Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Europa League quarter final first leg: Benfica v Liverppool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,391 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

The Muppet wrote: »
    I'm watching on 5 they keep showing a very young pool fan in floods of tears, poor kid.

Think it was a benfica fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

evil_seed wrote: »
    is it just me or is anyone else just thinking there's something fishy about the "officiating" tonight

Just you. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

They are such a cynical team. South American influenced is right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

waste of a shot there from Gerrard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Mach been immense tonight and the only reason they are not walking through us. Lucas has been anonymous to the point I wondered if he was still on the pitch.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

nothing wrong with a bit of cynacilaty at the right times, it's obviously frustrating you lot anyway

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Ugh, 5 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Taking the bait Babel would not have been sent off if the ref had of got the 1st decision right and showed a red and not a yellow for the shocking tackle on Torres. Therefore Liverpool would have had 11 players and Benfica 10 you can't say that would have changed the game

what are you talking about bait, the guy is spot on with that post. No way was the tackle on Torress a red, it was no worse than insua's tackle for the pen and it didn't merit a red,

The ref is poor but consistant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,313 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Fecking Benfica fans causing 5 Mins of Injury time throwing fireworks onto the pitch

Des wrote: »
    nothing wrong with a bit of cynacilaty at the right times, it's obviously frustrating you lot anyway

Don't disagree btw. Whatever it takes to win. That said, the ref has definitely not handled the game well from that perspective. They have been right to take advantage of that, and my have they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Yossi on for Stevie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Des wrote: »

to be honest, it's mainly that lad Luiz that's p*ssing me off.

he's got away with far too much.

the rest are just little clever digs, and just annoying.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Terrible reffing
    Shocking fans (should be banned)
    Appalling commentary from TV3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Yossi is alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Thought the referee got both penalty decisions right tbh

You just know that this has now set up a brilliant atmosphere at Anfield in the next game.

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    Think it was a benfica fan.

was it? What's he got to be crying over?

Lads, there's always games where the ref f**ks over your team. Ye are playing with 10 men away against benfica and have managed to get an away goal.

I'd be fairly happy tbh.

what are you talking about bait, the guy is spot on with that post. No way was the tackle on Torress a red, it was no worse than insua's tackle for the pen and it didn't merit a red,

The ref is poor but consistant.

lol, I know you are programmed not to see it, but the fact that Luiz is still on the pitch is hilariously unacceptable in terms of what is good or bad reffing.

I'm just guessing it was a benfica fan. You don't see many olive skinned Liverpudlians :D.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

Lads, there's always games where the ref f**ks over your team. Ye are playing with 10 men away against benfica and have managed to get an away goal.

I'd be fairly happy tbh.

Im delighted with this result considering whats happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

I'd be fairly happy tbh.

and i will be happy with 2-1 if it stays this way.

doesn't mean i'm happy with our players being kicked off the park.

a word for Masch tonight...immense.

Pro. F wrote: »
    Terrible reffing
    Shocking fans (should be banned)
    Appalling commentary from TV3

Agree that they should be sanctioned after this game. But they've provided an edge for their team tonight, no question.

Hoki wrote: »
    Im delighted with this result considering whats happened.

YOU JINXED US

2-1 away from home is not bad considering how bad the ref has been. Will need 2 next week as i can see Benfica scoring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Thought the referee got both penalty decisions right tbh

he did.

however, the red card was wrong, as were the multiple fouls which resulted in nothing for either benefica centre half who were already on yellows. also didnt seem too bothered about the kick in the head which babel that should have resulted in a red card.

ref was abolutely awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Worst refeering performance since...well the last Swedish Chef cock up.

Great battling from the lads. Oh Torres...:(

Definitely saw enough to convince me we can get through at Anfield.

Being told to stop throwing his fireworks on the pitch by the stadium annoucer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

evil_seed wrote: »
    is it just me or is anyone else just thinking there's something fishy about the "officiating" tonight

What do you mean?

Pity Torres shanked his shot, but 1-2 is not a lost cause. Agger needs to keep his trap shut. I'd say that tannoy announcment told the crowd to behave.

pretty happy with the final result tbh, considering we were 10 men for the majority of the game.

second leg should be a cracker.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Relieved with 2-1 after all that. Babel deserves a shoe up the hole. Literally.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

RasTa wrote: »
    What do you mean?

I would say he's referring to the deplorable refereeing which looks like it was paid for.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Terrible game. (imo, lucky not to lose by more but Benfica couldnt finish)

Got off to a great start and really no comment beyond that other thank you Insua and babel.

We will beat them at Anfield and go through to the semi.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    lol, I know you are programmed not to see it, but the fact that Luiz is still on the pitch is hilariously unacceptable in terms of what is good or bad reffing.

I saw it, it wasn't a red, just like insua's wasn't a red either.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

2-1 away from home is not bad considering how bad the ref has been. Will need 2 next week as i can see Benfica scoring

if they score we will need three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Think we'll beat them at Anfield.

Ref was poor but Babel being stupid, poor performance by Insua ( including a silly foul for the peno) and Carragher sliding in with his hand up cost us more IMO.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    second leg should be a cracker.

Lets not mention crackers. I'd say Benfica will be playing a game behind closed doors at some point.

pretty sure he meant for the other multiple fouls he commited after receiving a yellow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

mayordenis wrote: »
    I would say he's referring to the deplorable refereeing which looks like it was paid for.

Even the Liverpool commentator couldn't argue with the 3 big decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

that was much tougher than i was expecting. i thought benfica were gonna be sh1t3. they should be forced to playt behind closed doors for the antics of their supporters. great to get an away goal. we'll turn them over in anfield. 2-1 away in europe with 10 men against 16 is a good result for the 1st leg

spockety wrote: »
    if they score we will need three.

or 2 to go to extra time.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Very lively game.
    Benfica are a top side, better imo than some left in the CL,some really top class players.
    They should have beaten us by more tbh but we`are still in with a shout.
    Babel was so stupid,Insua and Agger not much better with their defending.
    Both Benfica central defenders lucky to not see red imo, they were kicking Torres all night.
    We could do worse than look to Benfica to buy some new players ,if we had the money ofcourse :)

Overall i think we were on the lucky side tonight but we worked so hard in the second half to atleast make Benfica not as dominat as they were first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Jasus Rafa must be giving Lucas interview lessons!

Opr

You'll have to attack them at Anfield, they looked good in defence to me and the sort of team that could punish you with a quick counter attack, think you'll have your work cut out to go through.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

bohsman wrote: »
    Even the Liverpool commentator couldn't argue with the 3 big decisions.

There were alot more than those decisions that went against us,

but yes of course the commentator must be right, congrats on being able to form your own opinion.

lol, I knew I needed to spell it out for you.

Luiz, dude who got booked early in the game, continued to commit obvious cynical fouls over and over and over. Meaning he should have been sent off for a second yellow card. Got it? Good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

bawling when they were losing one nil, celebrating when they were winning 2-1.hardly gonna be a liverpool fan eh.:rolleyes:common sense boy.