Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Presenter of Film 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Does this really warrant two threads? Both of which started by you? It's a crap show, has been since Wossy took over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Let's be honest though, Jonathan Ross knew feck all about film when he started.
    I honestly don't see how this is a suprise choice, they always give top jobs to people who don't deserve them.

It's all politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Film 2010 will relaunch in September with a new format, which will see it feature a range of cinema experts and live studio guests.

WTF?! catering to the lowest common denominator again BBC, I always liked that it was just one persons opinion on movies with some interviews, nothing flashy about it. It'll probably have celebrite guest interviewers or ice skating in the background or something

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Fizman wrote: »
    Wow. I wouldn't mind so much if she was good looking. But she isn't. She really isn't.

How shallow. Surely it's whether or not she is adept at the gig. Let's give her a chance, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Ill give it a go see how it pans out,i did like ross tho shame to see him go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Meh I can see it being the tv equivalent of Empire magazine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Ill give it a go see how it pans out,i did like ross tho shame to see him go!

He can now concentrate on more specialist stuff. His programmes on Japan and comics were excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭StinkySocs

Bring back the wross-mistir

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

StinkySocs wrote: »
    Bring back the wross-mistir

Screw that give Barry norman some pep pills and push him out there infront of the cameras. Mark Kermode would be a bit esoteric but would do a far better & more interesting job than claudia z-list wannabe watserface.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

How many times do the BBC say they aren't dumbing down to go from the Legend of Norman, to a chat show host who might have interviewed a few film stars and fan of popular culture to Winkleman, a presenter of total crap in one form or another, as the new host of Film 2010. Not sure they have a leg to stand on backing up their assertions now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

OHH NOO!! :rolleyes:
    Guess I'll have to continue not watching this ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,196 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I don't watch it.. but this will push me away from it even further!

Getting someone like Kermode, Brooker or Paul Ross would have made reconsider giving it a watch weekly! *

* one of those mentioned presenters was actually a joke..

.. I can't stand Mark Kermode! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I dont know lads, maybe she'll be ok........although Im probably only saying that because I kind of fancy her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

oh my god she's unbearable.

What a disappointment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Highly doubt she will surpise me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Well she couldn't be any worse than that ass-kissing know-nothing goon Jonathan Ross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭bnt

On Twitter, @Wossy says:
    Hope everyone will give the lovely Winkelman a chance to settle into Film 2010 chair. She is smart and funny and knows her stuff.
    @ClaudiaWinkle says:
    thank you. am officially cock-a-hoop

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Meh, Wossy is a lick arse and it was hard to get an honest feeling out of him over a movie. I've seen this guy give some dreadful movies the thumbs up where oddly he'd have the actor / actress on his chat show around the same time......hmm......

Anywho, this one ain't gonna entice me to watch it anymore than Wossy did, she was brutal at hosting the Oscars coverage. She kept wanting to veer off and talk about dresses & potential catfights over more dresses.

If you like your dribbly, slushy movies then she'll be grand, I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I clicked here expecting a Darth Vader/Revenge of the Sith thread not this sh*t. Simple solution, don't watch.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    I clicked here expecting a Darth Vader/Revenge of the Sith thread not this sh*t. Simple solution, don't watch.

ok.

darthtragedynoooo1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Meh, Wossy is a lick arse and it was hard to get an honest feeling out of him over a movie. I've seen this guy give some dreadful movies the thumbs up where oddly he'd have the actor / actress on his chat show around the same time......hmm......

Anywho, this one ain't gonna entice me to watch it anymore than Wossy did, she was brutal at hosting the Oscars coverage. She kept wanting to veer off and talk about dresses & potential catfights over more dresses.

If you like your dribbly, slushy movies then she'll be grand, I say.

Actually I saw him give a bad review to a film and remembered he had the actor on the week before. Maybe they are shifting the show to BBC2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I presume shes only going to be the presenter of the show. She wont have any production duties, or have any meaningful input on the format? If thats the case it wont matter that much will it. I always suspected that a small team of movie buffs wrote all J Ross's film reviews for him. He always comes across like hes reading a well composed speech. If this continues, then grand. If all she is is a pretty face (im still undecided as to whether shes hot or not!) then it wont matter to me.
    Its not surprising that the BBC did this really. The show is hardly prime time viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Anaiyela

God I hate that woman........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

basquille wrote: »

Getting someone like Kermode, Brooker or Paul Ross would have made reconsider giving it a watch weekly! *
    Christ. I thought for a second you were serious. Brooker's an idiot.*

*I also may be playing it for jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Why not just hire... I dunno... a film reviewer? Crazy, crazy idea, I'm sorry. As you were BBC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

I miss the days of Barry Norman. Jonathan Ross was a terrible choice to replace him. And Winkleman is just baffling. I would have gone with Mark Kermode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,017 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/tv/news/a259267/bbc-confirms-new-look-film-2010.html

Film 2010 will be revamped ahead of its return this autumn, the BBC has confirmed.

Claudia Winkleman, who replaces Jonathan Ross as the show's host, has been given a co-host in film journalist Danny Leigh.

Leigh said in a statement: "When I was a kid in the dim and distant 1980s becoming ever more obsessed with movies, there were two places I could find out about them – my local fleapit cinema in Brighton, and the BBC's Film Programme with Barry Norman.

"Having been lucky enough to spend a chunk of the years since writing about film for a living, it entirely boggles my mind to have the chance to co-host the show now.

"I'm really looking forward to working with Claudia and we'll have something for everyone from the casual Wednesday night passer-by to the most well-informed and passionate film fanatic."

Winkleman added: "I'm completely over the moon about Danny joining the team. He's going to be a fantastic companion discussing all things film - from the latest Hollywood blockbuster to independent art-house cinema. We're even going to discuss the merits of Speed 2 at the weekends - I'm being perfectly serious."

As the show approaches its 40th anniversary, it will extend its coverage from 30 to 40 minutes, as well as broadcast live debates with chosen critics.

Danny Leigh's a decent little writer: http://www.guardian.co.uk/profile/dannyleigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭livEwirE

So they've kept Winkleman as some 'eye candy' and given her a crutch to work with in Danny Leigh. At least someone with some kind of movie knowledge is now involved:rolleyes:

Christ.. Winkleman is what passes for 'eye candy' these days? Don't consider her attractive in the slightest - might just be me personally!

claudia-winkleman.jpg_e_f3a7c2adba52315d6ab61b83a2cd478e.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Damn, was hoping Mr. Borchardt would get it :(

borchardt.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/tv/news/a259267/bbc-confirms-new-look-film-2010.html

Film 2010 will be revamped ahead of its return this autumn, the BBC has confirmed.

Claudia Winkleman, who replaces Jonathan Ross as the show's host, has been given a co-host in film journalist Danny Leigh.

Leigh said in a statement: "When I was a kid in the dim and distant 1980s becoming ever more obsessed with movies, there were two places I could find out about them – my local fleapit cinema in Brighton, and the BBC's Film Programme with Barry Norman.

"Having been lucky enough to spend a chunk of the years since writing about film for a living, it entirely boggles my mind to have the chance to co-host the show now.

"I'm really looking forward to working with Claudia and we'll have something for everyone from the casual Wednesday night passer-by to the most well-informed and passionate film fanatic."

Winkleman added: "I'm completely over the moon about Danny joining the team. He's going to be a fantastic companion discussing all things film - from the latest Hollywood blockbuster to independent art-house cinema. We're even going to discuss the merits of Speed 2 at the weekends - I'm being perfectly serious."

As the show approaches its 40th anniversary, it will extend its coverage from 30 to 40 minutes, as well as broadcast live debates with chosen critics.

So this is moving to BBC3, yeah? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Quiet Claudia, you're not paid to talk.

Also, didn't she leave The One Show recently on quite bad terms?

It'll be interesting to see what happens at contract renewal time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Kaizer Sosa

That was Christina Bleakely, the nordie girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Damn. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭LevelSpirit

I've watched a few now and its terrible.
    More like a podcast than a BBC production.
    Utter rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

I don't think she is particularly bad, it's just that the format of the show is horribly dated and still feels like it hasn't moved on much since Barry Norman left in the 90's. They need to revamp the show, maybe make it more like the Simon & Mark Radio 5 Show which sometimes has a live audience at the cinema. Film 2010-11 feels terribly clinical. Barry Norman got away with it through his acerbic wit which worked well with the format, Johnathan Ross had none of those charms. This new lady is doing more of the same, but I don't think it's her fault necessarily.

Why not just hire... I dunno... a film reviewer? Crazy, crazy idea, I'm sorry. As you were BBC

She does a movie show on bbc radio. It's a load of shíte.