Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The reshuffle in full

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

patmar wrote: »
    Have read all the posts on thread and it seem I am the only FF person around. What can I say other than FF are the government and all those opposed to us will have to stop concentrating on FF and at least begin the attempt to oust us in the next election. The reshuffle really is a minor matter, what really counts is that there is a government in place taking the hard decisions to correct the problems in the economy and that government will be in place for two more years. Its now a solid government and the danger of passing over to an alternative that based on history will not function in the interests of the country has passed

Some Government that rewards an incompetent like Calamity with a new portfolio? A monkey would do a better job and at least it would be more intelligent. With regard to fixing the problems in the economy I think this Government has done enough damage for several lifetimes and does not have a clue how to fix anything. No its jobs for the boys and girls that is FF style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭MavisDavis

Have read all the posts on thread and it seem I am the only FF person around. What can I say other than FF are the government and all those opposed to us will have to stop concentrating on FF and at least begin the attempt to oust us in the next election. The reshuffle really is a minor matter, what really counts is that there is a government in place taking the hard decisions to correct the problems in the economy and that government will be in place for two more years. Its now a solid government and the danger of passing over to an alternative that based on history will not function in the interests of the country has passed

"Fianna Fáil are the government" isn't really an excuse for poor leadership. I wouldn't stop "concentrating" on them for all the tea in China. The Fianna Fáil party are running my country along with the Green Party and a few independents. Just because they have power doesn't mean they can do what they like without being critiqued. We live in a democracy; people will complain and/or criticise no matter who is in power.

That's a highly questionable claim. According to recent polls, this government has an abysmally low level of satisfaction - just 14%. Is "solid" really the right adjective?

"the danger of passing over to an alternative that based on history will not function in the interests of the country has passed" - I LOL'd at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭IrishTonyO

A solid government??? Relying on independents and the Greens, very solid indeed.
    With the lowest support and approval rating since the foundation of the state!
    Stumbling from one crisis to another.
    Voting confidence in O'Donoghue and O'Dea before they were forced to resign.
    Having to pander to the Greens to remain in power.
    Having to make sweetheart deals with independents to continue their power trip.
    Having to make uturns on decisions because they are so out of the touch with the electorate.
    Forcing the electorate into debt for many generations to come.

And this is what you call a solid government???
    If so we are all fcuked, now and for the foreseeable future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

what really counts is that there is a government in place taking the hard decisions

If I hear or see "hard decisions" one more time, I'm gonna puke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Breezer

peasant wrote: »
    If I hear or see "hard decisions" one more time, I'm gonna puke.
    Going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I am a Secondary school student and Mary Coughlin is a complete disaster because she does damage to where ever ministerial post she goes to and is easily the worst minister in Ireland and no way should be the Tanaiste. It is a joke, college fees will be in soon now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

efb wrote: »
    University of Donegal anyone????
    BA in FÁS Applications, Masters in Science in Red Diesel

Can we expect the rollout of Einstein's theory of Evolution ??.. She's a joke, and it's unfair to give her this position as she not capable, and will just keep bringing criticism/pressure on herself.
    Two reshuffles, two demotions for Mary Hanafin. Next stop, the backbench. Just as well she has that teachers pension to fall back on.

That's pretty much how I would call it also deadhead. Seems like it's the natural, gutless, political way alright.. (as opposed to just dumping her from Cabinet in his first reshuffle). And she would be one of the few members of Cabinet I would have respect for, though having read that story about her multiple pensions that is fading too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

though having read that story about her multiple pensions that is fading too.
    A bit convenient how that got the front page of the Indo this morning. I mean she's hardly the only one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    In all fairness, if that's the "great opportunity" that you reckon they missed, then there's something seriously wrong.
    I'm being facetious. It's almost what I would have expected from this bunch of side swiping finger pointing sniping schoolchildren.
    They missed the opportunity of using the boom to shore up finances to see us through the inevitable crash.

Indeed, but took the opportunity to line their own pockets and that of the developers. They were loving it and didn't care, so it was hardly a wasted opportunity to them. Remember they had the audacity to tell us that there was no recession even after house prices started to fall and the marked started to contract. They also told us there would be no house price crash, even though more than on of the country's leading economists were shouting it from the rooftops. Shows how out of touch they are with reality imo
    And the mentality above is the reason that we don't have a decent government in this country; it's never about what's good for the country, only what's good for the parties themselves.
    It always has been that way with FF, ever since Haughey.
    As for any truth in the above, I'm not that gullible. And ask any manufacturer and farmer and they'll know that what you reap at any particular time is based on the season before......most Irish people aren't that thick and gullible (even though FF would like them to be, and some obviously are).
    Doesn't explain how they were still voted back in at the last general election if you ask me. They should have been out. I'm not saying that FG are brilliant or anything, but I don't see how they couldn't do any worse that this lot.
    As for the shuffle......it's still the same deck of (house of) cards......still the same bunch that voted "confidence" in O'Dea & O'Donoghue......still the same that are unacceptable........pointless PR stunt !
    Couldn't agree more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

6 teachers in the cabinet I think. Thats 6 teachers on a temp contract filling their positions no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Essexboy

But it was good news for "Silver Surfers".

As someone on TV3 pointed out the average age of the cabinet has increased. With Carey, 63, and O'Keefe, 65, both of whom would have been retired by now if they were civil servants, that is not surprising.

What happened to " . . .Fianna Fáil and Ireland really needs the vitality, confidence and new-thinking that you young people here can bring to politics" ? http://www.fiannafail.ie/news/entry/2848/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Pity Clowen couldnt reshuffle himself out of Goverment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

quad_red wrote: »
    Who would want that poisoned chalice?
    Somebody who actually hoped to achieve something of value in their political career and believed they had the ability to improve the health system?

Oh, wait, it's an ff government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Looks like Brian Coward may have created a bit of rift in the FF party with the demotion of Mary hanaffin. Its being reported that back benchers are starting to get the knives out because of this even though no one voiced this at todays meeting. Just been reported on newstalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

dixierip wrote: »
    It illustrates that keeping his allies ie Coughlan close to him is what matters. Hannafin a possible threat demoted. Incompetence rewarded and our childrens future put in jeopardy.

cowen is above all things a small and petty man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

irishh_bob wrote: »
    cowen is above all things a small and petty man
    He is no more than a very limited parish pump politician who is tribal,cronyist and short sighted and is clearly unable for any big decision. O Keeffe on the radio today about the need for a smart economy and it should start with education ie science ,technology and maths and look who Biffo puts in charge of that. The Dept of Educ and Science will be put back years .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Had a look on the internet ,funny place the internet.
    And found a lINK

Thing is ,nobody thought briany baby what the word means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,533 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Essexboy wrote: »
    As someone on TV3 pointed out the average age of the cabinet has increased. With Carey, 63, and O'Keefe, 65, both of whom would have been retired by now if they were civil servants, that is not surprising.

Is TV3 your source for that...? because the normal retirement age is 65. Only Gardai, teachers and a few other public servants can go earlier and get a full pension with less than 40 years service, and that is being changed anyway.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

unknown13 wrote: »
    It is a joke, college fees will be in soon now.

Good.

Free fees meant that the grant system was not reformed, which means that only the middle classes have really benefited from it, i.e. whose parents can afford to support their living costs in college. (The upper middle classes who can afford to save up for college funds are now spending it on private second level schools instead. Either way, the professions continue to be dominated by the sons and daughters of society's most privileged.)

It's also led to an ongoing funding crisis in our third level institutions.

The return of fees coupled with a proper grants system would be good, but a student loan scheme would be better. After all, graduates benefit from better earning prospects so why shouldn't they pay for the benefit they're getting?

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

I despair.

Our Minister for Health is obese and our Minister
    for Education is stupid.

Pal wrote: »
    I despair.

Our Minister for Health is obese and our Minister
    for Education is stupid.

Is that really the best you can come up with? It reflects more upon you tbh than it does on the ministers concerned. I note also that they are both women - is that really just a coincidence?