Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Designing and creating a new website

Options
  • 26-03-2010 6:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭

I am a novice when it comes to web design and creation; to be more specific, I started learning how to use Dreamweaver on Tuesday! I have done one of the tutorials on the Adobe site and that seemed to go fine. It was the Check Magazine Website one. At the same time, its very hard to go wrong when all the files are there and ready for you to implement in the website.

I guess my question is, where do you start? And i mean this at a really fundamental level. Obviously you decide what you want your site to look like, sketch it out perhaps? And then is it a case of creating the exact image of your site in Photoshop or Fireworks, but it being just that, an image, with no working links or interactive content?

After this it is a case of creating the website in Dreamweaver with the aim of making the website look exactly like the image created in Photoshop? On that note, is Photoshop or Fireworks the way to go when developing images for a website?

Thanks for your help

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭nellyshark

Fundamentals: get to know html and css. Not through a wysiwyg editor but a knowledge of it yourself.

Something like http://www.csszengarden.com/ should showcase the benefits of css

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D