Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Breast Feeding Support Thread

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Cuinn

Hi all,

I'm new to boards and have a question for you ladies if you don't mind!

My little boy is almost 3 weeks now and I began pumping last Friday. He is doing great we do bottle feeds at night and breast during the day.

So I'm using the Avent comfort pump and the last couple of days I have noticed pain and red marks on my nipples, has anyone else experienced this with an electric pump?
    I'm sure I'm using it correctly on the lowest setting and not for over say 30 mins. Is that still too long?
    Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭holding

Are you getting much milk when you pump, Cuinn? Is it painful while you are using it?

If I were you, I would definitely try a different pump to see if you notice a difference. Can you borrow one from a friend, or attend a breastfeeding support meeting to borrow from there?

Yeah I'm getting lots of milk, I'm finding it really good apart from this.
    I've noticed its a little better tonight but still sore! :-(

I'm in a support group yeah, I might talk to them next week about it, thanks holding!

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Cuinn, maybe your nips are rubbing off the attachment, and its sore because of friction. Your nipples are not supposed to be rubbing against any of the parts. Could that be it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Dinkie

Cuinn wrote: »
    Hi all,