Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford's Nightlife megathread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Joey leBlanc

I was told today in college Ten is reopening, All these venues and not enough people to fill them

Great news. Maybe Waterford will soon have a thriving nightlife once more? Rewind back a few years there was (all operating @ the same time)
    The Metroland, The Forum (albeit not as a niteclub), The Bridge Hotel (Breens), The Roxy, The Reginald, Flow Motion/Flare above Egans, Preachers & Club LA. Yes, there was a bit of an overlap with regards to the opening & closing of venues but I estimate there was a good 5 niteclubs doing business in a pre-Celtic Tiger Waterford. Why can't we revisit these halycon days? Buying cheap booze in off licences is all well & good but the novelty wears off after a while. Also any potential visitor to the City dosent want to stock up in Next Door & hear back to his/her room, they want to hit the town & have a good time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

Not in my back yard sonny Jim.... Why won't it happen?? I'm Waterford true & blue but let's face it's not a hip happening thriving metropolis & any inward investment from an outside source (with a strong track record in the field) in a new nightclub should be welcomed with open arms by everyone. After all no local investors or entrepreneurs have bothered to establish a night club in the wake of the demise of Rubys etc.
    What must people visiting a supposed "city" think when they arrive & discover that there's not even a nightclub in town. Not everyone wants to be squashed into a late bar. Im aghast at all the negativity surrounding this new venue. Flabergasted in fact!

I totally agree with you about inward investment it’s good to see. BUT most clubs and pubs in the city are offering their customers very good deals they are basically enticing their customers to come out and drink in their venues with much cheaper drink and no door charge which is great to see. Money is very tight at the moment. I can see this around Waterford as im working behind a bar.

The foundry opens next Monday with a cover charge on a Monday night????? Which is €5 euros not much I know and €2 to leave your coat in. Now why should I pay this when I can walk over to Masons or an other late night bar, and get free entry and buy drink much, much cheaper and hear the same music, the Foundry are offering nothing apart from a shiny new venue. They were also asked about what offers they would give their customers. They came back with a very smart arrogant answer which is stated in this thread. Midweek there is going to be 4 to 5 late night venues open there is barely enough people out to fill one venue.

If the foundry decided to drop their cover charge some nights and do some very good drink offers then I will be first to praise them, until then they deserved to be slated. I said this before and ill say it again its Waterford they are in now NOT Carlow give people a reason to come into your venue and not rip them off and I hope the Foundry find this out the hard way

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I was just thinking. anyone who been on holiday in the likes of Ibiza, Lanzarote and Tenerife will know that pubs/clubs use what I call touts (they may have an official name) to try and lure people in.

I wonder how far we are off something like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Hopefully great news about Ten, keep the music good and no chart sh!te and it'll draw the kind of crowd that electric avenue had, although keeping a place going like that is the tough part.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

The sign lights for Ten were turned on just there as I was walking past, someone is definitely checking the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

ziedth wrote: »
    I was just thinking. anyone who been on holiday in the likes of Ibiza, Lanzarote and Tenerife will know that pubs/clubs use what I call touts (they may have an official name) to try and lure people in.

I wonder how far we are off something like that?

We've already had that. Rubys did it once or twice just before they closed. Oxygen were doing it for years as were Harveys on some student nights. Unless you mean something completely different to what I'm thinking - hiring people (usually girls) to walk the streets and hand out out fliers and encourage people to go to the club.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Adyx wrote: »
    We've already had that. Rubys did it once or twice just before they closed. Oxygen were doing it for years as were Harveys on some student nights. Unless you mean something completely different to what I'm thinking - hiring people (usually girls) to walk the streets and hand out out fliers and encourage people to go to the club.

I think he's talking about the lads that are on the strip outside their bar trying to get people in with flyers and talking about the drinks promotions they're offering etc. What you've described is just the Waterford version of it I suppose since there's not a strip as such.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

The Foundry have taken on a good few people to do this.

Adyx wrote: »

Interesting, I never saw it done. Ya come in and get half price shot of whatever kinda thing. It does work over there I'm surprised more places don't do it all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭Santan

worked with two girls who were taken on to do this on fri and sat nights for a bar about 2 years ago, you would not believe the abuse they got and mainly from other girls the last straw was a group of people walking from muldoons to masons, they went up to them with flyers and one of the girls spat at the pr girl in her face, the two girls walked out after that didnt even wait to get paid for the few hours, not sure about Ireland but dont think waterford on weekend nights is ready for it, student nights it works better

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

Santan wrote: »
    worked with two girls who were taken on to do this on fri and sat nights for a bar about 2 years ago, you would not believe the abuse they got and mainly from other girls the last straw was a group of people walking from muldoons to masons, they went up to them with flyers and one of the girls spat at the pr girl in her face, the two girls walked out after that didnt even wait to get paid for the few hours, not sure about Ireland but dont think waterford on weekend nights is ready for it, student nights it works better

I hope she gave her a slap in the chops! Fúcking scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭scico rocks

Ledger wrote: »
    I hope she gave her a slap in the chops! Fúcking scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭south

Great crowd in the front lounge last night.. Haven't seen a pub as full as that on a Thursday night in years.

Was just gonna say the same as south. Place was packed to the doors for Fighting Spiders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Regarding "touts" as they are being called, they are already being used by some of the bars in the area. Promoting places with flyers about promotions has been going a while in Waterford

kryogen wrote: »
    Regarding "touts" as they are being called, they are already being used by some of the bars in the area. Promoting places with flyers about promotions has been going a while in Waterford

Just giving out flyers isn't what I was refering too (although I have rarely seen that too). what i'm getting at is a "tout"/rep/person say stopping a group of people outside for argument sake geoffs and bringing them down to masons an they get a free shot or whatever when they arrive.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭Mooley22

ziedth wrote: »
    Interesting, I never saw it done. Ya come in and get half price shot of whatever kinda thing. It does work over there I'm surprised more places don't do it all the time.

Ive done it for ten,oxygen and harveys and what you find is on the student night you can get people to change their minds and go to a different place then they had planned.On the weekend people have their minds made up before they go out so with some people no mattr what you say they wont go.On the other side ive never had any trouble doing it.You get an odd bit of abuse but you expect that off drunk people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

I know dignity have people going around trying to get ya down there, got stoped by them a few nights

Best one of those I ever ran into was for Secrets. Was just about to walk into Centra when a young guy in a sharp suit stopped me.

Guy: "Well bud!"
    Me: "Uh...hi..."
    Guy: "Are ya gay?"
    *awkward silence*
    Me: ".......no?"
    Guy: "Then take this free pass and make your way down to Secrets later for some great girls!"

Gotta admire his balls.

I mean his confidence....

I was never confused....

If they had proper outspoken people doing it, itd be more effective. The majority just seem to be people looking for a bit of easy money, and just handing out leaflets going "Here....here....here....here".
    Last week there was a guy for Harveys outside Centra. All he kept saying was "Harveys....harveys....harveys...." as he was handing them out.
    "Whats on?"
    "Harveys...."
    "But how much is it?"
    "Harveys...."
    "What.Event.Does.This.Leaflet.Refer.To?"
    ".......Harveys....."

Where was he promoting?

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

emo!! wrote: »
    Where was he promoting?
    Kazbar

thought as much

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Youd wonder why he was saying Harveys though.Reverse psychology maybe.

see he was smart just saying harveys...

feck..

I'll stick it in here as I don't think it warrants it's own thread.

Where did that Casino near Eastenders on the quay come from? I passed it yesterday. Kinda caught me off guard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

think thats been there a while now well about a year now anyway

Flash got approval for it nearly two years ago, it's only being finished up now.

Edit: Thinking of the wrong one....

Interesting, I have been known on occasion to dabble in gaming. I may check it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭south

Flash got approval for it nearly two years ago, it's only being finished up now.

The one on the Quay? i think your thinking about the one behind revolution that just opened