Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Court case sucesses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭guns4fun

Quick question for ye.
    If I get refused by a cs or super I can appeal.
    Can a cs appeal if a district court judge decides to grant my cert???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

guns4fun wrote: »
    Quick question for ye.
    If I get refused by a cs or super I can appeal.
    Can a cs appeal if a district court judge decides to grant my cert???
    if a cs or super refuses you , you can appeal within 30 days , as for a cs appealing you being granted a licence by the court , i don't know , but i am sure the cs would have to have very good grounds to do so ,

• Registered Users Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Early intell says 6 more liscenses granted today in "de Kingdom" in Tralee.:D.That would now put it 75% in our favour for wins.
    Think we will all have to move down to Kerry folks.:eek::D

Mods,any chance we stick this thread in a combined Press clippings and Court case sucess sticky??:confused:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 47 lead loader

Howya lads! I was just wondering if there has been anymore results from the District Courts around the country? My case was in court yesterday, Gardai Looked for a date in May for a full hearing. The Inspector in court told the Judge that the case was being fully contested:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

3 x friends of mine currently in court on a full hearing

• Registered Users Posts: 47 lead loader

Hope all goes well for them bunny! let us know how they get on please. Do you know whether they intend to seek costs if they are successful??

and to spite the successes in the courts the gardai continue to refuse licences , this will lead to more wasted time in courts for both the gardai (at the tax payers expense) and people taking time off work, college etc, at their own expense of both time and money.
    there must be some law about wasting people's time with vexatious court cases.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Any updates, my own is up for mention very soon....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

My friends are getting a judgement in a few weeks

Another three in Kerry upheld.Costs asked for and refused.So here comes another High Court judical review.:rolleyes:Meantime the drug dealers, bankers and scumbags stalk our land with impunity.:rolleyes::mad:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭fourtycoats

7 cases up for mention in the Bray District Court today. Lawyers for the appellants argued that the Garda refusals were of a "blanket" type and that the Gardai gave no specific reasons why the applications were refused. The lawyers asked that the judge issue an order to the Gardai, requesting them to give specific reasons so that a proper appeal could be formulated for each case. In particular it was stated that the appellants had previously been granted licenses and had spent a lot of money meeting the requirements of the new legislation also that nothing had changed in the circumstances of the appellants or was contained in the new legislation which would have justified a refusal. Hence, in the circumstances it was appropriate that the Gardai give their reasons. The Judge agreed, the reasons were requested and a date set in June to hear the appeals. The lawyers also requested, and were granted, anonymity for the appellants with no publication of names or addresses.

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Another three in Kerry upheld.Costs asked for and refused.So here comes another High Court judical review.:rolleyes:Meantime the drug dealers, bankers and scumbags stalk our land with impunity.:rolleyes::mad:

Same old story, we're all equal under the law as long as we can afford it!:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Another three in Kerry upheld.Costs asked for and refused.So here comes another High Court judical review.

Are you saying that if the District Court finds in the appelant's favour a High Court Judicial Review can still be taken over costs? Are you sure about that?
    Rew wrote: »
    Any updates, my own is up for mention very soon....

That's interesting. Whereabouts?

BornToKill wrote: »
    Are you saying that if the District Court finds in the appelant's favour a High Court Judicial Review can still be taken over costs? Are you sure about that?

Dunno about that BTK.I'm just passing on the info as I get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭happyjack

My own case's in Kerry have gone banana shaped, I'll fill you all in when it gets sorted out. But take it from me, the Gardai are still fighting against issuing any class of restricted firearms license in Kerry. They are making each and every restricted license holder appeal and got to court, and they are only issuing licenses if the Judge is O'Connor, because he has found in our favor in the past.

Strange thing is that most ordinary Gardai are totally unaware that all of this is coming out of their yearly over time budget! My JR was the first HC case where the Gardai had to pay their own legal costs. Please lads, when you are talking to your local Garda, explain that this effects them now financially.
    In the past it didn't, but now it does. The money for the legal bill has to come from somewhere, this is their blind spot, and thats where we need to keep the pressure on. It's all fun and games till your looking at a couple of million euro wasted.

Happy Jack in the Kingdom

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

Yesterday and today in the Supreme Court:

Supreme Court: 27th April 2010

Mr. Justice Fennelly
    Mrs. Justice Macken
    Mr. Justice O'Donnell
    At 11 o'clock
    At Hearing
    44/05 McVeigh -v- Minister for J E & LR
    413/08 Magee -v- Murray
    11/09 McCarron -v- Kearney

Another win.Judge stated in his summing up that he is satisfied that WA1500 is a ligitmate sport and that the appelant had good & sufficent reason.
    First time that I've heard Costs have been awarded against the Gardai too by a DJ.:D
    Long may that trend continue.

i seen a refusal upheld in court too today, it was in the paper , for a 9mm pistol :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭knockon

My monthly blowout.....

I see he kept the .22 and the .38 revolver. Rovi will be adding the clipping shortly but has a bit of editing to do as the security aware press have named and addressed the appellant in one of the rags.

"We don't want you to have the 9mm as it too dangerous but we have named you to tell all the scumbags you have 2 more in the house"

Interesting to see that clown Ahern on Prime Time last night saying that "The Government will not be found wanting in the fight against crime despite the financial situation". The majority of the Rank and File Members will tell you they are driving death traps with over 100,000 miles on the clock. A Sgt I know is driving the K9 van in Limerick MINUS the Mutt as there are'nt any vehicles left or Mutts for that matter. As someone pointed out the unfortunate Mules have no idea their bosses are urinating all over the overtime budgets on these frivilious court cases as the money used in the DC is out of the Supers coffers.

Regarding Ahern - As he correctly pointed out he is a Solicitor - we all know what kind of morals those people have. It could have been a blood bath if he turned up at the GRA confrence yesterday (pity he did'nt).

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

BornToKill wrote: »
    Yesterday and today in the Supreme Court:

Supreme Court: 27th April 2010

Mr. Justice Fennelly
    Mrs. Justice Macken
    Mr. Justice O'Donnell
    At 11 o'clock
    At Hearing
    44/05 McVeigh -v- Minister for J E & LR
    413/08 Magee -v- Murray
    11/09 McCarron -v- Kearney

Judgement reserved, at least in the Mc Carron case. Anyone hear anything else?

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

And another Three wins in Kerry as well last Thursdayl:D
    Despite the two losses sofar.We still have the majority of wins.
    And it will continue...To the high court and beyond if need be.
    A point BTW RE Press .IF you are named in a press report.Report it at once to the Press council by legal notice and also get your solrs totake action against the paper that named you for irresponsibility regarding your and yours personal saftey.Freedom of the press if a cornerstone of our democracy.But there must be responsibility to a citzens personal saftey.There really are some things we all dont need to know.A Justice minister trying to get a casino for his buddies in Louth with our tax money is one thing,you and me owning firearms is another.

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭meathshooter1

happyjack wrote: »

Strange thing is that most ordinary Gardai are totally unaware that all of this is coming out of their yearly over time budget! My JR was the first HC case where the Gardai had to pay their own legal costs. Please lads, when you are talking to your local Garda, explain that this effects them now financially.
    In the past it didn't, but now it does. The money for the legal bill has to come from somewhere, this is their blind spot, and thats where we need to keep the pressure on. It's all fun and games till your looking at a couple of million euro wasted.

Happy Jack in the Kingdom
    Dont think the Chief supers care they are on €109000 basic salary