Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coughlan's All-Sports Bets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭turbobaby

coughlan08 wrote: »
    how many times have i been told about this on here,its not even funny.
    ive never had a losing log since about a year and a bit and i get warned about addiction....thats just funny....:pac:

I'm not having a go, I am just saying be wary of it. You seem to be up till all hours and betting on nearly every race.

Here are the 20 questions!

1. Did you ever lose time from work or school due to gambling?
    2. Has gambling ever made your home life unhappy?
    3. Did gambling affect your reputation?
    4. Have you ever felt remorse after gambling?
    5. Did you ever gamble to get money with which to pay debts or otherwise solve financial difficulties?
    6. Did gambling cause a decrease in your ambition or efficiency?
    7. After losing did you feel you must return as soon as possible and win back your losses?
    8. After a win did you have a strong urge to return and win more?
    9. Did you often gamble until your last dollar was gone?
    10. Did you ever borrow to finance your gambling?
    11. Have you ever sold anything to finance gambling?
    12. Were you reluctant to use "gambling money" for normal expenditures?
    13. Did gambling make you careless of the welfare of yourself or your family?
    14. Did you ever gamble longer than you had planned?
    15. Have you ever gambled to escape worry, trouble, boredom or loneliness?
    16. Have you ever committed, or considered committing, an illegal act to finance gambling?
    17. Did gambling cause you to have difficulty in sleeping?
    18. Do arguments, disappointments or frustrations create within you an urge to gamble?
    19. Did you ever have an urge to celebrate any good fortune by a few hours of gambling?
    20. Have you ever considered self destruction or suicide as a result of your gambling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Addiction? Seriously?

I'm pretty sure coughlan could quit whenever he wanted.

But that begs the question - why the fúck should he when he keeps making profit?

Haters gonna hate, keep up the good work man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

its going very good so far to say the least..
    profit of 300 so far

thats 4 winners now :D
    Dunraven Storm 7/4
    R Johnson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Kevin11

Fair Along 5/1 2.50
    R P Flint

Nice one Coughlan. That 4 up for the day already?

Kevin11 wrote: »
    Nice one Coughlan. That 4 up for the day already?

make that 5 now,dunravan storm won.
    and fair along drifted too which is always an added bonus...:D

Archimedes wrote: »
    Addiction? Seriously?

I'm pretty sure coughlan could quit whenever he wanted.

But that begs the question - why the fúck should he when he keeps making profit?

Haters gonna hate, keep up the good work man.

I'm not a hater, I'm just hoping he is a bit cautious.

The problem is not quitting when you are winning, it is quitting when you are on a losing streak. I have stated here before that I have a problem with this myself and have curbed my betting as a result, just a friendly comment to keep him in reality.

turbobaby wrote: »
    I'm not a hater, I'm just hoping he is a bit cautious.

The problem is not quitting when you are winning, it is quitting when you are on a losing streak. I have stated here before that I have a problem with this myself and have curbed my betting as a result, just a friendly comment to keep him in reality.

thanks but there is no need for it though...
    ye dont go telling pyro that hes addicted and should stop even when he hadnt a winner in 20 sumtin races,the same principal goes here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Kevin11

Nacarat only 5/1 but great stuff.
    Any update on rest of the days races Coughlan?
    Your on a roll

• Registered Users Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭glanman

I'm delighted with all this discussion on sporting life/coughlan... Looked at the sporting life page last night, saw there tip of Nacarat and Fair Along double! Put 5 e/w double on it as I am a fan of Nacarat and said why not at those fancy prices! double has come in at 40/1 or so for win and the e/w part added to that too, 200+ return, nice!

Both at 6/1, €275 return

Kevin11 wrote: »
    Nacarat only 5/1 but great stuff.
    Any update on rest of the days races Coughlan?
    Your on a roll

he drifted to 6/1,as tother one was seriously backed into 9/4..:D

thanks but there is no need for it though...
    ye dont go telling pyro that hes addicted and should stop even when he hadnt a winner in 20 sumtin races,the same principal goes here...

Ok I'll leave you to it so!

Good luck with the bets, you've been doing great....

another winner with film festival...

7 winners now, a lot of 2nds too which isnt so good..

YESSSSS. another winner in the 5.30....Ulysees 7/1 .....

8 winners today......WHAT A DAY......:D:D

Osric 6/5 1.40
    B J Geraghty

2nd

Amber Brook 9/4 2.15
    Paddy Brennan

3rd

Fair Along
    5/1 2.50
    R P Flint

WON drifted to 6/1 before the off and beat the fav nicely...

Nacarat 11/2 3.25
    Sam Thomas

WON drifted out to 6/1 aswel.

Karasenir
    4/5 4.00
    Rhys Flint
    50+20

2nd backed into 8/13,traded at 1.3 in running

Film Festival 10/3 4.35
    F Davis
    20+15

WON

Sand Skier
    7/1 2.00
    Kieren Fallon

unplaced

Picture Editor 8/11 3.45
    Ian Mongan

3rd

Silent Picture 10/1 3.05
    Paul Carberry

unplaced

Captain Cee Bee 11/10 2.35
    M. P. Walsh

WON

Bluesea Cracker 11/2
    Davy Condon

unplaced

Fine Threads 10/11 1.35
    Robert Winston

WON drifted out to 11/10 and won by a nose..

Karate 5/1 2.10
    Joe Fanning

un placed

Amethyst Dawn
    5/1 3.55
    David Allan

2nd beaten by half a length

Ulysees 7/1 5.30
    Joe Fanning
    10+5

WON

Radium 10/3 2.25
    A. P. McCoy

WON

Take The Breeze 8/1 3.40
    Harry Skelton

2ND...beaten by a length...

Sizing Africa 11/2 4.50
    A. E. Lynch
    10+5

un placed

Heather Royal 15/8 5.25
    A. P. McCoy

non runner

Dunraven Storm 7/4
    R Johnson

WON

new target of 700 balance by sunday night..i can guarantee i will be successful...

Balance=916.18................................Profit=816.18

just under 500 profit today..

what can i say only i told ye that i would meet my target by sunday night,well actually i surpassed it by a couple of hundred..

actually wait,,what day is it.?.........:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

You just turned €100 into just short of a grand in what, 2 weeks?

Thats crazy, now I see peoples point about the Sportinglife issue but frankly I could not give a **** looking at that profit. Its absolutely superb stuff.

I know you said your making a withdrawl when your target is met, but fcuk me coughlan why would you stop when your turning such profit?

Maybe make a withdrawl and start with another hundred or 2??

Super stuff well done!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Why oh why haven't I been following your selections :(, fantastic stuff man.

ft9 wrote: »
    You just turned €100 into just short of a grand in what, 2 weeks?

Thats crazy, now I see peoples point about the Sportinglife issue but frankly I could not give a **** looking at that profit. Its absolutely superb stuff.

I know you said your making a withdrawl when your target is met, but fcuk me coughlan why would you stop when your turning such profit?

Maybe make a withdrawl and start with another hundred or 2??

Super stuff well done!

thanks ft9,,,

well actually 10 days.....:pac:

ya i gets people point about sporting life too,but i bet if you check the horses that i didnt back that sporting life had tipped they were all losers bar 1 maybe 2 at the most,(couldnt be bothered checking)...

ya thats what i plan on doing making a withdrawel maybe tomo and leaving 200 in their,then starting all over again..

the reason for the withdrawel is so i can fund my way through collage the next few weeks,i dont want to go into my savings account so this is necessary...

the only reason for starting with a small bank 10 days ago was to see could i still turn a profit from such a small bank..you will see my first stake was 10.
    you can now see today my biggest stake is 100....
    this stresses my point about slowly building the bank,and although i made a loss in 2 or 3 of those days i did not chase losses but just left it till the following days racing...
    this is where many go wrong on here and ultimately have a non profitable log.....i still have a 100% record of having profitable logs,this is probably my 5th or 6th at this stage,could be more...
    just my 2 pence...

p.s i wonder will all the people who were negative about sporting life and throwing comments around the place be back to say 'well done'...somehow i doubt it....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

looking forward to you starting again

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭greeno

Well done Coughlan. I have no problem whatsoever saying well done your return has been phenomenal noone can deny that. I only raised the sporting life issue as I believed that was your starting base that tipsters page and then you narrowed your selections from there which would mean a lot of the donkey work is done already.

Hats off to you though well done have a few beers tonight! :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

well done, it seems you have everything under control, great idea to withdraw and start again with 200, the only thing i would advise you to do is plan out a stake system with 1pt being min and 5pts being max.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Gotta follow this properly next time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

To bust to follow you today but I made a few euro of your tips during the week. Top stuff man

• Registered Users Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

Gotta say well done on ur profit. Keep it up and who gives a **** about where u get the tips from, it's about having the balls to put the money down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Lukker- wrote: »
    Gotta follow this properly next time.

To be fair you could do it yourself, find a few staring points like the Sporting Post "best bets" in their tipping centre, check the hot bloggers/tipsters on OLBG, cross check them with sporting post picks. Check the timeform.com/free ratings and whats being backed on betfair (included in timeform pages) and you could probably manage a decent strike rate.

well done, it seems you have everything under control, great idea to withdraw and start again with 200, the only thing i would advise you to do is plan out a stake system with 1pt being min and 5pts being max.

thanks lads...

im never a believer in the points system because for me this is just a log, nothing else,,if i convert to a points system it will almost turn into a tips log which it isnt...i want my pp balance and log balance to stay the same,thus im going to keep it the way ive always had it......
    thanks again..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

p.s i wonder will all the people who were negative about sporting life and throwing comments around the place be back to say 'well done'...somehow i doubt it....

Not that i had a negative comment in the first place, just an observation...but well done.

At least you admit that you take them all from the SL website, there is hardly shame in it lol, they dont just fancy all favourites either as you said earlier, they had Fair along and Nacarat as their main picks today who were both 3rd favourites.

Good look on your new pursuit of riches :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Outstanding stuff coughlan. I'll be following your next log with eagle eyes : D

Absolutely brillo!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Hope ye keep posting up your selections the way you have been cause i'm gonna use 100 just for your horse selections. Just noticed i have one of the racing channels and since you're doing so well i'll give it a go and bet on everything you do. Was gonna give that a shout a while back but you were posting bets just before the race and i kept missing them. The way you're posting up your bets at the moment altogether makes it a lot easier to follow them. Keep up the good work and hope your next go at it is a profitable one.

was fairly hungover so had no selections today..
    withdrew everything bar 200 and am now starting from scratch..

kempton

According
    7/2
    Barry Geraghty

Riverside Theatre 6/4
    Barry Geraghty

plumpton

Frosted Grape 11/10
    Johnny Farrelly

High Oscar 15/8
    Richard Johnson

Winning Show 5/1
    Charlie Wallis

wolverhampton

Insolenceofoffice
    evens
    Paul Hanagan

Manoori
    11/8
    Ted Durcan

Knockdolian
    11/4
    Richard Hughes

the full 200 staked,could all go tits up by tomo night....highly doubt it though..