Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Why are you single?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

cos my girlfriend of 3 years broke up with me and other things. Single is pretty fun atm anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Why are you a nosey ba$tard?

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭migozarad

mojesius wrote: »
    Y A lot of ladies I know including myself would never do the chasing. I wish I could but agggghhhhhhh! Rejection! Plus there's that myth/truth that blokes don't like women doing the chasing. Any truth in that?

IMO there is absolutely nothing wrong with a woman doing the chasing as body language experts reckon women send at leas 32 different signals on average to a prospective mate,but a man only notices 1..so it kinda makes sense for women to get the ball rolling (no pun intended)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I'm single because my relationship recently ended... No interest in dating anyone else for quite a while. I'd rather focus on college work, friends etc for the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Theres no girl out there that is good enough for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

It happened a few times a while ago where I've met a girl on a night out, we get talking and appear to be hitting it off pretty well. She gives me her number, I ask her to go out, and then that's it... never hear from her again. Or else I keep getting told she's busy.

I'm leaving the country next week for a year or so.
    I'm currently seeing 2 girls that are both aware I'm leaving shortly.
    I presume these 2 girls are sticking around because they know our relationships won't turn into anything serious.

I must either come across as the kinda guy you don't want to get in a relationship with, or just go for the wrong women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Sure isn't it great being single! You can wait up as long as you like and play computer games or watch porn. You can order pizza whenever you like and can go out drinking on a schoolnight!
    Relationships are for suckers with Freudian issues! :P

Why can't you do that if you have a girlfriend? :confused:
    I guess the second one is true there as well. I know someone who's married and he says he envies me at times as I can do whatever I want. And I'll be honest, while I would like a gf, I love being able to just do whatever I want. I don't have the expectations of someone wanting me to go out and do this and that or the other thing.

If I want to go out, I'll go out. If I want to stay in, I'll stay in. The thing is I could stay in every weekend for months, or I could go out every weekend for a few weeks straight. It really depends on my mood and how I'm feeling. And I like that I can just decide that myself. I don't have anyone sort of pressuring me into going out or going different places. If I want to do something, I'll do it, if I don't, I won't. It's great to have that choice.

I also have a hard time getting excited about stuff I've no interest in and I think when you are seeing someone, you're sort of roped into going to things as the person you're seeing wants to go to them. I guess that is part and parcel of the whole relationship thing.

As the saying goes, to get something you always have to sacrifice something else. But then I don't really see a relationship as being the end of "freedom" as such. Obviously you'll do things with your OH, but at the same time I believe you aren't joined at the hip and it's ok for you and them to go do your own thing with your own friends.

But why would having a partner limit what you could do, any more than any other friend would? If I was with anyone who "told" me not to go out, they'd get a PFO pretty quickly.
    Hooked wrote: »
    Jaysus, I don't know...

Between the many threads in the Ladies Lounge, Personal Issues and Relationship Issues I'm certain of one thing. Uncertainty.

Why are so many women (and men) happy to put up with a significant other who (in this weeks threads), doesn't lift a finger in the household, can't figure where to put his finger between the sheets and would rather use his/her fingers in an online forum with strangers than actually communicate with their partner.

Why am I sitting here ranting on keyboard, single (would mind dating/not really trying), 31 years of age, with own house, car, hair and teeth... great job, healthy eating, road running, funny, confident, creative, artistic, did I mention great cook? With a face not resembling a blind cobblers thumb. When the majority of the lads and lassies on here put up with day after day of lying, cheating, lazy excuses of boyfriends, girlfriends, fiancées, husbands and wives?

The answer I'm afraid escapes me. We're all very different people and I guess due to a mix of our upbringing, past relationships, attitudes and emotions -*want different things from life - and there's a plethora of reasons why we choose to put up with the pages and pages of topics covered daily in TLL, PI OR RI. And unfortunately no 'single' quick fix or formula that will bring that special someone into our lives.

What I will say is this... Once you find yourself single in your late twenties, having been in a few short termers and one long term relationship for most of your 20's, a few things become apparent.

1. The school days, college years and part time jobs are in the past - as are the countless opportunities to meet someone new.

2. Chances are you're settled in a full time job that survived the recession and work is full of, unfortunately, unavailable men/women.

3. If the threads on boards are anything to go by... 'some' women don't like to be chatted up in public, or do the asking themselves, and are guarded in a pub/club scene as they're sick of pissed up lads with a pint o'confidence approaching them to get the leg over.

So where do I bring my fishing pole now (no pun intended)? Online dating? Sorry, I just can't be arsed sifting through the rough to find a diamond. Join a club/society? Perhaps...

But the pond is definitely looking more like a puddle. If you're still single at 30+, you've got less fish and even lesser bait and the ones you do infrequently see jumping have been thrown back before and aren't keen to bite again. Strange that, fishing analogy, Hooked username, and never been fishing? Oops.. off on a tangent...

Leaving me, like so many other 'decent guys' - and gals! - with the I enjoy being single, wouldn't mind dating someone, but not really trying very hard attitude...

This is so true, I've noticed it from reading TLL, RI, AH and PI threads over the years, it gets very hard once you hit around 30 and your social circles start to narrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Rodar08

Hmm.. I've been in 2 long term relationships that didn't work out so that's why I find myself in my late twenties and single. Of course - they regretted EVER letting me go! :p
    Hooked your post didn't give me much hope lol but you made good points. I'd think I'd have to agree with kumate_champ07 and say - there is no guy out there good enough for me! :p:D Seriously tho, It's like finding a needle in a haystack out there. Where is heee????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

cos the one girl that i really wanted to go out wouldn't come on a date, but felt free to ask me out when i had just about forgotten about her, only to cancel again. the annoying thing is, she managed to text me 3 times when i was on dates with other girls (these were spaced over a year, not all in 1 week!!). given how much i had originally wanted to go out with the girl, this kept fúcking my head, and messing up dates.
    last message was 3 weeks ago telling me she really wanted to meet up to sort things out, got it when i was on the way home from another date. i haven't heard anything since.
    if she just said she wanted to meet up, i'd be grand and well able to ignore it, but whatever the hell she wants to sort out i've no idea. and it's bugging me again!
    i'm just weak minded. i need to start pilates. that should work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

mojesius wrote: »
    You may be waiting a long time. A lot of ladies I know including myself would never do the chasing. I wish I could but agggghhhhhhh! Rejection! Plus there's that myth/truth that blokes don't like women doing the chasing. Any truth in that?

well in my world the myth is wrong love women chat me up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I'm single because I'm happy being single and don't really make an effort to change that. And to be honest, the idea of being in a relationship sounds good on paper, but when I actually think about, just the thought of it makes me feel boxed in. I'm used to living very independently, running off on a whim, making my own rules. The thought of a serious relationship - while it has its perks, no question - just makes me kind of sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭LeBash

Clearly cause there is nobody good enough for me :D

Im not single, but I am soon to be single and will love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'm often struck by the cynicism and negativity on Boards in general when it comes to meeting people - it just does not reflect the world as I know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

migozarad wrote: »
    IMO there is absolutely nothing wrong with a woman doing the chasing as body language experts reckon women send at leas 32 different signals on average to a prospective mate,but a man only notices 1..so it kinda makes sense for women to get the ball rolling (no pun intended)

So don't keep it to yourself, spit it out boy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Dudess wrote: »
    I'm often struck by the cynicism and negativity on Boards in general when it comes to meeting people - it just does not reflect the world as I know it.

I'm always up for meeting new people-love it!
    Though alot of my various different friends are quite happy to stick to their little circles and not let new folks in as easy.

Plus alot of folks here seem to have been hurt in the past and find it hard to get over the experiences.
    Better to try and get over it and stay single until you do...rather than bring that baggage into a new relationship. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

kowloon wrote: »
    So don't keep it to yourself, spit it out boy!
    He could be on about:

"Oh my God, I can't believe she's talking to me.........maybe she's talking to some handsome bloke behind me and I'm just standing here in the middle of them.........ooooooooh man!..........or........or maybe she's a mental patient...........oooooh dammit!!....."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Not being good-looking and the beergut for a start.:p

Tbh, I do get the attention from girls, moreso than the better looking lads but I think it's because I'm not an ass to them moreso than them fancying me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

It seems Irish men and women both have it easier with foreign men and women, we just can't get along with each other.

Maybe we should just stick to the foreigners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I think I've had a few girls kind of come onto me the odd time when I'm on a night out, but I seem to just freeze up and don't do anything. It's weird.

I can think of one particular night when two different girls gave me very strong come-ons and I just didn't react. It's so stupid.

Got to love grabbing defeat from the jaws of victory.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Piste wrote: »

But why would having a partner limit what you could do, any more than any other friend would? If I was with anyone who "told" me not to go out, they'd get a PFO pretty quickly.
    Basically because you have to account for each other in your plans. I'd figure if you don't then whats the point of a relationship. Of course, yea there's a balance, but that part of it is there. Now in the early days of being in mad pash love that's fine even welcome, its down the line where it can get restrictive. Especially if a few years down the line, you see the diffs in each other that rankle.

Look at PI etc and you'll notice the pretty obvious pattern of breakups around the three year mark. The honeymoons over and people figure, nah not worth continuing. Others continue as they may figure there's no alternative(more chance of splitting at 25 than at 35) and the lucky few IME are actually compatible. Its a helluva emotional and time investment and leap of faith. An investment I would be very wary of making again.

This is so true, I've noticed it from reading TLL, RI, AH and PI threads over the years, it gets very hard once you hit around 30 and your social circles start to narrow.
    It depends. I know people who had a much better social life after 30 than before. More men than women though. In general I would be far more concerned to be a single woman at 35 than a man. TBH if I had a daughter I'd advise her to get somewhat settled into something long term before 30, not after. While I do know plenty of women who got loved up at 30, 40 or 50, their choices are less and it's much harder. With a son I wouldnt be nearly as concerned unless he was a more passive shy guy.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

God this is a bit of a depressing read!
    I'm 36, female and singe. I was in a 2 or 3 long term relationships until I was 32. I was ill then for about 3 years during which time I wasn't going out at all and lost touch with a lot of people. I'm better now but I still don't go out much and its kind of hard to meet people in my living room! I have had a few non serious things over the past couple of years with completely unsuitable people which were a bit of fun.
    So yeah, I'm not in a relationship but I think I'd like to be.
    Not really sure what to do about it tbh..

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭fairycakes

I am with the single and and would like to be in a relationship but find it hard to meet men. I am nearly 30 and I have no single friends left so don't get out as much as I would like, also you get to a stage when you do meet someone you like you don't mess around you just go for it just got to find the right guy to go for it with easier said then done!

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭jonnygiles

Rodar08 wrote: »
    Hmm.. I've been in 2 long term relationships that didn't work out so that's why I find myself in my late twenties and single. Of course - they regretted EVER letting me go! :p
    Hooked your post didn't give me much hope lol but you made good points. I'd think I'd have to agree with kumate_champ07 and say - there is no guy out there good enough for me! :p:D Seriously tho, It's like finding a needle in a haystack out there. Where is heee????????

Im right here!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Jesus Wibbs, way to kick a gal when she's down :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

"Why are you single?"....Isn't that one of the worst questions you can be asked? I'm single because I am!

The back hair doesn't help either... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,027 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Why are most people single? Simple, Choice. The opposite sex's choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Why am I single? ...because my ex told me she was dying from lieukimia and did not want me to have to see me suffer, so she f*cked off back to Italy, made an instant recovery and then got engaged :rolleyes:

...well....you did ask!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Wtf?!

kingtut wrote: »
    Why am I single? ...because my ex told me she was dying from lieukimia and did not want me to have to see me suffer, so she f*cked off back to Italy, made an instant recovery and then got engaged :rolleyes:

...well....you did ask!
    Sorry but this made me giggle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭seanaor

Im single cause im 'different'. And as yer man says in Cool Runnings, ''people are afraid o' whats deefrent''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Piste wrote: »

It's not so much that you can't do stuff, but as Wibbs also pointed out, you kind of have to account for where you are going and what you are doing. Also, if you don't want to go out with your friends you can easily skip on nights out and it doesn't necessarily affect things to a great degree. Can you imagine having a partner and not wanting to go out anywhere for a period of time? Because they're your OH, there's an obvious requirement to spend time with them, but you're also obliged to spend this time on events and nights/days out etc. While there's nothing wrong with that, there's no way you have the same amount of freedom to do what you want.

You always have to take your OH into consideration and even if you don't want to go out or go do something, you're silently obliged to do so most of the time.

Like I say I could go a few weeks or longer without going out at weekends and it doesn't bother me that much. But I don't think I'd get away with that if I had a gf as most likely she'd be wanting to go places and do stuff more than me. I'm not really one of these people who feels they have to be out socialising every weekend.

I like being able to do what I want. I can go out for a few weeks straight, get drunk, dance away, lie on the couch all the next day hungover and I've no-one to answer to and no-one expecting me to go do stuff when I'm hungover etc.

I'm not saying I don't want a gf or don't have space for one in my life, I would like a gf and I would make space. But I think it's not realistic to assume that a person has the same amount of freedom to do what they want when they have an OH.

And sure even jokingly, how many guys do you know who are married or whatever who when they want to go out say to their friends they need to get a "pass" from their mrs? They might be joking but there's more truth in it that you might imagine.

Kiera wrote: »
    Sorry but this made me giggle :)

Nice to know my misery makes at least one person happy :)

Ah its not just yours tbf :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Jesus Wibbs, way to kick a gal when she's down :(
    Naw you're one o the ones that'll be grand. :)

...well....you did ask!
    Fuuuuuuk :eek::eek: Some people eh? Loooooooney tunes there mate. Can you imagine being stuck with that? You didnt just dodge a bullet, you dodged an intercontinental ballistic missile.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Naw you're one o the ones that'll be grand. :)
    Smooooooth ;)

Ah its not just yours tbf :)

Not that that helps but thanks :D if "sad" posts make you happy do "happy" posts make you sad? lol
    Wibbs wrote: »
    Fuuuuuuk :eek::eek: Some people eh? Loooooooney tunes there mate. Can you imagine being stuck with that? You didnt just dodge a bullet, you dodged an intercontinental ballistic missile.

Indeed and thanks! If I was an ass I could f*ck her over big time but I'm not like that so I'll just wallow (sp?) in the fact that I could :D:D:D

....only problem now is I don't trust women enough to be in a relationship with them (other than as friends of which 99% of mine are female)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

...well....you did ask!

ouch!!! that is awful man

Not that that helps but thanks :D if "sad" posts make you happy do "happy" posts make you sad? lol
    Nah, everything makes me giggle tbh.

everything? ;)

Yup so dont bother *dropping them* :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Diddler82

Single, had a couple of relationships one lasted 3.5 years and a couple around the year mark. Just not found someone yet who can stop my wandering eye, having craic with lads and in general putting playing soccer, work and friends first. I dont believe in settling for someone I am not completely crazy about and will walk away if that happens, which is why I reckon I will die single. But hey! Its better than sharing your life or a few years of it with someone you dont completely love and worse bringing kids into it. Seen it so much the past few years and will never do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Judging by the poll results, a lot of people either seem to have trouble meeting new people or aren't really bothered to get into a serious relationship..

*Lightbulb*

I would like to offer my services to any Dublin or Cork based ladies that fall into either of the above two groups.

I'm tall, athletic, good looking, and have a great sense of humour.

I'm also hung like a donkey, fúck like a tiger and guarantee to leave you with wobbly legs for two days.

Pm for details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

Wazdakka wrote: »
    J

I'm also hung like a donkey, fúck like a tiger and guarantee to leave you with wobbly legs for two days.

You've got a spiky knob?

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Judging by the poll results, a lot of people either seem to have trouble meeting new people or aren't really bothered to get into a serious relationship..

*Lightbulb*

I would like to offer my services to any Dublin or Cork based ladies that fall into either of the above two groups.

I'm tall, athletic, good looking, and have a great sense of humour.

Pm for details.

Rawr!

...well....you did ask!

She is a pathetic excuse for a human being, you're well rid. At first I felt sorry for you, but its the other guy that needs our symptathies right now. Poor bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Schism wrote: »
    Your self esteem? Buck up Tom, you're being hard on yourself.
    Nope Schism, the internet analysed my face and told me I was ugly :(

brummytom wrote: »

Do you seriously think you are? Because you're not at all. You should have more confidence in yourself, girls dig that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

It said you were an 8.something. You're grand.
    You defo need to work on your self-esteem, lad. Confidence, happiness and self-esteem are generally more attractive to women than facial features.
    Buck up!

Quit it you, I've seen you - you don't have ugger disease! And are a funny fucker to boot.

<3 's Norris pic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Do you seriously think you are?

When you get told something enough, you believe it :pac::(