Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Krakow

• 24-03-2010 5:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭

Ok so i'm going to Krakow with some friends main plan is to go to Auschwitz..

So can you recommend anywhere else...

clubs,pubs,resturants,hotels etc
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Lollymcd

I'm going on Easter Monday so if anyone has any reccomendations I'd love to hear them. Did anyone go on a tour to Auschwitz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

Ye I went on a tour of Auschwitz. You have to do it, it's unbelievably surreal. You're in a room and they show you massive amounts of shoes, rugs made of human hair etc. It's horrible but amazing at the same time. They bring you into the gas chamber and tell you 250 people died in that room every 2 days or something like that. That really threw me, was very weird IMO. you have to do it.

The other thing that was sort of interesting was the salt mines. they have a full blown cathedral underground. quite amazing.

alexlyons wrote: »
    Ye I went on a tour of Auschwitz. You have to do it, it's unbelievably surreal. You're in a room and they show you massive amounts of shoes, rugs made of human hair etc. It's horrible but amazing at the same time. They bring you into the gas chamber and tell you 250 people died in that room every 2 days or something like that. That really threw me, was very weird IMO. you have to do it.

The other thing that was sort of interesting was the salt mines. they have a full blown cathedral underground. quite amazing.

I was planning on doing the Salt Mines too, they sound amazing, did you use a tour company or go solo. If you used a company can you reccommend it?

Lollymcd wrote: »
    I was planning on doing the Salt Mines too, they sound amazing, did you use a tour company or go solo. If you used a company can you reccommend it?

it was a school tour so I'm not sure what way it was done. sorry about that. Do a tour of the city, its nice and very different. there wasn't a huge amount else to do and see in the city afair. don't go ice skating at an ice hockey rink, basically the worst part of the city, and i think there's only one rink in the city...

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Cyril Squirrel

I stayed in the Hotel Francuski a couple of years ago and woud highly reccommend it. The Czartoryski Museum is just round the corner where you can see Da Vinci's Lady with an Ermine. All around the Jewish Quarter is very pretty. The castle I believe is worth a look.
    Auschwitz is worth a look also but is obviously upsetting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

hego19 wrote: »

Horrible and amazing is a good description.I'd advise you to actually read up on it .I actually had an extremely good knowledge of everything and I still found it rough.Make it your first or very last point of call. its open on a Sunday if I remember correctly.

Auschwitz is extremely heavy going , its just like going to a funeral the atmosphere is so heavy, when I was there i even seen some orientals break down ,its 60 miles form krakow ,takes about an hour.There is 2 camps ,auschwitz 1 and auschwitz 2 ,auschwitz 2 was 100 acres its massive.Its also something that really doesn't go out of your system for weeks.A lot of irish go there with a hangover so it really doesn't impact them so much.

I made a huge mistake of going on a Sat and I didn't feel like going out that night. I'm still haunted by it because I'm pretty empathic.

On the positive side Krakow is beautiful and pretty safe as the tourist police really keep a watchful eye on stuff.

Take the train from the airport

directions :

From the St john paul airport take a right at the exit and follow the narrow street about 2 mins ,the train is just down there .You can pay the inspector on the train.it takes about 40 mins if I remember rightly . When you arrive in Krakow look out for the krakow in your pocket guide they are everywhere and they are quite good.

Another thing is to not get ice in your drinks ,the water will make you sick.I was sick for my entire stay there.

The food was very nice and very cheap. Also was the drink.

If you are with a group of lads don't get too drunk and disorderly because the police take no prisoners as I witnessed with my own eyes.

I was talking to a lot of the local girls when I was clubbing and I found out they aren't too enamoured by drunken Irish and English guys because they really do stand out over there.

Also finding rent -a -friends is extremely easy as the students are very friendly and before long you could have another 5 people in your posse.

Learn a few words in polish as it will help the locals warm to you.

All you need to know is how to get to the Rynek Glowny (the square ) there is about 150 pubs and clubs around there and you really cant go wrong. There s also loads of churches which are nice to see. If you are religious you can also go to mass on a sunday and the polish mass is exactly like ours.

Nuns everywhere I think its the only place I've ever been to that I met a priest with ray bans. I didn't get to the salt mines ,but I heard its great .

Carpe Diem is a pub a lot of irish people go to ,its really a student pub ,there's 2 of them carpe diem 1 and 2 .I was in frantic and I personally thought it was very pretentious.The budda bar is supposed to be good .Forget about going out on sunday , its not like ireland no pubs or clubs opened.

If you are using the trams make sure you get a ticket as the fine is 20 euro.

heres the link to Krakow in your pocket http://www.inyourpocket.com/poland/krakow

If you have any questions or want to see some pics of auschwitz or krakow just PM me.

@lolly , I went with krakow tours I think .There's only a few of them really.Also I went in June and it was just mild ,so I would advise to dress reasonably warm.

I hope y'all have fun.:)

BumbleB wrote: »
    There is 2 camps ,auschwitz 1 and auschwitz 2 ,auschwitz 2 was 100 acres its massive.

its really a student pub ,there's 2 of them carpe diem 1 and 2 .I was in frantic and I personally thought it was very pretentious.

they certainly know how to name stuff :D

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Sheebs

BumbleB wrote: »

Forget about going out on sunday , its not like ireland no pubs or clubs opened.

Just back from Krakow today and we p*ssed it up in Prozac until 4am last night (Sunday night), the entire club wasn't open but there was still plenty of partying to be done! If you want a good session on a Sunday you just have to know where to look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

hego19 wrote: »

Guess u have to go to auschwitz but i didnt get anything outta it. other people agree with me that its hard to imagine all of the things that happened there and the hundreds of schoolchildren there shouting and running around takes away from it. i didnt learrn much that i hadnt from history programmes. anyway other people have different views on it.

instead of a hotel u might want to stay in a hostel, they have some of the best hostels in the world there and they are pretty damn cool and cheap obviously.
    alexlyons wrote: »
    it was a school tour so I'm not sure what way it was done. sorry about that. Do a tour of the city, its nice and very different. there wasn't a huge amount else to do and see in the city afair. don't go ice skating at an ice hockey rink, basically the worst part of the city, and i think there's only one rink in the city...
    in the winter there is an ice rink in one of the squares anyway which is really nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

A mate of mine has being looking to go to Krakow , not particularly keen myself, he is mad to see Auschwitz I cant imagine why anyone would want to see a place with such a horrible past , beside the salt mines is there any other things worth seeing ?

threein99 wrote: »
    A mate of mine has being looking to go to Krakow , not particularly keen myself, he is mad to see Auschwitz I cant imagine why anyone would want to see a place with such a horrible past , beside the salt mines is there any other things worth seeing ?

I found Auschwitz very interesting, emotive and memorable. I would advise you to go.

The Salt Mines are a must do for most, it was good, very clean, I expected it to be more ... mine-ish, it's all very touristy and clean. Impressive nonetheless!

Wawel Castle in the centre of Krakow was nice, they have timed entrances for each exhibit, try and get your tickets the day before. Do the Dragons Den last!

Go to a chamber music recital in one of the beautiful churches. The small church in the main square has a quartet performance which is very special.

Walk around the Main Square, go into the Cloth Hall and St Mary's Cathedral. Have a drink in one of the many cafes. I liked Vis a Vis even though I'm not a smoker. Not a good place for an asthmatic.

Have a shot of vodka in the Cube Bar in the Sheraton. Tonnes of choices and really cool glasses made from ice cubes.

Try something to eat in a Milk Bar and let me know how it was... I chickened out!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Auschwitz is surreal.

Krakow is very nice with a nice buzz around it just go to the market square and chill .Dont get ice in your drinks or drink the water ,I made mistake and i was sick for days . I could personally spend the whole week just chilling in the square.

Also because there is only two of you ,be very wary of attractive friendly girls coming up to you and asking you for directions, then suggesting a pub nearby which is empty and no prices on the menu ,all is well until you want to go then they charge you 400 or 500 euro for your drink ,you refuse then the heavies come out ,split you from your friend and escort you to the atm .It happened to a friend of mine with his girlfriend .It wasn't in Poland but it is a well known scam in eastern europe and its happening there now so just keep your wits about you.

All in all krakow is a student town and the local young people are very nice and will talk away to you.Also get the train from the airport its only about 7 euro if I remember rightly it about 500m from the airport and you pay on board.and only 45 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Any hostel recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭meg3178

There are a few hostels in the centre of Krakow, but we rented an apartment less than a minute walk from the square through www.apartmentsapart.com. They are in the old buildings, but when you get inside they are fully refurbished, mdern and spotless.
    We didn't go to Auchwitz with the tour companies as a return ticket on the bus from Krakow train station is only 11 euro and drops you at the door.
    Do wear layers, good comfy boots and a waterproof jacket. When we went this time last year, it was -11 in the day and -25 at night.
    check out www.krakow.pl then click on the english flag and it will translate. If you click into webcams, you can see the city and people walking in the square, the Wawal castle etc. It gives you an idea on the weather.
    There are loads of places to eat and drink. Be warned..when paying for anything, if you hand over a large note do not say thank you if you want change, or the waitress will think you are giving a generous tip and they will be gone!
    You can use your laser card in the bank ATM and only take out what you need for the day. Poland is not as expensive as here. A three course meal for two in the Italian on SW Jana with wine is 15.00 euro.
    You must try Kremkowka or Pope's cake and coffee. Pierogi are dumplings with various fillings and there's a little place at the top of Slawkowska street where you can watch the woman make them...see if you can make her smile! ;):D

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Sheebs

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Zodiakus Hostel in August 2009 (http://www.zodiakus-krakow.hostel.com/index.php), in Kazimeirez about 10minutes walk from the Market Square.

Can't recommend it enough, it was like a home away from home! They had everyone in the hostel in the common area drinking shots from their own vodka, brought us for Zapikankes (deadly pizza bread kinda thing) and then on a pub crawl. Best craic I've ever had in a hostel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Thanks for those lads, I'll check them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Sefirah

Agreed! I'm heading to Krakow with my Israeli boyfriend (both of us are Jewish) and we're actually going to completely bypass Auschwitz- too depressing for a summer holiday... :S Also, I don't think people realise but the many of the structures themselves are constantly being replaced (so they don't rot) so it's not as authentic as one would be led to believe. I've been to Yad Vashem in Jerusalem, and that was horrible enough- just hope there's other more uplifting things to do in Krakow...!