Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Couch To 5K discussion thread (discussion of other programs welcome too!)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Well done!

Relish that feeling ... longer and further now ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭BabyBirch

ULstudent wrote: »
    Well done!

Relish that feeling ... longer and further now ;)

Definitely! The woman whose podcasts I was using it doing a 5k to 10k one now and as soon as she puts it online I'm there!! For now going to make my own playlists and try to increase my speed a little :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭terlywerly

Went out for W8D2 but kept going until I'd run the full 30mins! It felt awesome!!! And really, truly, if I can do it, ANYONE can! :D
    Well done!! Brilliant achievement. You'll be off running 10k in no time :D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,583 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Had planned on doing W8D3 this evening but conditions are very poor out at the moment and I am wrecked from a hectic weekend so may give it a miss. Will either fit it in at some stage tomorrow or skip it and do W9D1 on Wednesday as I have actually ran more than 30 minutes on W8D1 so I suspect I will be fine skipping a day.
    Into the final week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I did a 7.7 mile walk today, took me just under 2 1/2 hours. I think I need to get some new workout gear or something. My leg was cut off me by the tracksuit bottoms rubbing against them.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Get a good pair of shorts for your workouts over the summer, and if you've got chafing issues then Body Glide is the mutt's nuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Ran nearly all of the mini marathon! Jogged for 5km, only stopped to walk for about 30 sec here and there because of the crowd, got a crazy stitch then walked a little and ran over Belfield and up to 7km, then walked another couple of min, ran to 8k, got soaked with a hose, walked a bit, then ran to 9k, stopped about half way to 10k to catch my breath cos I thought I was gonna puke... then really sprinted like crazy to the finish line.

Completed it in........ 70 minutes! Delighted with myself. If you finish in under 95 min you qualify for fast jogger next year. (I kicked that results ass!) That's good because the walkers really got in my way. (Sorry walkers! :o)

Had to stop and stretch because I got two stitches. Also, I banged my elbow on the railing and had to get a plaster from a medic so that slowed me down. But I really enjoyed it, and liked the rain & survived it by myself even though I was dreading it and a big bag of nerves all night & today!

Thanks soooo much for the support & advice over my C25K efforts! <3:D

Time for a bath & my jammies!

Congratulations cherub rock!!!!!!
    Well done on the mini marathon, that's a fantastic achievement. Definitely something to be proud of. I bet it felt fantastic crossing the finish line.
    Inspiration for all of us - I'm gonna do my absolute best to be in a fit state for it next year.
    Couch to 5k really does work!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Another recent C25k graduate here! Could hardly run for 1 minute Week 1 Day 1 of C25k back in February. Crossed the finishing line in just over 1.06 today!!

Well done to all the C25kers who made it to the end today walking or jogging. Its much better than sitting on the couch! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭Loopie

Hi everyone,
    haven't been on here in a couple of weeks but was still reading through the various posts. Well done to everyone doing the mini marathon today! :)

Just back from a run/walk, I haven't been great at keeping to the exact C25K program, kinda going off on a tangent but will try to keep to it this week.
    Managed to do 30 mins in total, spent about 10 of those walking, the rest running.

No joke when I say that I couldn't jog from my house to the front of my estate a couple of months ago and dare I say I'm beginning to enjoy it.

Looking for a bit of advice - I find that just above my ankle, my legs really hurt when I run. No amount of stretching helps, my legs just feel like they're dead! I try to run on a slight incline at certain points of the run so I'm wondering if that is anything to do with it? It's not sore per se but it does make me want to stop! Any ideas?

Loopie

Did any of you folks buy specialist runners or did you just wear whatever runners you already had?

PS: Well done to everyone on this thread who did the marathon today. :)

Loopie wrote: »

Looking for a bit of advice - I find that just above my ankle, my legs really hurt when I run. No amount of stretching helps, my legs just feel like they're dead! I try to run on a slight incline at certain points of the run so I'm wondering if that is anything to do with it? It's not sore per se but it does make me want to stop! Any ideas?

Loopie

Sounds like shin splints

Well done to all who did the 10K today. Its a great achievement and a 10k is in my sights sometime in the next few months (maybe a few 10K's).
    I decided to get out this evening despite my post earlier and was glad I did. It was a nice evening for running although a weekend of excess and a later than usual dinner kept my pace down. Got the 28 minutes done however and onto W9D1 on Wednesday where I intend to push the pace harder. I know I have a lot more in me as I amnt "tired" after the runs and feel I have been taking it a bit too easy.
    This is all in preparation for Sunday in Monivea.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

So after all my moaning about my runners, I did get fancy anti-blister socks and not a bother on me after today's run! Finally! let's hope it stays that way!
    Did w3d2 with the boyfriend today, feel like I can do much more when I'm not alone! :D

bluewolf wrote: »
    So after all my moaning about my runners, I did get fancy anti-blister socks and not a bother on me after today's run! Finally! let's hope it stays that way!
    Did w3d2 with the boyfriend today, feel like I can do much more when I'm not alone! :D

Decent socks that dont bunch up are essential.
    Fair play.
    Personally at the moment I am happier running alone but that might change. The wife is to fecking fast for me at the moment and can run a lot more (training for Achill half at the moment, fair play to her)

So after all my moaning about my runners, I did get fancy anti-blister socks and not a bother on me after today's run!

Have decided to get some of these myself. My feet are feckers for getting blisters if I do a lot of walking. Which I have been doing a lot of recently.

dolliemix wrote: »
    Another recent C25k graduate here! Could hardly run for 1 minute Week 1 Day 1 of C25k back in February. Crossed the finishing line in just over 1.06 today!!

Well done to all the C25kers who made it to the end today walking or jogging. Its much better than sitting on the couch! :)
    Well done dolliemix, great result!!
    And well done to everyone who completed the mini marathon today, all of ye are deadly :D
    Well done on W3D2, how are you finding it? I think I'd crack up if I was jogging with someone else, I like getting out there on my own with my own thoughts.
    Anti blister socks are the way to go, most definitely. I don't know what I'd do without mine.
    I was gonna do W4D3 on Wednesday and try W5D1 for Friday/Saturday but I think now I'll do W4D3 tomorrow and do it again on Friday and Sunday (or something of the like). I know I won't be able for the 3x 5min jogs. I haven't finished one 5min jog as I am. So I think repeating wouldn't be any harm. Especially knowing the 20min run isn't too far away. As I am now I'd be doing the 20min run in 4 jogs time and I know that's too soon for me. I'd rather be sure I can do the 5 mins before I move on to 8 mins and then the 20 mins.
    A bit longer, but I know I'll get there in the end. To be this far along is huge for me. I was so unfit when I started :o

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭chickenpoo

Haven't had a great week with the running, after doing so well with W4D1 on Wednesday I went back out on Friday in the lashing rain to do Day 2, but only got halfway through before giving up and going home (I had puddles of water in my runners!). I then went out on Sunday morning to try and do it again, but foolishly went out without any breakfast and had to give up halfway through again because I was feeling faint.

So! I've now started Week 4 again, because I did so badly last week. I did W4D1 again last night and got through it okay, so hopefully will do Day 2 on Wednesday.

Fair play to everyone who did the mini-marathon, I did it last year (just walking), and it's great craic. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

kippy wrote: »
    Personally at the moment I am happier running alone but that might change. The wife is to fecking fast for me at the moment and can run a lot more (training for Achill half at the moment, fair play to her)
    One day, one day...

Have decided to get some of these myself. My feet are feckers for getting blisters if I do a lot of walking. Which I have been doing a lot of recently.
    Definitely recommended, although they were a bit expensive =(
    terlywerly wrote: »

Well done on W3D2, how are you finding it? I think I'd crack up if I was jogging with someone else, I like getting out there on my own with my own thoughts.
    I'm finding it hard as bejaysus, the 2nd three min run is a killer. Think I will end up doing it a few more times before I move on to week four, I can only just barely complete it as it is, and that's with himself going "come on, you can do it, just a bit more" :o AND with myself jogging as slow as I can...
    I was gonna do W4D3 on Wednesday and try W5D1 for Friday/Saturday but I think now I'll do W4D3 tomorrow and do it again on Friday and Sunday (or something of the like). I know I won't be able for the 3x 5min jogs. I haven't finished one 5min jog as I am. So I think repeating wouldn't be any harm. Especially knowing the 20min run isn't too far away. As I am now I'd be doing the 20min run in 4 jogs time and I know that's too soon for me. I'd rather be sure I can do the 5 mins before I move on to 8 mins and then the 20 mins.
    A bit longer, but I know I'll get there in the end. To be this far along is huge for me. I was so unfit when I started :o
    Yeah that's brill progress already =D I figure no harm in repeating, it's not getting comfortable and not pushing yourself if you can barely even keep up with the week's routine, I will be too!

Definitely recommended, although they were a bit expensive =(

They were pricy enough but SweatShop online had an offer where it was 3 pairs for £24 sterling.

http://running.sweatshop.co.uk/search?p=Q&lbc=sweatshop&uid=398781288&ts=custom&w=*&af=cat1:mensrunningclothing&method=and&view=grid&sscv=0&isort=price

Ebay is your friend! I got my Asics Kayanos for €50 on ebay! They have anti blister socks & running socks & everything you need

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭itsallaboutme!!

Congrats to all on the marathon yesterday its a great achievement you should all be very proud!:D

so i did w9d1 on saturday did have to stop for a bit as the heat was a killer but managed to run 28 mins so i was happy with that. wasnt able to get out for day 2 last night but heading out for it tonight so trying to get as much water into myself today to try avoid the dreaded stitch:rolleyes: im actually hoping its raining when i go out later as i really enjoy running in the rain for some reason:) anyway hopefully it will go well and then its day 3 on saturday and c25k finished!!!!!:D

chickenpoo wrote: »
    Haven't had a great week with the running, after doing so well with W4D1 on Wednesday I went back out on Friday in the lashing rain to do Day 2, but only got halfway through before giving up and going home (I had puddles of water in my runners!). I then went out on Sunday morning to try and do it again, but foolishly went out without any breakfast and had to give up halfway through again because I was feeling faint.

So! I've now started Week 4 again, because I did so badly last week. I did W4D1 again last night and got through it okay, so hopefully will do Day 2 on Wednesday.

Fair play to everyone who did the mini-marathon, I did it last year (just walking), and it's great craic. :)
    Week 4 is proving hard for me too alright. And if the weather is as bad tonight as it is now, I won't be going out till tomorrow.
    In fairness though, we have 3 successful weeks behind us, and we'll get over this one too in time. And next thing you know, we'll be running marathons :D:D
    Congrats to all on the marathon yesterday its a great achievement you should all be very proud!:D

so i did w9d1 on saturday did have to stop for a bit as the heat was a killer but managed to run 28 mins so i was happy with that. wasnt able to get out for day 2 last night but heading out for it tonight so trying to get as much water into myself today to try avoid the dreaded stitch:rolleyes: im actually hoping its raining when i go out later as i really enjoy running in the rain for some reason:) anyway hopefully it will go well and then its day 3 on saturday and c25k finished!!!!!:D
    Well done itsallaboutme!! we'll have another graduate among us very soon! Has nobody set up a post-C25K thread yet?? Are you going to carry on with another programme after this?

Last night I dreamed I was running. I think its the first time I've ever dreamed it lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭hatful

Well done everyone who did the marathon yesterday, you should be proud of yourselves :D Week 3 was okay despite the heat. I did W4D1 the other day. I didn't feel like week 3 prepared me for it at all, I definitely need an arch support for my right foot. I was barely jogging on the last 5 min run, but I finally got the running buzz aftermath that everyone is talking about.

hatful wrote: »
    I did W4D1 the other day. I didn't feel like week 3 prepared me for it at all, I definitely need an arch support for my right foot. I was barely jogging on the last 5 min run, but I finally got the running buzz aftermath that everyone is talking about.

I didn't think W3 was a good preparation either!! A 3 min jog with a 3 min walk does not prepare you for a 5 min jog with a 2.5 min walk!!! That's why I'm gonna do a few repeat jogs.
    And running buzz is great :D

I didn't think W3 was a good preparation either!! A 3 min jog with a 3 min walk does not prepare you for a 5 min jog with a 2.5 min walk!!! That's why I'm gonna do a few repeat jogs.
    And running buzz is great :D

Ah, ye'd be very surprised...........I thought the same, got through them (it wasnt easy) and almost finished now. I had the same doubts.

Starting swimming lessons tomorrow evening for 6 weeks so that adds a new dimension to my "fitness" campaign.

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭itsallaboutme!!

Well done itsallaboutme!! we'll have another graduate among us very soon! Has nobody set up a post-C25K thread yet?? Are you going to carry on with another programme after this?

Last night I dreamed I was running. I think its the first time I've ever dreamed it lol

Thanks terlwerly:D i think im goinig to just keep going with the 30 min runs for a few weeks and try improve my speed a bit as im still quite slow:o but im defo going to keep running. i actually cant believe i have gotten this far i really didnt think that 9 weeks ago when i started that i would keep it up but i am delighted that i have and am determined to keep going now.

i dont feel confident enough yet to enter into any races but eventually i would like to enter into one and see how i go.

the compliments from family and friends are quite a motivator too. i had lost 2.5 stone before i started training and although people were saying i looked well then, now im getting it even more so i guess the running has toned me up a bit now too so if thats not reason enough to keep it going i dont know what is!!!;)

best of luck with your week4 runs you'll be flying into week9 in no time!

When you guys are doing the running part of C25K, how fast do you run? Do you just jog or run at a fast pace?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

When you guys are doing the running part of C25K, how fast do you run? Do you just jog or run at a fast pace?

I generally just shuffle along! How fast you go doesn't matter. In fact if you try to go too fast you won't enjoy yourself. Keep it comfortable. This is your thing and you're not trying to race against anyone else. Its all about personal goals as far as I'm concerned. I've been told that pace will increase with time....it's all about just getting out there at the moment and progressing at your own pace!

dolliemix wrote: »
    I generally just shuffle along! How fast you go doesn't matter. In fact if you try to go too fast you won't enjoy yourself. Keep it comfortable. This is your thing and you're not trying to race against anyone else. Its all about personal goals as far as I'm concerned. I've been told that pace will increase with time....it's all about just getting out there at the moment and progressing at your own pace!

Cool. I just need to find some secluded spot now where no-one will see me :)