Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Has anyone heard anything about Dom Ryan's injury?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Could we not just get Seanie to carry the stadium from town to town? Surely that's the easiest solution to bringing rugby to all ends of the province!

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

pajunior wrote: »
    Before you worry about the spectators view ye might want to worry about the law of physics which won't allow a regulation running track to fit around a regulation GAA pitch :rolleyes:

True, unless the running track wasn't regulation and was longer.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

wixfjord wrote: »
    Jesus you'd be a long way away from a rugby pitch if it had the dimensions of a GAA pitch and a running track around it, and it was a small stadium.

From the back of the Hill in Croker for example was far too far away to enjoy a game.

Not sure it's something which architects purposely focus on, but they've got this very right with the Aviva, and it feels a lot more intimate than Croker.

Agreed. Actually I think the best stadium in Ireland for this is Thomond. I've sat pretty much everywhere there and the view is great from every seat in the house, and the steep angle gives you the feeling you're ontop of the pitch even when at the back.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

.ak wrote: »
    True, unless the running track wasn't regulation and was longer.

Who would use a non-regulation running track? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

pajunior wrote: »
    Who would use a non-regulation running track? :confused:
    when theres no alternative, One of the few indoor running tracks in Ireland is a 300m track in magherafelt, co derry

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

ormond lad wrote: »
    when theres no alternative, One of the few indoor running tracks in Ireland is a 300m track in magherafelt, co derry

300m is extremely large for an indoor track, most are 200.

Anyway we aren't talking about training or indoor tracks we are talking about a track for a sporting arena so one which would hope to host grand prixs and even european and world athletic championships. They're not going to take place on a 500m track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Apparently was able to hobble badly but left in an ambulance.

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭geekington

GerM wrote: »
    Apparently was able to hobble badly but left in an ambulance.

I'd be very worried about this - would love to see him get more game time at 7 with O'Brien and Heaslip playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭EKClarke

This whole article is just rubbish though. Leinster have worn blue for (AFAIK) the entirety of their history. Dublin used to wear white a long time ago. It's not as if Leinster swtiched to blue to piggy back on Dublin's success!

Also, a large and growing amount of Leinster fans (such as myself) are from outside the county of Dublin.

What are Dublin GAA trying to say here exactly?

Dublin, if I remember correctly, used to wear blue and white stripes until the colours ran in the wash and they ended up with the colour they us now.

And Leinster may claim to be a 12 county team but the Leinster Branch never had too much time for us when I was in school. I remember once Roscrea rang our coach looking to use our jerseys for a match even though they were at home and a coin wasn't even flipped, but the LB told them they had to change jerseys. They don't have a lot time for schools outside of Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Bad noises coming out of the Herald this afternoon

http://www.herald.ie/sport/rugby/heinke-we-have-score-to-settle-2935371.html
    He was also due to hear news on the result of a scan and subsequent specialist opinion on flanker Dominic Ryan’s injured ankle from Leinster ‘A’s British & Irish Cup win at Esher on Saturday. It doesn’t look good.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

EKClarke wrote: »
    Dublin, if I remember correctly, used to wear blue and white stripes until the colours ran in the wash and they ended up with the colour they us now.

And Leinster may claim to be a 12 county team but the Leinster Branch never had too much time for us when I was in school. I remember once Roscrea rang our coach looking to use our jerseys for a match even though they were at home and a coin wasn't even flipped, but the LB told them they had to change jerseys. They don't have a lot time for schools outside of Dublin.

I don't know when you were in school, but that's 100% definitely not the case now.

Also, that example is fairly weak if that's what your judging your argument on!

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭davidpfitz

I don't know when you were in school, but that's 100% definitely not the case now.

Why are Roscrea considered part of Leinster Branch, rather than Munster? Roscrea is in Tipperary, so I assume there must be some kind of historical reason why Roscrea school plays in the Leinster group.

davidpfitz wrote: »
    Why are Roscrea considered part of Leinster Branch, rather than Munster? Roscrea is in Tipperary, so I assume there must be some kind of historical reason why Roscrea school plays in the Leinster group.

Roscrea Town is in Tipperary however the college itself is just outside the town and sits on the border with Offaly

• Registered Users Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Roscrea Town is in Tipperary however the college itself is just outside the town and sits on the border with Offaly

The playing fields are in Leinster, so I've been told.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Yeah the school's line is that the rugby pitches themselves are in Offaly, and so they are a leinster school when it comes to rugby!

It was only a few years ago. I mean they had the home advantage, even though it was on a neutral ground, I think, and the LB told them they had to switch jerseys rather than Belvedere who were supposed to be away. Anyway the way my coach acted it seemed like Dublin superiority, and I'm not having a go at Dublin with that.

EKClarke wrote: »
    It was only a few years ago. I mean they had the home advantage, even though it was on a neutral ground, I think, and the LB told them they had to switch jerseys rather than Belvedere who were supposed to be away. Anyway the way my coach acted it seemed like Dublin superiority, and I'm not having a go at Dublin with that.

There's no set rule but it's actually a common enough tradition for the home side to switch strip in the event of opposing sides having the same colour.
    Italy often wear white in Rome against France in Blue and vice versa in Paris. We also do similar by wearing white against the Springboks in Dublin.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Fairly sure it is a set rule for international matches. Though there have been exceptions made when asked for.

The idea was always that if a visiting team turned up and there was a clash of strips, then the home team would find it much easier to get access to a change strip.

There's no set rule but it's actually a common enough tradition for the home side to switch strip in the event of opposing sides having the same colour.
    Italy often wear white in Rome against France in Blue and vice versa in Paris. We also do similar by wearing white against the Springboks in Dublin.

Ah yeah but that wasn't the case. We didn't have second jerseys and Roscrea were basically told to play in different colours, or spend money to design and buy a second jersey only used once. As I said I'm not having a go at Dublin its just they tend to have a preference for Dublin teams. You would only notice it if you played for a school outside of the greater Dublin area.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

For years counties outside of Dublin weren't bothered with. It is for this reason that I, as a Kilkenny man, have supported Munster since I first started following rugby. The culture is different. For better or worse Leinster rugby has always been associated with D4 and the elite fee paying schools. To be fair this has changed somewhat over the past few years, although signs remain. Literally. The "D4tress" banner does nothing to help this image.

Ah, this old chestnut again.

Personally, I think the D4tress banner is brilliant. It's an excellent pun (something I thoroughly enjoy) and more to the point the stadium is in D4 so it makes perfect sense. On top of all this, encouraging growth in the game and expanding to new areas is all well and good, but it shouldn't come at the expense of your original fan base. Seemingly pride in where you come from is ok when it's a countryside, working class background but not okay when you happen to be from D4. It's an absolutely ridiculous double standard.

And no, I'm not from D4. Not that it matters.

(also, I'm not entirely sure what Munster have done to "bother with" Kilkenny either).

Whereas the banner might make perfect sense it still alienates a large portion of supporters within the povince. It is a cultural thing. There is nothing wrong with having pride in where you come from but the point was that this was done to the exclusion of a large number supporters outside the affluent areas of Dublin as rugby was seen to be inaccessable and the domain of the elite. This was not so in Munster. Also Ian Dowling, a proud Kilkenny man, won two european cup winners medals with Munster.

There is nothing wrong with having pride in where you come from but the point was that this was done to the exclusion of a large number supporters outside the affluent areas of Dublin as rugby was seen to be inaccessable and the domain of the elite.

How on Earth does the banner do that?!?

I'm not going to deny Leinster had problems in this area in the past (nor am I going to agree that they were as large as people make out though). I don't recall ever having to pass an affluence test in order to be allowed into Donnybrook or the RDS...

The banner shouldn't alienate people. The stadium is in D4. It's a fortress. That's it. If people are alienated by it they're being rather stupid or are just going out of their way to be offended. A "D4 based team that represents all 12 counties of Leinster and people of all socio-economic backgrounds tress" banner doesn't have quite the same ring to it.

Turns out it's not actually the Bull Hayes' field either.

I realise the stadium is located in D4 but whether you like it or not the banner ties Leinster rugby to a certain stereotype which they are still trying to shake off. A harmful stereotype. It has connotations with a certain socio-economic lifestyle, a lifestyle that is only sustainable for very few and this served to alienate a large population outside of Dublin. A large part of Munsters appeal over the years was their ability to remain accessible to everyone. You might argue that they played up to the "working class heroes title" but it has paid dividends. They have one of the best relationships of any club with their supporters because of this. Whether you think this is stupid or not is irrelevant, it worked.

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭jk86

I realise the stadium is located in D4 but whether you like it or not the banner ties Leinster rugby to a certain stereotype which they are still trying to shake off.

If you associate a postal code with a "certain stereotype", that's your problem, not Leinster Rugby's.

But, hey what do I know? I'm from Carlow and I support the D4s :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Whereas the banner might make perfect sense it still alienates a large portion of supporters within the povince. It is a cultural thing. There is nothing wrong with having pride in where you come from but the point was that this was done to the exclusion of a large number supporters outside the affluent areas of Dublin as rugby was seen to be inaccessable and the domain of the elite. This was not so in Munster. Also Ian Dowling, a proud Kilkenny man, won two european cup winners medals with Munster.

I'm a northsider. I went to a public school in a working class area. I only started following rugby fanatically in my late teens when Munster were taking off and Leinster were also rans. I don't feel alienated. That banner is an obvious play on words and nothing to do with being a cultural thing. It appeared after Leinster went to massive lengths to include all 12 counties in their marketing. Do you really think they would purposely do something to try and re-establish the fading stereotype? The stadium is in Dublin 4 and has become somewhat of a fortress over the years. It wasn't going to take a genius to come up with it.

Leinster are my province and I'm proud to be from there. The Leinster branch never needed to make me, nor many others, feel special for me to support them. Indeed, nor did the Munster branch, but people gravitated towards Munster on the basis of wanting to be associated with the perceived Munster culture and to distance themselves from the Leinster one. The efforts or lack of effort by the respective branches to include people did little to influence who people supported; the marketing played a big part though. Leinster have done a brilliant job in marketing themselves in recent years which has seen the support increase massively. Would it still have increased if they hadn't won 3 trophies and in the last 3 years? Hell no. A lot of people will support who they want and a lot of people will say something along the lines of "feeling a connection" to a side when there is none. People, for the most part, didn't feel included by any single province more than any other when provincial rugby was taking off 10 years ago. They simply wanted to distance themselves from a perception and associate themselves with another.

The special link between Munster and their supporters is a marketing tool and one that they should be applauded for. They managed to get a lot of people to buy into it and believe it. Success breeds popularity and they tapped into it massively. The fact that some of the greatest Munster players of the past decade are from quite wealthy backgrounds and privately schooled was managed wonderfully well (by rarely being mentioned). For example, Munster currently have more players from a private school background than Leinster in their squad. I don't know who the Munster marketing guru was for the first 5 or 6 years of the millennium but they deserve a serious bonus.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

I realise the stadium is located in D4 but whether you like it or not the banner ties Leinster rugby to a certain stereotype which they are still trying to shake off. A harmful stereotype. It has connotations with a certain socio-economic lifestyle, a lifestyle that is only sustainable for very few and this served to alienate a large population outside of Dublin. A large part of Munsters appeal over the years was their ability to remain accessible to everyone. You might argue that they played up to the "working class heroes title" but it has paid dividends. They have one of the best relationships of any club with their supporters because of this. Whether you think this is stupid or not is irrelevant, it worked.

You're talking absolute crap, and I can't believe this is still going on.
    First of all, you're the one who has this issue, and you're the one who is stereotyping.
    You're also the one who supports a difference province.
    Again we hear this "working class liginds" ****e, which was media portrayl. Have you ever listened to some of the posh Cork and Limerick accents at a Munster game?!
    Munster only had a good relationship with people because it was winning, have you seen that relationship lately? Attendances are down and I've never seen more bitching and **** slinging than on Munsterfans at the moment.

On Leinster, it's your problem if you associate it with a "D4" thing. If you'd ever been to a Leinster game, or seen the makeup of the team, you'd know that.
    Leinster supporters are now from every part of Leinster. There are huge crowds coming from Wexford for example. probably the furthest county away from the RDS.

I think you've been reading too much Ross O Carroll Kelly. You support your province, not based on a "socio economic lifestyle", but on a love for your province, but as a Lunster, you may not realise that.

I can't believe people still think like this. Once again, people are influenced by things they here and the media. If you look at the Munster squad, you'll find how many are not from a privileged "socio economic" background. Do you think Glenstall, Munchins, CBC, PBC, Villiers etc are all salt of the earth working class lads aswell?!

Actually, how many of the Leinster fans on here are from Dublin 4?!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

apparently SOB is now wearing Uggs while on his Massey Ferguson to feel a bit more D4ish when back on the farm

Truthfully I think Leinster are always going to suffer some what from being stereotyped. Even if we shake off the D4 thing, some people will then just start complaining that "oh sure it's only a Dublin club and has no link to any of the other counties."

• Registered Users Posts: 24,313 ✭✭✭✭phog

You're talking absolute crap, and I can't believe this is still going on.
    First of all, you're the one who has this issue, and you're the one who is stereotyping.
    You're also the one who supports a difference province.
    Again we hear this "working class liginds" ****e, which was media portrayl. Have you ever listened to some of the posh Cork and Limerick accents at a Munster game?!
    Munster only had a good relationship with people because it was winning, have you seen that relationship lately? Attendances are down and I've never seen more bitching and **** slinging than on Munsterfans at the moment.

On Leinster, it's your problem if you associate it with a "D4" thing. If you'd ever been to a Leinster game, or seen the makeup of the team, you'd know that.
    Leinster supporters are now from every part of Leinster. There are huge crowds coming from Wexford for example. probably the furthest county away from the RDS.

I think you've been reading too much Ross O Carroll Kelly. You support your province, not based on a "socio economic lifestyle", but on a love for your province, but as a Lunster, you may not realise that.

I can't believe people still think like this. Once again, people are influenced by things they here and the media. If you look at the Munster squad, you'll find how many are not from a privileged "socio economic" background. Do you think Glenstall, Munchins, CBC, PBC, Villiers etc are all salt of the earth working class lads aswell?!

Actually, how many of the Leinster fans on here are from Dublin 4?!

You're also talking crap, Munster's special relationship couldn't have been down soley to winning, we didn't win the H/C until 20006, our support was massive from 2000. Have you realised we're in a recession maybe the privileged still the same disposable income but I know I dont and now pick and choose what games I go to, hence I didn't travel to the Aviva this season.

I know nothing of CBC and PBC but the majority of pupils attending Munchins would be from a working class background.

What's the population of Leinster and Munster?