Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brothers hospitalised after Waterford attack

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭gobo99

some further info in this acticle
    The Irish Times - Tuesday, March 23, 2010
    Man critical after Waterford attack

CIARÁN MURPHY

A MAN was in a critical condition in hospital last night following an assault on two brothers in the People’s Park in Waterford city on Sunday evening.
    The man, named locally as Damien Organ (25), of William Street, was attacked by a group of up to five people in the park shortly after 11.30pm on Sunday, gardaí said.
    He was with his brother, Liam, who was also assaulted and seriously injured.
    “Gardaí attended the scene and found two males there who were in a pretty distressed condition,” said Sgt Larry Langton.“There were hurleys involved and sticks as well.”
    Gardaí helped the two men, who were taken to Waterford Regional Hospital.
    The scene was preserved early yesterday and the park was closed to the public throughout the day.Gardaí carried out technical examinations and combed a section of the park for clues.
    No weapons were found at the scene, which is about 100 metres from the courthouse in Waterford and 30 metres from the children’s playground in the park.
    A Health Service Executive spokeswoman last night said Mr Organ remained in a “critical condition in Waterford Regional Hospital”.
    The area where the assaults occurred, a hill hidden by trees next to a fountain, is sometimes attended by people drinking and engaging in anti-social behaviour, said a local source yesterday.There is no lighting in the area.
    Waterford city councillor Davy Daniels, a former mayor, said gardaí told the local authority it would “not favour lighting because it would attract more anti-social behaviour” there.
    “It is relatively quiet there but it’s very regrettable that such incidents would occur.”
    Anyone with information is asked to contact gardaí in Waterford on 051 305300.
    shocking story, I hope the cowards responsible are caught. Fingers crossed for the two brothers.

Also I know there will be plenty of rumours flying about but if any of ye do genuinely know something, then ring the station and let the gardai be the judge of whats rumour and whats not. The sooner they can make arrests the better chance they have of gathering vital evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

**** sake. Lowest of the low. Im only 27 but jaysus I remember the days that if you had a problem with someone, it could be a few slaps or a chat, one on one. All this 5 with sticks on two just goes to show how low the scummy **** are. They wouldnt stand a chance a few years ago. The lads that done this are only little bitches. Hope they get caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 josh3

damien wont be wakeing up again....its a sad situation for the family absolutely sickened by this......unfortunately its the way things have gone all over this country.......ill say a prayer for them...

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Princessa

This story is so sad. What kind of disgusting people could beat somebody with hurleys to the point that they are in a crirtical position in hospital? Its frightening and disgusting to me! My thoughts go to the family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

josh3 wrote: »
    damien wont be wakeing up again....its a sad situation for the family absolutely sickened by this......unfortunately its the way things have gone all over this country.......ill say a prayer for them...
    sorry to hear that. im not religious but Ill ask me grandfather to take care of him. :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,604 ✭✭✭deisemum

2 men and 2 women have been arrested in connection with this vicious assault.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/four-arrested-in-connection-with-waterford-gang-assault-451025.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I have a few thoughts on this...first off, understandably some people are reluctant to say too much until they know exactly how "innocent" the victims are.

If one of the brothers was told by the girl to meet her in the park and he went with his brother "just in case" and then this happened then I think it's shocking and despicable and everyone of them should be charged with murder, no exceptions. This reminds me of that case in England where that girl lured her boyfriend down an alley to his death at the hands of a load of yobs. It's easy for us to think oh well that's England...well it looks like it's happened on our own doorstep..in the place where kids play...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Two women were involved in the attack?

Not to sound sexist but that makes it all the more scary IMO

I'm just Reading the star here they refer to Damien Organ as a "petty criminal" seemed a bit harsh all things considered.

Seemingly he was known to the Guards, theft of a few things and possession of heroin. Opens up the lists of suspects I would imagine.

They do mention that he had organised to meet someone there and most likely jumped.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭jo06555

ziedth wrote: »
    I'm just Reading the star here they refer to Damien Organ as a "petty criminal" seemed a bit harsh all things considered.

Seemingly he was known to the Guards, theft of a few things and possession of heroin. Opens up the lists of suspects I would imagine.

They do mention that he had organised to meet someone there and most likely jumped.

Ye i read that too this morning , surely the day after they should not be talking about his criminal record :confused: , even if he did go to meet up in park he did not deserve to be attacked by 5 people with sticks and hurleys , thats either cowards afraid to fight or else pure evil who went to murder him......either way they should get done for (lets hope) attempted murder rather than someone dying in which case none of this bull of manslaughter should be talked about , its murder simple as.

A lot of hypocrisy starting to creep into this thread.

If the guy jumped was a Connolly or Moran or some well known name like that you'd be saying he had it coming...you live by the sword you die by the sword etc.

In a way I agree with you,

BUT From what I can tell he wasn't involved in any violence in his past crimes so the punishment far far doesn't fit the crime IMO.

And try to remember he has a young child he doesn't "deserve" to loose his dad.

God willing that won't happen.

I agree with you 100%.

To be honest, the manner of it reminds me of the end of the film "casino" which has always horrified me.

I hope he pulls through and we fond out the truth about what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Similar thing happened to a friend of ours, actually. He's going through a custody case with his ex, was warned not to bring up her recreational cocaine use (which she carries out in the home with their child). When he did so, was set upon a few day later walking to work by 3 thugs who warned him off. Suffered a fractured jaw, multiple kicks to the groin, face and stomach and a broken finger.

As he couldn't identify the guys and can't prove conclusively that his ex was involved, there's nothing the Gards can do about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 SheKnows

In fairness if you were a friend of theirs, it's horrible what happened, but I mean it's his own fault, I warned him serveral times to change his lifestyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

jo06555 wrote: »
    surely the day after they should not be talking about his criminal record :confused:

Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Why not?

because of the conditiont he chap is in

it puts a negative slant on him and he cant even defend himself

I have to agree,

Just saying known to the guards would have been enough to put the point across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 SheKnows

It always the same, people talk about how bad a person is when theyre alive and when they die, it's completely different, they say he was a saint and such a tragedy.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Popquiz_hotshot

I heard something else about one of the brothers and thats why they cant live in Kilmac but dont know if it is true so wont post it!!!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

kryogen wrote: »
    because of the conditiont he chap is in

it puts a negative slant on him and he cant even defend himself

If he was a crime lord and was on life support it would be wrong to mention a criminal record also?

But he is not a crime lord,

It's borderline irrelevant that he was caught nicking a laptop and a gutiar.

If he was a crimelord then of course it would be news worthy because of more then likely it would be due to his crimes that he was attacked as against this case where it seems he was jumped.

Popquiz hotshot first of all that is an epic username, second I live in Kilmac although not from there and I didn't know the chap but I didn't hear anything like your saying so def best not to post anything.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Why not?

As was just said if it had just said he was known to gardai , but the papers have exactly what he was in trouble for ,3 months for drugs and stealing a laptop , now a man in critical condition in hospital and his family should not have these kind of things printed 24 hours after he bein visciously assaulted like that.

At the same time I don't think his crimes should be forgotten.

Seriously, I'm glad these things are mentioned because it really will give a certain peace of mind to normal decent folk who will be glad that this wasn't just some random attack. By hearing about his criminal record we know that he was more than likely part of this world. Although it doesn't condone what happened or make it any less tragic & sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Popquiz_hotshot

But he is not a crime lord,

It's borderline irrelevant that he was caught nicking a laptop and a gutiar.

If he was a crimelord then of course it would be news worthy because of more then likely it would be due to his crimes that he was attacked as against this case where it seems he was jumped.

Popquiz hotshot first of all that is an epic username, second I live in Kilmac although not from there and I didn't know the chap but I didn't hear anything like your saying so def best not to post anything.

Thanks..took a while to think it up haha...yea just heard it from a friend of theirs yesterday but cant believe everything you hear.. Chinese whispers grow fast around here!

At the same time I don't think his crimes should be forgotten.

Seriously, I'm glad these things are mentioned because it really will give a certain peace of mind to normal decent folk who will be glad that this wasn't just some random attack. By hearing about his criminal record we know that he was more than likely part of this world. Although it doesn't condone what happened or make it any less tragic & sad.

and I would fully agree if it appeared to be a deal gone wrong or if the attack appeared to be related to his crimes.

But, at the moment anyway it looks like he got in a row in the pub and a bit of I'll sort you outside then was jumped. If this is what happened I just don't think his record is relevent if his crimes were not violent.

Now, if it turns like you said if it transpires that the attack came about due to being in that world as you well put it then if course criminal past should be mentioned.

At the moment it looks like this could have happened to anyone that would say "let's step outside" to someone.

But weren't they unarmed? Or were they?

I mean if it was a "let's step outside" thing if the others had hurlies (and according to the news and star, hockey sticks...I find that a bit odd and hard to believe tbh)....why didn't they come equipped?

At the moment it looks like this could have happened to anyone that would say "let's step outside" to someone.

The horrible thing this week and its bein creeping into ireland the last few years is you just cannot seem to say anything to anyone anymore , these crazy thugish or scummy people seem to have very high opinions that they can play god , look up the country over the weekend a woman stabbed another woman just because she did not have a light.....:confused: we will probably learn that this assault in the park was over something stupid too , my god it has terrible aftermaths for all involved now . Bit late for these lads to say sorry for their actions now but we all now once they go to court they will try their hardest to get off with as much as they can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

The attackers probably take drugs, which mess with your mind.

I expect more of this sort of thing as head shops are making mind messing substances more available.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭merlante

Lads, I don't think this kind of thing is new. It's newsworthy because of the seriousness of the injuries. I'm sure these kind of ambushes have been fairly common down through the years.