Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Couch To 5K discussion thread (discussion of other programs welcome too!)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,565 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Did W3D2 yesterday, it was easier than the previous day, when I was in bits afterwards! Still really tough going though- I'm finding keeping jogging for 3 minutes very hard. Phew, not looking forward to the next few weeks, eek! :eek:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,565 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Jean wrote: »
    Thanks guys! Sure I'll give it a bang anyway - gonna repeat w5d1 another time or two anyway.. and then hopefully w5d2 will sort me right out for the 20 min run!
    Yeah, I find repeating a workout really helps me if I'm struggling. Jean, can't wait to hear how you get on with the 20 min run- it does seem the biggest hurdle; whereas, going from a 20min jog to a 30min jog seems plausible but at the moment the ides of running for 20 minutes seems like climbing Everest! :P
    Good luck guys! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭eager tortoise

Jean wrote: »
    Thanks guys! Sure I'll give it a bang anyway - gonna repeat w5d1 another time or two anyway.. and then hopefully w5d2 will sort me right out for the 20 min run!

I'm at the same point! Did week 5 day 1 yesterday, got through it ok - told myself it was only 3 runs instead of 4 so would not be as hard as I envisioned and it kinda worked! The psychology of running is so weird :D

Good sense of acheivement at the end but am also gonna repeat it once or twice more just for peace of mind...pretty happy to be back on track with this now, when I think that a couple of months ago 8 60 second runs in 30 mins left me close to collapse!

• Registered Users Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

Do you guys use this stuff?
    I think its pretty good.
    http://www.djsteveboy.com/1day25k.html

Bit wary of the five minute runs this week as I'm on week 4 now...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭BabyBirch

T-Square wrote: »
    I think its pretty good.

I'm using the 10k one from that site, I wish I'd used the 5k one too as it sets a nice fast pace, unlike the one I did use (Running into Shape)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

T-Square wrote: »
    I think its pretty good.

I used it when I did the C25k. I'll be forever indebted to DJ Steve for kickstarting my lifestyle change!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Completed W2D1. Got a stitch just at the end, haven't had one of them in a long time.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,888 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Congrats Stench.. tonight is my W2D1.

The weather isn't looking promising for it.. but I'll struggle through it.

basquille wrote: »
    Congrats Stench.. tonight is my W2D1.

The weather isn't looking promising for it.. but I'll struggle through it.

As long as it doesn't rain. I found it much easier to run today since the sun wasn't splitting the stones.

It's been lashing rain in Sligo for the past 4 hours! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 snoozysusie

Completed W5D1 today...really surprised myself with the three 5 min runs, they weren't that bad at all :). I'm not the quickest in the world but I am getting better. And the dog can't believe his luck with all the exercise either!! Roll on day 2!

basquille wrote: »
    It's been lashing rain in Sligo for the past 4 hours! :(

Bummer. I've be trying to avoid thinking about when the weather gets bad again. Dunno how i'm going to motivate myself to do it.

Do many people do this in the gym?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Week 4, Day 3 Complete

So that is Week 4 officially finished although it's been over a week since I completed Week 4, Day 2. The second 5 minute jog was tough and I was just shuffling along as I was getting to the end. The first 5 minute jog wasn't too bad but wasn't that easy either, it was definitely easier than the second 5 minute jog. Seeing it's been so long between workouts, I might repeat week 4. I looked ahead to week 5 and it starts out with a series of 5 minute jogs which perhaps don't seem too bad as I thought it was straight into the 8 minute jogs.

But I still feel like I should repeat week 4 and do it properly (1 days rest between workouts) and rather than the half arsed way I've done it now.

It was starting to drizzle a bit when I went out but it wasn't too bad, it kind of kept things cool but my face felt like I could have fried an egg on it by the end. I went into the Spar on the way home to get a few things and I'm sure you're woman took some look at me with sweat on my forehead and my face a darker shade of beetroot :)

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭littlehedgehog

Congrats gm - good to see ya back into it :)

In relation to cold weather.. I figure I'll throw on a rainjacket and force myself out.. Think I'd warm up pretty quickly? I've told myself not to think about it now, and just keep heading out, and before i know it, winter will be over. If i make a big deal about it in my head, i'm afraid i'll demotivate myself. I do enjoy running in the rain much more than the sun!

Was supposed to head out today, but I only got 5 hours sleep.. So I just walked home from work as usual - I do that on my off days - my legs feel less stiff and tense if I get that walk in between runs.

Absolutely lashing rain all day in Sligo.. and yet I persisted!

Here's me after "swimming" W2D1:

photogq.jpgphoto2le.jpg

Wasn't too bad but a bit of extra strain with wet clothes and a real marshy ground where I was running.

Felt a slight burn at the top of my legs before my last run, but pushed through it.. and was fine!

Haha! That was me after W3D2, I think? Soaked to the SKIN! Felt amazing though :)

Good on ya for heading out in that shtty weather! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭ommnyom

Yay, w6d3.. a whole 25min, this is the third time I've done week 6, but first time I've gotten to the 25 minutes. It wasn't pretty at the end, but I'm really positive that I can get through the 30min. Did 3.5k too (over the whole 35 minutes), so I guess week 7 is going to be about getting some more distance in. Anyone stressing about 20 or 25 minutes, you can do it. I can't believe how my body is finally starting to cooperate with the c25k program, plus I'm not feeling like throwing up any more!

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭forestfruits

Never thought Id be excited about doing anything in the rain--Got soaked but loved it- soaked the car on the way home but was so delighted with myself that I hardly noticed the fact that I looked like a drowned rat or just like basquille

W4D1 Complete... Again

I've decided to repeat Week 4 of Couch to 5K. I'd sort of been following the programme ok-ish but I left it over a week between completing days 2 and 3 of Week 4 and as a result, I felt horribly unfit on Monday. So today I started Week 4 all over again and amazingly enough, it was a bit easier. The first part of the workout was a bit tough but not that bad really. I got onto the second 3 minute jog and as I was coming to the end of it I was thinking "F***, this is sort of easy enough". I wasn't jogging that fast but my breathing felt very relaxed and I hardly felt out of breath at all. That 3 minute segment stopped and I had 90 seconds of walking and I pretty much had caught my breath instantly.

I found the second half of the workout quite a bit easier. I got the second 5 minute jog done with no problems really, although my legs did feel tired and heavy but they weren't as bad as the last day. Don't get me wrong, I'm definitely not setting any world records for speed but I'm definitely jogging along and completing the jogging sections without stopping which is a big thing for me. To be honest, when I'm doing the jogging, it's more my head telling me to stop than my body. My legs get tired but I generally feel ok when I'm doing it and I don't feel wrecked. The first attempt at Week 4, on the first day I got a stitch just at the end but I've been grand since. I've tried to change my breathing whilst I'm jogging and walking. Instead of taking short, sharp breath's, I try to take longer, deeper breath's. I haven't been able to maintain that method for the entire workout but I try to do it as much as I can.

Just after I left the apartment to head out, it started to rain and I just had my tracksuit bottoms and a t-shirt on. No cap or jacket. I put my iPhone inside a ziplock sandwich bag in my pocket to keep it dry as I thought there might have been rain, but I was hoping it would hold off. In the end it didn't and I said to myself "F*** this, I'm not going back, this is hardcore" :o The rain steadily got worse and it actually felt cold when it hit my arms and stuff. Soon after I started to jog I sort of didn't notice it so much and I'm pretty sure it was evaporating the second it touched my skin.

So I completed Week 4, Day 1 with no real problems at all. I felt a bit fitter even though I was still going fairly slowly but I don't care so much. For me at the moment, my goal is to just complete C25K and eventually be able to do the 5k reasonably comfortably. That's the only goal I'm thinking of running wise. Anything else about City to Surf fun run's in Sydney or Dublin marathon's are on hold. I just want to focus on C25k and get my fitness up and be comfortable with that 5k run and then worry about something else later.

On the way back I went into the Spar to get a few bits and pieces for dinner. I had bought €10 with me and me being unable to count but sort of guessing the price, I wound up short of money. Well the stuff I was buying came to €10.16. I was watching her scan the stuff and the prices appear on the display and I remember thinking "Hmmm, that's a bit more than I thought it was, this could be touch and go".

Anyway it came up €10.16 and I guess my innocent boy-ish good looks and million dollar smile still have some mileage left :cool: as I smiled at yer woman and said "I'm sorry, I'm short the 16 cents". She just smiled and said "That's ok". Happy days :) There still are some nice people left in the world. Apart from my FD diary girls that is :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Two 8 min runs, not too bad. Bit nervous of the big jump from 8 mins to 20 mins on Friday. Anyone else done W5D3? How was it?

"I put my iPhone inside a ziplock sandwich bag in my pocket to keep it dry as I thought there might have been rain, but I was hoping it would hold off."

Haha! And my housemates laughed at me when I did that! I think it's a brilliant idea! :D

W2D2 Complete!

Another wet day in Sligo.. it was even heavier rain than Monday.

My legs are quite sore now to be honest.. think it was a mixture of the heavy rain and just sheer pushing myself.

It didn't help that my last run was on a upwards-slanted part of the racecourse I run.

Ah well.. roll on the end of W2!

W2D2 and the knees are starting to hurt and my right ankle! im stretching before and after is this just to be expected or am I a crock!!!

Just finished W2D2. I had my 'newish' runners on today. Man it felt like I was wearing two bricks. Think I'll be wearing the old runners from now on. (Or until I can afford an Asics pair)

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭dubsgirl

Oh no I was supposed to be doing W1D3 today and didn't because I am a lazy lazy dubsgirl...

Now after reading this thread and seeing you all put such great effort in I'm raging I didn't just get up and do it aagghhh :mad:

Well done all of you - great post GM!!

W2D2 and the knees are starting to hurt and my right ankle! im stretching before and after is this just to be expected or am I a crock!!!

I'm not giving medical advice, but after a jog or run I think everyone can expect to feel some slight discomfort in their joints, but it shouldn't be bad. Are you resting between workouts? I made the mistake of doing C25K and tons of walking and picked up a niggle when I was out walking and then going on C25K two days later just made it a lot worse and I was out of action for about 2 weeks.

Are you wearing proper runners? By proper runners I mean did you go to a specialist running shop and have them check your feet and gait and get a pair that will help with any potential issues you might have? I went to a place in Bray called Amphibian King (highly recommended on boards). They did a thing called gait analysis where they checked my feet and looked at the arches and video'd me jogging to see how I ran and how my feet landed etc. Apparently I over-pronate (I think that's the right term). It's where my feet and leg kind of roll inwards as they land. Yer man said about 70% of people are the same way. So he bought out 3 different pairs of runners that have extra support on the inside to help correct the issue. I ended up picking the Asics one's and they cost me €115 euro.

If you're knees and ankles are hurting, the first thing I'd do is rest. I think a lot of injuries can be prevented by just resting when you feel a twinge, rather than pushing on and letting it become a full blown injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭ommnyom

Same thing happened to me around week 2, one of my knees kept acting up, wasn't too bad so I kept going and it went away by week 4. I did try and make sure that I ran on flat sand or grass though as previously running across bumpy sand.

Thanks for the replies grandmaster and ommnyom think ill give them a rest, Im wearing an ankle support (that i found in the back of the drawer!) and im wearing asics that I bought on sale about 3 years ago for walking.

I better look for a running shop in the mayo/galway area and invest in a new pair, in the mean time ill try running on grass (ive avoided grass because i think it will be harder and im all about making it easy:D)

thanks again

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭vic20

omahaid wrote: »
    Two 8 min runs, not too bad. Bit nervous of the big jump from 8 mins to 20 mins on Friday. Anyone else done W5D3? How was it?
    Don't panic about it. you've already done 16 minutes (albeit with a walk in the middle) so a 20 minute run isn't such a huge leap. Keep telling yourself that & you'll get there. At least, that's what worked for me :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

and im wearing asics that I bought on sale about 3 years ago for walking.

thanks again

Throw those shoes out now! You only have one pair of legs - treat them right. A good gait analysis (normally free) and like said - a good pair of shoes should sort you. There are shoes whether your a neutral, over or under pronator
    Walking shoes will not do thi biz!