Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish football this weekend, 12/14 March

• 12-03-2010 2:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭

Premier Division
    Fri. 12 March 2010
    Galway United v Bray Wanderers • Terryland Park • 7.45 pm
    Sporting Fingal v Sligo Rovers • Morton Stadium • 7.45 pm

Sun. 14 March 2010
    Dundalk v Drogheda United • Oriel Park • 4.30 pm

Tues. 16 March 2010
    UCD v Bohemians • UCD Bowl • 7.45 pm
    Shamrock Rovers v St. Patrick's Athletic • Tallaght Stadium • 8.00pm

First Division
    Fri. 12 March 2010
    Cork City v Waterford United • Turner's Cross • 7.45 pm
    Limerick v Derry City • Jackman Park • 7.45 pm
    Finn Harps v Salthill Devon • Finn Park. • 8.00 pm
    Monaghan United v Longford Town • Gortakeegan • 8.00 pm

Sat. 13 March 2010
    Athlone Town v Mervue United • Athlone Town Stadium • 7.30 pm

Sun. 14 March 2010
    Wexford Youths v Shelbourne • Ferrycarrig Park • 2.00pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

I'm looking forward to the youths match on the sunday afternoon, think it will be a sucess having the games at that time.

Think we'll give shels a good game especially seeing as that will be their second match in two days!!!!:P:P:P
    Pure_Cork wrote: »

First Division
    Fri. 12 March 2010
    Cork City v Waterford United • Turner's Cross • 7.45 pm
    Limerick v Derry City • Jackman Park • 7.45 pm
    Finn Harps v Salthill Devon • Finn Park. • 8.00 pm
    Monaghan United v Shelbourne • Gortakeegan • 8.00 pm

Sat. 13 March 2010
    Athlone Town v Mervue United • Athlone Town Stadium • 7.30 pm

Sun. 14 March 2010
    Wexford Youths v Shelbourne • Ferrycarrig Park • 2.00pm
    Think it should be longford to play monaghan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Pure_Cork

adamski8 wrote: »
    I'm looking forward to the youths match on the sunday afternoon, think it will be a sucess having the games at that time.

Think we'll give shels a good game especially seeing as that will be their second match in two days!!!!:P:P:P

Think it should be longford to play monaghan!

That's what I get for quoting the official league website :P

Fixed it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Linfield vs St Pats windsor park live on Sellotanta morrow at 5:30

Bohs vs Glentoran

The permutations are mad due to Linfield getting a 3-0 away win walkover and we getting a 3-0 home walkover.

So heres is the summation :D
    If Glentoran win and we lose = Glentoran and Linfield go through

If Glentoran win and we win = ourselves and Glentoran go through

If Glentoran win and we draw = Glentoran go through and extra time and maybe penalties between us and Linfield to decide who goes through

If Glentoran draw and we win = Ourselves will go through and who goes through between Glentoran and Linfield will be decided on goal difference

If Glentoran draw and we lose = Linfield goes through and who goes through between us and Glentoran will be decided on goal difference

If Glentoran draw and we draw = Us and Linfield go through

If Glentoran lose = Us and Linfield go through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Gotta love the Live Football, supporters bus leaving Tolka at 10.30am on Sunday morning, cans in hand.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

just off to the cross. i am absolutely BUZZING about this, i cannot wait.

Come on City!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Monaghan 2 - Longford Town FC 2. having been 2-0 down, very happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

I'd say there were 300 Sligonians there tbh lads with approx 100 singing.
    There were an awful lot of Red hats and people standing up amongst the Fingal fans when Amond scored.

As for the experience of going to the Morton, I can say that I've been in worse grounds, Finn Park namely.
    Place is dead, that running track kills atmosphere and the stand with its jumbo concrete pillar that blocks a view of the goals completely is made of fail. Been told to sit down by the stewards and guards was quite funny. I dunno how you'll cope when Shams bring their 1000 or so fans to the ground tbh.

As for footballing wise, Christ we were shocking. We played some bloody brutal football, as it was hoofing all night long. Ventre was non existant in the middle of the park and Davoren was caught out by long balls over to Byrne all night long. We're lucky to have gotten a point from there tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

They'll open the other terrace when big crowds come.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Rovers have already been to the Morton to play Fingal, 1500 of us..

dfx- wrote: »
    Rovers have already been to the Morton to play Fingal, 1500 of us..

post-5758-1225601204.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭fh041205

Have Monghan really gone back to "Gortakeegan" for their ground name? I assume it simply means they've lost the sponsorship from Kingspan. Anyone who wants a good laugh, listen to DundalkFM for the Louth derby tomorrow, those guys should be knighted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

post-5758-1225601204.gif

They're were even tickets laid on, believe it or not.

0-0 in both SSC games, after consulting the permutations we are going tru if scores stay the same.

Been told to sit down by the stewards and guards was quite funny.

This annoys the hell out of me. I've only been asked twice to do this both ahainst UCD. Once in Belfield and once in the Bowl. I didn't on either occassion. The mad thing is, we were standing at the back ffs.

Glentoran 1 up, we going out :(

Bohs 1-1 us and linfield going tru :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

I'd say there were 300 Sligonians there tbh lads with approx 100 singing.
    There were an awful lot of Red hats and people standing up amongst the Fingal fans when Amond scored.

As for the experience of going to the Morton, I can say that I've been in worse grounds, Finn Park namely.
    Place is dead, that running track kills atmosphere and the stand with its jumbo concrete pillar that blocks a view of the goals completely is made of fail. Been told to sit down by the stewards and guards was quite funny. I dunno how you'll cope when Shams bring their 1000 or so fans to the ground tbh.

As for footballing wise, Christ we were shocking. We played some bloody brutal football, as it was hoofing all night long. Ventre was non existant in the middle of the park and Davoren was caught out by long balls over to Byrne all night long. We're lucky to have gotten a point from there tbh.

300? :)
    You could half that and still be generous :).
    Still a good showing though

300? :)
    You could half that and still be generous :).
    Still a good showing though

I'm going by a quarter of 1200. Which is very fair.

Was you there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Glentoran 1 up, we going out :(

Bohs 1-1 us and linfield going tru :D

There was a lot of crowd trouble at the Bohs Glentoran game. Public order unit had to get involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Paul4As

There was a lot of crowd trouble at the Bohs Glentoran game. Public order unit had to get involved

In today's Sunday Life the trouble started in the Glentoran end whenever Garda stepped in and removed a Northern Ireland flag.

The same story is on the BBC website as I have attached.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/8566745.stm

If what Glentoran fans and officials are saying is true...what was the issue with putting up the Northern Ireland flag? St. Pat's fans had Republic of Ireland flags on show at Windsor Park yesterday and there was no bother!

Setanta Cup is about teams from Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland competing against each other...country rivalry at stakes...what is the big deal with the two countries' flags being on show? Maybe someone from the Garda can enlighten us!

Linfield had both flags at our game in Dublin and some had some uhh interesting words on them :)

Was you there ?

GrammarNaziCat.jpg

Btw I want all of ye to watch the Louth derby today so I have someone to complain to about decisions and the rest. You have been warned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Was between Glentoran fans and the guards and the guards seemed to be up to their usual incitement of fans tricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

bohsman wrote: »
    Was between Glentoran fans and the guards and the guards seemed to be up to their usual incitement of fans tricks.

Well it kicked off earlier as there were some altercations around Doyles corner. As far as I know the gardai tried to eject someone from the ground for putting up a union jack or throwing flares onto the pitch or lighting fireworks. When they did that the Glentoran fans werent happy. Most of the fighting was between themselves and others were looking for a row with the gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

They should be let hoist whatever flag they want.

Not to throw flares m the pitch though. of course.

Seems odd that the Gardai would be bothered with flags at all. Wouldn't it be the stewarts who would take issue with that. Since its possibly a breach of ground regulations but certainly not illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

fh041205 wrote: »
    Btw I want all of ye to watch the Louth derby today so I have someone to complain to about decisions and the rest. You have been warned.

The refereeing in this league is an absolute joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Wexford 1 - 1 Shelbourne

We are shít. :(

GrammarNaziCat.jpg

Being picky about grammer now ?

Seems odd that the Gardai would be bothered with flags at all. Wouldn't it be the stewarts who would take issue with that. Since its possibly a breach of ground regulations but certainly not illegal.

Post 23 :)

Töpher wrote: »
    Wexford 1 - 1 Shelbourne

God are we, only positive thing about the match was the Sunny South-East is definitely the Sunny South-East.

Video from the crowd trouble in Dalyer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBgeM2y-Y-w
    0:38 the guard running at the Glens man with a baton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

You pulled more from the game than me so, the only positive I could find was that it finished eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Highlights of Galway United v Bray Wanderers

High Definition - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhVNx3dOvYE&fmt=22

Normal Quality - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhVNx3dOvYE

You pulled more from the game than me so, the only positive I could find was that it finished eventually.

Hotdogs weren't too shabby either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Any excuse for the Garda to start trouble tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

We were very happy with the performance of our team yesterday. If you had seen us against Waterford you'd know what I mean, so the response from our players was fantastic.

I was sitting beside a Shels friend of mine and we both agreed that our keeper kept us in the game and our striker kept Shels in the game :p

The debate on Sunday games continues here. Man U on telly, Mothers Day and GAA fixtures worked against us yesterday but on the plus side, I can't remember the last time I watched a game at Ferrycarrig Park without freezing my gonads off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

CiaranC wrote: »
    Any excuse for the Garda to start trouble tbh

Can't see flags as being the reason for the trouble and I can't see the Gardai just wading in for no reason.
    I have always found the Glentoran fans to be the worst on this island - just my opinion from the matches they've played down here. Never short of sectarian songs and spitting seems to be a favourite passtime of theirs. They are probably OK when they are winning though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Wexford 1 - 1 Shelbourne

Ye seem to have alot of big strong lads playing for ye. They don't seem to great though. The amount of time ye were caught out with a ball behind the defence was ridiculus but even more ridiculus was our offsides and ****e finishing.
    Youths keeper was the MOTM by a mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

The ref was terrible for both team. Thought he gave us slightly more to be honest. Didn't think either was a peno and Daly should have went for the elbow on Cawly but was probably a little unlucky for what he was sent off for.
    Dundalk were very very poor and probably deserved to lose the game but on the plus side we are getting points when we shouldn't. 3 points last week in Bray when we should have drawn and 1 point to Drogs when we should have lost. Makes a pleasant change from last year when we seemed to get no luck at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Hotdogs weren't too shabby either.

Not what I heard. Bus had to stop on way back to Dublin so a few people could get some decent grub. Anyway, poor start to the season by the real reds :(

dan1895 wrote: »
    Not what I heard. Bus had to stop on way back to Dublin so a few people could get some decent grub. Anyway, poor start to the season by the real reds :(

Ferns of all places we stopped, right outside a church.:eek:

Rovers0 pats 2

15 to go :pac::pac::pac:

Rovers fan runs onto the pitch and attacks Damian Lynch.

take a bow son.

For legal and rovers reason i saw the incident here:

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/v-st-patricks-ath-16-03-10#utm_campaigne=synclickback&source=http://www.srfc.tv/blog/&medium=3340928

Fairly sure the recording will NOT be be available to view after the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,618 ✭✭✭✭CSF

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Rovers fan runs onto the pitch and attacks Damian Lynch.

take a bow son.

For legal and rovers reason i saw the incident here:

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/v-st-patricks-ath-16-03-10#utm_campaigne=synclickback&source=http://www.srfc.tv/blog/&medium=3340928

Fairly sure the recording will NOT be be available to view after the match.
    Not that any form is ok, but can you clarify what attacked means in this case?

CSF wrote: »
    Not that any form is ok, but can you clarify what attacked means in this case?

Rovers fan ran onto the pitch and went for Gary Rogers :confused: then lynch, Lynch "escorted" him from the pitch, not a steward or gardai in sight.

Dont care tbh

WE ARE TOP OF THE LEAGUE ...............ON SAINT PATRICKS DAY!!!!!!:D

And we beat the wonderfully amazing rovers in tallaght by 2 simple goals to about 13 fairly woeful shots. We actually only had 2 or 3 shots.

nearly safe :o

Posted in the Gambling forum to go with Draw or Pats, sick I didn't now.

http://www.inpho.ie/cgi-bin/WebObjects/INPHO-Shop.woa/wa/p?p=9corEBJ0akdjskpJk_nukkCSziyl5Srm__i8YZVhm2o.a

Wonder will Shams avoid more fines like they did last season!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I hope Shams get a whopping fine for that bull****. That absolute scumbag, and he is, ran on the pitch and started attacking Rodgers when we were two up. Rodgers was shoving him back, then a few of our lads ran up. I think Lynchy got hold of him then, flung him to the floor. It was ages before any security got to him. An absolute shambles.

There's pictures of him and i hope Shams ban him. I just really hate that sh!t

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Hard to beat an epic comeback :D 2 absolutley cracking goals from Byrne and Cretaro in about 30 seconds

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test