Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rural Fixed gear

• 27-03-2010 11:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭

Longtime lurker here and elsewhere
    Any culchies out there?
    I commute ten miles of largely deserted contry roads on my single speed/fixed.
    I also ride road with a club and also a bit offroad.So ive got a bit of everything.
    The whole fixed thing seems to be very city/urban/style based.Doesnt it.
    Anyone out there enjoyin the country roads,away from all ye mad f**ckers in the city?http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8GzNd4Yn3c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭SubLuminal

Any culchies out there?
    I also ride road with a club and also a bit offroad.So ive got a bit of everything.
    Anyone out there enjoyin the country roads,away from all ye mad f**ckers in the city?http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8GzNd4Yn3c

Nope. But thats a big tune - fixed the link for you - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8GzNd4Yn3c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭tulachmhor

Any culchies out there?

Tis surely an urban-style thing.
    Very rare to see another fixie in obscure provincial towns.
    In fact I usually have a good aul gawk at manys a bike just to double-check if it is indeed a single-speed/fixed.However,I'm always disappointed to see the sight of multiple sprockets and deraileurs.
    Even though I do own a 'proper' rothar meself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Greyspoke

Almost all my cycling these days is on quiet country lanes in Kildare, mostly on my mudguarded, mud-caked Tricross single in fixed mode. It's pretty flat so fixed is fine, just have to watch out for the poor state of the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,166 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Are you the only hipster in the village?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Greyspoke wrote: »
    Almost all my cycling these days is on quiet country lanes in Kildare, mostly on my mudguarded, mud-caked Tricross single in fixed mode. It's pretty flat so fixed is fine, just have to watch out for the poor state of the roads.

You use a bike in any other setting other than fixed?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Well boss, how's she cuttin'? How in the name of jaysus do you think I'm gonna ride a fixie up through the farm?

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Well boss, how's she cuttin'? How in the name of jaysus do you think I'm gonna ride a fixie up through the farm?

IMG_1817.jpg

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I'm pretty sure he has a mountain bike with gears on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Dizraeligears

Lumen wrote: »
    Village?Village?Villages are a luxury where I am!
    Could be the only one in the Townland though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭silver campaign

I live in a small provincial town about 1.5hrs from dublin and have one. I built it out of old bike parts and bits off e-bay mainly just for something to do to keep me occupied.
    I just use it for tipping down to the shop and walking the dog, he hasn't caused any accidents yet touch wood...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Itsfixed

Lumen wrote: »

Not in Greyspoke's village, anyway. Oh hold on, I recently swapped round my fixed cog to the SS freewheel cog. Maybe he is, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Greyspoke

The Tricross has been fixed since the day I got it just over a year ago, also have a Langster that has been in fixed mode for the past 18 months. I've only ridden a geared road bike on a few occasions in recent times - funny though, I always seem to be able to go quite a bit quicker!
    The mountain bikes are definitely not fixed!