Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Poll Added***AH beers 17th April - Lets pick a venue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Kennedys
    So how many people normally turn up to these things? Same group all the time or?

Normally like 20 or 30. Good bunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Kennedys
    Fago! wrote: »
    Normally like 20 or 30. Good bunch.

I doubt I'd be welcome ;)

Did you guys know each other before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Kennedys

There seems to be a good few people (me included) going to the beers who have never met anyone off boards before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Doyles

I know none of these weirdo's but I look forward to finding out the true depths of their weirdness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Everybody's welcome..beers are a great place for people to get to know each other in real life and put their boards differences behind them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Thomas Reids

i've never gone to a beers before :)

you should come :)

Kennedys

Come....... to the beers!

We're nice. Me and ibarelycare and tea are setting up a group to meet up beforehand. You're welcome to join us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Doyles
    Well if the mods would get off their ass and flick through the thread, they'd see people have made suggestions.

Who made them in charge of it anyway?

How DARE They have lives.

Someone needed to take charge to get it done...noone had done so. Fair enough that Zohan started the thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Doyles
    I'll stick up a poll tomorrow evening, that way anyone that's interested will have had a fair chance to make a suggestion and there can be no complaints later.

I notice one person asked if the beers were in Dublin again -rolled eyes- yet didn't make a suggestion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Doyles

You should pop along, the beers are good craic.

Degsy did. He asked for suggestions people suggested and agreed blacks and then he booked ron blacks.

Correct.
    In the abscence of an agreed alternative venue ron Blacks is booked for the 17th April

Kennedys
    NothingMan wrote: »
    I know none of these weirdo's but I look forward to finding out the true depths of their weirdness.
    There seems to be a good few people (me included) going to the beers who have never met anyone off boards before!
    i've never gone to a beers before :)

you should come :)

Balls of steel is all I can say. I mean, how did this even start? A group of people that never met... it's intriguing to me. Ye are mad. :)
    Degsy wrote: »
    Everybody's welcome..beers are a great place for people to get to know each other in real life and put their boards differences behind them.

What is it ye do exactly?
    TheZohan wrote: »
    You should pop along, the beers are good craic.

"Iamxavier was last spotted at the "AH beers" in Dublin city, his remains were found not too far from where they initially met"

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Thomas Reids
    Balls of steel is all I can say. I mean, how did this even start? A group of people that never met... it's intriguing to me. Ye are mad. :)

oh don't worry, i'm scared. i'll be a complete wreck come the night :)

Wont we all...check out pics of previous beers for confirmation!!

Doyles

Previous beers pics are a bad idea....don't look at the one's from Xmas! :(

What is it ye do exactly?

At beers?
    usually get as drunk as possible.

Kennedys

Have you got a link? Or where does one find this pictures?

No link i'm afraid..there havnt been ah beers since christmas..thats when minidazzler dressed up as a woman.

Kennedys
    No link i'm afraid..there havnt been ah beers since christmas..thats when minidazzler dressed up as a woman.

WTF? How did I miss this?? Where did all the pictures go? Dazler, come on now, cough them up :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Doyles
    WTF? How did I miss this?? Where did all the pictures go? Dazler, come on now, cough them up :P

Here's the thread from the last Beers.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055757913

If you look carefully enough, you might find a few pics ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Doyles
    OutlawPete wrote: »

http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055757913

Aww i'd only just joined a few weeks when that beers was on-wish i'd went now!

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Aww i'd only just joined a few weeks when that beers was on-wish i'd went now!

Go to this lot then!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Really...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Doyles
    Go to this lot then!!

Would love to,but i'm away the weekend it's on.
    I'm just gonna save myself for the next one!!

Providing pubs will let boardsies in the door after this :D

Really...?

Obviously that doesnt apply to people who may have banned me.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I always knew you had a heart of gold. ;)

Shhh..if word gets out i'm ruined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Porterhouse
    Does that mean I get to bottle Zohan? :pac:

Bonito wrote: »
    Does that mean I get to bottle Zohan? :pac:

Would he fit in a bottle?
    I've got teh vinegar.

Kennedys

Oh sweet jesus... dazzler... :eek:
    Really...?

Well hopefully :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

Porterhouse
    Any objections to a few TLL crashers?
    Was suggested we bunk in with you guys as ours was gonna be april too :P

Porterhouse
    Misticles wrote: »
    Any objections to a few TLL crashers?
    Was suggested we bunk in with you guys as ours was gonna be april too :P
    Of course ye can all tag along. ;)

Doyles

I HATE YOU I HATE YOU I HATE YOU! :(

I am a sexay woman though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

Porterhouse
    are ye guys any closer to sorting out a venue?

Sin is a dive- well thats from my own experience...

Never heard of the other place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Yes Sin IS a dive...not as bad as citibar but it's a bad bad place!!:(

Not sure where else i could suggest as i dont normally drink much in Dublin even though i live here:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Sub Lounge
    It's my birthday that weekend so I don't know if I can make it. I've got some plans pencilled in with a couple of friends of mine for the 17th but if that doesn't go through, I may show up to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Porterhouse
    That_Guy wrote: »
    That's sub bar. Apparently you do be left waiting ages on drinks + there's feck all room in the place =/

Bonito wrote: »
    That's sub bar. Apparently you do be left waiting ages on drinks + there's feck all room in the place =/

Mmmmm. Now I'm not too sure as to where to suggest.

I'd say Doyle's but it's always jammers.

Fcuk it, Eddie Rockets. Pitchers of Heineken for a tenner apparently.

Or The Woolshed?

Porterhouse
    Throw them all up zohan will be sticking them in to a poll anyway. :)
    Sorry for the chit chat btw Z :p

Kennedys
    That_Guy wrote: »
    Mmmmm. Now I'm not too sure as to where to suggest.

I'd say Doyle's but it's always jammers.

Fcuk it, Eddie Rockets. Pitchers of Heineken for a tenner apparently.

Or The Woolshed?

I was in Doyles (So were you if I remember) at a TLL beers... It stank.. I'd prefer if it wasn't there...

Doyles
    The next person to tell Zohan to stick up a Poll, is getting their drinks spiked at the Beers :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭ERR!

I was in Doyles (So were you if I remember) at a TLL beers... It stank.. I'd prefer if it wasn't there...

no to doyles :P woolshed can be ok.....

whealens is great spot... the bleeding horse another good one...

Kennedys
    Put up a poll there Zoh-eeeeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Won't be attending this one but for future reference may I suggest the Bull & Castle in Christchurch. Used to be an awful ****ehole when it was the Castle Inn but was taken over by FXB's a few years back. It's now a 'Gastro Pub' but also specialises in 'World Beers', i.e. they stock more than just Bud and Carlsberg. They have a Brauhaus style beerhall upstairs with 'ambient dj' (not in your face so you can talk but still throw a few shapes if ya like). Do platters of finger food if wanted (tasty stuff - not the usual muck) and have a decent enough cocktail menu too. Not pretentious at all either! Only thing lacking is a decent smoking area.

Think it would suit perfect! (No I don't work there BTW)

Porterhouse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Capitol Bar
    Thomas Reads?

Kennedys
    What about the Australian bar, the wolly something or other? Not sure about platters, but I remember it being a decent spot.

Apart from the dandeloin (kip) that's the only pub I have been to that I can remember, in Dublin in years.

Anywhere that's cheap and not too noisey is good for me :)

Doyles
    What about the Australian bar, the wolly something or other? Not sure about platters, but I remember it being a decent spot. :)

LOL :D

The Woolshed ...

Great spot, just next door to where I live .. Cineworld :p

Kennedys
    LOL :D

The Woolshed ...

Great spot, just next door to where I live .. Cineworld :p

Yea, that's the one. I remember they done a good deal on pitchers, I think. I forget the price though :(