Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Couch To 5K discussion thread (discussion of other programs welcome too!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

terlywerly wrote: »
    The only piece of advice I can give you is, if you come back from W1D1 feeling like you're about to die and are purple in the face from the effort - don't decide to give up there and then. Try it for a few runs and see. Nothing was as hard for me as that first jog. My body was in total shock for days after lol everything ached!
    But once you get into the swing of things its absolutely brilliant! :D

Congrats and good luck with W9D3!!! I can only imagine how great it must feel to be so close to finishing the program, well done! I'm heading out tonight (hopefully if the thunder clouds behave themselves) to do my first repeat day of W4. Feeling more content in general this week. Could it be something to do with the fact that I am sitting here in jeans I haven't been able to fit into in 2 years?? Maybe :D but its a confidence booster and a motivator and as I said before I'll keep repeating till I can do it right, and then move on.
    Feck, country will be full of mad joggers by the end of this :D

Aye, I'm still raring to go. I've got this software on my iPhone called iMapMyRun that I've been using when I've been out for walks. It records where I've been walking and when and it turns out I've been walking more than I thought recently. Apparently I started doing this consistently since mid April. I'm starting to feel reasonably fit although my diet is shocking so I haven't really lost any weight, perhaps 1 or 2 lbs which is pretty pathetic. However I'm sort of thinking I shouldn't find it too hard to do bursts of 60 seconds jogging. I've been doing a lot of walking recently, and last weekend did 5.5 miles on Sunday followed by 7.7 miles on Monday. So I think/hope I've a half decent base to start from.

Plus I have to catch up all these feckers who've graduated from the class of C25K and have moved onto doing 5-10k programmes ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭doctorwhogirl

Meant to post in this last week but I am now a couch to 5 k graduate!!!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,583 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Great stuff!
    Due to unforeseen circumstances I cant get out this this evening.
    Possibly no harm as I've an early morning to be in Delphi for a few activities tomorrow morning.
    Might try do a fast 3K tomorrow evening before the run on Sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Hey Kippy

Are you doing a 5k race on Sunday? If you are I wouldn't bother with the run tomorrow and save your energy for that sub 30!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I just posted this somewhere else, but I'm trying to start this soon. Tried jogging today, but could only make at most 45seconds. Not too positive about how long I'll be able to go at it. I tried jogging before for a couple of weeks and I never seemed to be able to extend the time each day.

Don't worry too much, it takes time to build up a bit of fitness. I'm planning on starting this tomorrow so I'll be in the same boat as you no doubt!

dolliemix wrote: »
    Hey Kippy

Are you doing a 5k race on Sunday? If you are I wouldn't bother with the run tomorrow and save your energy for that sub 30!! :)

Yeah I am.
    I am kinda thinking that as well.
    Have a half day in Delphi tomorrow do that should be enough activity for the day!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭brainyneuron

Feck, country will be full of mad joggers by the end of this :D

*Rubs hands in glee*

What'll we do tonight Brain(y)
    The same thing we do every night Pinky
    TRY TO TAKE OVER THE WORLD (One couch dweller at a time :D)

WOOHOO!!! Amazing girl congrats! Feels good not to be the only one anymore! You'll have to join us in the 10K thread now :D
    kippy wrote: »
    Great stuff!
    Due to unforeseen circumstances I cant get out this this evening.
    Possibly no harm as I've an early morning to be in Delphi for a few activities tomorrow morning.
    Might try do a fast 3K tomorrow evening before the run on Sunday

Yeah I agree with Dollie, the half day in Delphi will be more than enough exercise tomorrow! Have fun tomo and best of luck on Sunday xx

Hey SUN, definitely download a podcast (there's links on the first post of the thread), it really helps to have someone telling you when to run and walk. The best tip I can give you though is stay positive. Forget about the time and how much you were able to run before and just start jogging! Listen to the music and repeat the mantra 'I can do this, I can do this' and before you know it the 90secs will be over and you'll be walking again. BUT on the other hand, do not feel embarrassed or ashamed if you can't make some of the runs. If 90 seconds is too much, try a week (3 days) of 30 seconds with walking inbetween, then 45, then 60 etc till you can get to 90. Everybody's different so don't beat yourself up over it!
    Best of luck with it and report back to us on your progress! There's plenty of friendly faces here to help! xx

PS Forgot to say, take it slow. Don't try to go too fast too soon!

So I did it! The first day of C25K is complete and thankfully it wasn't as bad as I expected.

I went to bed around midnight last night with the intention of getting up around 8 or 9am and attempting the first part of the C25K then. However for some reason I woke up about 5.30am and had trouble getting back to sleep. I think I was nervous or thinking about trying this out. Anyway I tossed and turned until about 6.20am and just said "F*** it" so I got up and got changed. The good thing is that it starts to get bright about 4.30am and by 6.20am, the sun was splitting the trees.

Thanks to my trusty Google Earth and the advice of some people on the A/R/T forum, I decided to start on a grassy park. I found one a short 5-10 minute walk from my place that looked quite big. Apparently it's better to run on grass or tarmac than concrete so I was conscious of that and having had a bit of trouble with my left knee before.

I got there about 6.50am and there wasn't a sinner to be found, which was just what I wanted. The park was quite big and had a tarmac footpath that ran along side it but I didn't know where it went so I just did loops of the grass which was big in itself.

I'm using a program on my iPhone called C25K by Alex Stankovic. You can get it from the App Store although it costs 2.39, which isn't very much. Cheaper than a Big Mac I'm sure :) It guides you along the programme and has W1D1, W1D2 etc and it knows the program is so many seconds walking, so many running. It also includes the 5 minute warmup and cooldown phases as well which is good. It gives you audio prompts and lets you listen to your own music so you'll be listening and it will go "Warmup" then after 5 minutes it will say "Run" followed 60 seconds later by "Walk" etc. It does this for the duration of the workout and obviously is dependant on which day you are on. I found it good as I didn't have to keep checking my watch and I knew it would tell me when to start and stop. Although it did beep half way through and say "you are half way there" and I was thinking to myself "I'm not sure I wanted to hear that" :D

Anyway I didn't find the jogging too bad. I'm quite heavy at the moment, about 248 lbs which is just a tad under 18 stone and I'm 5ft 10. I was able to complete all the 60 second runs without stopping which I was happy with. Although I was more jogging than anything and not particularly fast either. My legs started to feel quite heavy so I reckon I wasn't walking as fast as I needed to during those phases.

I do distinctly remember thinking "There's no way I can jog for 30 mins non-stop" but I guess that's part of the programme, it builds you up to that.

Injury wise I feel ok. My left ankle is a little sore and my left knee is a tiny bit sore but not too bad. I had issues with my left knee before in that it started to hurt quite badly after a few days jogging back at the gym. Although I was a bit stupid then in that I didn't stop and give myself much of a break. At the time in the gym I could feel my knee getting sore but didn't stop. I didn't have that today at all, just a little discomfort afterwards.

I decided to go buy a new pair of runners today as well. I have a pair that I've had for about 4 years but from talking to a physio mate of mine who checked out my knee when it was bothering me, and from reading stuff on boards and other places, I knew I probably need proper runners for my type of feet. So I went to a specialist technical running shop where they check out your feet type, video you running and walking and recommend a type of runner based on how your feet land and take off and how your leg moves.

However to test my knee fully, I walked up 5 flights of stairs after getting back from the shop and had no real issues. I was gasping for air harder than I had been after the jogging though :)

So that's it, W1D1 complete. I was happy to complete the jogging without stopping. I felt I had a good chance of doing so as I've been walking a lot for the past 5-6 weeks. It's a pity I hadn't been eating properly the whole time as I'd probably have dropped a stone or near enough to it by this stage.

There's another smaller park right beside the apartment complex that I live in and I think I might use it from now on. It has a tarmac path that surrounds the grass so I've the option of doing laps on both which is good.

I'm probably going to take it easy now today and tomorrow and attempt W1D2 on Monday at some point.

Thats great Grandmaster. I was carrying extra weight (still am, but really working on it) when I started C25k. I was 14.9 and I'm 5'7. If you start watching your diet the weight will start shifting and it makes everything much easier. Every little step is a step in the right direction. I started at beginning of Feb and I've moved up to a half marathon training plan already!! I've lost nearly two stone. Its a wonderful program. THere is a huge sense of achievement after each and every run. The runners will make a big difference too. I would say, obviously be careful with injuries, but try not to over analyse every tweek and twinge you get. Your joints will have to adjust and will feel some strain but I've gone out some nights and felt sure I've done serious damage to something and then I'm okay in a day or two. The body is much more capable than we give it credit for at times.

Congrats on completing Day 1!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭BabyBirch

Week 9 Day 1 done! According to the podcast that means I've finished C25K but I'm going to do it twice more anyway. Graduating C25K THIS WEEK!!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭itsallaboutme!!

well i did it! 9 weeks done! kind of! i went out this morning before work and it all went a bit belly up but im sticking with it!!

So to try cut a long story short I was wrecked to begin with, my breathing went totally out of wack about 15 mins in and i got a massive stitch grrr!! but i managed about 20 mins before i just gave in.:o I just could not control my breathing and the stitch would not go away so i walked the reamainder at a fairly fast pace. was a bit disappointed i wasnt able to do the full 30 mins but I am going to stick with the 30 min runs until i can do them fairly easily and then im hoping to move onto maybe the 8k or 10k programmes i had a look at over in the thread you linked me to brainy!

My OH on the other hand did the full 30 for the 3rd time and i have to say im a little jealous, very proud and very very grateful coz i would not have stuck any of it out if it wasnt for him!;)

grand master fair play to you for getting out and getting started thats the hardest part once your out doing it your grand! you;ll be flying it in no time just stick with it. believe me when i say i was in bits the first time i went out on week1 didnt think id EVER be able able to get this far but it really works and you will get fitter! like dollimix i was carrying extra weight when i started but in the last 9 weeks ive lost about 8lbs and really see myself toning up from the exercise so thats another great reason to stick with it;)

congrats on completing the whole 9 weeks skinny you'll flying over to the 10kers soon enough!!

Anyway,even though ive technically finished the c25k bit im gonna be hanging around updating as i go im just not ready yet to play with the big guys in the 10k thread so hopefully in a few weeks ill get there!! best of luck to everyone starting out or half way through or nearly there!!!!!!!!

Welldone Itsallaboutme! I've been following your progress the whole way. You've been so patient and sensible throughout. There's no looking back now! :)

dolliemix wrote: »
    Welldone Itsallaboutme! I've been following your progress the whole way. You've been so patient and sensible throughout. There's no looking back now! :)
    thanks dolliemix! it gets very frustrating at times i even had a lil cry today when i met/caught up on the OH:o I wanted to be able to do it sooo much but hey slow and steady wins the race i guess i'll get there eventually!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭terlywerly

*Rubs hands in glee*

What'll we do tonight Brain(y)
    The same thing we do every night Pinky
    TRY TO TAKE OVER THE WORLD (One couch dweller at a time :D)
    Mwahahahahahahahaha!!! :D
    So I did it! The first day of C25K is complete and thankfully it wasn't as bad as I expected.
    Congrats grandmaster!! Keep up the good work!!
    Week 9 Day 1 done! According to the podcast that means I've finished C25K but I'm going to do it twice more anyway. Graduating C25K THIS WEEK!!! :D
    Good luck with your final week SP!! Woohoo!!
    well i did it! 9 weeks done!
    Congrats also to itsallaboutme!! well done for completing the 9 weeks!!

I had a sh1te couple of days so I didn't get out for my first W4 repeat day yet, but hopefully later on, or at absolute worst tomorrow, I'll get going. Was feeling miserable last night and was so very tempted to say 'Feck it' and open some wine or go buy a big tub of ice cream, but I managed damage limitation and settled for a few of those Maynard Midget Gem things (actually a wee bit addictive) and a bag of Velvet Crunch. Could have been a whole lot worse.
    But will get back into it now again today/tomorrow.

Well done to everyone for progressing!!

C25K officially over for me and on schedule as well! Can't believe it.
    Finished it today with a 5K run in Monivea.
    Thought the run was at 12:30 but found out at 11 it was at 12! Rushed out there with the wife having completely gotten our eating schedule wrong in the morning and after a late night out on the town with a few beers thrown in as well!

A very nice run as well. No hills of any significance, a few inclinces, partly through the village, partly through the forest and finishing at the GAA pitch. There was a big enough field involved and some very good runners too part also. It was cool enough with some sunny periods.
    I started out near enough the back. Didnt use music.
    I didnt realise it but I did the first 2K in 10 minutes ran another 500 metres and had to take a break so walked a bit. Ran then for another K or so, walked a bit, and then continued walk/Run right up until the last 500 metres where I ran the lot at a fairly fast pace.
    I was dissappointed that I didnt run the full thing but I can see why my head wasnt in the right place (my training is on a race track with hills and I need to get off that to get the head into the right place which I will be doing soon).The sprint over the finish almost cost me the contents of my stomach but I managed to hold it in. My legs were not tired and my breathing was good all through out so my only excuse for not running it all is mental which I'll sort out.
    Anyway got around the 5K in approximately 30:10 (official times not up yet) which I was delighted with all things considered.

Nine weeks ago (tomorrow) if you had told me I would get around a 5K distance AT ALL in less than an hour I'd laugh at you. However this program has given me the tools to run and the attitude to keep running for the foreseeable future.
    Its not easy. From Week 1 there are challenges but with the right basic equipment (socks and runners) the right attitude and sticking to the plan (even if its not religiously, theres places where you may skip a day or decide to repeat a day) you will be able to complete it.
    If you are thinking of starting it think no longer. START TODAY.

So, where to next? Well sadly I havent lost ANY weight according to the scales. Still up on 16 stone, despite the running and improved diet (i could improve it a lot more, cut out alcohol etc but this is the summer and that will have to wait a few months). MOST people who change their activities as radicilly as I have over the past few months WILL notice a weight loss but at the moment I amnt too worried about not seeing it.
    What this means is I will be running 3 or 4 times a week 5K each time for the next 2 weeks. I plan on doing different routes with the sole intention of getting my head to accept the fact that I can run the full 5K on ANY circuit, not just train on.
    After that I'll be back to my training circuit and hopefully doing this:
    http://www.halhigdon.com/10ktraining/10knovice.htm
    That should have me up on 10K sometime around late August/September.
    I'll do a couple more five k races over the Summer, maybe an 8K and then look at some options in September when I am almost finished.
    HOPEFULLY at that stage I will have lost significant weight and my performances will improve as a result.

So,
    Thanks to ALL who posted in this thread. I've gotten so much encouragement by those that were a few weeks ahead in the program, those that had completed the program and those that were a few weeks behind. Theres been a club of 3 or 4 of us who've been on around the same weeks so its been good to have a "virtual" club here online for the necessary peer pressure and banter.
    Hopefully I'll meet a few of ye at some stage at some run or another.
    I'll continue to post in this thread, hopefully giving advice and motivation to those that are on the program. I'll also start posting on on of the threads setup by a recent graduate of this program for a 10K program.

So again, thanks all, best of luck to everyone currently in the program.
    It's changed my life. ( I'm still not a psycho competitive runner though and dont intend to be ;) )

Kippy

• Registered Users Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

30.10 for your first 5k is pretty good, and congratulations on completing Couch to 5k :)

Well done on your race, and for finishing the Couch to 5K programme!!!!
    Well done, and good luck when you start the 10k :D

Well done you for completing the c25k and for doing your first race:D

I was only up with a friend last night who was doing the 5k in lucan today and I was a bit jealous that he was doing and i wasnt! I dont think im ready for races yet but eventually ill get there!

Well done again you should be well proud of yourself!!:D

Finally got out to do my first day repeat of W4. Had such a sh1te week with so many different things - arguments, bad news etc etc and I really wasn't in the form to go out tonight, especially with the weather. But around 9.45 it stopped raining and I just went.
    Did the first 3 min jog as always, and on to the first 5 min jog. I have to say I got a lot closer than ever before, maybe around 4.5 mins. Feeling spurred on by that, I went on to do my 3 min jog and when the thingy beeped for the 5 min jog I just went for it.
    My face must have been purple, I was sweating buckets, looking like a mad thing....and I did it!!!! I jogged for 5 minutes without stopping, and I am still stunned. I think its the most excited I've been in a long while :D and there I was in the middle of nowhere with nobody to tell :( Sad as I am, I took out my phone and rang my OH to tell him!
    I'm still so excited, can't believe I did it finally. I'm gonna repeat the other 2 days as well, I wanna be sure I'm ready for week 5.
    Hee hee hee I jogged for 5 mins!!
    Only thing is, I think the inside skin of my socks wasn't sitting properly cos I feel it a bit tingly and sore (aka pre blister like :mad:) but hopefully it'll be ok. I'll soak it in my nice salts and things tomorrow.
    YAY!!!!!! :D:):D:)

Kippy thats brilliant! You are so ready for the Hal Higdon 10k now. I loved that as my next step.....the weeks will fly by! Well done in the 5k!

Terlywerly: love reading about your progress. Well done today fighter!

Finally got out to do my first day repeat of W4. Had such a sh1te week with so many different things - arguments, bad news etc etc and I really wasn't in the form to go out tonight, especially with the weather. But around 9.45 it stopped raining and I just went.
    Did the first 3 min jog as always, and on to the first 5 min jog. I have to say I got a lot closer than ever before, maybe around 4.5 mins. Feeling spurred on by that, I went on to do my 3 min jog and when the thingy beeped for the 5 min jog I just went for it.
    My face must have been purple, I was sweating buckets, looking like a mad thing....and I did it!!!! I jogged for 5 minutes without stopping, and I am still stunned. I think its the most excited I've been in a long while :D and there I was in the middle of nowhere with nobody to tell :( Sad as I am, I took out my phone and rang my OH to tell him!
    I'm still so excited, can't believe I did it finally. I'm gonna repeat the other 2 days as well, I wanna be sure I'm ready for week 5.
    Hee hee hee I jogged for 5 mins!!
    Only thing is, I think the inside skin of my socks wasn't sitting properly cos I feel it a bit tingly and sore (aka pre blister like :mad:) but hopefully it'll be ok. I'll soak it in my nice salts and things tomorrow.
    YAY!!!!!! :D:):D:)

Well done.

You can get anti-blister socks you know. They're a bit pricy but I think they'd be a good investment if you see yourself doing more and more running as time goes on. I've invested in 3 pairs as I'm enjoying the walking I've been doing and I've migrated to jogging now.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭chickenpoo

Oops, haven't posted in a few days. I did W4D2 on Wednesday, and W4D3 tonight, which completes Week 4, woohoo! I have exams this week, so have been trying to study and haven't had the chance to get out as much as I would have liked, but glad to be moving on to Week 5 now.

There's a 20 minute run at the end of Week 5 though, jeepers!

Well done.

You can get anti-blister socks you know. They're a bit pricy but I think they'd be a good investment if you see yourself doing more and more running as time goes on. I've invested in 3 pairs as I'm enjoying the walking I've been doing and I've migrated to jogging now.
    I feckin' have them lol I think it was that I was getting a blister from earlier in the day (was wearing 'work' shoes with uncomfortable socks and I don't think it did me any favours...), I use the Hilly Twin Skin since I started, I find them brilliant!
    chickenpoo wrote: »
    Oops, haven't posted in a few days. I did W4D2 on Wednesday, and W4D3 tonight, which completes Week 4, woohoo! I have exams this week, so have been trying to study and haven't had the chance to get out as much as I would have liked, but glad to be moving on to Week 5 now.

There's a 20 minute run at the end of Week 5 though, jeepers!
    Well done chickenpoo! As you can see, I only managed a 5 min jog last night, so I'm gonna do another 2 nights of week 4 and then on to week 5. Feel far too intimidated yet :eek: How am I gonna go from a 5 min jog to an 8 min jog to a 20 min jog lol
    Positive thoughts, positive thoughts :)
    Still on a high from last night :D went out and bought new jogging gear today as a treat for doing the 5 min jog (and losing 3lb!!)
    Hopefully this will be a good week for all!!

Thanks Terlywerly.

So W1D2 is complete and it was a bit easier than Day1 I thought, but not massively. I debated about driving to work today but in the end I decided to walk. I was very very tired though this morning. I haven't slept well this past few nights, I'm not sure why. I haven't felt particularly tired at night which I guess is a good thing and I've been waking at 5am and having trouble nodding off. The alarm went off at 6.50am and lets just say the language in my room was X-rated. :)

I got up anyway and started to walk to work and I was feeling very annoyed. I was tired and I really didn't feel like going into the office. Anyway I was walking along and had some music on and then Sex on Fire by the Kings of Leon came on my playlist and it immediately lifted my mood and I suddenly felt awake. My legs started moving faster and I had more energy.

I got into work and I felt tired but it was a good kind of tiredness. I felt a bit sleepy and tired around my eyes, but the rest of my body felt grand, no tiredness at all.

I left work then this evening and felt very energetic. Walked home quite fast which took minimal effort and I could have walked faster as well I reckon. Came home, got changed and went out for W1D2 of C25K. I guess I was already warmed up from all the walking but I did the 5 minute warm-up walk anyway. I have to admit, the first 60 seconds of jogging felt quite easy and I felt like I could have ran quite fast. However I decided to just keep an easy pace. It was just as well as about 5-6 minutes later I could feel myself getting tired and about half way through it was getting tougher.

I went to a different place today to complete Day 2. There's a smaller park right beside my apartment complex than the one I went to on Saturday. It's a decent size and has a nice tarmac path around it so you've the option of completing the workout on grass and/or tarmac if you like. It's a bit more sheltered as well than the place I went to on Saturday I think.

I kept at it though and completed Day 2 without any problems. The only issue I had was that I wore my new runners and I could feel a blister starting to develop on one of my feet. The anti-blister socks are taking their sweet time getting here, they were dispatched a week ago tomorrow. I just noticed the address they put on the thing ended "Co. Dublin" and not "Ireland" so I hope it's not drifting around Royal Mail somewhere, looking for a home.

Anyway hopefully they'll be here by Wednesday which is when I'm planning to complete W1D3 of C25K.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

week4day1: I DID it!!
    Ok, i'll be honest, I took a couple of 20-30sec walking breaks in the 5min run and I could have happily collapsed but I pushed on through :D
    Almost didn't go at all this evening but said feck it, I'll do what I can, probs will flop halfway through - but I didn't :D
    Focused on breathing (I mean REALLY taking deep breaths the whole time) so I wasn't even panting that much, just my legs felt like lead :(
    Need to buy more fancy socks though, got more shredded skin...
    I feel on top of the world though!!

Kippy - that's brilliant, congrats !!

So W1D2 is complete
    Just what I like to hear! :)
    Isn't it amazing the difference the right type of music can make?
    I find at the end of my runs, after I've done my cool down period if I'm a bit away from home, I like to put on a playlist of energetic songs on the iPod, to get me a bit more motivated for the walk home, and usually I keep a pretty good pace.
    Onward to W1D3 for you!
    bluewolf wrote: »
    week4day1: I DID it!!
    Ok, i'll be honest, I took a couple of 20-30sec walking breaks in the 5min run and I could have happily collapsed but I pushed on through :D
    Almost didn't go at all this evening but said feck it, I'll do what I can, probs will flop halfway through - but I didn't :D
    Well done bluewolf!! I took breaks too, it is hard! But push through, it will come. I'm repeating the week to be sure I'm ready for week 5.
    We're flying it! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭JackieO

Just started back again tonight on week 1. Had done week 1 a few weeks ago but had to give it a miss then for a few weeks.

So I'm back with Avengence today. Don't think W1D1 was as difficult this time around - particularly given that it was a very warm evening.

Good luck to everyone - especially those on week 1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭BabyBirch

W9D2 done, 1 day to go! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭jw297

Finally got to do W2D3 yesterday, I managed it but only just. Planned my route very poorly and the last THREE runs were uphill! Had to pause the mp3 on the last one and wait until I was on the flat, I just couldn't manage it. Think I will move on to W3 this week, but make sure that I'm not running uphill too much. Haven't been getting stitches anyway, not eating for a few hours before definitely helps, as does deep breathing during the walks.
    One thing that was very surprising yesterday - I got up early especially to do the C25K, and I never in my life thought I would get out of bed early to run! Big changes!!