Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Just got my tickets for match's, I had thought they said we would be getting better tickets for match this season, stuck in Block 112 on the South Stand Lower. Stuck in the cornor, had better seats last year in 135 on North:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

Uhm, obviously got too excireeeh. Bath, the British version of Brive. ;)

Big Nelly wrote: »
    Just got my tickets for match's, I had thought they said we would be getting better tickets for match this season, stuck in Block 112 on the South Stand Lower. Stuck in the cornor, had better seats last year in 135 on North:mad:

Where's your ST in the RDS?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

.ak wrote: »
    Where's your ST in the RDS?

Anglesea Terrace

• Registered Users Posts: 24,762 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Big Nelly wrote: »

Ah no way!? I'm on the Terrace too. Talk about getting shafted. If I wanted to watch the game from the South or the North I'd have bought a ST for either end, not the Terrace. I wasn't overly impressed with our seats last year either and ended up buying extras and giving mine to others. This group thing that they've done this year though means that I won't be doing that.

Flip it anyway! :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,156 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

South stand season ticket holder and got mid to 3/4 way up in Blk 115. I'm happy with that.

Aren't terrace tickets the cheapest? Where else would they be putting you?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Somewhere with a view comparable to that of the terrace at the RDS. Blocks 121 and 128, up the front, for example.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

I'm Angelsea Terrace too and have tickets towards the back of block 114. I'm hoping it'll be okay. I was in the front row for one of the August internationals and hadn't a feckin clue what was happening on the pitch. I hope it'll be better this time, although I expect to rely on the big screen quite a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,137 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

tolosenc wrote: »
    Somewhere with a view comparable to that of the terrace at the RDS. Blocks 121 and 128, up the front, for example.

Would you like for them to pull out the seats and put in walls to obscure a proportion of the pitch as well so you get a similar terrace experience?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

35k tickets gone for munster game.

Might be about 45k there in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

durkadurka wrote: »
    35k tickets gone for munster game.

Might be about 45k there in the end.

Excellent.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,156 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

There is still a few weeks to go. I don't remember any major ads for it so the 35K ain't bad.

I suppose the terrace is the tricky one to place really. Altho I remember the seating for ST holders last year was a mess. I had a decent angelsea seat front row, so they just mimicked it by putting me pitchside in around the same area. Problem with that is pitchside seats in Aviva are a joke. You're literally BELOW the pitch cuz the pitch is raised.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,842 ✭✭✭billyhead

Anyone know if season tickets are still available. I know we are a few games into the season but was wondering if they sold out all the allocation?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

We were in lower south 113 for 3 the games last season (Munster, Clermont and Leicester). We have season tickets in the North RDS stand.

(Went for premium south for the Toulouse match for an extra tenner. Fantastic view).

Lower South is a grand view. Would have no problem being in there again. We were about half way up and you could see everything no probs. I have heard people complaining about the front rows though...

I dont think so, it would be cheaper to pay to go to every game at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

billyhead wrote: »
    Anyone know if season tickets are still available. I know we are a few games into the season but was wondering if they sold out all the allocation?

They close ST sales a few weeks before the league starts back. They don't go on sale again.

They do however put out some good packs on ticketmaster, so look out for those. Last year they did 3 games for 50 quid i think it was (Connacht, Saracens and Osprey?)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,762 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Yeah and I do get the logic, but I didn't get my ST in the Terrace cos of the price. I generally find there's only one small part of the pitch I can't see from the Terrace so the view has never really been an issue. I prefer the side on view and fact that we're close to the action too. I then lose what I got the ticket for in Landsdowne.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Heres the lanky lads hoping to make it with Leinster! Good luck to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Couple of interesting points in today's Times:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/1018/1224305993624.html

Another immediate issue for Schmidt is Cillian Willis. The former Blackrock scrumhalf has provided impressive cover for Eoin Reddan and Isaac Boss on a short-term contract. “I’m talking to Cillian today,” Schmidt continued. “We want to see what he wants to do first and foremost. He is now 26 so he wants to play. I think he has really enjoyed playing week to week over the past six to eight weeks but with Isaac Boss and Eoin Reddan coming back that makes it quite tight. We’ve also got John Cooney who is a development player looking to get a bit of time as well.
    “There is an A game this Friday against Ulster at 6pm at Donnybrook so there are still games but whether we can manufacture enough competitive games to keep Cillian interested is something we need to have a chat about.”
    Shane Horgan sees a knee specialist this week while a fit again Andrew Conway could feature on Friday.

While I have been really impressed by Willis so far, is it of any benefit for either Leinster or the player's career to have him sitting in the stands? Let him go off in search of more game time I reckon.

Not liking the sound of that Horgan update...

CatFromHue wrote: »
    There is still a few weeks to go. I don't remember any major ads for it so the 35K ain't bad.

I've seen a good few bus stop ads about the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,842 ✭✭✭billyhead

Just wondering how come there are no 20 euro tickets on sale to the general public on ticketmaster for this game

RaboDirect PRO12 - Leinster V Ulster
    RDS Arena
    Dublin
    Mon 26 Dec 2011, 17:30

Is it just becasue it falls on St Stephens Day that they decided to inflate the costs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Couple of interesting points in today's Times:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/1018/1224305993624.html

Another immediate issue for Schmidt is Cillian Willis. The former Blackrock scrumhalf has provided impressive cover for Eoin Reddan and Isaac Boss on a short-term contract. “I’m talking to Cillian today,” Schmidt continued. “We want to see what he wants to do first and foremost. He is now 26 so he wants to play. I think he has really enjoyed playing week to week over the past six to eight weeks but with Isaac Boss and Eoin Reddan coming back that makes it quite tight. We’ve also got John Cooney who is a development player looking to get a bit of time as well.
    “There is an A game this Friday against Ulster at 6pm at Donnybrook so there are still games but whether we can manufacture enough competitive games to keep Cillian interested is something we need to have a chat about.”
    Shane Horgan sees a knee specialist this week while a fit again Andrew Conway could feature on Friday.

While I have been really impressed by Willis so far, is it of any benefit for either Leinster or the player's career to have him sitting in the stands? Let him go off in search of more game time I reckon.

Not liking the sound of that Horgan update...

yeah, especially with the talent in the back 3, it could be hard for him to get anywhere once he recovers. I honestly hope it ain't as bad as it sounds, his form the last few seasons has been great, especially under the high ball re-start! Plus it would be a terrible end to his career if he just fades out.

RE: Willis.....it would take some amount of Schmidt squad magic to successfully juggle 3-4 scrum halves.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Just wondering how come there are no 20 euro tickets on sale to the general public on ticketmaster for this game

RDS Arena
    Dublin

Is it just becasue it falls on St Stephens Day that they decided to inflate the costs?

Generally there's no €20 tickets on sale for a big ML game in the RDS is there?
    Think North and South Stands are €30.

durkadurka wrote: »
    I've seen a good few bus stop ads about the place.

Yeah I went out after posting that and saw two ads in bus stops and heard another ad on the radio so it turns out I was completely wrong!

There is usually 2 tiers for ticket pricing. The first tier would be for inter pros and Heineken cup games and the north/south stand tickets would be 30 euro. Most other games as far as I know are in the second tier and so the north/south stand tickets would be 20 euro.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

RDS Arena
    Dublin

You have to remember that the Leinster/Ulster Stephens' Day game is traditionally a big seller. A lot of Ulster fans come down for it every year. Can't see them ever offering cut price tickets for that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Were the last 2 1/2 minutes of the route 66 video just black for anyone else? Lots of GAA shorts on show which is good to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Were the last 2 1/2 minutes of the route 66 video just black for anyone else? Lots of GAA shorts on show which is good to see.

Same for me.

Heres some interesting interviews about route 6'6".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

RE: Willis.....it would take some amount of Schmidt squad magic to successfully juggle 3-4 scrum halves.

In one sense maybe, another way to look at it is that if one of Redden or Boss gets injured we are down to an academy player on the bench for big games.

Or if Redden / Boss starts for Ireland during the 6N again and the other is injured we are out of Scrumhalves on a full contract.

I think it would be quite unusual for Leinster to leave ourselves with just 3 scrumhalves to be honest, especially given that one of them is a completely untried academy player.