Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Breast Feeding Support Thread

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Ginger Ail

First time poster!

Just wanted to say that my baby was the exact same. She is 9 weeks today and the last 3 weeks have seen a huge improvement. She was described as a "ferocious feeder" by the midwife in the hospital and that continued for a number of weeks, where it felt like I was googling the possibility of growth spurts every single day not to mind every week!!

As I said she is only 9 weeks, so I am by no means an expert, but 2 things that worked for me:
    After feeding my little girl I used to wind her on my shoulder and cover her with a blanket. Then when putting her into the Moses basket I would leave the blanket behind her and then cover it over her front. I think this just made the transition easier that she wasn't being put on to a cold surface.
    Also, I used a soother, just for that moment of when you put her down and she wanted to suck again. I know some people don't recommend them (and some babies won't take them) but I knew she was just sucking for comfort rather than feeding. It worked for us anyway.

Best of luck with the next few weeks, hope it gets easier. Don't forget to drink plenty of water!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt