Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Birmingham City Team news & rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Keane is definitely not coming. Wants to stay in London. That is why they moved onto Miller. I do not think Miller will be that bad but it is just at the moment we struggle to create chances so he will not get the opportunities he gets in the SPL. With Bentley coming in and hopefully another creative player there should be more goalscoring chances so Miller could be a handy signing. Would rather see a young player signed like Austin but will not mind if Miller signs.

Bentley could take Faheys place so booooo to that :pac:

Dont rate Bentley at all, think brum are fine until the final 3rd strikers are quite crap. They have the workrate from theback and midfield just noone to take the chances Miller and Keane would be a decent pairing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Bentley could take Faheys place so booooo to that :pac:

Dont rate Bentley at all, think brum are fine until the final 3rd strikers are quite crap. They have the workrate from theback and midfield just noone to take the chances Miller and Keane would be a decent pairing.

More likely that Bentley will take Larsson's place on the right with Hleb or Beausejour on the left ahead of Fahey. Fahey will be a useful sub to have but do not think he is up to playing in the first team. A team with Bentley and Hleb in it should create more chances but we do not have the strikers to finish them. Keane would have been a great signing as he is a proven finisher, Miller would have been a bit of a risk but at least you know he can finish. Still need another striker before the window shuts or we could definitely be relegated.

Hard to call with Mc Leish he obvisouly rates Fahey in a 3 man midfield but when the need to battle is there he drops him for gardener.

if its a 451 pointless signing Keane and makes Miller a must sign but if noone from the middle breaking forward, Miller be ploughing a lonesome furrow and will assumed ****.

Dunno how a decent Brum defence has turned to **** this season, is ferguson just not up to it anymore ?

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Dunno how a decent Brum defence has turned to **** this season, is ferguson just not up to it anymore ?

Yeah the decline in the defence has been a bit of a mystery. Dann has looked shaky at times as has Ridgewell. Carr and Johnson have been steady as usual but have been affected by the other two performance. Can not find fault with Foster, just as good as Hart. Ferguson's performances have declined this year, still an important player but not up to the standard of last year. Like other fans I would like to see Michel given a chance but Mc Leish will stick with Ferguson for the time being until injury or poor performances.

A good defence is based on the guy in front of it, Chelsea **** as they have noone protecting Terry. Brum tbh didnt think would suffer as much as they set out to be solid. No CB in the world is of any use if runners allowed tru the middle, it has to be shunted wide so they can defend the cross. Think brum and chelsea suffering from exposed CBs. From the games i have seen Fergsuson and Bowyer just not up to it dunno if its form or age.

Still reckon they be safe easily by knocking the **** out of the weaker teams.

Bowyer is certainly not up to it anymore and Ferguson is starting to go that way. Gardner should be used more than he is, has been our best player at times this season. Would like to see more of Michel and young Jordan Mutch but McLeish hates to rotate so I doubt they will get any chance in the first team in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

4 nil up against Millwall:D

Tatts is reporting Michel to AEK Athens on loan with a view to a permanent transfer. Is a disappointment as I thought he would be the long term successor to Ferguson but McLeish has decided it will be Mutch instead.

Rumours that Bentley deal might be off after Seb's move to Newcastle broke down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Rumours that Bentley deal might be off after Seb's move to Newcastle broke down.
    Just gone through up on spurs site

Am glad the deal went through, can not wait to see him in action.

which is our tom ross phone in show ..and on there radio phone in its being reported kenny miller is signing for birmingham city,,hes turned down move to italy ,,,mark hatley is on the phone in up there and he said miller will be a hit in prem as hes grown up a lot since he last played in the prem....

Looks like Kenny Miller deal will be completed soon enough according to Tatts.

We have been Tangoed:D

Keane. Signs 6 m

Tatts is reporting 4 million plus an extra 2 million in add ons. Fee agreed but no talks have taken place with Keane. Do not think transfer will go ahead, he wants to stay in London and I can not see McLeish letting him travel up and down every day.

I think Carter used to live in Landan and travel up

Larsson and Jerome out today. And the news gets worse Dann is out for the season. Need a new CB in before the transfer window closes because we can not play the back 4 we have now for the rest of the season.

Keane and Miller deals off, Miller for definite seems the same way for Keane after his comments. Some good news, two of the youth team players have signed contracts. One of them is Asante, and the other is unknown so far most likely Mutch or Redmond. Good to tie them up to deals and secure their future at Birmingham.

It was Asante and Kerr signed to first team contracts this morning. Ones for the future possibly the near future if there is injuries to the defence or the strike force continues to misfire. Redmond is going on loan for a month to Burton Albion. Gives him some game time anyway which is always a good thing.
    No news on transfer in today but it looks like Seb will be signing for Blackburn in the next few days for as little as 500k. Also Phillips is on his way out which leaves us another striker short. Should have hung onto O'Connor.
    The feelings on the other messageboards is fairly pessimistic and down right depressing, hopefully we can give a performance this weekend to show we are still fighting strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

Papers reporting that Michel is ready to leave and McLeish said it hasn't worked out the way he thought it would. I think it's unfair to say he was bad because he never really got a chance. I did watch him start against West Ham last season and he was taken off at half time after being booked and still doing silly tackles after the booking. His passing looked good but his tackling looked dodgey. Hope we can get our money back on him, 3 million wasn't it?

Probably will recoup most of the money we paid which was 3million. Not sure if any clubs are interested but Michel's agents are flying in this weekend to discuss his exit from the club. Never really got the chance with Ferguson playing so consistently. He is a lovely passer of the ball but not sure he was cut out for the physicality of the Premier League. I think Mutch will turn out to be a much better understudy for Ferguson and he looks like the future of our midfield if we manage to get him signed to a long term contract.

Tatts is reporting that Larsson will not be sold this transfer window. Obviously the offer from Blackburn was deemed too low and they are prepared to let him go for free over the summer. Good decision, can use him for back up till the end of the season and then he can go off in the summer and find a new club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,450 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Kean said this morning that Rovers will make one final bid but if its turned down then they will move on. Personally I hope its turned down again.

Unless the bid is around a million I say it will be turned down. We need him for back up at the moment.

Michel has gone on loan to AEK Athens with a view to a permanent move. Never really got a chance due to Ferguson's consistent performances. His style of play is more suited to Mediterranean Leagues.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/blog/2011/jan/21/alex-mcleish-birmingham-city-transfers

Sounds about right to me looks like another Sully & Gold farce :mad:

Would not trust the Guardian at all for reports. Pannu has an interview in the Birmingham Mail where he indicates that the Board do not trust McLeish with the money due to all the players they bought not getting regular games. I can see McLeish bringing us to the end of the season and then resigning whether he we stay up or not. I say he is sick of the Board now, any new manager will most likely get money to spend as there is money available but not for McLeish.

Yeah i think he will be on his way soon

Did not see any of the match today but Fahey seems to be taking a lot of slating on the message boards. Some are saying it should be his last game for the Blues. He really is a central hate figure this season, feel sorry for him but he probably is not cut out for the Premiership. A move to the SPL or Championship would suit him better. He will not be leaving any time soon but I can see the next manager getting rid of him.

The fans are using Fahey as a scapegoat. The whole team were shocking today and totally outclassed.

Brum are fairly **** for the reasons i posted few pages back that didnt change today. Fahey and Bently linked up well but if you let Man Utd cross at will they punish you. Nearly all the goals came from simple passes and crosses.

They really need their 2 centre backs fit and someone in front of them to put the bite on. Dont think the fullbacks are cut out for PL either.

Wonder if we get money if you sell Fahey :pac:

Murphy certainly is not cut out for the Premier League. Such a shame that Jiranek one of the most experienced players does not get a game. Ridgewell back to lb and Jiranek in to partner Roger. Need a strong defence again. Still think we can beat West Ham and make the cup final, seems Mc Leish actually rested some of the team in preparation for the midweek game which was a surprise.

Dann out for the season ?

Brum were a hard team with some skill in Larsson/Faheys set pieces last season. They are not cut out for flowing football which in this seasons topsy turvey PL seems to be the in thing.

i dont think they will stay up this season :o

Yeah Dann is out for the season, probably will not play again for us depending on if we go down or if a club comes in for him in the Summer. We actually have the players that can play a flowing game but we rarely use that tactic. We play a very defensive 4-5-1 which really affects our attacking options and means we have little shots on goal. At times we have played attacking and it has worked successfully e.g the two games against Blackpool, however we have never consistently played like that. McLeish is a negative manager who sets the team out to defend and try and snatch a goal but this season are defence has got worse and our strikers are not scoring so it has meant that we are in the position we are in. As of now I would say we will get relegated but I think we have enough ability to turn it around and manage to stay up. Just have to cut the negative tactics and use the ball more wisely.

needs to go 442 but seriously **** strikers Jerome is a Champo player, Zigic is fairly crap. They need someone to score 6 or 7 goals between now and end of season they will stay up.

Dont have much faith in Leish getting someone in, Miller would have been ideal.

/i really like Miller.

Jerome can be ok, has the pace but needs a partner. Derbyshire is ok as well, pacey but no real end product. Zigic is only really effective as a sub when you need to launch the ball forward otherwise he is useless.
    A new striker has to be brought in but we have been unfortunate in our dealings. Not many strikers are available this window that have proven Premiership experience. We do not even seem to be looking for a player in the Championship. At the moment it looks like there will be no players joining. However it looked that way over the summer until Deadline day where the transfers of Hleb, Jiranek and Beausejour came out of nowhere. Most fans are keeping hopeful that it is the same situation here, where a few deal are being kept under the radar.

Keep the faith if you follow the Blues you should be used to this KRO

SSN reporting that Birmingham are in talks with Curtis Davies in view to a permanent move, no idea of fee but it seems a legitimate move.
    Would be a good signing, probably would get first team action soon enough and is a good alternative if Dann and/or Johnson leave in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭SupraSonic_26

Coventry fan here, ye looking foward to saturday id love if was 1-0 to us mcsheffery to score lol.

Not sure how well we will do on Saturday, think you have a very good chance of getting a win. A lot will depend on how we do tonight if we win the crowd will be buoyant and might inspire the team. If we lose tonight the crowd will be very depressed and can not see the team performing to any standard. A second string team will be put out most likely so it could really be a great opportunity for Coventry to get a win. My prediction would probably be 1-1 and then Coventry win in the replay.
    How is McSheffrey getting on, a good Championship player but not cut out for the Premiership. And Lee Carsley, really inspired us to Promotion but was not quick enough for the Premiership anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭SupraSonic_26

mcsheffery has found his old form again with us even tho were on a bit of a blip at the moment and as for carslie he went to sweden for a op hes good at commanding the midfield and breaking up play for us which sometimes we need but i think after this season hell go into manament.

I have a good feeling about tonight 3 1 Blues

Dreadfull first half hope he kicks them up the jacksie in the dressing room at half time

Hootanany wrote: »
    I have a good feeling about tonight 3 1 Blues

Great Prediction there, KRO. Great performance after the break and into extra time, deserved over the two legs to go through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Great fightback today lads.
    See you in the final. :)

Should have put a few bob on it KRO

Great performance from the lads in the second half. Fully deserved the win. We always play better when we go a goal down. Zigic was gripped onto that match ball at the end, he changed the game and caused havoc to the hammers defence.

Obafemi Martins will be in Birmingham on Sunday for his medical and will complete his loan deal. Should be a good move for both sides.
    Curtis Davies should be signed either today or tomorrow for around 3.5 million which is not a bad deal at all.