Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs to open in Limerick on Good Friday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Min wrote: »
    They shouldn't be allowed because they don't need it and it is only 2 days out of 365 or 366 if a leap year that one can't buy alcohol.

Thats not a reason. Ah sure its only two days a year. So what why should that choice be taken away from me for those two days a year?
    Here, would you be happy to work a full day on Good Friday and in return have all pubs open?

I suspect the people who get off work or work a half day on Good Friday just want one without the other, no work but yes to alcohol.

Good Friday is not a bank holiday, I have worked it before and would again in the future. It depends on your company. I'm obviously not going to tell my job to give me less days off. Sure they give more days off just for length of service. Thats their choice I'm not argue with them over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

You shouldn't be allowed to post on boards because you don't need to.

Ok I will not post for 24 hours which is longer than some can go without alcohol as they can't enjoy themselves or socialise without it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Ok I will not post for 24 hours which is longer than some can go without alcohol as they can't enjoy themselves or socialise without it.

Except a lot of the people at the match will have gone a lot more than 24 hours without alcohol. People don't drink every single day.

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Twin-go wrote: »
    Good Friday is not a public holiday. why should people have a day off unless they booked it as a holiday?

Opening time 6.30pm to 11.30pm I think.

Well a lot of business don't bother opening on Good Friday, even though, as you point out, its not a public holiday. Offices in particular don't seem to open. If the day become a normal day, offices may start opening.

What difference does it make to you if people drink 365 days a year. Honestly I struggle to understand some people at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Well a lot of business don't bother opening on Good Friday, even though, as you point out, its not a public holiday. Offices in particular don't seem to open. If the day become a normal day, offices may start opening.

At least they have the choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Guramoogah

Good Friday, as you state, is not a public holiday but it is a Bank holiday. As such, a lot of businesses cannot trade. Personally, I've no problem with pubs opening on Good Friday provided that no money changes hands. Leave Magners (aka Bulmers, sponsors of the rugby match) pay for all the drink that will be consumed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I'll stop posting I said more than enough.

Thank you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

the thing is though, a LOT of publicans welcome good friday as a closed day. It's one of the only chanced they get to paint the building, sand, varnish and polish floors and bar tops, carry out general maintenance etc. and because your competitors are also closed you don't loose anything to them and the saturday after good friday tends to be one of the busiest nights of the year, more than making up for the loss on the day before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Seaneh wrote: »
    the thing is though, a LOT of publicans welcome good friday as a closed day.

While that is true for a lot, it's not true for all. With the ban abolished, what is to stop the publican closing on Good Friday? At least then they would have a choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

the thing is though, a LOT of publicans welcome good friday as a closed day. It's one of the only chanced they get to paint the building, sand, varnish and polish floors and bar tops, carry out general maintenance etc. and because your competitors are also closed you don't loose anything to them and the saturday after good friday tends to be one of the busiest nights of the year, more than making up for the loss on the day before.

Well they could choose close on a Monday or Tuesday when most pubs a very quite anyway and then open again for Good Friday where the are nearly certain to make up for been closed on the Monday.

An Easter miracle!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭ClutchIt

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    That was exactly what I was about to ask? Does this mean that Limerick people are treated different as they are:
    a) poorer cos they cant afford Setanta
    b) better fans cos they want to see the game
    c) bigger alco's cos they cant go a day without booze

(not having a dig at Limerick btw ... I dont have Setanta, cant afford it and couldnt be bothered with it anyway ... and I have no interest in the rugby)

It should be a nation wide implementation imho

Because the game is on in Limerick. Not because of your a,b,c reasons. God.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

ClutchIt wrote: »
    Because the game is on in Limerick. Not because of your a,b,c reasons.God. .

Shhhh, don't mention him in here...:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Party time.

Guramoogah wrote: »
    Good Friday, as you state, is not a public holiday but it is a Bank holiday. As such, a lot of businesses cannot trade. Personally, I've no problem with pubs opening on Good Friday provided that no money changes hands. Leave Magners (aka Bulmers, sponsors of the rugby match) pay for all the drink that will be consumed!

It's not a Bank Holiday either. Unlees you're living in the UK.
    What difference does it make if no money changes hand.
    Every Saturday and Sunday the banks are closed and business's seem to trade just fine.

You seem to be making very little sence with your post.

But if Bulmers wish to sponsor my Drinking I wouldn't turn them down :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

As predicted. In the next year or so and this archaic law will disappear for ever. Thank you rugby.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭johno2

I've heard that argument before and I think it's rubbish. Pubs are not obliged to open any day of the year that they don't want to. I know a pub owner who stays closed all day on Sunday because he does very little business if he opens and he likes having the day off. Sometimes he'll do some maintenance work on the pub during sunday. I know another publican who only opens for 2-3 hours each night because he has a farm to run as well and he can't afford staff to run an empty pub. I guarantee you that there will be several pubs closed in Limerick on good friday, because they don't feel like opening up. For the tens of thousands of rugby fans down here it will be great to have an evening of craic and amateur punditry in the pubs after the match.

johno

Any idea what the story is for night clubs and late bars that night seen as the opening hours are until 11.30? Will they have to shut the doors/stop serving for half an hour or can they open up at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

shaaane wrote: »
    Any idea what the story is for night clubs and late bars that night seen as the opening hours are until 11.30? Will they have to shut the doors/stop serving for half an hour or can they open up at all?

I don't think nightclubs will be open for the same reason they don't open every year at 12. The nighclub exemption actually starts on the Friday and continues to the sat and because the special exemption only goes from 6 to 11.30 I doubt the judge has granted another from 11 to 2am.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Als76

This is great news for Limerick and common sense prevailed. The law on opening pubs on good friday is too old and is not keeping up with modern times and modern laws.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Really happy to hear this. Will be great atmosphere in the pubs there. Pity I am working :(

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭dublin 16 lad

Yeah great burn down all those dirty scumbag headshops because someone died taking magic mushrooms 5 or 6 years ago while they were pissed, but we must have our precious drink, to get s***faced as often as possible.
    Drink, drink f****n' drink is responsible for thousands of deaths in this country every year, thousands of physical injury incidents and family abuse and neglect situations. But of course alcohol is a beverage right, part of the wonderful irish tradition.
    Bunch of f***** hypocrites.

Although I don't exactly agree with the way you've said it, I sort of see where you're coming from

This thread has shown that we, the people of Ireland, are pro-choice(The majority anyway). If we want to have a drink of alcohol any day of the week we should be allowed to do so. I agree 100% with this mentality

If this is the case, shouldn't the people who want the choice to consume alcohol also be in favour of legalising drugs? Not everyone will consume drugs but shouldn't it be a choice?

Just a thought

• Registered Users Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Although I don't exactly agree with the way you've said it, I sort of see where you're coming from

This thread has shown that we, the people of Ireland, are pro-choice(The majority anyway). If we want to have a drink of alcohol any day of the week we should be allowed to do so. I agree 100% with this mentality

If this is the case, shouldn't the people who want the choice to consume alcohol also be in favour of legalising drugs? Not everyone will consume drugs but shouldn't it be a choice?

Just a thought

Nah, there are plenty of other countries who have pubs open 365 days of the year but still have roughly the same misuse of drugs legislation.

Were we to invent alcohol in the present day we would probably outlaw it.

Oh and on a point of order, most people supported the move due to the removal of the influence of the Catholic Church from the Laws of Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

orourkeda wrote: »
    Theres the real issue.

Now we've established that this was motivated completely by money and nothing else.
    Was this a secret or something!?! newsflash- Business owner exposed as being secretly interested in maximising profits, -shocking revelation :rolleyes:
    They wouldnt. Thats my argument. This all about booze and money. Not choice or any anti religious sentiment.
    The law is based on religion so of course it is related, if religion was not mentioned the law is just as ridiculous and business owners and their customers would express the same contempt if their retail outlet was forced to shut down. Imagine somebody suggesting all shoe shops must close on the friday before the first Sunday after the first full moon occurring on or after 21 March because a fictional character in a novel they like died that day -utter nonsense.
    People cant get through the day without booze. Somehow I cant see people getting as exercised over their Big Mac meal
    Not comparable, mc donalds is only one place, so people have plenty of alternatives, I am sure mcdonald owners and workers would be more upset than the customers who could just go next door to burger king. If only pubs & offies with a "U" in the title had to close it would be a closer comparison. If ALL butchers and restaurants had to close and supermarkets could not sell meat I am sure there would be concerned owners worried about profits, just like the publicans. And if the law was based on leprechauns or invisible pink unicorns I expect they would bring up the ridiculousness of it too, and question why they should suffer since some people might believe in such things.

My workplace closes on good friday about 75% of the time, I hate having to use up one of my holidays which I would rather take off at my own will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

Jesus was a paedophile.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Jesus was a paedophile.
    So I hear

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭Gigiwagga

Just a thought

Choice, personal choice. Drinkers (like me) have a choice. I can buy enough alcohol to kill myself ten times over from the local supermarket, legally. But I can't buy a joint of regulated grass. Come June I wont even be able to buy any of the awful s***e the headshop sells. Oh but I can get plastered in a pub on Good Friday, and piss and puke all over the street, looking forward to it.
    You'd be kinda wonderin' sometimes why some of the younger adults in society want to disengage with all the hypocrisy this society doles out week in week out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

I'm Irish and don't belive in church/gods, I want to be able to drink when ever I want on what ever day during pub opening hours. Why should I be told by some bunch of holy joes what I can and cannot do. The end is near for the church and it can't come any quicker for this country. Feck off to the Vatican city the lot of ye to enjoy your laws. I don't belive in your gods/church so I shouldn't have to abide by YOUR rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    That was exactly what I was about to ask? Does this mean that Limerick people are treated different as they are:
    c) bigger alco's cos they cant go a day without booze
    Its not the public that's calling for the pubs to be opened its the publicans who want to make a few bob off the biggest league game of the year.