Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish football 19th of march

• 19-03-2010 10:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

Games included are:
    Fri. 19 March Cork City Bray v Sporting Fingal Turner’s Cross Bray7.45 pm
    Fri. 19 March Drogheda United v Bohemians United Park 7.45 pm
    Fri. 19 March St. Patrick’s Athletic v U.C.D. Richmond Park 7.45 pm
    Sun 21 March Shamrock Rovers v Dundalk Tallaght Stadium 8.00 pm
    Sat. 20 March Sligo Rovers v Galway United The Showgrounds 7.45 pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Come on Fingal! Get that first win under our belts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Ye olde first divis'on.
    19 March;
    Limerick		19:45 	Longford Town
    Mervue United		19:45 	Wexford Youths 
    Waterford United	19:45 	Derry City
    Shelbourne 		19:45 	Salthill Devon 
    Monaghan United 	20:00 	Finn Harps 

20 March;
    Athlone Town 		19:30 	Cork City Foras Co-op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Shels better win tonight, I'd take a 1-0 with an OG going in off a stray cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Get Gav to stand behind the goal and sneak on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Rovers and Dundalk K.O is 3.45pm.

One consolation is that we can hardly play worse than Tuedsay. Time for all of our support to get behind the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Des wrote: »
    Shels better win tonight, I'd take a 1-0 with an OG going in off a stray cat.

Similarly for Rovers, the proverbial must win. Need to start getting the wins under our belts before that D7 shower melt down in July when Nutsy bails.

Mate of mine is brining his chisler to his first Shels game tonight. Hope he gets a decent show.

The last time we played n00bs from Galway at home we stuck 7 past them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

We need a win under our belts.

And come on Drogheda!! Don't let Bohs slip away :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Töpher wrote: »

Lol a bit OT but a few years ago I was leaning against the goalpost of a GAA pitch talking to my mate the goalkeeper,ball was going wide so I stuck me leg out to stop it,snuck in and the goal was given! Wasn't welcometo anymore games!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

The last time we played n00bs from Galway at home we stuck 7 past them.

But nearly lost to them in Galway, TWICE last season!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

stovelid wrote: »
    Rovers and Dundallk iK.O is 3.45pm.

One consolation is that we can hardly play worse than Tuedsay. Time for all of our support to get behind the team.

The way both teams are playing it'll be a 0-0 snoozefest or Rovers will score in the 90th minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Stovelid tried that earlier in the week, didnt work :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

dreamers75 wrote: »

:D:D

He got bored waiting for Rovers to bother the goal and decided to do a ninja attack on Rogers. Only problem was the 6,000 punters watching him. Otherwise flawless execution. ;)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Need to start getting the wins under our belts before that D7 shower melt down in July when Nutsy bails.

Why do I get the impression your season is hinging on this :)

Should be a win for us tonight, want to see a good performance though, last 2 were less than convincing. Hopefully Cretaro and Byrne to start, we look aimless in attack without Jao.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

Why do I get the impression your season is hinging on this :)

Should be a win for us tonight, want to see a good performance though, last 2 were less than convincing. Hopefully Cretaro and Byrne to start, we look aimless in attack without Jao.

At least you have a fit striker to give the ball to.:p

We've about 5 of them :o

3 centre backs possibly out though

We've about 5 of them :o

3 centre backs possibly out though

Throw Raf in at RB.

Probably throw Anto or Rossi there before Cretaro. Id expect us to go

Powell - Oman - Heary - Anto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Oi. I never move more than 20 yards from the chipper under the East Stand. :D

UCD are a very very good side, 3-0 flattered us as they had a lot of the ball in the 2nd half.

But we defended very well and worked hard, 3 goals were decent enough 1st being the best.

That Drogs Bohs match looked mad:eek:

We won fairly comfortable, could have been five or six.

Another oppo sent off at Tolka, I'm liking that tactic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Salthill I think have officialy brought the least amount of away fan(s) to Tolka, I seen one aul wan with a Devon hat and jacket.

Bumper crowd expected for Mons-Shels on Tuesday for the League Cup, few cans and a nice mon-dog on a Tuesday, can't beat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

Not many home fans either tonight Gav. You cant slag us over our attendances any more after tonight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Not many home fans either tonight Gav. You cant slag us over our attendances any more after tonight :)

They never did have many home fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

They never did have many home fans

Hmm, nearly 700 at a FD home game against a no mark outfit like Salthill.

And Pat's can only muster up about 500 home fans for a Setanta Cup game v Linfield..... :rolleyes:

Back OT, poor win v a poor side.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Hmm, nearly 700 at a FD home game against a no mark outfit like Salthill.

1800 at home against a no make outfit like UCD ;)

wow arguing over **** attds , this is always fun.

As always!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

Salthill I think have officialy brought the least amount of away fan(s) to Tolka, I seen one aul wan with a Devon hat and jacket.
    3- not including club officials!

That Drogs Bohs match looked mad:eek:
    That's putting it lightly :D We don't do it easy it seems.

Bizarre penalty for Drogs, nothing seemed to happen and the linesman flagged for a free out, but the ref gave a penalty :confused: Then the ref ignored the linesman for a good few minutes before finally consulting him and giving the penalty anyway. Be interesting to see the replay on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Lollymcd

That's putting it lightly :D We don't do it easy it seems.

Bizarre penalty for Drogs, nothing seemed to happen and the linesman flagged for a free out, but the ref gave a penalty :confused: Then the ref ignored the linesman for a good few minutes before finally consulting him and giving the penalty anyway. Be interesting to see the replay on Monday.

Totally surreal feeling in the last 15-20 minutes of the game. After the slagging the refs got last season I thought they might improve this season (no idea why I thought this... ) if anything they have gotten worse. Is it the same at all games or just the Drog games?

Regarding Kendricks sending off... should he have let the ball smack him the face and potentially break his nose???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Lollymcd wrote: »
    Regarding Kendricks sending off... should he have let the ball smack him the face and potentially break his nose???
    Yeah, that was baffling, free kick but never a yellow. Bet he regretted his little gesture afterwards though :p

All I seen was some aargy baargy between himself and a Bohs player (couldn't see who exactly) as he walked off... what else happened?

Lollymcd wrote: »
    All I seen was some aargy baargy between himself and a Bohs player (couldn't see who exactly) as he walked off... what else happened?
    He held up his fingers to say 2-1 to the Bohs fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

He should have learned from Bolger on Tuesday.

He held up his fingers to say 2-1 to the Bohs fans

Ah! I see! Naughty boy!!!

Shocking crowd at the Shams game.

Is the bandwagon coming to an end?

Shocking crowd at the Shams game.

Is the bandwagon coming to an end?
    Maybe cos it's a sunday..?

Few boos at half time as well

Good ole Fenn :)

Come on the town.

Bloody class. :D:D:D:D

2 nil! Great goal, lovely set up from Fenn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

So what minute are people predicting the mass exodus at this time??

monkey9 wrote: »
    So what minute are people predicting the mass exodus at this time??

Well considering there's **** all people there in the first place....:P

Mannus very lucky to stay on the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Unbelievable how the ref hasn't sent Mannus off

Full time, 2-0, Rovers 8 points off the pace, 5 goals conceded and 1 scored.

From a very very lucky penalty too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,618 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Chuffed, fair play Dundalk.