Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question About Speech

Options
  • 09-03-2010 11:30am
    Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭

Hi all,

I usually find it hard to begin a sentence with the letter D. I don't know why this is. For instance:

Did you go there today? - I would have to say it as - So, did you go there today?

It's not something that hinders me, I just find it annoying and am conscious of it.

Any help appreciated! Thanks!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭Paul4As

I'm not an expert in speech and language therapy...but it sounds to me like you have a stammer!!!
    You use the word "so" to help lead you in to words beginning with "d"...that is typical behaviour for stammerers!!!
    It is a method of "avoidance"...even though you aren't avoiding saying the word beging with "d"!!!
    Avoidance can be classed when you, on purpose, put in unnecessary words...such as "so"!!! You are avoiding saying exactly what you want to say...which is "Did you go there today?"
    You say "You usually find it hard to begin a sentence with the letter D"...what do you mean by "hard"...do you get tension in your mouth???...do you get anxious???...do you try to talk and nothing comes out???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

Hi all,

I usually find it hard to begin a sentence with the letter D. I don't know why this is. For instance:

Did you go there today? - I would have to say it as - So, did you go there today?

It's not something that hinders me, I just find it annoying and am conscious of it.

Any help appreciated! Thanks!