Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CHELTENHAM - DAY 4: 19th March

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If its the bit I saw Ted Walsh cut through all the crap speculation about Denman and said "look no-one knows - trainer, vets. Back him hoping he runs to his potential."

He is in the KS camp himself.

mike65 wrote: »
    If its the bit I saw Ted Walsh cut through all the crap speculation about Denman and said "look no-one knows - trainer, vets. Back him hoping he runs to his potential."

Yeah thats the bit, not really a rant I suppose but was funny first thing in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭pejesus

this is how im spending me last 75 euro

25 euro each way double Olofi 11/1 and Sericina 10/1

25 euro win sericina 10/1

the double pays 3628
    the win 275

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,009 ✭✭✭patrickc

dont really bet normally but have done a 1e/w lucky 15 on

1.30 barizan
    2.40 shinrock paddy
    3.20 denman
    4.40 meath all star

potential returns 28k lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭CorkFenian

Not much of a betting man tbh, but really enjoy the Cheltenham week, last year I bet €200 on Kauto Star to win, sorely tempted to bet a bit more today on him...Friend over in Cheltenham reckons the only way Kauto Star can lose is if he falls (hes big into racing and I would value his opinion a lot), any one any views on this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Well I've gone for Kauto Star to win.

C'mon Ruby Walsh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭madma

looking to do a trio all ways for the gold cup

how do i work out kaoto,denman,cooldine all to finish 1st 2nd or 3rd?

wouldi get decent odds on that outcome?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

well if you were to do it ks 1st denman 2nd and cooldine 3rd odds would be about 12-1 if you were to do them in anyorder odds would be less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Cooldine will cause a major shock today when he wins!

Not sure why i think this as he has been poor this year but something is teling me:D

What's the craic wit Bertie's Dream? Is it jus one person who said it on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

There's hope for us yet !!!!!! Q is, was it YOU ?? (in McCririck style, pointing the finger) :p

"A William Hill telephone account holder has some huge bets riding on today's Totesport Gold Cup following a series of 10p e/w accumulators placed yesterday.All the bets involved horses running on Thursday with the last leg being the Gold Cup today.
    The punter has a total of £90,550 going onto 5 seperate horses to be placed in today's feature race and may well break William Hill's limit of £1 million.
    The punter's chances are:
    Denman (4-1) – wins £181,100 if placed
    Imperial Commander (8-1) – wins £271,650
    Cooldine (SP) – wins £271,650 (estimated)
    Tricky Trickster (16-1) – wins £543,300
    Carruthers (50-1) – wins £1,222,425
    Maximum Exposure – £2,037,375 (Hills limit -£1million)"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Sh*t missed it.What did he say.Was he giving out to McCririck
    My only bets today are

Denman (win)
    Nomecheki (e/w)

Its make or break day!! Come on the Tank!

Also LOL at Ted Walsh's bit of a rant on the morning line :D.
    Vanbis wrote: »
    I missed that, was he ranting about......John McCririck?
    Ohh what was this rant all about?

Walsh basically said what everyone knows about racing
    Ted Walsh on The Morning Line when asked about Denmans prospects.

"Listen...Binocular went home in a horse box for three weeks and bolted up in the Chamion Hurdle. Its all balloni! It's pure chance....it's great scientific that we work it out. Binocular put it all out the window. He was going to run, he wasn't going to run....experts hanging out of his earholes...if they're good enough on the day; no one knows anything about this game, we know nothing, the fellas who train them are only guessing. You arrive here on the day and away he goes. The rest is only up in the air. As far as I'm concerned, it's only chance"

Meanwhile Paddy Flood is grinning like a cheshire cat:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 jimmy5bellys

Heard it down the pub last night too. But hey, I hear alot of stuff in the pub...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Gamble on Pittoni here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

First bets of the week and hoping for mayhem and carnage.

1Euro e/w Lucky 15

1:05 Barizan 25/1
    2:05 Thousand Stars 25/1
    2:40 Shinrock Paddy 9/1
    3:20 Cooldine 8/1

(My bookie paying first 5 in the 2:05)

Good luck everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

Gamble on Pittoni here

Im on already - heres to hoping :)

Laying Advisor for a place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭liamygunner29

Everyone on Boards should put a a couple of euro e/w on Berties Dream for the craic. God Im delighted today is here Im really looking forward to a brilliant days racing. Imperial Commander;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

Soldatino wins - Barizan nearly lead the whole way.

thewools wrote: »
    Soldatino wins - Barizan nearly lead the whole way.

2nd went 1.3 in running. Alaivan somehow touched 2.1 in running

Awww poor Barizan, was a massive 33/1 last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,703 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

fancy roc noir in the next ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

imperial commander for the gold cup today ;)

Barizan was unlucky, deserved to win

Nearly landed a decent touch for connections too

I've backed Barizan in all his races over this distance to date. The horse is a bit of a pig to be honest and the man, who's normally, on board get him around.

This is a different class of race and I really don't think he'll be good enough.
    Hoped you backed him again Shane732 !!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭Shane732

See I told you - the fact that I said he didn't have much of a chance was always in the horses favour!!

so who do you FANCY in the next :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭MikeCork2009

Thank you Soldatino. I needed that. Thinks were starting to get serious :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Shane732 wrote: »

I fancied Soldatino and Imperial commander as a double today....oh how i regret that decision :o

Hoped you backed him again Shane732 !!:eek:

I put 5 e/w on him that's it... Nothing special.

Unreal run

so who do you FANCY in the next :D

Rock Noir

Vanbis wrote: »
    I fancied Soldatino and Imperial commander as a double today....oh how i regret that decision :o

Did you back it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Harpy

Rock Noir

ah dammit i just put money on him..

Did you back it?

Nope i just backed Imperial Commander. After the week i had i bottled it in the end. I dont know now if i want Imperial to win the Gold cup :rolleyes:

Harpy wrote: »
    ah dammit i just put money on him..

Muuhhahaaa your screwed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

Hasn't a hope, these are championship races not some hyped up maiden hurdle at Galway. I've said it earlier, it won't be in the first 10 home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Had Barizan backed E/W in the last so I've won what I bet on all today back so far, still a few to go aswell lets hope it continues!Gutted I changed my mind on Soldantino at the last min though =(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Barizan was unlucky, deserved to win

Nearly landed a decent touch for connections too

I'm not sure it was just connections, that price was insulting nad most people I think figured it was wrong as the race got closer. I had a chip at it (28/1) when looking through the prices knowing he'd prefer the better ground.

The feeling is that Denmans day is done after such a poor performance last LTO Kauto Star on the other hand hasn't done anything wrong. Add in Tony McCoys two falls today and I wouldn't be surprised if the price hasn't drfited out again.

Disputed lead until definite lead from 11th, 1 length ahead when blundered and headed 4 out, 3 lengths down and under strong pressure when blundered and unseated rider 3 out (op 1-8)

Did you watch the race? He absolutely hammered the 4th out. Of course he was going to be under strong pressure. The race was over once he blundered. Good job just to stay up after the 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭evil_seed

on dee ee williams in the next

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭hitman79

evil_seed wrote: »
    on dee ee williams in the next
    Me too!!

Another good one for me.

wow, i'm sure a few people had a few on Thousand euro after Katie Walsh win durning the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

were PP paying top 5 in the 2.05 race ? I had noble prince

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Gambra

What about the 2:40 race? Tell Massini at 7/2 and Quel Esprit at 13/2 are looking like really good odds for the favourites. Is there really any clear winners though?

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    were PP paying top 5 in the 2.05 race ? I had noble prince

Yes they were.

sweet thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭jimbling

1Euro e/w Lucky 15

Good luck everyone.

Nice one man..was looking through this thread and saw your post. After seeing how well Barizan ran in the 1.30 decided to have a punt on Thousand Stars. :D:D

who came 5th, was it noble ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

betfair only playing on the top 4 EW for the 2.05 and i had Noble Prince :(

Originally Posted by happyoutscan viewpost.gif

1Euro e/w Lucky 15

Good luck everyone.

Wow, indeed :eek: