Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin County North Event Thread - NO CHAT

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

April 2-April 9

From Tuesday April 5 to Saturday April 9

Friends of Autism and ADHD Skerries and Balbriggan will donate 10% of all purchases made to the Irish Kidney Association,

when they are shown a valid Donor Card,

2010, was not a good year for organ donation with

just 58 deceased donors.

BE DONOR AWARE.CARRY A CARD

Cards are available in store

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Eoineo

Date: Tuesday 5th April
    Venue: Combined Clubs, Balbriggan
    Times: 5-8.30pm

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Eoineo wrote: »
    Date: Wednesday 6th April
    Venue: Hamilton Hall, Georges Square (the town hall, 2nd floor over the library)

There will be members of the local Community Gardai and representatives of Fingal County Council in attendance. The meeting is open to all residents from Balbriggan and Balrothery Areas.

What time is this on at Eoineo? Thanks.

Jimdagym wrote: »
    What time is this on at Eoineo? Thanks.

7.30pm Jim, sorry about that it's fixed now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭LeoB

Went to Skerries today and still great effort being put in.

2 events upcoming.
    Fuel fund for Trawlermen/fishing men.
    Anne McLoone is having a coffee day at her house
    Hand Pk
    Rush
    tomorrow Wednesday 3pm tp 9pm.
    This is a very generous effort from Anne so if you cant make Skerries drop Ann in a few €uro. Annes house is past the Harbour in Rush and turn onto Tower St. The house is at the top end of Tower St just after a row of 4 houses (The Cove) right on the corner.

Rush N.S
    Non uniform day on Thursday
    Each child pays €1 not to wear their uniform but If you know a child going to Rush N.S you can also sponsor them NOT to wear their uniform on Thursday. A good idea for the children to feel involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Hill Billy wrote: »
    SKERRIES ... LET'S COME TOGETHER FOR THE RNLI.
    "A Walk of Solidarity" will start at the Bandstand, Red Island this Wednesday 6th at 7pm, to walk a 5km lap of Skerries. Funds are badly needed at this time. Bring €10 or whatever you can afford. Tell your friends!

### UPDATE ###

Please note that the walk will now start from the MARTELLO TOWER. Same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Hi everyone,

I am currently doing a course in Sarsfield House, Balbriggan(it's on Mill Street ;))

As part of our Team Building Module, we are organising a Charity Pub Quiz for the 'Friends of Autism and ADHD' shop. It will be held in the Milestone ( in Balbriggan) on May the 4th.

Please come along and join in, we already have some great prizes collected from various outlets around the town. The charge is €20 per table, so €5 a head.

Come along and bring a few mates. It's for charity folks and it'll be a bit of craic!

Hope to see you there.

Cheers,

Eoghan and the rest of FETAC Level 5 Retail studies students.

p.s.

A full list of prizes and outlets credited with sponsoring us will be put up here in a few short days. PM me with any questions or queries, cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Kickstart

Its National Springclean Month so Rush Tidy Towns will be out and about this Saturday 16th April.

Meeting at The Strand Car park @ 10am & hoping to hit a few spots around town.

Need more volunteers so if you can spare an hour or two it would be greatly appreciated!!

St. Maurs G.A.A club are having a family day on Sunday 1st May at their grounds in Rush.

The big event of the day will be a Balloon race:confused:

The idea is you buy a balloon and you get a number. The Balloons are then filled with helium and let off at 3pm. The balloon that travels furthest with 28 days wins €500. So we hope some good souls wil find them and text back to the number on balloon with the location. Some have gone from Dublin to Hollland, France, Germany, Poland and Denmark. Great idea and causing a stir locally. Balloons are €5.

There are plenty of novelty events,(Over 35s match:D) and a BBQ.

All are welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Sunday, May 1st sees the Shelbourne Team play in a Charity game in Balbriggan.

The game is in aid of Temple Street and Tallaght Children's Hospital.
    Details of the game and raffle prizes on offer are listed below:

Balrothery FC v Shelbourne

Glebe North Ground, Balbriggan

Sunday, May 1st 2011

Kick-Off 4pm

Admission:
    Adults €10, Sudents & OAPs €5, Kids Under 10 Free

Every person who comes to the game will be given a ticket on entry, once they pay the fee. They will put their name/number on the ticket, which will put them into a prize draw to be held in the Balrothery Inn after the match.
    The prizes for this raffle include:

- Travel, 1 nights Accommodation and 2 Match Tickets for Man Utd v Blackpool on the last day of the season

- 2 Tickets to Riverdance in the Gaiety Theatre

- 2 Tickets to Blood Brothers in the Gaiety Theatre

- A Meal for 2 with a bottle of win and an overnight stay in the Bracken Court Hotel in Balbriggan

- A Meal for 2 in Harveys American Grill and an overnight stay in the Bracken Court Hotel in Balbriggan

- A Meal for 2 with a bottle of wine in the Balrothery Inn and an overnight stay in the Bracken Court Hotel in Balbriggan

- 4 Ball round of golf in Balbriggan Golf Club

- 1 nights stay in the Ashling Hotel in the City Centre

- 2 Tickets to PJ Gallagher’s comedy show

- 2 Tickets to the Carling Cup of Nations

- Improve your putting golf kit

We know that you will agree that it's a very worthy charity and hope that you will lend your support to the organisers.

A great cause, can't make it myself due to work but hopefully there's a decent turn out.

A little bit late, but...

Skerries Community Pre-School is having a fundraiser today (Sunday 8th May) @ 1pm in the Scout Den (behind the community centre).
    It is a Toy Sale with a difference!! We'll have little competitions running all day!! Come and check it out for yourself!!! Great bargains to be had!!! Pick & Mix Table!!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,291 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

This Saturday, the RNLI Roadshow is coming to Skerries. There will be
    a vehicle parked at the harbour and all kinds of sea safety
    information and advice will be available for any type of activity
    which involves the water. If you can't make it on Saturday you can
    catch it in Rush on Sunday.

Source: Skerries CA

Pieta House
    3rd Annual Tea Party

Saturday 14th May
    Station Road, Lusk (Bollards House)
    12 noon to 6pm
    Fun and entertainment for all the family

Pieta House provide support for people who self harm and suicide prevention

Sorry for short notice

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,291 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Beasty wrote: »
    This Saturday, the RNLI Roadshow is coming to Skerries. There will be
    a vehicle parked at the harbour and all kinds of sea safety
    information and advice will be available for any type of activity
    which involves the water. If you can't make it on Saturday you can
    catch it in Rush on Sunday.

Source: Skerries CA
    I understand this will now be remaining in Skerries tomorrow (Sunday) rather than moving on to Rush

A stunning exhibition by local photographers is on this week at Skerries Mills until Sunday, May 29. The Four Seasons Exhibition comprises a range of landscape, wildlife and nature photographs by Eamon and Christine O’Daly, many of which were taken during the last 12 months.

Skerries Mills is open from 10am. This unmissable exhibition takes place in the Tea Rooms upstairs.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Kickstart

Rush Tidy Towns meeting tomorrow morning (May 21st) at the Church car park 9.30am to 12.30 approx. Even if you can only make it for an hour or so all help would be greatly appreciated. Refreshments in the Strand afterwards courtesy of Joe Sherman.

For the summer months, we will be meeting on a fortnightly basis on a Saturday morning same place & time as above and where we meet on the Sat we will follow up on the following wednesday night at 7pm to 8.30 approx.

Hope that's not too confusing!

Really hope this is the year we all make a difference to our own town, it sure needs it :).

Kickstart wrote: »
    Rush Tidy Towns meeting tomorrow morning (May 21st) at the Church car park 9.30am to 12.30 approx. Even if you can only make it for an hour or so all help would be greatly appreciated. Refreshments in the Strand afterwards courtesy of Joe Sherman.

For the summer months, we will be meeting on a fortnightly basis on a Saturday morning same place & time as above and where we meet on the Sat we will follow up on the following wednesday night at 7pm to 8.30 approx.

Hope that's not too confusing!

Really hope this is the year we all make a difference to our own town, it sure needs it :).

P.M on the way.

That car park will be very busy tomorrow.

Date: Monday 27th June

Time: 12 - 9pm

Balbriggan Youth Service presents Nitrogen Youth Music Festival for young people aged 13 - 21 yrs. A one day, non-alcoholic & drug free festival featuring some of the best local and national talent.

The Flaws headline the festival along with some other very special guests! Support includes:
    Gun Runner, The Notas, Thumbprint, Demented, Planet Claire, White Rose Alumni, The Daze Boiiz, Strictly Roots, Jamacian Vampires, Morning Aft...er Phil, House Of Cards and What She Said.

Buses will run to and from the event on the day from the church car park on Dublin St and tickets cost €3 return. Food will be on sale at the event.

Tickets cost €15 and can be purchased at the Balbriggan Youth Service. Phone 01-8496708 for more details. Money raised will go towards Zambia.

This is a strictly drug and alcohol free event. All bags will be searched on entering the event with no bottles (inc water/minerals) being allowed past the gate.

The event will be supervised by Foróige staff, volunteers, An Garda Síochána and Suzi the sniffer dog! Order of Malta will also be available on the day.

We hope to see you all there!

PS: Don't forget your Wellies!!

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Rain Dog

Sustainable Skerries hosts a talk with Eanna ni Lamhna of RTE Radios Mooney Show on Wednesday 8th June, 7.30 pm in the Little Theatre, Skerries.

In conjunction with Vita, a charity supporting sustainable development in the Horn of Africa.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Rain Dog wrote: »
    Sustainable Skerries hosts a talk with Eanna ni Lamhna of RTE Radios Mooney Show on Wednesday 8th June, 7.30 pm in the Little Theatre, Skerries.

In conjunction with Vita, a charity supporting sustainable development in the Horn of Africa.

Sounds good - I take it there is no need to book in advance? Is there an entrance fee?

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Rain Dog

Rain Dog wrote: »

No entrance fee, donations welcome!

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭kjbsrah1

cpforum_logo.jpg Balbriggan Community Policing Forum will be holding its second public meeting for 2011 in the Hamilton Hall , Town Hall , Balbriggan on Wednesday 15th June at 7.30pm.

Residents of Balbriggan and Balrothery will have an opportunity to come along and bring their issues of crime, disorder and anti social behaviour to the appropriate authorities. Public meetings are attended by An Garda Siochana, and the Fingal County Council and chaired by the Balbriggan Community Policing Forum.

Free parking is available under the hotel/town hall and your ticket will be validated at the desk in the town hall after the meeting. Turn out for the last public meeting was approx 40 persons and many people spoke out and contributed. Action will be taken on the issues that are brought up at the meetings and feedback will be given by An Garda Siochana and the Fingal County Council at the follow on meeting. Issues that have been presented by the public include such things as anti social behaviour with younger members of the community, parking, speeding, signage problems, drug dealing on estates, drug taking, vandalism to name but a few.
    The Balbriggan Community Policing Forum is an independent body who aims to build community capacity, develop links and further enhance communication between the residents of Balbriggan, state agencies, local authority and An Garda Siochana. One of the most important elements of our work is the facilitation of public meetings.

Why Should I attend?
    The success of these meetings will depend on your involvement. Anti- social behaviour is something that affects us all. Each contribution is important and all views will be welcome.

The Balbriggan Community Policing Forums main achievement to date is the setting up of this public meeting system which allows the public to have open dialogue with the Garda and the County Council in a local venue. Also many new residents groups have been set up with the aid of the Balbriggan Community Policing Forum. We actively encourage the development of residents groups or associations. If we have not met with your group or if you have any issue we can help you with please contact your local development worker Louise Butler on 086 7716811 Or email balbriggan@cpforum.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Rush Horticultural Society

Show venue: St. Maurs GAA, Rush
    Entries accepted 6pm to 9pm tonight & 8:30am to 10:30am tomorrow morning.
    Judging commences at 11am
    Doors re-open at 2pm
    Admission 2 Euro (accompanied children free & exhibitors free)
    ...Presentation of prizes at 5pm
    Auction after prize-giving
    Queries to rushhs@hotmail.com or 086 879 95 71

Download show program at http://www.freewebs.com/rushhs/

Rush Harbour Festival

Not to be missed: RUSH HARBOUR FESTIVAL, 29.07-31.07. at the Harbour in Rush.
    Lots of activities,
    • BOUNCY CASTLES, VINTAGE CAR SHOW,
    • 10K HARBOUR TO HARBOUR RUN,
    • BLESSING OF THE FISHING BOATS,
    • TEENAGE DISCO
    • BARN DANCE
    • BATTLE OF THE BANDS
    • BEACH FOOTBALL ~ BEACH HURLING
    • OTHER NOVELTY SPORTS AND GAMES
    • ARTS AND CRAFTS
    • PARADE WITH BALBRIGGAN BAND
    and much much more for everyone

Will post up more details later or as soon as I have them

The event is to raise funds for the new Christmas lights for the Main Street

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Neil_Sedaka

Anything of interest for younger kids tomorrow, Saturday?
    Thanks.

Anything of interest for younger kids tomorrow, Saturday?
    Thanks.

Didnt get exact details but I heard tonight there are bouncy castles and things aimed at smaller kids tomorrow afternoon.

Quite a big entry to the 10k run if anyone has a bit of spare time some more marshalls needed along route.

In the afternoon there is a catch and cook BBQ FROM 3 TO 5.30. so plenty of fish dish's on the menu. Craft stalls also there tomorrow.

No chat - as per the thread title.

Thanks,

tHB

Rush Tidy Towns
    • Table Quiz
    • Friday night at 8.30
    • Strand Bar Rush
    • Table of 4 €20
    Spot prizes galore and no doubt a good bit of crack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

A Little Late posting for some events this week.

National Heritage Week 2011, 20th-28th August

Some selected highlights of local events
    • Skerries 1911 Festival
    • Historical guided walk of Rush 27th
    • Red Kite guided walk in Newbridge Demesne, Donabate 27th
    • Martello Towers of Dublin Exhibition, Rush Library

• Registered Users Posts: 4,570 ✭✭✭sNarah

If any of ye folks are looking for something to do this weekend, myself and DarrenG are exhibiting our photographs on St Stephens Green for Peoples Photography the whole weekend! Do pop over and say hello, we're nice like :o