Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Track of the Day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

jonnny68 wrote: »
    errrrrrrrrr i dunno whatever you think folks :eek:

The term 'Stonewall' is associated with the gay rights movement after the Stonewall riots in New York in the Seventies:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stonewall_riots

And it's also the name of a gay rights charity in the UK:
    http://www.stonewall.org.uk/

So to call something a stonewall classic would mean it's a gay rights classic…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

The term 'Stonewall' is associated with the gay rights movement after the Stonewall riots in New York in the Seventies:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stonewall_riots

And it's also the name of a gay rights charity in the UK:
    http://www.stonewall.org.uk/

So to call something a stonewall classic would mean it's a gay rights classic…

fu*k me you really are a strange one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

fu*k me you really are a strange one :D
    you could at least explain where you first heard that term.

I know psytrance gets a hard time on this forum, but given all the talk about life, ive got back into it:

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Yell0 Man

you could at least explain where you first heard that term.
    are you and that weirdo android seriously trying to tell me you have never heard the term "stonewall classic" it's been around for decades:eek:

another more recent "STONEWALL CLASSIC" :D

are you and that weirdo android seriously trying to tell me you have never heard the term "stonewall classic" it's been around for decades:eek:
    Yes, of course I am.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

So does that mean the term 'stonewall penalty' in football means gay rights penalty????
    Now I am confused.

Billy Mays wrote: »
    So does that mean the term 'stonewall penalty' in football means gay rights penalty????
    Now I am confused.

HAHA good point there mate.

Ignore those weirdos trying to stir up sh*t.

Now I am confused.

Stonewalling in football is a corruption of a cricket term which is defensive play from a batsman.

Stonewall can be used as a verb also where it means to block or defend, usually in politics or business... Michael Lowry stonewalled any suggestion that he acted with any impropriety.

Stonewall classic maybe is a classic you're not allowed to hear? I don't know...

But outside of politics or sport, the word stonewall is associated with gay rights.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

I doubt the word only has gay connotations in fairness!

Anyway, this one is a real blue-oyster classic, great tune...

The Aztec Mystic - Jaguar (Knights of the Jaguar)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sz_6iyDuqVY

I doubt the word only has gay connotations in fairness!

Anyway, this one is a real blue-oyster classic, great tune...

The Aztec Mystic - Jaguar (Knights of the Jaguar)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sz_6iyDuqVY

One of me favourites. Brilliant tune.

Yeah love it too, amazing that it was one of the few to break through from detroit to relative mainstream... think it may have even made the charts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭dyer

siriusmo - red knob

had ripped a sample of this track off his myspace few years ago.. so glad he finally released it!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

joker77 wrote: »

Such a good album - you could post every track on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

No boom boom music from me today. I'm gonna post 2 tracks - the reason being, the first is so short it hardly counts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Entec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Yeah love it too, amazing that it was one of the few to break through from detroit to relative mainstream... think it may have even made the charts?

Not sure if it made the charts or not but it was a big crossover smash played by techno, house and trance djs alike. I even remember it being on one of those crap Ministry of Sound compilations that a mate of mine used to buy, the only good tune in amongst a pile of sh*te. Story goes that Sony wanted to license it but U.R. told them to f*ck off, stand up lads that they are:cool::cool:. So Sony decided to get a couple of cheesy trance producers in to do a rip off version of it for themselves, shower of c*nts that they are:mad::mad:. Don't think it got off the ground though cos of the threat of legal action. Fair play to Mike Banks and co. for not selling out. Probably would have made a lot of cash if they had.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭francois

Not sure if it made the charts or not but it was a big crossover smash played by techno, house and trance djs alike. I even remember it being on one of those crap Ministry of Sound compilations that a mate of mine used to buy, the only good tune in amongst a pile of sh*te. Story goes that Sony wanted to license it but U.R. told them to f*ck off, stand up lads that they are:cool::cool:. So Sony decided to get a couple of cheesy trance producers in to do a rip off version of it for themselves, shower of c*nts that they are:mad::mad:. Don't think it got off the ground though cos of the threat of legal action. Fair play to Mike Banks and co. for not selling out. Probably would have made a lot of cash if they had.

UR leaked the Sony exec's email online, the guy was seriously flamed for doing what he did

francois wrote: »
    UR leaked the Sony exec's email online, the guy was seriously flamed for doing what he did

And rightly so. I wasn't completely clued in on the whole thing but just looked it up there and had a look at the Sony's A&R man's email to U.R. He basically tells them because you won't license the track to us we'll make our own version and release it. As I said earlier what a shower of complete c*nts. F*ckin corporations think they can walk all over people and get away with it.

Jaysus, didn't know all that about Sony etc, unreal!

Yeah, never heard that before. Anyone got a link to the story?

New album just out from 2562, I'll be needing this soon...

2562 - Cheater

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GDUfXYXnVBE
    2562 aka Dave Huismans has previously released music on Tectonic Recordings as well as 3024 and usually gets classified somewhere in the wasteland between cutting-edge bass music, techno and house. His first two longplayers Aerial and Unbalance found fans across many different scenes, the latter landing in a.o. RA’s 2009 album top ten. When In Doubt is his new imprint, aiming to release heartfelt music that doesn’t fit in the existing categories. Dave also makes freestyle techno as A Made Up Sound, known for releases on Clone, Delsin, Subsolo, Philpot and its own eponymous label. But that’s another story.

What’s the point of a concept album when no one hears the concept in it? Maybe that it sets a boundary, forcing mr artist to go even deeper into the fewer possibilities left. Creativity by limitation and all that… we’ll spare you further theorizing. ‘Fever’, the third longplayer by dutch low end scientist 2562, then, is his disco album: a thorough reinterpretation of underground disco music from the mid seventies to the early eighties, with his own birthyear 1979 as the gravitational point. All based on one simple rule: every single sound, from the smallest background shiver to the most obese sub bass, originates from a disco record – no additional synthesizers, drumcomputers or other samplesources involved.

Disco-edits, italo homages or filtered loops then? Hardly. This is genuinely new and retro-free music that respectfully flips its sources so hard even the biggest Paradise Garage connaisseurs won’t recognize what just hit them. Or in the words of musical allies Martyn and Pinch, who independently drew the same conclusion: "Sorry, but I don’t hear that whole disco story in there. This simply sounds like you."
    http://www.phonicarecords.com/product/view/69232

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

Just rediscovered the Luciano Fabric, No. 41, nearly crashed the car when this dropped!

Yeah, never heard that before. Anyone got a link to the story?

Here's a link to a 30 second sample of the fake Jaguar. Awful sh*te. On the right of the page are a load of links relating to the whole story.

http://www.renegaderhythms.com/home.html?main=http://www.renegaderhythms.com/articles/ur/sony_correspondence.html

Edit: Click on "Jaguar" on the right and you'll get the link to the sample.

Here's a link to a 30 second sample of the fake Jaguar. Awful sh*te. On the right of the page are a load of links relating to the whole story.

http://www.renegaderhythms.com/home.html?main=http://www.renegaderhythms.com/articles/ur/sony_correspondence.html

Fck that's nuts, don't know how I didn't hear about that before, fckin mental reading over the various communications back and forth, bloody cheek of Sony!

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Yell0 Man