Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rent allowence Refusal because of jobseekers allowence!

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭eyesofvenus

who said anything about social paying my fines teddy?
    I think what he meant by it was: you mentioned it as a factor of you finding it hard to get by, the SW dont care about this so it hasnt got much relevance at all to your issue

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

Can you not just rent somewhere cheaper? I'm not trying to be smart, but I have lived on less than 200 a week in Dublin no problem and surely Waterford is a much cheaper city??

I may have missed something, but I don't see either, how you think you are going to become homeless....you get 196 a week for God's sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Second that. I pay just over €300 in cork city. €486 is madness. You may have to move in with others but it's an option.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 RamblingRebel

OP. I'm wondering. Do you go into the HSE offices with the 'demanding' attitude you have been displaying in this thread?

No office meant lad, but I've worked in surroundings dealing with the public's problems, and I have seen people rejected for any help purely on the grounds of being a muppet, (obviously that wasn't the reason given)

YOU SAID:
    "...as far as the being renting for 6 months before you get the payment that occurs in most cases but for people who are not working they take an exception..."

Can't find the bold bit on any gov website!

Perhaps it was like that at one time, and maybe in some cases it still is, but from what I gather public spending is being hit really hard lately.

You have to remember the people who are making these decisions are people. Lets be honest now, no-one likes a gobs**te!

Apart from the above my only other suggestion is that you struggle for 6 month then try again.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Balagan

Being on the housing list, which he is, means the renting for 6 months requirement is waived.

from http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/social-welfare/social-welfare-payments/supplementary-welfare-schemes/rent_supplement

You may get Rent Supplement if you have been living for 6 months (183 days) out of the last 12 months in one, or a combination, of the following:

* Accommodation for homeless people
    * Private rented accommodation. You must be able to show that you could afford the rent at the beginning of your tenancy and that you could have continued to pay rent but are unable to do so because of a change in your circumstances which occurred after you started renting.
    * An institution, for example, a hospital, care home or place of detention

Or

* Be assessed in the last 12 months by a local authority as being eligible for and in need of social housing. If you don't have a housing need assessment, you must go to the local authority to have your housing need assessed. The local authority must be in the same area that you intend to live and claim Rent Supplement. Only when you are assessed as eligible for and in need of housing can you apply for Rent Supplement. Rent Supplement is not payable while the local authority is carrying out a housing needs assessment.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Balagan wrote: »
    Being on the housing list, which he is, means the renting for 6 months requirement is waived.

from http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/social-welfare/social-welfare-payments/supplementary-welfare-schemes/rent_supplement

You may get Rent Supplement if you have been living for 6 months (183 days) out of the last 12 months in one, or a combination, of the following:

* Accommodation for homeless people
    * Private rented accommodation. You must be able to show that you could afford the rent at the beginning of your tenancy and that you could have continued to pay rent but are unable to do so because of a change in your circumstances which occurred after you started renting.
    * An institution, for example, a hospital, care home or place of detention

Or

* Be assessed in the last 12 months by a local authority as being eligible for and in need of social housing. If you don't have a housing need assessment, you must go to the local authority to have your housing need assessed. The local authority must be in the same area that you intend to live and claim Rent Supplement. Only when you are assessed as eligible for and in need of housing can you apply for Rent Supplement. Rent Supplement is not payable while the local authority is carrying out a housing needs assessment.

balagan : cheers for that info, thats what i taught, well the rules have clearly changed so they tell me! they should change the rules on the list of requirements for rent allowence as it is misleading people and giving out false imformation as it clearly says nothing about being 21 on jobseekers allowence as a reason why im not entitled to it.

no lads i dont have that attitude going in there and unless anyone has anything postive to say stay out of my thread especially any government cronies who talk the walk but dont walk it you get me:).

and monkey people like you give me a headache honestly bud,

ye i get 196 euro per week iv mentiond before i have a loan that i have to pay as well feed myself and pay rent not to mention clothes,transport before you ask bus money! and no i dont have anyone to borrow a sly tenner of either so ye it is pretty hard to get by on for me! and not to mention a few quid to go out and socialise which i dont have.

im currently looking for somewhere cheaper for next month iv handed in my notice.

being accepted by the city council as in need for housing and then being turned down rent allowence because of JBS allowence makes no sense end off.