Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are you single?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

brummytom wrote: »
    Nope Schism, the internet analysed my face and told me I was ugly :(
    When you get told something enough, you believe it :pac::(

Dude most of your posts, that I have seen, have been about self pity and self degredation and tbh honest man you seem cool and all but seriously you gotta man up you know.

There are only so much you can get away with ye, so just try to concentrate on your positives and work from that angle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

When you get told something enough, you believe it :pac::(

I've seen your pics too,and you aren't ugly at all!! AND you're in a band, even better :)

*if this is just a ploy to get all the girls to tell you you're cute,well played :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

*NUDGE NUDGE*

"I don't know about you, but the last few posts just made me vomit!"

*WINK WINK*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

*NUDGE NUDGE*

"I don't know about you, but the last few posts just made me vomit!"

*WINK WINK*

Jealous much?

There, have yourself a pity thanks :p

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Kaizer Sosa

bazmaiden wrote: »
    Dude most of your posts, that I have seen, have been about self pity and self degredation and tbh honest man you seem cool and all but seriously you gotta man up you know.

There are only so much you can get away with ye, so just try to concentrate on your positives and work from that angle.

The pity sex angle???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Abitar wrote: »
    Jealous much?

There, have yourself a pity thanks :p

Is this the part where I get all flustered and bothered and try to explain my comments? PFFT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

The pity sex angle???

Pity sex can be great fun.

Never underestimate sex with a girl who has low self esteem...
    Ahhh the things you can do... :eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Abitar wrote: »
    She is a pathetic excuse for a human being, you're well rid. At first I felt sorry for you, but its the other guy that needs our symptathies right now. Poor bastard.
    Yea thinking the same. Poor poor bastard. So she meets this guy and then right away gets engaged? He's still horn struck at this stage. That wont last. Yep poor poor bastard. Though chances are the muppetess had the other guy in the background all along. Hedging her bets.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Wibbs wrote: »
    Yea thinking the same. Poor poor bastard. So she meets this guy and then right away gets engaged? He's still horn struck at this stage. That wont last. Yep poor poor bastard. Though chances are the muppetess had the other guy in the background all along. Hedging her bets.

You said what I was thinking, but didn't wanna twist the knife. Oh well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I think she deserves the monkey analogy... "doesn't let go of one branch until she's got hold of the next".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

think you hit the nail on the head bro, i'm pretty sure i'm currently in a similar situation minus the lukemia bit

see here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Brainy

I am single cos he died......why did no one think of that option for the survey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Apolloyon

I am single because my gf and I broke up four months ago and I'm only just starting to get her out of my system. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

also im not rly dating material...my personality girls dont really like it lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Rodar08

jonnygiles wrote: »
    Im right here!!!

C'mon then JG, man up!!!!! :p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Popsy

single as and from a few weeks ago, think I'll keep it that way for while unless Gerard Butler comes knocking :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I think she deserves the monkey analogy... "doesn't let go of one branch until she's got hold of the next".
    Maybe its just my experience but I've known way more women who do that. Go from one guy to the next with overlap. Often one rebound after another kinda thing too.

Maybe its more efficient though? Rather than moping for ages in between, better to detach in one relationship, while lining up another? Crappy for the person you're doing it to, but as I say more efficient.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Maybe its just my experience but I've known way more women who do that. Go from one guy to the next with overlap. Often one rebound after another kinda thing too.

Maybe its more efficient though? Rather than moping for ages in between, better to detach in one relationship, while lining up another? Crappy for the person you're doing it to, but as I say more efficient.

Cynical as **** but i can see the positives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Popsy wrote: »
    single as and from a few weeks ago, think I'll keep it that way for while unless Gerard Butler comes knocking :)

If Gerard Butler came knocking, I'd INVENT a husband!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

It's not so much that you can't do stuff, but as Wibbs also pointed out, you kind of have to account for where you are going and what you are doing. Also, if you don't want to go out with your friends you can easily skip on nights out and it doesn't necessarily affect things to a great degree. Can you imagine having a partner and not wanting to go out anywhere for a period of time? Because they're your OH, there's an obvious requirement to spend time with them, but you're also obliged to spend this time on events and nights/days out etc. While there's nothing wrong with that, there's no way you have the same amount of freedom to do what you want.

You always have to take your OH into consideration and even if you don't want to go out or go do something, you're silently obliged to do so most of the time.

Like I say I could go a few weeks or longer without going out at weekends and it doesn't bother me that much. But I don't think I'd get away with that if I had a gf as most likely she'd be wanting to go places and do stuff more than me. I'm not really one of these people who feels they have to be out socialising every weekend.

I like being able to do what I want. I can go out for a few weeks straight, get drunk, dance away, lie on the couch all the next day hungover and I've no-one to answer to and no-one expecting me to go do stuff when I'm hungover etc.

I'm not saying I don't want a gf or don't have space for one in my life, I would like a gf and I would make space. But I think it's not realistic to assume that a person has the same amount of freedom to do what they want when they have an OH.

And sure even jokingly, how many guys do you know who are married or whatever who when they want to go out say to their friends they need to get a "pass" from their mrs? They might be joking but there's more truth in it that you might imagine.

God, that sounds like a nightmare. A girlfriend/boyfriend like that would be more like a mother than a partner. I wou;d never want to be in a relationship where I had to explain my whereabouts or cancel plans on the whim of a boyfriend. Likewise I might ask where a boyfriend was out of curiosity, but would never feel like I have to give him "permission" to do anything. Basically I think people should have the same freedom in a relationship as they do in a friendship, that would be a major breakup factor for me, there's no way I could last having to account for everything. I'd also never expect a boyfriend to come out out of "obligation", who wants to spend time with someone who's only there because they feel they have to be? If I felt restricted in what I could do and how I could spend my time I'd be out of there like a shot.

Piste wrote: »
    God, that sounds like a nightmare. A girlfriend/boyfriend like that would be more like a mother than a partner. I wou;d never want to be in a relationship where I had to explain my whereabouts or cancel plans on the whim of a boyfriend. Likewise I might ask where a boyfriend was out of curiosity, but would never feel like I have to give him "permission" to do anything. Basically I think people should have the same freedom in a relationship as they do in a friendship, that would be a major breakup factor for me, there's no way I could last having to account for everything. I'd also never expect a boyfriend to come out out of "obligation", who wants to spend time with someone who's only there because they feel they have to be? If I felt restricted in what I could do and how I could spend my time I'd be out of there like a shot.

I agree. I just think it can be rare that both people are on the same page when it comes to stuff like that.

That's a pity. I think I'll surround myself with cats. And puppies. No-one has to account to a cat or puppy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭quicklickpaddy

That's a pity. I think I'll surround myself with cats. And puppies. No-one has to account to a cat or puppy.

No-one has to account to a girlfriend or boyfriend either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

Damn all you long term relationshippers.

/ jealous rage

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭VampiricPadraig

I am single because I broke up with my first girlfriend 2 months ago.

I have tried my hardest to get a girl, but I fail!

No-one has to account to a girlfriend or boyfriend either

That's what I thought, but it's apparently quite common!

Actually... It's only the single people saying that. The ones that are in relationships all seem to have all the space they want?

Yeah that's a fair point, nobody in a relationship is saying they're stifled.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Yeah that's a fair point, nobody in a relationship is saying they're stifled.

Which is why they're still in their relationship and the single people are no longer in the ones where they felt stifled. The people in relationships are in the right ones - the ones who are single were obviously in the wrong ones, hence, they are now single.

Suddenly this thread got a whole lot less depressing \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Pingu-D

Id say the reason im single is that iv a face that resembles a pitbull licking piss of a nettle!

that and im a gunt at times!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I actually always get told that I look like I'm in a bad mood and so unapproachable. Even when I'm in great form someone might say Cheer Up! (which will actually put me in a bad mood) so I think this might also have something to do with it.
    It's just the way me face looks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

i am a fat 27 year old virgin and i liive in my parents basement and play world of warcraft all day only occasionally surfacing to get a fast food and resupply on cans of jolt cola but im single and remain a virgin by choice

check out my youtube blog
    http://www.youtube.com/user/beebee890

I love that surge of excitement and electricity you get when you see someone new. It's more than just seeing someone you fancy or lust, there's some other indescribable sensation that makes the hairs stand on the back of your neck and give you goosebumps. They take your breath away.

It happens so rarely though and the chances that the person is in a position to do something about it and reciprocates is even more remote.

Might be easier to just get the same feeling by sticking a screwdriver into an electrical socket me thinks. :(

I'm 28, never had a serious girlfriend. Attract girls as much as your average guy does but I'm not great at the bar/nightclub approaches so probably don't get as much lady attention as I might if I could handle the icebreaking a bit better.

Anyway, every girl I have ever fallen in love with (three girls) have been in a serious relationship with me mooning after them beneath a facade of indifference. I'm besotted with one girl at the moment and even though I know the attraction is mutual, I also know she won't leave her boyfriend. It's so bloody frustrating.:( I'm beginning to think that maybe a self destructive streak in me is subconsciously sabotaging any chance of a LTR by seeking out girls I don't stand a chance with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,671 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

unless you seriously different to the average person as well as a complete loaner who never goes out.......its all completely random and a matter of luck...iv been married.. iv been been on my own for a few years... iv had a few relationship that didn't work out for various reasons... now i have a partner and im in a long term relationship...that just the swings and the roundabout of life...remember statistically most people get married at some point in there lives...in other words the chances of being married are way greater that being single over the course of a life time

Anyway, every girl I have ever fallen in love with (three girls) have been in a serious relationship with me mooning after them beneath a facade of indifference.
    Ok can happen.
    I'm besotted with one girl at the moment and even though I know the attraction is mutual, I also know she won't leave her boyfriend.
    My humble? The attraction isnt mutual. Or mutual enough. Simple question I ask and pardon my french. Who is she fcuking?

There's your answer. Sounds cynical? Maybe, but pretty accurate. If you were with someone that was a bit meh from your point of view and then knew someone you were mad about, who you knew was mad about you. Would you not go for it? Yep you would.Male or female you would. You may drag out the old out of guilt or concern, but if you were mad about someone, you would go for it. Unless you were a mentalist, or someone responsible in a ten year marriage with 3 kids, in which case, keep it in your pants or panties. So you're young and free, as is she, people split up all the time when they're not happy, so as I say, who is she fcuking? End of.
    I'm beginning to think that maybe a self destructive streak in me is subconsciously sabotaging any chance of a LTR by seeking out girls I don't stand a chance with.
    Maybe. Maybe its more that its easier to feel something for someone when its not a practical reality. Fantasy is so so much easier to live with. You get the what if feedback and the Oh noes she isnt with me rosemantic feedback too. All without the reality of an actual relationship and all the ups and downs and day to day mundane stuff that can bring. Plus you only have to prove yoruself in your own head. So that shíts attractive in lots of ways.

Again who is she fcuking? If not you, find someone who will fcuk you and you her and all the stuff, up and down that comes with that, especially when you dont wnat to fcuk each other, but still want to be with each other cos of the other good stuff. Better bet.

You wanna girlfriend? As a general rule, take the hint from the word and look at the order the words come in. Go for the girl before the friend. Way easier to turn a mutual attraction into a friendship, than the other way around. Attraction comes first.

My somewhat cynical/practical 3 cents.

She will be mine, oh yes, she will be mine!;)

You wanna girlfriend? As a general rule, take the hint from the word and look at the order the words come in. Go for the girl before the friend. Way easier to turn a mutual attraction into a friendship, than the other way around. Attraction comes first.

My somewhat cynical/practical 3 cents.

That's not for everyone though, I couldn't contemplate having a boyfriend who wasn't my friend first. I view romantic relationships as an extension of friendship, so it'd feel odd trying to become friends with someone I'd agreed to enter into a relationship with. It seems sort of contrived or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I actually always get told that I look like I'm in a bad mood and so unapproachable. Even when I'm in great form someone might say Cheer Up! (which will actually put me in a bad mood) so I think this might also have something to do with it.

I get that a lot. People saying "Cheer Up!", they need to read up on the 'James Dean look'. It used to get you girls, now, not so much

That's not for everyone though, I couldn't contemplate having a boyfriend who wasn't my friend first. I view romantic relationships as an extension of friendship, so it'd feel odd trying to become friends with someone I'd agreed to enter into a relationship with. It seems sort of contrived or something.

I'd 100% the opposite. If I'm friends with someone then we're in the "friendzone" ie (as Mc Hammer so eloquently put it) Can't Touch This. It'd be weird to think about seeing one of my friends. Knowing someone before seeing them would always just be filled with heavy flirting. I've never gone out with anyone being friends with them first. Also... I think that it would make it much harder to approach someone with sexual intent if you were already friends!

The friends first thing only works when both people are interested in just being friends and neither wants anything more. In that case then things can develop.

The problem is when one of the people is interested in being more than friends, but accepts friendship in the hope that something will develop, but who may not admit it. They can be often left disappointed.

For a guy as well, if he went this route, then he makes a move the girl often goes "but we're just friends" and the guy is left disappointed and she then goes off with someone else.

In my opinion, you should avoid this altogether. I'd never advise someone who is interested in another person to just be friends first. It sets the wrong tone for the entire thing. I don't mean you have to rush straight into something serious either. You can take it slow. But there's a difference between taking it slow and agreeing to just be friends where it's a complete coin toss as to whether anything will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I'm single because it was the default setting on my router.

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭fairycakes

No offense but I am a bit scared of your name Thea Tart Watchdog I dont know why!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭hyperbaby

My last boyfriend was a total fecking lunatic and treated me like crap.
    Before the relationship i had trust issues, now they have increased somewhat.
    I discovered on Sunday night that i might be turning into a manhater.
    woo the joys...
    That's why i am single.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

hyperbaby wrote: »
    My last boyfriend was a total fecking lunatic and treated me like crap.
    Before the relationship i had trust issues, now they have increased somewhat.
    I discovered on Sunday night that i might be turning into a manhater.
    woo the joys...
    That's why i am single.

Dont feel to bad, Im a mess of a person and wouldn't inflick myself on some unfortunate soul! I need to sort my shit out first.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭hyperbaby

Well at least you know you are a mess.
    doing all the things he did were perfectly acceptable to himself.

i couldn't be with someone right now anyway, i am totally gaga right now.
    i'll probably end up killing the next guy i'm with.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

hyperbaby wrote: »
    i couldn't be with someone right now anyway, i am totally gaga right now.
    i'll probably end up killing the next guy i'm with.

I better be careful of the next woman I'm with so, just incase!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,027 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I once dumped someone for being a vegetarian so with an attitude like that is it any wonder I'm single. It's that Seinfeld attitude when looking at the opposite sex/relationships.

djhunter30 wrote: »
    Dont feel to bad, Im a mess of a person and wouldn't inflick myself on some unfortunate soul! I need to sort my shit out first.

Know the feeling. After the last relationship I had ended it took me ages before I thought I could be in another one, and even at that stage I was incapable of given anything a fair go.

So I kicked back I tried to enjoy the single life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

fairycakes wrote: »
    No offense but I am a bit scared of your name SlasherMcGurk I dont know why!!! :rolleyes:

Maybe I'll change it to PuppyDogEyes or MassiveWallet