Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PSNI operated in Donegal

• 26-03-2010 10:18am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/donegalnews/Councillor-claims-PSNI-operated-in.6178437.jp

Does anyone Care?

"the checkpoint was “50-100 yards on the Donegal side of the border”.

The PSNI like the Garda are there only to help us and make our lives safer, I for one think the Garda and PSNI should be free to travel across the "border" with free access.

Crime does not see the "border" so why should they.

• Registered Users Posts: 510 ✭✭✭feelpablo

Winty wrote: »
    http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/donegalnews/Councillor-claims-PSNI-operated-in.6178437.jp

Does anyone Care?

The PSNI like the Garda are there only to help us and make our lives safer, I for one think the Garda and PSNI should be free to travel across the "border" with free access.

Crime does not see the "border" so why should they.

I see what your saying but i think its a whole can of worms being opened,

as both the gardai and psni aree working under different goverments while they are on the one Island there are all kinds of legalitys im sure that have to be upheld.

Should there be more of a joint effort in working together and information shared between the gardai and psni?? absolutlely but it will be a while coming

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

Your spot on feelpablo about 2 different Governments, but we can have a
    Gentleman’s agreement and allow both forces to do their job.

It reminds me of when I was a child fighting with my sister in the back of the car because she was on my side.

Is this so important that a Donegal County Councillor is going to waste his time investigating?

Getting Jobs to Donegal should be his number one priority

• Registered Users Posts: 46,095 ✭✭✭✭muffler

It doesnt say much for the Gardai though, does it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭BlackEdelweiss

Its all grand saying its ok and they are fighting crime but as soon as that goes to court, whoever was arrested by the psni in the republic or by the garda in the north will walk free on a technicality so why bother, stick to your own side and do it right. Ring the guards and ask them to set up a check point if they really need one.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭RMDrive

Surely the most relevant question is why the PSNI felt the need to set the checkpoint up there, rather than why shouldn't they be allowed to? What benefit was there to them to have the checkpoint on the other side of the border?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

I'm sure any arrests made our evidence gathered outside of the respective forces jurisdiction would not hold up in a court of law.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Maybe it was the uvf setting up fake checkpoints to catch someone they wanted, the same way the IRA used to set up fake Garda checkpoints.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

Maybe it was the uvf setting up fake checkpoints to catch someone they wanted, the same way the IRA used to set up fake Garda checkpoints.

Is your time machine broke, its 2010 :)

Yep.Yep it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭princess deity

OMG crime of the century, Ah sure it will give him something to do............ ;) proves just way too much time on there hands!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

What's really surprises me is that they didn't see the difference in road quality. :D Are there no potholes there? Or maybe the council made the same mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Hardly newsworthy but as someone above said its totally pointless as any crimes would be wiped on a technicality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

Hmmm:confused:.
    I wonder what would happen if the Gardai set up a checkpoint in Co. Fermanagh? I rather suspect that the PSNI would escort them back over the border.

It was probably a mistake, but nevertheless, it was an incursion into a sovereign state by a foreign police force. I don't want to sound like an extreme Nationalist, or anything, (I'm a peaceful kind of soul:D) but, nevertheless, an explanation/apology would be in order.

Noreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Noreen1 wrote: »
    Hmmm:confused:.
    I wonder what would happen if the Gardai set up a checkpoint in Co. Fermanagh? I rather suspect that the PSNI would escort them back over the border.

It was probably a mistake, but nevertheless, it was an incursion into a sovereign state by a foreign police force. I don't want to sound like an extreme Nationalist, or anything, (I'm a peaceful kind of soul:D) but, nevertheless, an explanation/apology would be in order.

Noreen

Thats all an well, but thats assuming that Ballyshannon station would know about it. Either force would go and escort the other back to their own side.

It would be useful though if either side could chase people onto the other side. It would stop a lot of messing about and then flitting back across the border to get away.

I notice it SF complaining. Maybe its a plot by London to invade.

Dont think it would ever happen though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

Any Irish citizen can peform an arrest for an indictable offence, if the PSNI officer had an Irish passport, they might get away with an arrest in the south. Just speculating there, interesting point of law!

It was just a mistake, the border doesn't have a big white line drawn all the way along, these things happen. The British army have wandered over the border several times.

I notice it SF complaining. Maybe its a plot by London to invade.

Dont think it would ever happen though.

Brilliant!

djk1000 wrote: »
    It was just a mistake, the border doesn't have a big white line drawn all the way along, these things happen. The British army have wandered over the border several times.

I saw a brit chinook as far south as the skies over Meath once!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Brilliant!

I saw a brit chinook as far south as the skies over Meath once!

Jesus,

Dont tell Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭.17hmr

The British army have wandered over the border several times.[/QUOTE] and a few more times than that.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

What a farrago..

They are human;( yes they are!!)They made a human error.

Family in Canada thought it was hilarious.

And someone in the US said the same re the roads...

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭.17hmr

Graces7 wrote: »
    What a farrago..

They are human;( yes they are!!)They made a human error.

Family in Canada thought it was hilarious.

And someone in the US said the same re the roads...

i be on all the back roads around the border and i still get lost:rolleyes:but its still not hard to know when your in the south the roads are the bigest give away:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

.17hmr wrote: »
    i be on all the back roads around the border and i still get lost:rolleyes:but its still not hard to know when your in the south the roads are the bigest give away:D

I remember seeing this on the news one night and they pointed out that there are square metal studs going the whole way across the road and that all PSNI assigned to the area knew that they marked the border, also seen on another report the shop owner escorting ther guy out when he went in to buy the paper, i thought that was halarious.....although i'd doubt that going into a shop and lifting up a paper that says The irish mirror and €1 euro wrote clearly on the front was a dead give away, id say they knew rightly, who knows maybe it was a bet :P

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,121 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

I remember seeing this on the news one night and they pointed out that there are square metal studs going the whole way across the road and that all PSNI assigned to the area knew that they marked the border, also seen on another report the shop owner escorting ther guy out when he went in to buy the paper, i thought that was halarious.....although i'd doubt that going into a shop and lifting up a paper that says The irish mirror and €1 euro wrote clearly on the front was a dead give away, id say they knew rightly, who knows maybe it was a bet :P
    He was escorted out of the shop coz he was buying a paper?

byte wrote: »
    He was escorted out of the shop coz he was buying a paper?

He was escorted out of the shop because he was a on duty PSNI officer carrying a firearm on his belt while in a public shop, whilst on duty in the republic of ireland, i believe that is more than enough reason to throw him out!

• Registered Users Posts: 46,095 ✭✭✭✭muffler

I think there was a hint of humour in byte's post ;)

muffler wrote: »
    I think there was a hint of humour in byte's post ;)

:o oops i just didnt see it....long day and all that (well thats the excuse i'll use)