Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2nd rows - and crazy prices for specialist players..

• 15-03-2010 3:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭

The two worst players on my starting squad of 22 odd players are my starting 2nd rows..

So I have been looking at 2nd rows for months, bidding on any bloke who is tall with a csr of over 12k..

Last night I bid 50k for an average 13k csr bloke, tall with average jumping and average hands - who fit the bill for me. He ended up getting sold for 150k! The world is going mad!

WTF is up with 2nd rows, any other position I needed I have found someone who fit my bill at that time after a while [front rows took a while, but happy for now with what I have atm for div IV].

But any 2nd row worth anything goes for massive money? What gives?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

The tall guys really go for crazy money alright.

If you are currently in DIV 4 right now, I would just play with whatever you have. I imagine that you are winning your league any way. Save on the salary for the big guy for now and purchase him between weeks 10 and 14 for a bargain. The first 7 weeks are not the time to buy any player.

I have just cleared out 4 of my players with the intention of replacing them later on in the season. I received a combined sale of 1.1 million. That's how crazy the market is at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Oisinjm

Trying to get a centre for the last 2-3 weeks, its nuts :p

• Registered Users Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

Must say I've been stung badly by the transfer market this week. Sold one 2nd row who was 203cm and 121kg, conservative and controlled. Only 19. I already have 5 2nd rows in my team that I change depending on strategy so he didn't make the cut. Sold for $1000. I was very disappointed, I paid well over that for him originally.
    Sold a decent hooker at the same time, bit light for my new setup but good skills... sold for $1500. Disappointing to say the least.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Supply and demand really. There aren't a whole lot of people tall enough to be professional second rows in reality either. Also bear in mind that every 10* academy team wants a few of these boys too, so they will only go on the market if the team is already swimming in 2nd rows, or badly stuck for cash.

Prices for props seem to have dropped very sharply in the last few weeks, as demand has decreased (no more cup games for most). Maybe 2nds will go the same?

How tall are you looking for?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

Fewcifur wrote: »
    Must say I've been stung badly by the transfer market this week. Sold one 2nd row who was 203cm and 121kg, conservative and controlled. Only 19. I already have 5 2nd rows in my team that I change depending on strategy so he didn't make the cut. Sold for $1000. I was very disappointed, I paid well over that for him originally.
    Sold a decent hooker at the same time, bit light for my new setup but good skills... sold for $1500. Disappointing to say the least.

Ouch! I sold a player the other week for 11k, he had decent enough stats but didnt really scream out for any one position - to light for front row, too short for 2nd, required training for back row, no pace for backs. someone wanted him though. if you had the space he could have trained into a decent reserve back row though.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

I must have misbid on someone [meant to bid 11,111], as I bought a reasonable 2nd row for over 100 grand this morning :)

I now have 1 good 2nd row, but Im fecked as I dont have a home game for a couple of weeks - oops :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

My 133kg/11kCSR propr is currently selling for 125k...:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

I have a guy thats 147kg:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

ajeffares wrote: »
    I have a guy thats 147kg:eek:

23 stone! Nice

his stats are pretty crap tho

Ah, sure just get him to lie in the middle of the pitch and he'll do enough damage.

Anyone any suggestion for a nickname?

Kronos!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

Mushy :p

Kronos!
    I don't get :o
    Mushy :p

lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭mar-z

Kronos!

I don't get :o

I do but that cause I'm as big a nerd as Frankie :o:p

Science word for something very heavy is it? Like tron?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Science word for something very heavy is it? Like tron?

An enormous Greek god.

Orizio wrote: »
    An enormous Greek god.

And we have a winner! (although he was a titan technically;))

Me and Frankie were playing God of War together last weekend, hence the nerd comment.

Thats slightly disturbing:D

mar-z wrote: »
    And we have a winner! (although he was a titan technically;))

Me and Frankie were playing God of War together last weekend, hence the nerd comment.

Is it wrong that I have GOW III here and not started playing it yet?!?:eek:

eoferrall wrote: »
    Is it wrong that I have GOW III here and not started playing it yet?!?:eek:

VERY WRONG!

Myself, Mar-Z and one of the other lads finished it the day after it came out, or rather we finished it at 6am on the Sunday :P
    We just got to the stage where we had to beat it. Very good game. Far more graphic and bloody than the previous ones, god fights especially. You'll love it. :)

VERY WRONG!

Myself, Mar-Z and one of the other lads finished it the day after it came out, or rather we finished it at 6am on the Sunday :P
    We just got to the stage where we had to beat it. Very good game. Far more graphic and bloody than the previous ones, god fights especially. You'll love it. :)

had a bit of a session this evening on it - very enjoyable! :D

We prob shouldn't drag the thread off topic anymore though! But some summers evening we should have a blackout beers! :D

(oh I have had the game since before it came out but heavy rain & work and being away stopped me playing!:o)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,203 ✭✭✭crisco10

eoferrall wrote: »
    had a bit of a session this evening on it - very enjoyable! :D

We prob shouldn't drag the thread off topic anymore though! But some summers evening we should have a blackout beers! :D

(oh I have had the game since before it came out but heavy rain & work and being away stopped me playing!:o)

Heavy rain stopped you playing computer games. You are odd. :D