Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Birmingham v Liverpool match thread - Mod Warning #432 & #446

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,068 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I am really starting to dislike this forum..

haha - apologies, I hate simplistic arguments such as that myself, but I did back it up with a rationale above. I just really think Lucas needs to improve in front of goal. Its one of the reasons I think Masch and Lucas as a midfield combo dont work - 1 goal and 2 assist between them all season ? (1 of those was in Carling cup, 1 in Europa league...).
    monkey9 wrote: »
    I think Lucas is better at finding that little through ball to Torres or someone else bombing into the box than maybe Masch is. I think his passing is that bit more intricate.

As I said, he generally plays further forward than Masch. Its pretty rare the Lucas plays a lovely through ball for Torres anyway...its not something that happens every game...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I have a feeling Liverpool will shine today, so 3-0 to pool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I thought Babel would start being fresh, I'll assume he will get a run out later if needed (or indeed if not!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Finical

mike65 wrote: »
    I thought Babel would start being fresh, I'll assume he will get a run out later if needed (or indeed if not!)
    Same here especially since he will miss midweek. Brum are relatively slow enough at the back aswell where his pace could punish them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Well we got the attacking line out anyway, genuinely surprised Masch is out, but can't really argue with that team when we've been crying out for an attacking line out for months.

Thought we might sneak a 2-1 win, not so sure now. Good to see the Greek in.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

WHY IS RONNIE WHELAN ON MY STREAM?

Cos he knew you'd be tuning in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Rafa looks content, I think the Easter Bunny must have come to him.

rafa.jpg

What kind of easter egg do you think he favours?
    I reckon he's a Yorkie man.

digme wrote: »
    lol since when were the mighty Liverpool evenly matched with Birmingham.:D

The top 3 haven't won there is probably a reason why.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

flahavaj wrote: »
    So simplistic.

There is far more to it than goals and assists.

To be fair, if your first choice CMF partnership is contributing directly to less than 5 goals then you have a problem. Regardless of how you look at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

eZe^ wrote: »
    To be fair, if your first choice CMF partnership is contributing directly to less than 5 goals then you have a problem. Regardless of how you look at it.

The simplest answer is usually the best.

By the way, that sig probably won't last long, the way certain posters here are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

You would think they were on the training ground at the minute. Awful game so far no pace to it.

Opr

St Andrews is not the place for great or even good football, must be no joke stumping up for a seaons ticket to watch them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

mike65 wrote: »
    St Andrews is not the place for great or even good football, must be no joke stumping up for a seaons ticket to watch them.

Same could be said for Liverpool this year, I say with no little regret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

****e match. Birmingham are as negative and difficult to break down as expected. If it's 0-0 at half time, I think we will need to get on another striker and go for a 4-4-2 formation. The one striker system is only effective when you have quality attacking wingers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

eZe^ wrote: »

I agree 100%.

But that wasn't the point.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Rafa looks content, I think the Easter Bunny must have come to him.

rafa.jpg

What kind of easter egg do you think he favours?
    I reckon he's a Yorkie man.

Bit of a Flake I reckon myself. Crumbles at the first sign of pressure.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

It doesn't take a good pitch for players to show a bit of urgency. Why the hell is Gerrard sitting so deep ?

We look setup to soak up pressure and hit them on the break!

Opr

opr wrote: »
    It doesn't take a good pitch for players to show a bit of urgency. Why the hell is Gerrard sitting so deep ?

Opr

Because that is his role today. Benny is playing attacking midfielder.

Rosco1982 wrote: »
    There certainly is.

But Lucas isn't better than Mascherano defensively or offensively.

I'd disagree. If I had to choose between the two to play a more attacking role in midfield I'd pick Lucas. I think he has the ability, he just doesn't get the chance to show it in the role he usually plays for Liverpool.(Mind you neither does the Mascher really, but I'd still say lucas has that bit more about him offensively).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

Maxi hit the crossbar.

The only thing of note to happen thus far in the game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

any good stream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Bit of a Flake I reckon myself. Crumbles at the first sign of pressure.:pac:
    lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

argosy2006 wrote: »
    any good stream
    sopcast Channel - 81774

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

It has got to get a bit better than this.

Been relatively solid but we need to find a way to break people down away from home.

Also, I wish people would stop panicing and giving Torres hospital passes.

****e first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

If Maxi's effort had gone in instead of hitting the crossbar, then it would have a lovely goal. A good move starting with Reina finding Kuyt with a brilliant throw. His distribution is just superb.

A poor half in general, Nothing much happening really. Liverpool look comfortable, but aren't really doing much in the way of creating chances!!

96777.jpg

Calm down lads.

Ye will win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

our tactic, especially away from home, is lump it to him and hope for the best.

not surprising me in the slightest.

I think we should get N'Gog in instead of Kuyt and go to a 4-4-2. Torres needs some help up there. We are doing very little down the wings. Birmingham are there for the taking. They are far too negative.

Calm down lads.

Ye will win.

Do you know how may times we've beaten Birmingham under Rafa ?

It's all depressingly familiar today.

Gerrard - uninterested
    Torres - petulant
    Kuyt - like mad womans piss
    Yossi - muck
    Lucas - anonymous until he gives away stupid free kicks.

we just need some sort of cohesive attacking structure.

pass the ball, keep patient, make runs in to space.

y'know...the simple things.

He's back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you Stevie.

Thats a bit more like it Stevie, fine strike!

0-1

Rosco1982 wrote: »
    Do you know how may times we've beaten Birmingham under Rafa ?

It's all depressingly familiar today.

Gerrard - uninterested
    Torres - petulant
    Kuyt - like mad womans piss
    Yossi - muck
    Lucas - anonymous until he gives away stupid free kicks.

Stats like previous results against a particular team mean little to me tbh.

Torres will save the day. EDIT: Or yer man Gerrard whatev.

"Mad woman's piss," meanwhile is quote of the day.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,313 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Gerrrarrddddddddddddd

F*cking hell Stevie G, good of you to show up! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Notice that Keith Fahey has taken on the set piece duties in the absence of Larsson.

Great assist by Johnson .... ;)

thanks Stevie.

i've missed you.

please stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

YES!!!!! Get in Stevie :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Keep it up Stevie please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Get in!

I heart the Greek lad.

Stats like previous results against a particular team mean little to me tbh.

Torres will save the day. EDIT: Or yer man Gerrard whatev.

"Mad woman's piss," meanwhile is quote of the day.:pac:

;) Good Edit or it could be post of the day.

Great start to the 2nd half.

:eek: :rolleyes: etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

What was the goal like lads.?
    Fck they just scored

noodler wrote: »
    Great start to the 2nd half.

I meant to say so far.

Balls.