Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anglo Cement Truck Pics

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Did you mean to post this somewhere else? I don't see the Galway City connection. Were the pics taken here?

Oh - http://www.galwaynews.ie/12114-protest-truck-removed-anglo-irish-bank-and-impounded
    A cement mixer truck which caused disruption outside Anglo Irish Bank in the city centre this morning has been removed and impounded.
    The truck was locked with the engine running and abandoned outside the branch on Forster Street.
    The mixer is painted red and white and has the words "Toxic Bank" and "Anglo Irish Bank" written across it.
    Registration plates were also removed making it difficult to identify the owner.
    It'll remain under Garda lock-and-key until the owner comes forward to collect it, according to a Garda spokesperson.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

It appears to be Anglo on Forster Street?

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭mashling

Thats the bank at the bottom of Prospect Hill. It's in Galway alright!

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭JJRocket

Yep its Galway. Abandoned this morning outside the bank as a form of protest. Blocked up a full lane for cars going up left to college road. The gardai were on hand to direct traffic so it didnt cause too much hassle. the truck registration said BANKRUPT !

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭dbyrne

you gotta love that... id love to start doing that to certain places in dublin, ie outside the directors houses

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

Fecking brill. Fair play to whom ever did that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Seems like a costly protest! Hopefully the truck was going to reposessed or something...news says it was left locked with the Engine running and reg plates missing..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I really don't see the point. The guy's pissed at Angol.....as is every other taxpayer in the country. We are where we are, parking a truck outside Anglo with a snappy phrase that nobody has seen before is going to gain nothing - but block a busy street.

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    I really don't see the point. The guy's pissed at Angol.....as is every other taxpayer in the country. We are where we are, parking a truck outside Anglo with a snappy phrase that nobody has seen before is going to gain nothing - but block a busy street.

Made me laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭Highly Salami

Wow, nice cars in that photo, an exucutive-style Audi and what looks like a Lexus SUV. Together with people abandoning expensive cement trucks we must all be loaded! This country needs to seriously cop on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

I completely slept through this. I even had people calling me and asking me to take photographs.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Passed it this morning, there were 2 TV cameras there, will prob be on the news later...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Great stuff!! more of this we need, what the **** are people on about it blocking traffic? when we have huge potholes and shattered roads as we are paying interest on this corrupt bank what is a few hours of mild disruption, at least 25 billion is going into this cess pit we should be out on the ****ing streets:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Well done that man/woman/angry gang of artistically inclined builders.

Id say it was a reposession job, anglo probably squeezing the **** out of a plant hire place, they probably had enough, this weekend is possibly the most important of our lifes, we either need big protests or a huge news story to stop this GUBU happening, neither i belive will happen, seen that me and about 100 others were all that went to the anti nama march (exculding the SF SW etc):mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭sgthighway

ronnie3585 wrote: »

The Phrase is actually very common regarding all of the banks entering NAMA
    The traffic could get around the truck so it wasn't fully blocked.

This guys business probably went to the wall and the truck was probably financed by Anglo so he as good delivered it back to them.
    Anglo spent nearly half a million euros on golf balls. How fcuked up is that?

sgthighway wrote: »
    The Phrase is actually very common regarding all of the banks entering NAMA

Obviously. I was being sarcastic.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭JJRocket

Well I thought it was pretty good anyway. Better to do something instead of nothing. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭duckygalway

fair play!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Hope they emptied the drum contents into the bank first.

Fair play to the owner of that truck.

Don't see much point removing plates, surely it can be identified by chassis number or some other truck specific marking. Unless someone went over it with a fine tooh comb before hand.

Which I honestly hope they did :D

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭teepee

Thats one of Roadstone concrete readymix trucks , Fill it up with a dry mix of concrete and tip it in the front door and let them dig there way out of that . Probley was henry the cranky bugger .
    Well done to him ,

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭Rylan

teepee wrote: »
    Thats one of Roadstone concrete readymix trucks , Fill it up with a dry mix of concrete and tip it in the front door and let them dig there way out of that . Probley was henry the cranky bugger .
    Well done to him ,

Why would you want to do that. Most of the staff in there had nothing to do with the corruption at Anglo. They are just doing their job any getting a wage out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Should have used a slurry truck and dunped the contents at the door of the bank.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

Didn't get a chance to get on my computer yesterday to upload these but here's some more photos in case anyone's interested.

Recovery trucks that were called but couldn't shift it:
    P4010169.jpg

Mechanic discovering that the engine kill switch had been disabled:
    IMG_4087.jpg

New licence plates:
    P4010157.jpg

The truck owner was in the area watching the whole thing, he eventually came forward with the keys:
    P4010177.jpg

The truck owner in the cabin showing a recovery driver the controls:
    IMG_4101.jpg

The truck leaving with a Garda escort and a recovery company driver:
    IMG_4116.jpg

The owner casually walked across the road and up the street while the Gardaí were talking amongst themselves:
    IMG_4112.jpg

Good work GalKiefer.

You gotta hand it to your man. Great shot of him walking away down Forest Street, looks like he's heading for An Pucan. :p If any one knows him buy him a pint on me. PM me and I'll send on the price of a pint.

here here good man, great pics by the way,:)

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭doubleglaze

The person who pulled this stunt is my hero.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Barname

StandUPposterJ.jpg

Will there be bananas?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Love the pics GalKiefer.....

The woman in the1!st picture looks like she has a beak instead of a mouth. Freaky looking:eek::D