Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Floodlit Soccer Team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭daaave

1.Shy_Dave!
    2.Ziedth
    3.nkay1985
    4.Fergal
    5.tombliboo83
    6.alco.29
    7.alcos mate kieth
    8 Darren Huckerby
    9.MickClince12118
    10. kevthefonz
    11. mailrewop
    12. deise 48
    13. deise 48's mate mark
    14. daaave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭MickClince12118

1.Shy_Dave!
    2.Ziedth
    3.nkay1985
    4.Fergal
    5.tombliboo83
    6.alco.29
    7.alcos mate kieth
    8 Darren Huckerby
    9.MickClince12118
    10. kevthefonz
    11. mailrewop
    12. deise 48
    13. deise 48's mate mark
    14. daaave
    15. MickClince12118's mate Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

1.Shy_Dave!
    2.Ziedth
    3.nkay1985
    4.Fergal
    5.tombliboo83
    6.alco.29
    7.alcos mate kieth
    8 Darren Huckerby
    9.MickClince12118
    10. kevthefonz
    11. mailrewop
    12. deise 48
    13. deise 48's mate mark
    14. daaave
    15. MickClince12118's mate Brian
    16. Ziedth's mate Tomas

and we can assume that mark and his mate will be along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,191 ✭✭✭kensutz

Sorry lads I have to pull out from tonight. Suffered on the bike today and feeling unwell.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭tombliboo83

Decent game tonight, however I feel it would be better to sort players out in positions and maybe get a couple of full length 11 a-sides going as it is a completly different game to everyone doing what they like. Also who is going to make the decisions and pick the team??FLS starts in 2and half months and its important to think like a football club.Would be ****e to be humiliated cos I think the quality is there to have a good team but we need a coach and assistant coach to pick a fair team..maybe if people stated what position they want to be in it might help and someone fair steps up to help give direction and possibly connect via facebook to identify faces etc.Anywhoo back to bbc world cup-Gary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 kevthefonz

right so,
    Kev- 30
    Preferred position- up front

Seeing as i have zero fitness, i wouldn't pretend for a second that i'd last anywhere near 90min, so i'll happily hop in as an assistant manager as i've coached at under age levels before.

Next.............;)

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭alco.29

have to agree with tombliboo there. What we need is some structure and guidance. Just a suggestion but the father played ball for years and done some coaching before and he said that he would be willing to come down and have a look. Maybe he could work with matt as he is the organizer of it... What would people think of that?

Think thats a great idea, exactly whats needed, someone outside the group to come down and have a look. Then possibly pick a team for a challenge match based on what he sees. If someone who is playing picks the team I think it will bring nothing but hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

All sounds good to me lads. There's definitely a bit of quality there but the on-field organisation is ridiculous. Yesterday we had myself and Alan at the back and 4-6 people in the opposition half. The opposition had a line of defenders, then a big hole, then two or three of the lads taking the long ball and running at us. The problem is that on such a small pitch, people are always going to drift into this mentality. On a bigger pitch we'd be able to assign positions and it's more obvious when you're out of position then. And having someone from outside is an excellent idea, although they'd need to see a few games to have an idea of people I guess?
    kevthefonz wrote: »
    right so,
    Kev- 30
    Preferred position- up front

Judging by a couple of those strikes yesterday, up front is a good place for you!

Niall - 25.
    Preferred position - Happy enough to play full back.

have to agree with niall there, kev definitely has to be in pole position for striker after yday.

Mick -21

after yesterday i think id be more suited to a defensive role

cb/dm/fb

• Registered Users Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Shy_Dave!

Dave - 23
    Forward

I would 100% agree with getting someone in. It's the only way it could possibly work,

The problem is I'm not sure who there is up for playing for a team in September and who is happy out just playing the game on a Monday for a bit of craic.

I think before we get himself down that is the first thing we should do!

Anyway,

Matt, 25

prefered position- Impact sub RM or
    CF

also my mate who was there yesterday said he'd play in September if needed. E

Tomas, 27

prefered position- CF or CM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭natnifnolnacs

Does anyone know when the games run from September? Is it a mid week thing or is it weekends? I'll only be available weekends really rom September, but I'll stick down my info anyway

Fintan - 28

preferred position - Left back at the moment and am happy to play there, as I build up fitness I reckon I can make handy left winger

We should find out then who is playing for Sept. The games are all weekday nites Mon-Fri.

Gary 27-Central Attacking midfielder or Left sided midfielder

my mate kieth 26 goalkeeper.

Alan 29 dm or rb

So will i ask the father to come down maybe in two weeks time say. And dont worry if im not up to it he wouldnt think twice about not playing me... There wont be any favours there!

Maybe even next week if he can, it wouldn't hurt for him to have an early look at us. We need to look toward playing a full pitch friendly as soon as we establish who is serious about the FLS and not just the kick around. Then we can shape a squad. Theres only about 10 weeks left til Sept. I hear the quality is fairly good in the FLS so we need to be as prepared as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Jonathan - 28

Preferred position - CM but could play on either wing as well. If pushed I can play LB or RB.

Don't really have the height to play CB but could still do a job there if needed. But passing and moving would be my main strength so somewhere in the midfield would see me at my most effective.

Ah go on then, Monday at 7:

1)Shy_Dave!

1)Shy_Dave!
    2)Jose "Matt" Rodriguez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

1)Shy_Dave!
    2)Jose "Matt" Rodriguez
    3)nkay1985

1)Shy_Dave!
    2)Jose "Matt" Rodriguez
    3)nkay1985
    4)MickClince12118

1)Shy_Dave!
    2)Jose "Matt" Rodriguez
    3)nkay1985
    4)MickClince12118
    5)Alan
    6)Kieth

1. Shy_Dave
    2. Jose "matt" Rodriguez
    3. nkay1985
    4. MickClince12118
    5. Alan
    6. Kieth
    7. Tombliboo83 (Gary)
    8. Davvve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

1. Shy_Dave
    2. Jose "matt" Rodriguez
    3. nkay1985
    4. MickClince12118
    5. Alan
    6. Kieth
    7. Tombliboo83 (Gary)
    8. Davvve
    9. Jonnyfingers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭mailrewop

1. Shy_Dave
    2. Jose "matt" Rodriguez
    3. nkay1985
    4. MickClince12118
    5. Alan
    6. Kieth
    7. Tombliboo83 (Gary)
    8. Davvve
    9. Jonnyfingers
    10. mailrewop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 kevthefonz

1. Shy_Dave
    2. Jose "matt" Rodriguez
    3. nkay1985
    4. MickClince12118
    5. Alan
    6. Kieth
    7. Tombliboo83 (Gary)
    8. Davvve
    9. Jonnyfingers
    10. mailrewop
    11. miroslav klose.....bye bye england!!!!

I love It Kev

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

kevthefonz wrote: »
    1. Shy_Dave
    2. Jose "matt" Rodriguez
    3. nkay1985
    4. MickClince12118
    5. Alan
    6. Kieth
    7. Tombliboo83 (Gary)
    8. Davvve
    9. Jonnyfingers
    10. mailrewop
    12. deise 48

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr check raise

1. Shy_Dave
    2. Jose "matt" Rodriguez
    3. nkay1985
    4. MickClince12118
    5. Alan
    6. Kieth
    7. Tombliboo83 (Gary)
    8. Davvve
    9. Jonnyfingers
    10. mailrewop
    12. Deise48
    13. Mr check raise

Hate to bring it up but will we be going ahead if it is pouring rain?
    I think it is meant to ease off tonight but whether it does before 7 is unsure.
    I've got no problem playing in it as long as I know others will be there, I'll be coming in from Tramore.