......

Not really, I've worked as a solicitor in Limerick city, i've had to call out to houses in Southill and St. Mary's Park to serve people, I'm pretty well aware of how bad things are, and how bad things have the potential to get. I'm a realist, I can see the problems facing the city centre, the estates, the industrial parks, but I'm optimistic that there's enough good things about Limerick to keep me here.

I've also lived in Galway, Dublin, Paris, Boston and am currently doing a few months travelling, it's not like I haven't seen enough of the world to be honest about the situation Limerick finds itself in.

What I'm not is hysterical.

Not really, I've worked as a solicitor in Limerick city, i've had to call out to houses in Southill and St. Mary's Park to serve people, I'm pretty well aware of how bad things are, and how bad things have the potential to get. I'm a realist, I can see the problems facing the city centre, the estates, the industrial parks, but I'm optimistic that there's enough good things about Limerick to keep me here.

I've also lived in Galway, Dublin, Paris, Boston and am currently doing a few months travelling, it's not like I haven't seen enough of the world to be honest about the situation Limerick finds itself in.

What I'm not is hysterical.

I'm not going to criticise your standards as of course everybody is entitled to their own opinions.

- The same holds true in reverse, People who have grown sick, tired and weary of Limericks degeneration into the state its in today shouldn't be criticised for simply pointing it out and then voicing their disgust.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Icky Thump

My great gran aunt moved from near the petrol station after it got very rough

not true. i live near the limerick wall just there and its not gone rough. there has always been scobes passing. for the last 20 or so years scobes have been passing there. but we never see or have trouble down there.

ironicly this is the first i heard of the incident:D (i dont pass the petrol station all the time)
    Could well be. You're sure there was someone inside it now? I heard it was 17 polish gangsters all of whom are part time ninjas, mate of mine works in Portley's, he's in the know.

racist:D
    How are you trapped? Viet Cong placed landmines all around your house again? You can always find a way to leave, I think Talkingclock is in charge of the escape committee.

honestly find it so sad that someone would let themselves stay in a place they clearly hate. If i hated Limerick I'd find a way out, even if it was Andy duframe (?) style.

in fairness not everyone can leave. if your stuck with a mortgage and been recently made unemployed and have kids................. how can you leave.

limerick is a scum hole. i cant name one quiet neighbourhood in limerick. ive had this disgussion with a few here before that limerick is a very dangerous place and i wouldnt feel at piece if my daughter sister mother or grandmother had to walk alone late at night...................

its not anyones twist on limerick. its a fact that scum bags are running the city.

i just hope they dont ruin skyfest. seems like something good is happening in the city(contrary to everyone saying limerick is boring)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭talkingclock

Not really, I've worked as a solicitor in Limerick city

Now that explains a lot! I rest my case.

Icky Thump wrote: »
    Limerick is a scum hole. i cant name one quiet neighbourhood in limerick. ive had this disgussion with a few here before that limerick is a very dangerous place and i wouldnt feel at piece if my daughter sister mother or grandmother had to walk alone late at night...................

its not anyones twist on limerick. its a fact that scum bags are running the city.

i just hope they dont ruin skyfest. seems like something good is happening in the city(contrary to everyone saying limerick is boring)

Who here in all honesty could comfortably say to a Relative or Friend from say Sligo or Galway or somewhere - Yeah no problem your 18 year old Son or Daughter will be safe socialising in Limerick after dark?

If a Child of mine was out on that town I'd be anxious until I heard their front door close behind them. If they did happen to stay safe and well in the long term it would be due to their own instincts, fast pace and will to survive and not cause there is any semblance of an effort to maintain law and order......

I've seen the assaults, I've stepped over the blood stains, I've called the Gardaí on seeing serious assaults occur and noted their non-response....... non-attendance and non-interest. Where the fcuk else would, could or should they be at 2-4am??????

- If you're oblivious to it then you're lucky - so far anyhow.......

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I walk frequently through the area. There's a few beauties down there ok. An alcos refuge, and I know the house folk are talking about where the alleged bogies live. It's a few doors down from The Lotus chinese takeaway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Icky Thump

yea there are a few near the lotus but there are scobes in every part of the city is what im saying. that area hasnt gotten any worse in the last 10 or so years compared to the way everywhere has gotten worse.

for a sec Raiser i thought you where disagreeing with me:D

i for one will be leaving the city. i am finishing college and moving on out. all i hope is i can make enough cash fast enough to move my parents out aswell.

i respect that there will always be some bad apples but i remeber a time not even that long ago where there was a little bit of respect. scobes attacked scobes. elderly and women where left alone. children wouldnt be attacked by grown men. there is a free for all these days.

i remeber going to CBS and it was basically a fecking prison lifestyle. most of the lads i was i school with are drug dealers/scumbags or in prison.......................... and thats talking 12 or 13 people i can name out of the 20 in my class. id be scared to rare kids in this city. knives, pellet guns(which are not harmless), heavey drugs(needles), muggings and extreme physical bullying going on in schools alone....................

noone should live in fear. limerick should just take all the decent people away on a holiday and destroy the rest:D

Who here in all honesty could comfortably say to a Relative or Friend from say Sligo or Galway or somewhere - Yeah no problem your 18 year old Son or Daughter will be safe socialising in Limerick after dark?

If a Child of mine was out on that town I'd be anxious until I heard their front door close behind them. If they did happen to stay safe and well in the long term it would be due to their own instincts, fast pace and will to survive and not cause there is any semblance of an effort to maintain law and order......

I've seen the assaults, I've stepped over the blood stains, I've called the Gardaí on seeing serious assaults occur and noted their non-response....... non-attendance and non-interest. Where the fcuk else would, they could they or should they be at 2-4am??????

- If you're oblivious to it then you're lucky - so far anyhow.......

Raiser I dont mean to insult you but you have a big problem with Limerick and if you are so worried about your kids as a father you should sell up and move , I have kids and if I was as worried as you I would do whatever it took to move and as would I recommend friends from Galway and Sligo to come down here for a night out most definate I have been out in Galway and Mayo and I can tell you it is just as bad/Good as it is here with all the drunks and missers etc,
    From a personal point of view I grow up in one of the so called rough estates in Limerick ( St.Marys park) and I never had any trouble but I understand other people have some deserved the trouble they got others did not but this is where we come in we can make a difference instead of hiding get out there and do something for our city, I coach kids football, I volunteer for local charities and we badly need more volunteers it is the only way to make a difference.