Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do if you won the lotto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

If I won a serious amount like 160 mill or something I would walk into work wip down my pants and tell the boss to suck on it (hate my boss) then stroll outside jump on his 2010 range rover and take a hot steaming dump on the roof, then get a pink pimp suit with a diomond incrusted walking cane and take a stroll around the city centre with about 20 hot girls and loads of paid for goons:D:D:D:D.
    Then drive around to all those who have hated me and life roll down the window of the limo and drop a 1 cent coin out of it give them a nod and tell the chauffeur chives (also the personal buttler) to drive off haha. Then do all the boring stuff like buying houses, cars looking after family and close friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

lcrcboy wrote: »
    tell the chauffeur chives (also the personal buttler) to drive off haha.
    You sir are obviously a pleb, totally unused to riches and the trappings of wealth. Chives is a herb, Jeeves is a butler. Also no self-respecting butler would be seen dead driving, you need a chaffeur or better yet a chauffeuse. ;)

I suggest you stop dreaming above your class and aim for a good second-hand caravan in Bettystown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

On a euromillions win.......
    Complete all the home improvements that Ive been putting off due to lack of cash (Basically turn the place into a palace!)
    Call a Ferrari dealer and order a 458 Italia (while im waiting the 2 odd years or whatever to take delivery of that, Id buy a Range Rover Sport and a big Diesel BMW 5 series. (Just thinkin of the envir-na-ment like!)
    Book into a top hotel in New York for 2 weeks and while there go looking for a penthouse and possibly a mansion in the leafy suburbs.
    Then get back and spend some serious time working out how much I should give family members n friends.

Would finally look into setting up one or more businesses, employ good people to run them and then spend the rest of my life travelling the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

1st wrote: »
    You sir are obviously a pleb, totally unused to riches and the trappings of wealth. Chives is a herb, Jeeves is a butler. Also no self-respecting butler would be seen dead driving, you need a chaffeur or better yet a chauffeuse. ;)

I suggest you stop dreaming above your class and aim for a good second-hand caravan in Bettystown.

go away will ya its only a funny little fantasy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Willie Stroker

I would buy boards , and then destroy it !! After I enjoyed spending money in America and being a lazy ass ! Difference between being a lazy ass now and if i won the lotto is i would be a rich lazy ass :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'd buy golden leg bands for my chickens. I'd also take out contracts on my neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Travel is good

I like the idea of setting up a charitable foundation like Bill Gates, maybe for homeless people. I like having enough money to live on, I wouldn't be into the flashy trappings of wealth. Fancy cars don't mean much to me. Though maybe I'd splash out on a nice house in Ballsbridge or somewhere..

I'd like to see my family looked after, mortgages paid off & maybe enough for them to set up their own business.

I would feel too guilty having a lot of money myself, so would like to make sure the money achieves a small bit of comfort to others.

Obviously, I'd love to travel more (see my signature!). New Zealand, Hawaii, Far East...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I'm gonna buy a bunch of beat up hondas and drive 'em into a wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Wizard007

If I won the euromillions hmmm

First, pay all my bills and put every single thing on direct debit / standing order.
    Then put away a fund for my daughter when she reaches 25.
    Then decide who in my family and friends I'd help out - have to be careful not to offend anyone here and also careful of fair-weater friends and all that.
    Then hire a housekeeper to come in a few days a week ( and do grocery shop and put away, and the ironing )
    Then, order a sapphire black bmw 5 series gran turismo for myself and a DB9 for himself and have a fuel tank at home like the farmers do.
    Book Bruce Springsteen and the E Street lads for a major gig in Slane and a mega party afterwards.
    Get a builder in and do all the stuff to the house, inside and outside, that I ever wanted to do including a gym.
    Do something for a charity or organisation anonymously.
    Hire someone to do all the parts of my job / work that I hate doing.
    Hire someone to do my job when ever I feel like just having a day off.
    ( I couldn't give up work, I'd go demented, though mostly I nearly go demented from it anyway )
    Get all the best equipment for our business and expand.
    Hire a gardener to do all the garden stuff I don't like doing and get the best gear available for all the stuff I do like doing.
    Buy an out of this world kennel for my dog with a bed and duvet etc.
    Have a standing order with a florist for flowers once a week.
    Go out and buy ever make of Caterpillar womens boots I can find.
    Go to New York for 3 weeks.

That's all I can think of for now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

Bet it all on red :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I`d buy any company I ever worked in, and fire any cnut who ever pissed me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 SchweppesUTD

I would buy Chelsea a decent player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 SchweppesUTD

I would buy Chelsea a Wayne Rooney.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭joannaman

I would murder Ryan Tubridy and get Johnnie Cochran to defend me :). Shame he's dead though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Red or Black ????????:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Condi wrote: »

Yep keep it quiet, stay in my cold 1 bedroom for the rest of my life...but eat caviare on the sly when the neighbours arent watching:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭nehpets10

I would buy stuff for people and have parties in big houses with free booze and I'd travel the world.

And I'd fund my own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Move home, immediately...then start dolling out cash to my nearest and dearest. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭jonnygiles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭jonnygiles

Condi wrote: »

Some things cost so much in life, profile names are priceless....

Hmm wonder if theres a username called mastercard on boards come to think of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

Carbon fibre bones like the Na'vi in Avatar.

Oh and an Avatar..

The things we could do.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭MultiUmm

Piss off out of dear aul Eire for starters. A nice little villa in the Mediterranean maybe. Livin' the life of a banker. (sorry, i just felt really tempted....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

-Pay off outstanding debts.
    -Pay off Mom and Stepdad's mortgage.
    -Buy Mom and Stepdad a lovely medevil vineyard in the south of France and furnish it with a combination of antique furnishings and chic/techy gizmos..
    -Buy my brother a cosy little cottage/taverna in Amsterdam and subsequently, never see him again... :rolleyes:
    -Learn how to drive and buy an original 1988 Delorean, a 1956 candy-apple red Firebird Cadillac, a 1960 Volkswagon camper van and possibly a Bubble Car.
    -Buy my way into having American citizenship and get places in Florida, New York and Las Vegas.
    -Set my best mate and her hubby up in a swanky apartment/house of her choice and give her enough money to ensure she never has to worry about rent, bills, medical expenses or any other finacial stresses ever again.
    -Realize my dream of owning an outfit personally designed for me by Vivianne Westwood.
    -Lear how to fly and with the aid of a co-pilot, use my own private jet to travel all over the world.
    -Pay my father and stepmother a small nominal fee to be slapped with a dead fish twice daily everyday until they die or the slapper runs out of smelly fish.
    -Hire Gok Wan as my personal stylist/dresser/ confidence boaster.
    -Convert an old meat-packing factor in Germany into a house with a dungeon in the basement and fill it with Gothic art, Dahli paintings and barely legal blonde hunks in tight shorts and nothing else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

McChubbin, I do hope you realise that after all of that decadence & spending, that you would be broke & back at square one again?!!

But i'll be richer than God! D:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

McChubbin wrote: »
    But i'll be richer than God! D:

Your positivity is infectuous - I like yr style of thinking!

That's not the only infectious thing about me! :pac:

...I'm told my laugh is quite contagious. What, were you expecting a joke about herpes or something? Sick bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

i would leave the country right away. i owe money to the odd person here and there and they can whistle for that 60 quid

:P

Thought of a few new ones:

-Buy my way into the Oscar judging panel and rig it so the most random, cheesy, offbeat movie of the year (possibly staring Rob Schnider) wins Best Picture.
    I'd also have Robert Downey Junior as my chaperone. Mmmmm...

-I'd then bribe Shane Dawson into marrying me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

McChubbin wrote: »
    Thought of a few new ones:

-Buy my way into the Oscar judging panel and rig it so the most random, cheesy, offbeat movie of the year (possibly staring Rob Schnider) wins Best Picture.

Thats already been done...every year:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭red herring

I would invest my money in sensible places and get super powerful so the goverment had to listen to me. Then I'd make them all resign. Then I'd set up my own political party with funding from my lotto win, and I'd get the best academics and the best brains in the country and pay them to work for me. I would get a mix of doctors and smart people to run the health sector. No mary harney types I would deport her to ethiopia for charity work to make her slim down. I would fund barnardos because they are great.
    I would set up a scheme for college students to help out in new shiny homeless hostels and with children in barnardos, and with old people (I love old people) in return for grants for their education. I would change the leaving cert so its not one big exam but a series of exams throughout 6th year.
    I would get lots of interest for my money and be super powerful! then I would run for taoiseach and pay mary robinson to come back to ireland and help us with human rights campaigns. I would employ a posse of body guards like in kill bill. I would also have an elfin posse of bodyguards dressed like the elfs in lotr and they would all carry bows and arrows ands travel everywhere with me. I would employ a makeup artist to do my makeup before public speeches.
    I would buy a plane and learn to fly. I would make a tuatha de dannan fairy fort style fortress my home, and hold pagan dances around fires. I would have a massive library in my house with a ladder to the bookshelves. I would hold meetings with my cabinet at a big round table in my fort like in the knights of the round table. And I would have a stream flowing through my house with wild salmon. :) If only......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Why don't real rich people ever do any of these cool things?

A waste, I tells ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Woooohoooo

boobies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭super_sweeney

was discussing this with the misses a few weeks ago...

how come no one that has won the lotto or a significant amount of money has opened a decent theme park in ireland. We were saying based on our legends you could make an amazing them park and make a tone of money. yet no one has done it yet?

reckon if i won the euro millions(lotto would not be enough) its the first thing i would do. you would make millions and millions and then bring a ton of tourism to ireland like disneyland does and thus stimulate the economy and create more jobs ect ect ect

legend of an idea if i say so myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭swordofislam

i would set up a blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Lord Derpington

how come no one that has won the lotto or a significant amount of money has opened a decent theme park in ireland. We were saying based on our legends you could make an amazing them park and make a tone of money. yet no one has done it yet?

I thats the key word there, we have a half arsed one that is basically just a glorified farm Tayto Park.
    If only they did it right.
    Even something the tiny size of Oakwood would be very busy, a massive amount of people travel to Oakwood every year and its crap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Pay off mortgage firstly. Then I would give some cash to my parents and sisters.
    Then I would start buying really nice gifts for my wife and myself. Gifts such as new cars, holidays etc.

I would a little to all family members except for the ones that are up their own arse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

was discussing this with the misses a few weeks ago...

reckon if i won the euro millions(lotto would not be enough) its the first thing i would do. you would make millions and millions and then bring a ton of tourism to ireland like disneyland does and thus stimulate the economy and create more jobs ect ect ect

legend of an idea if i say so myself

Because a decent theme park would cost billions and would not be as profitable as you would think sorry to burst your bubble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

I'd come on here and tell you guys "I won the Lotto"... but no one would believe me..... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I used to have loads of fantasies about this, but I always ended up worrying about tiger kidnappings, so I've stopped :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

i've been watching Entourage a lot lately.

i'd go to LA and set up a talent agency and become the new Ari Goulde. that guy kicks ass...the agency he set up with Babs only set them back six million dollars - that's only about 3.5 mill euros. i'd need the change for a new aston martin and to get my kids into a nice jewish school. after that, it's plain sailing; simply abuse the homo assistant and spend my evenings dreaming up witty insults and honing my condesention skills so as to impress my new Hollywood friends. now THAT would be the life...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭swordofislam

I'm not a homo but can I be your assistant ?

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭michelledoh

We had this convo last night because the euromillions was so much!

my boyfriedns mother asked him what he would buy her if he won:
    My bf: would you move house?

His ma: no

Bf: a dishwasher then...

Out of €100,000,000!!! You should have seen her face! Disgust is not the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Buy a Rolls Royce Phantom.

Put taxi plates on it.

Give people rides back from the Blanchardstown Centre and the like in a full uniform, for the normal taxi-fare.

What's the point in having a million Euro if you can't share the fun and put a little enjoyment in people's lives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

I'm not a homo but can I be your assistant ?

no. only homos need apply - there's much more scope in insulting and being condesending to a homo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

Wouldn't it be sickening if you died from the shock of winning the lotto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I still reckon they should split those extravagant jackpots by 100 and improve a lot more people's/families lives.

€100 million is just a ridiculous amount.