Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

I'm looking for grappling and striking gloves.

• 05-04-2010 5:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭

Ideally something like these but not as expensive. Looking to buy 5/6 pairs. Mullens on capel street has been promising to have the "fightrite version" in for the last few months, but no joy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

www.ultimatemmasupplies.ie

Up in Airside Business Park in Swords.

They sponsored the recent Rumble in Rush event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Maybe it's my bias against MMA, but is any of that stuff any good? I mean, is it image of substance? They seem to specialise in T-Shirts, shorts and hoodies, which is fine if you're looking for the latest fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Boston wrote: »
    Ideally something like these but not as expensive. Looking to buy 5/6 pairs. Mullens on capel street has been promising to have the "fightrite version" in for the last few months, but no joy.

Just as a word of warning, the "fightrite" MMA gloves that I have seen are gel filled. They are heavy and awkward - I wouldn't use them for any sort of grappling or striking training or sparring. That's why they're cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭ittmixedmartial

i reccomend getting the hayabusa ones from ultimate mma supplies they r delivered quickly with great service :)

Well I'm looking for sparing gloves more the competition gloves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Kerikosan

Hey boston, I can put you onto the guy who supplied our C.I.T MMA Club in the College Really good gear! really good prices on A pair of focus pad and mitts also.

we use it regularly and find it top notch :)

Fancy I pm you the details?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Kerikosan

P.S we will be up at the MMA competition on Sunday the 11th if you'd like to check out the gear we can bring up some with us n such.

All of the fighters we are bringing own and wear the Shorts n Gloves for the competition but we always use these in training anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

Maybe it's my bias against MMA, but is any of that stuff any good? I mean, is it image of substance? They seem to specialise in T-Shirts, shorts and hoodies, which is fine if you're looking for the latest fashion.

What's this supposed to mean? Like seeing Wayne Rooney endorsing a under armour tshirt and saying I don't really like Premiership soccer so it's underarmour is probably a gimmick.

Usually when people go looking for these hybrid gloves they're looking for something that will let them bash people in the face and grapple safely. I'm afraid, unless someone wants to correct me, that this just isn't possible. even with 16oz gloves you can knock someone out so with 8oz grappling gloves it's a real possibility.

Ring fightlord up anyway and see what they recommend/deals they have on, if you're getting half a dozen they might sort you out with a discount.

Sure. We've no shortage of focus pads, but another supplier is no harm. Does he have a site, cause I'll not buy anything without seeing it first. The chap in mullensports tried to sell me competition gloves (for the third time) today after I specifically asked for sparring gloves.

What's this supposed to mean? Like seeing Wayne Rooney endorsing a under armour tshirt and saying I don't really like Premiership soccer so it's underarmour is probably a gimmick.

Jack of all treats, master of none. I'm looking for a retailer of martial arts equipment not martial arts merchandise. When I see a retailers main business is selling hoodies and other fashion items, it makes me wonder if the gloves and pads they sell are also just fashion items.
    Usually when people go looking for these hybrid gloves they're looking for something that will let them bash people in the face and grapple safely. I'm afraid, unless someone wants to correct me, that this just isn't possible. even with 16oz gloves you can knock someone out so with 8oz grappling gloves it's a real possibility.

The idea is to soften blows. The same punch, with the same force, will land more safely using sparring gloves then using competition gloves. Yes you can still be hurt, but the risk is reduced.
    Ring fightlord up anyway and see what they recommend/deals they have on, if you're getting half a dozen they might sort you out with a discount.

Unless something changes, I'm going to probably go with the chaps Makikomi pointed out and get these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Unless something changes, I'm going to probably go with the chaps Makikomi pointed out and get these

Cant see how you'd go wrong with those.Along with Hayabusa, Bad Boy make some of the best MMA equipment in the world.Never seen anyone complain about any of their gloves,shin pads,head guards etc

Jack of all treats, master of none. I'm looking for a retailer of martial arts equipment not martial arts merchandise. When I see a retailers main business is selling hoodies and other fashion items, it makes me wonder if the gloves and pads they sell are also just fashion items.

The idea is to soften blows. The same punch, with the same force, will land more safely using sparring gloves then using competition gloves. Yes you can still be hurt, but the risk is reduced.

I was actually just up there myself, it's a genuine place. I just think to make ends meet in MMA you have to sell all the merchandise cos there isn't 1000s of people doing MMA and certainly aren't many who don't get everything online. Like the Mullen's MA shop, he has to sell made stuff like swords and dart boards.

Well Mullen's doesn't exactly fill me with confidence. Hopefully these guys will be more straight.

Just speaking from experience through the years, I've never come across anything of quality from Mullens.

Have a look at MMA Supples up in Swords, or give MeaveD a PM and checkout her 'FightLord' line of gear.

fella I know went looking for a judo gi in mullens and came out with a black ninja suit. I always reckon he was bit of a cowboy.

Last time I was in the shop there was a pair of junkies browsing nunchakus, yer man had no problem serving them either. Bah. Pissed off with them trying to sell me completely unsuitable equipment like I was some fool.

fella I know went looking for a judo gi in mullens and came out with a black ninja suit. I always reckon he was bit of a cowboy.

Paul?.

No, someone else. (I think).

Only asked because we'd a guy started Judo with us, went to Mullens (despite being told not to) and turned up wearing a black Ninja suit.

Even their 'Fight Rite' branded belts are horrible things.

They've done it twice? Lol. Ah, yer man recommended I rip off the my club and claim more then I paid for the pads we got there. Dodgy.

yeah my fella was a Chinese student studying in DIT. To be fair, I think the fella said he could get any colour he wanted, it didn't matter in judo. And he picked black cos it looked the best. It was of a light material too, like a kratty suit, so it wasn't really useful for Judo. I don't think I've ever got anything out of there. I even to MAI instead to buy MMA gloves (which should still be in Trinity btw).

They've done it twice?
    yeah my fella was a Chinese student studying in DIT.

Defo twice so, because the closest our Paul has gotten to China is a chicken curry & friend rice after a few gargles!.

The black suit he showed up in, well it wasn't like a karate suit, more like a heavier tea towel material - I felt sorry for the poor lad and sold him an almost new Mizuno Ichiban (worn once for half a class) for half price.

Now that you mention it, one lad turned up in a bright Red suit, I must ask him where he got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

Have you looked at blitz sports? I don't know about their gloves specifically, but their stuff in general is pretty good value, usually fairly solidly made, and built to last, just not very snazzy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

You are better off getting the Sandee (best) or Fairtex (second best) sparring MMA gloves. There aren't the cheapest but that's for a reason. They will last so much longer than the crappy cheap ones that in the long run they will work out as good value anyway.
    Sid wrote:
    Sounds like a pretty sweet deal to me tbh! :)

www.ultimatemmasupplies.ie

Up in Airside Business Park in Swords.

They sponsored the recent Rumble in Rush event.

I went with these lads in the end. I'll let you guys know how it went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭da-bres

www.ringsportireland.com

I just ordered 16 0z gloves and head guard off them, they supply mma , wrestling, muai thai and boxing gear.. Next day delivery, really helpful I'm ordering my gear from them for now on.

da-bres wrote: »
    www.ringsportireland.com

I just ordered 16 0z gloves and head guard off them, they supply mma , wrestling, muai thai and boxing gear.. Next day delivery, really helpful I'm ordering my gear from them for now on.

The OP has got his gloves, thanks for your input all the same.

It might be an idea to throw your suggestion into THIS THREAD.