Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Breast Feeding Support Thread

Options

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Hi, I'm new to this thread, my little boy was just born on Friday night. :)

The first 24 hours were a disaster as regards breastfeeding. He wouldn't latch on correctly - and then ended up spending a night in ICU due to low blood sugar - I felt horribly guilty, that he wasn't getting what he needed from me (irrational new mother fear I guess!) and decided to stick with formula instead.

However I had a change of heart and started expressing yesterday in addition to formula feeding. It started slow, but my supply is quickly increasing, and I managed my first full breast milk only feed this evening. :)

Obviously I'd still ideally like to get him feeding directly from me - I wonder is there any chance of this happening, now that he's used to the bottles? I'm still trying him on the breast, with no luck, he just gets frustrated. The public health nurse is out tomorrow, and I'm going to a group class in the hospital on thurs with the lactation consultant, so I'm hoping they can help.

If not, I'll continue with the expressing. :) It's manageable at the moment, when he's only sleeping between feeds, so I have plenty of time to pump. I can't see that continuing for long however! Do many of you do all expressing, and if so how do you find it?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning