Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Irelands Greatest Person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Not Kevin Myers

Biggins wrote: »
    Mr Michael Collins.

Why, if I may ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

This post is so full of FAIL I don't know where to start.

Rory Gallagher and Phil Lynott would comfortably p!ss all over ANY mediocre muck u2 ever produced.

Van Morrison is indeed a TW@T of enourmous proportions but Philo and Rory can not be mentioned in the same breath as u pathetic 2.

That is all.

Musically I agree with you about Rory Gallagher. I have Rory albums and I dont have any U2 alnums. I dont particularly like them. That said I dont for a second believe that Rory has had anywhere near the same effect on the world/Ireland as U2. They are the biggest band in the world and for that reason alone they should be on the list.

No Irish musician has ever come close to achieving the success that they have. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Co45 wrote: »
    You really want the man who abadoned his country on the world stage on the Ireland's Greatest Person list?

Ya i do!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

What about Farthy (forty with a Waterford accent) Coats?

He was a great Irish person, what with all his pockets & what not.

Why, if I may ask?

Did you not see him in taken! he kicked ass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Winty wrote: »
    Can you change it add who ever you think
    2 people are in twice

Eh, no I'm not a mod of AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Nope. 'Orrible stuff!
    Road tar in a glass. Yuck!

Traitor:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I vote for Shirley Templebar or whatever he calls himself.

Did you not see him in taken! he kicked ass!

Yes, indeed, he did "kick a lof of ass".

So to call Collins an "icon for peace and reconciliation" is not just idiotic, but is to indulge in the depraved rhetoric of Irish republicanism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

i vote for none of them..

What about the lad from Crystal Swing?? Or better yet John-Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Yes, indeed, he did "kick a lof of ass".

So to call Collins an "icon for peace and reconciliation" is not just idiotic, but is to indulge in the depraved rhetoric of Irish republicanism.
    I'm fairly sure the name "Kevin Myers" gets thrown around a lot. I don't actually know who that is but I like to think I'm sensing a bit of roleplay here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Why, if I may ask?

* Co-founder of the state and formidable representative from then on.
    * Minister for Finance of a state from its own birth - (what a headache alone to set-up!).
    * Ran the country successfully while Dev buggered off to the states for a while.
    * Clever, astute and a formidable person inspite of an Empire wishing he be wiped from the face of the earth previously.
    To name just a few reasons.

Fighter/founder/financier of a state/Free state leader/formidable and more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Gary Breen.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

All options should be Gary Breen.

"icon for peace and reconciliation"

Quote from the movie

'if the price of freedom, the price of peace means the blackening of my name, then i would gladly pay it"

Also do you really need to be an icon of peace and reconciliation to be great man, just because someone chooses to fight doesnt make them any less of a person. Gandhi was a great man and so was William Wallace.

Also he said this too:
    I don't know who you are. I don't know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don't have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that'll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don't, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.
    :cool:

* Minister for Finance of a state from its own birth - (what a headache alone to set-up!).
    * Ran the country successfully while Dev buggered off to the states for a while.
    * Clever, astute and a formidable person inspite of an Empire wishing he be wiped from the face of the earth previously.

Maybe you should educate yourself, Mr. Biggins. Read this please. http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/to-say-michael-collins-was-a-peacemaker-is-humbug-he-was-a-coldblooded-killer-1062871.html

With respect, thats opinion.
    (and I note, the person writing it didn't even have the decently to put their name to it!)

I also personally never called him a "icon for peace and reconciliation" too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I bet he liked guinness

I'm sure he did. :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,555 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

phasers wrote: »
    How come Oscar Wilde gets a full stop and the others don't?

That's the Victorian period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

where's bob geldof on the list??

what the hell!! george best that womanising piss artist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,544 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

BOD most likely isnt the greatest person in his own house never mind the rugby pitch on any given day yet some feel he is the greatest Irish person EVER? He comes across as an asshole with that stupid smirk on his face for the last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

You want me to pick the greatest from your list of favourites?
    Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

You want me to pick the greatest from your list of favourites?
    Why?

Dont join in then

Simple

I'll join in when Cromwell goes on the list.
    He achieved far more than that langer Collins.

He couldn't hold himself together though.
    In the end he lost his head!

Feel free to start you own greatest Irish person born outside Ireland poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Markievicz gets in but Connolly doesn't? Poor form.

Connolly wasn't Irish born

I chose Collins myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Philo!!!!:D

Feel free to start you own greatest Irish person born outside Ireland poll

If you take the time to find the birthplaces of the people on your list, some of them will bear out the irony in the above statement.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Dr. Feelgood

i voted phil lynnot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Co45

mickdw wrote: »
    BOD most likely isnt the greatest person in his own house never mind the rugby pitch on any given day yet some feel he is the greatest Irish person EVER? He comes across as an asshole with that stupid smirk on his face for the last year.

Yeah, I mean what an asshole visiting crumlin hospital to hang out with the kids there and all the charity work he does, the asshole. He likes to smile as well, what a dick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Crosáidí wrote: »
    Connolly wasn't Irish born

Up for debate, and not really the point of the poll surely. Sure half the people on the poll would've seen themselves as Anglo-Irish/British anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

gotta be Noel Browne just for taking on McQuaid.

If you take the time to find the birthplaces of the people on your list, some of them will bear out the irony in the above statement.

Example?

Co45 wrote: »
    Yeah, I mean what an asshole visiting crumlin hospital to hang out with the kids there and all the charity work he does, the asshole. He likes to smile as well, what a dick.

Loads of people do charity work. And more than him.
    Fair play for doing it, but throwing an inflated egg around and running into people does not an all-time great make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

i dont get why people are giving grief about the poll choices... your not gonna get everyone in there (although i think some people are mentioned twice...)

Example?

Well, the first one that leapt out was Phil Lynott.

However, when I said Cromwell, I meant Wellington, so
    my-leg T my-leg
    A
    I
    L

DrumSteve wrote: »
    i dont get why people are giving grief about the poll choices... your not gonna get everyone in there (although i think some people are mentioned twice...)

Thanks Drum Steve

Sorry about the twice thing, I have asked the Mod to change

However, when I said Cromwell, I meant Wellington

Who is Wellington Cromwell ? thats not an Irish name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

Now I see the reasons for Micheal Collins and Countess Markovic but I can't believe i'm the first and only person who voted for John Hume !

Helping to stop the NI violence was a great thing wasn't it ?

Thanks to the Zohan we now have Daniel OConnell and James Connolly

Keep Voting

Some people like Grace O'Malley have got 0 votes, so please submit a replacement and if people vote with thanks I will ask the mods to change so please submit your subs.

Fair play for doing it, but throwing an inflated egg around and running into people does not an all-time great make.

Yet playing an instrument or writting some poetry does? Half the people on that list are musicians or writers. Can I ask what makes them so above a sports person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

The RTE list made me fairly angry actually...I don't usually get angry at such trivial things but I couldn't get over how retarded it was!

This list is better, but it's not exactly a Top list of great Irish men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

They all suck.

Brendan Shine FTW!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Poll is invalid.

No Jerry Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

mickdw wrote: »

Seriously, BOD's not on the list..OP get off your tod and add bod!!

Where is BOD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Fago! wrote: »
    They all suck.

Brendan Shine FTW!!!!

Who in the name of fcuk is Brendan Shine? Sounds like a serial killer!