Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do if undergraduate degree does not qualify?

Options
  • 12-03-2010 5:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

hey,
    i have just realised that teaching is the career option i want to take - after a very lengthy career process! better late than never people keep telling me.
    i have a degree in communications from dcu, a PG Cert in lifestyle journalism from london college of fashion and an MA in cultural policy and arts management from ucd. i want to teach english at second level. now i know for sure that comunications does not qualify as a teaching subject. i also get the impression that my cert and ma will count for nothing as they do not ostensibly translate directly into a teaching subject.
    does anybody know what you do to bring your education up to the qualifying level for the teaching council? i really don't want to invest in another masters - financially or time-wise, especially just to bring me to hdip level.
    i would really appreciate any advice
    - do i have to do another masters?
    - do i have to do a BA?!
    - do i go to the UK?
    - is it just not gonna happen for me?!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭pathway33

This is not what you want to hear but find out from the teaching council about the possibility of just doing the literature modules in the DCU Oscail BA. It's a distance learning degree. The teaching council recognise this degree. You already have a degree so less than half of the Oscail degree should suffice providing you focus on th literature modules. www.oscail.ie for more info