Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UFC Vera Vs Jones Predictions

• 16-03-2010 11:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭

Whats the predictions? Have to say this Card aint bad, in fact a bit better than the other PPVs this year!

Here is my two cents.
    Light Heavyweight bout: Brandon Vera vs. Jon Jones- Vera to win
    Heavyweight bout: Junior dos Santos vs. Gabriel Gonzaga - Dos Santos to win
    Heavyweight bout: Cheick Kongo vs. Paul Buentello- Kongo to win( just remembered Buentellos performance against Struve)
    Middleweight bout: Alessio Sakara vs. James Irvin- Irvin easily to win.

Some decent prelims which I will hope will be shown beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

there was a thread about it about a week ago...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

there was a thread about it about a week ago...

Point it out?

That thread wasn't predictions. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Brandon Vera Vs Jon Jones Vera had a decent outing is his last fight so he is guaranteed a stinker here. Although even if he does perform I would take Jones for the win.

Junior dos Santos vs. Gabriel Gonzaga

Cheick Kongo vs. Paul Buentello Not a big fan of Kongo but I can't see him losing here.

Alessio Sakara vs. James Irvin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,460 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Brandon Vera Vs Jon Jones Vera had a decent outing is his last fight so he is guaranteed a stinker here. Although even if he does perform I would take Jones for the win.

Junior dos Santos vs. Gabriel Gonzaga

Cheick Kongo vs. Paul Buentello Not a big fan of Kongo but I can't see him losing here.

Alessio Sakara vs. James Irvin

I agree on all but Irvine. He's been out since his loss to Silva with injury and dope suspension and I think it'll show. It's Irvine's first time at MW too.

Vera Jones is close. Both of them are great wrestlers, Jones made Hamill look like a wean when they fought, and Vera almost completely negated Couture's wrestling gameplan which is no small task. Very close call but I hope Jones wins. He has all the hype that Vera had 3 years ago but is more likely to fulfil that potential IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭sonic.trip

Why does everyone think jones will win? I think vera has proven a lot more than jones to be honest, I for one will be lumping on him @2/1

I also think struve will beat roy "the fat" nelson in the next fight night, another great price.
    In fact a double on the two of these might be an idea

sonic.trip wrote: »
    Why does everyone think jones will win? I think vera has proven a lot more than jones to be honest, I for one will be lumping on him @2/1

I just think its hard to take somebody serious after they have lost to Jardine. :D

The only time I have ever seen Vera look impressive was the fight with Mike Patt, and that was a complete mismatch.

Jones on the other hand I see as a future champion. With his style of fighting someone is going to beat him but I don't see that being Vera

Agreed, that fight with randy couture was a joke! All randy did was put him up aginst the cage, Vera is looking to make a name for himself again, I don't think Jones will take it away from him.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Foxinho

Ya i think this is jones toughest fight to date to gauge hw good a contentender he is at 205. After this fight i think we will know if he is the real deal or not?

Im betting that he will win by tko in the 2nd

Also the heavyweight bout im pippin for dos santos, he can go places!! Hes looked impressive so far whilst gonsaga can be hit and miss!!

wat ya think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,931 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

I also think struve will beat roy "the fat" nelson in the next fight night, another great price.
    In fact a double on the two of these might be an idea

I couldn't agree more
    can't decide which of these is the best value.
    look who vera has fought compared to jones and yet hes
    21/10 with boyles...thats amazing value for what i fight i
    see as 50/50 and i also see it going the distance.
    I backed vera to beat randy..couldnt believe that one.
    he shouldve done better when he had randy in trouble.
    Id love to see struve beat nelson and if he keeps it
    standing i think he can pull it off..9/4 is very big.
    cant stand big country and the sooner he's put away the better.

Foxinho wrote: »
    Ya i think this is jones toughest fight to date to gauge hw good a contentender he is at 205. After this fight i think we will know if he is the real deal or not?

Im betting that he will win by tko in the 2nd

Also the heavyweight bout im pippin for dos santos, he can go places!! Hes looked impressive so far whilst gonsaga can be hit and miss!!

wat ya think?

gonzaga is very dangerous but jds has an iron chin in comparison.
    i wouldnt be backing jds at 2/9 but i think he'll take it.

personally i dont see jones finishing vera.
    if he did it would be some statement when the likes
    of randy, jardine and others couldnt stop him and the
    fact that hes only been stopped once in his career

I just think its hard to take somebody serious after they have lost to Jardine. :D

The only time I have ever seen Vera look impressive was the fight with Mike Patt, and that was a complete mismatch.

Jones on the other hand I see as a future champion. With his style of fighting someone is going to beat him but I don't see that being Vera

up till jardines last two fights he was a match a lot of the top guys
    especially against chuck and rampage but i do think vera shouldve
    been maybe a level above jardine.
    its veras failure to finish off guys is what worries me especially when
    i bet on him
    hard to know how good jones is as he beat nobody.
    vera wouldve been hamill like a dog if they met and only
    a year ago jones couldnt put away bonner

I just done a little bet there:

tenner on:

Vera @ 21/10
    Kauto Star @ 4/6
    Dos Santos @4/11

Can't wait for this fight now :D

I just done a little bet there:

tenner on:

Vera @ 21/10
    Kauto Star @ 4/6
    Dos Santos @4/11

Can't wait for this fight now :D

Kauto fighting at HW?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Kauto fighting at HW?

Isnt he the Judo guy?

Kauto fighting at HW?

Guys kicks are amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

lol took me much longer than it should of to get that.

Kauto fighting at HW?

You never seen an mma fighter fighting a horse :D

have to start over now since he fell today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Guys kicks are amazing.

I've heard his trainer Paul Nicholls saying that he kicks as hard as a horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Bananna man

Is the fight on tv this weekend? Just checked ESPN but didnt see it listed.

its on tomorrow nite

says 1 am tonight, not listed on espn for some reson though, but it will be on

http://uk.ufc.com/index.cfm?fa=event.Calendar

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

As long as Jones comes out to this again Ill be a happy man:

Have to go with Jones via decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Bananna man

says 1 am tonight, not listed on espn for some reson though, but it will be on

http://uk.ufc.com/index.cfm?fa=event.Calendar

Fingers crossed, say'd NHL is on at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

I've an accum with Dos Santos, Kongo, Jones, Guida and Irvin. Wouldn't mind a few bob after Paddys Day!

1am monday
    its showing up on my sky planner

All the other fight nights have been on live on ESPN, plus livesport on tv and boylesports says its ESPN

http://www.livesportontv.com/mixed-martial-arts

Oh no, is this not on at 1am tonight ?

nope
    tomorrow nite

for some reason I thought it was tonight myself :mad: damn was looking forwad to that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Zippitydoo

What is a good site to place accumulators with please guys?

Zippitydoo wrote: »
    What is a good site to place accumulators with please guys?

paddy power or boyles, check both for the best prices as they can vary, boyles seems to be better these days for ufc odds though

Betfair all the way lads...

boyles have only priced up 3 fights on tomorrows cards
    thats a disgrace
    i want to double vera with irvin but no price available on the latter
    and theyre biggest by far on vera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

wow, watching the Weigh-Ins and looking at James Irvin at 185 is so weird!

Ya ever see when someone loses a shed load of weight after a serious illness? It's so weird to look at him, i remember him as a Heavyweight in the UFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭baz123

I'm gonna go with: Jones in the main event, Dos Santos to beat Gonzaga,Buentello to surprise most with a win over Kongo(ko) and Sakara to beat Irvin(looks to me like the sandman has been out of action too long and the weight cut will prove to be too much for him)

did a single on vera at 21/10
    and an accum with
    schaub
    kongo
    jds
    irvin (seriously worried bout this one)
    mir
    alves

hoping in can get tonites up so i dont
    have to go big on the alves mir double

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Denners

mailburner wrote: »
    did a single on vera at 21/10
    and an accum with
    schaub
    kongo
    jds
    irvin (seriously worried bout this one)
    mir
    alves

hoping in can get tonites up so i dont
    have to go big on the alves mir double

Did you do this online or in a bookies?

Can't do accums with betfair and boylesports only have 3 fights available

Denners wrote: »
    Did you do this online or in a bookies?

Can't do accums with betfair and boylesports only have 3 fights available

seen that alrite

i backed vera with boyles
    did an accum in the shop (paddy)
    and an accum online (paddy)
    paddy probably just about the best overall
    for the amount of markets.
    most bookies just offer match betting whereas
    with pp you can chose the method of victory
    amongst others
    http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_type&ev_class_id=172&disp_cat_id=&ev_type_id=12913&ev_oc_grp_ids=225437

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭bret69

I did an accum on Jones, Dos Santos, Kongo, Guida & Sakara

Got a little over 5/1 from Paddy Power for that

Jaysus there is a lot of ads. Two ad breaks in ten minutes:mad:

Chillaxe wrote: »
    Jaysus there is a lot of ads. Two ad breaks in ten minutes:mad:

Yup, same with all the UFN shows too. VERY annoying. I'm taping it, seriously considering going to bed and watching it tomorrow when i can forward the ads.
    Great decision by Rosenthal. Punch right on the eyeball, that's gotta hurt. It's definately a TKO. Irvin didn't complain.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Yup, same with all the UFN shows too. VERY annoying. I'm taping it, seriously considering going to bed and watching it tomorrow when i can forward the ads.
    Great decision by Rosenthal. Punch right on the eyeball, that's gotta hurt. It's definately a TKO. Irvin didn't complain.

Agreed
    Vicious hands altogether great tko.

"He's getting molested"

I love Joe Rogan!

Dominant performance as predicted by Kongo, still holes in his ground game. Hopefully Gonzaga and Dos santos delivers.

so we get to see 4 fights max i guess
    at least 30-40mins of ads
    10 mins of interviews
    another 10mins promoting gsp/hardy card
    and the show is only 2 hours
    what a bunch of ****

mailburner wrote: »
    so we get to see 4 fights max i guess
    at least 30-40mins of ads
    10 mins of interviews
    another 10mins promoting gsp/hardy card
    and the show is only 2 hours
    what a bunch of ****

Yep. I really am disappointed with it. Although I am looking forward to the next two fights.

Yeah but you gotta realise that these cards are a vehicle to promote the PPV cards. Plus, to give fights to the massive fighter roster.

The ads really annoy me, makes me appreciate the PPV cards though.

(PS, Dos Santos coming out to "Gonna Fly Now", sweet)

Mad mistake by Gonzaga. Good night!

very good knockout, junior dos santos is looking better with each fight, horrible mistake by gonzaga though.

John Howard............ WOW!