Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

VDM has been average this season while McGrath has been good. Wouldn't be upset to see him go.
    McGrath has been good in patches but we need to see more of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I can't really remember a game where Van De Merwe played outstandingly well this year. I can remember one or two where he was caught out (Munster is one).

It is important to have people like him in the squad, but I think McGrath is better, with a much better future. I would hope if VDM stays he will be 3rd choice. Not really worth wasting an NIQ spot on a 3rd choice prop when well have a 3rd year academy guy and 2nd year academy guy capable of playing LH is it? We need to do our prop fairy duties.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

I can't really remember a game where Van De Merwe played outstandingly well this year. I can remember one or two where he was caught out (Munster is one).

It is important to have people like him in the squad, but I think McGrath is better, with a much better future. I would hope if VDM stays he will be 3rd choice. Not really worth wasting an NIQ spot on a 3rd choice prop when well have a 3rd year academy guy and 2nd year academy guy capable of playing LH is it? We need to do our prop fairy duties.

I thought he was impressive to the point of influencing the Glasgow away game imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

would you let White go as well? Is it time to bring Hagan through, too good to be 3rd choice TH imo.

It might be a good idea to bring an absolute brilliant prop who can play both sides (not sure who bring stan back maybe) then for the big games you would have Healy Ross NIQ and whichever of Hagan and McGrath is doing better recently

I think Greg Feek will make a call on White at the end of the season. Hagans scrummaging mightnt be good enough to leave him as 2nd choice. Let's hope he is because it would potentially leave us with a fully IQ pack, which would be some achievement.

I dunno if we'll get an ambipropsterous NIQ or whether we'd need one. Specialisation seems to be favoured now with 23 man squads.

Either way the IQ future is bright at Leinster. Healy/Ross/McGrath/Hagan are all capable of some level of H Cup rugby imo, and we've got more to come from the academy it seems with a world class coach to sculpt them.

A front row squad of Healy, McGrath, OConnell, Tracy, Strauss, Cronin, Sexton, Ross, Hagan, Furlong/Moore would be lacking in experience in an injury crisis though (can't see any if those first year academy guys playing next season). White will probably be necessary, unfortunately for Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,762 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I think Greg Feek will make a call on White at the end of the season. Hagans scrummaging mightnt be good enough to leave him as 2nd choice. Let's hope he is because it would potentially leave us with a fully IQ pack, which would be some achievement.

I dunno if we'll get an ambipropsterous NIQ or whether we'd need one. Specialisation seems to be favoured now with 23 man squads.

Either way the IQ future is bright at Leinster. Healy/Ross/McGrath/Hagan are all capable of some level of H Cup rugby imo, and we've got more to come from the academy it seems with a world class coach to sculpt them.

A front row squad of Healy, McGrath, OConnell, Tracy, Strauss, Cronin, Sexton, Ross, Hagan, Furlong/Moore would be lacking in experience in an injury crisis though (can't see any if those first year academy guys playing next season). White will probably be necessary, unfortunately for Ireland.

I don't get this "unfortunately for Ireland" bit though. We're 1 of 4 provinces (1 of 3 if you're the IRFU). It's not up to us to provide all of the players to the national squad. And providing Healy, Ross and Cronin now with the strong possibility of providing not just Strauss but also Hagan in the next season or so we are more than doing enough for the national side in the front row. We're clearly bringing through the Irish players already so Leinster having NIQ props isn't hurting the national side. The fact that the other provinces aren't bringing them through is really what is costing us.

Whites presence in the Leinster squad is no bad thing. In fact it is affording us the time to get Hagan up to speed. If something like that allows us do the same with other talent coming through later down the line then it only benefits Leinster and Ireland in the longer term.

molloyjh wrote: »

I don't get this "unfortunately for Ireland" bit though. We're 1 of 4 provinces (1 of 3 if you're the IRFU). It's not up to us to provide all of the players to the national squad. And providing Healy, Ross and Cronin now with the strong possibility of providing not just Strauss but also Hagan in the next season or so we are more than doing enough for the national side in the front row. We're clearly bringing through the Irish players already so Leinster having NIQ props isn't hurting the national side. The fact that the other provinces aren't bringing them through is really what is costing us.

Whites presence in the Leinster squad is no bad thing. In fact it is affording us the time to get Hagan up to speed. If something like that allows us do the same with other talent coming through later down the line then it only benefits Leinster and Ireland in the longer term.
    What are you not understanding?

I'm not saying we SHOULD be doing it, I'm saying its something that could happen and if Hagan is not in a place to be 2nd choice at Leinster next season, that will be unfortunate for Ireland...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

ambipropsterous

lol

• Registered Users Posts: 24,314 ✭✭✭✭phog

molloyjh wrote: »

Are Leinster fans ever happy, ye'r giving out when players aren't selected and now giving out that you're supplying too many players to the Irish team. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

phog wrote: »
    Are Leinster fans ever happy, ye'r giving out when players aren't selected and now giving out that you're supplying too many players to the Irish team. :confused:

We're not a unit. different leinster fans have different views....

• Registered Users Posts: 17,169 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

So Fitz has been ruled out of the Wolfhounds squad. How bad is his injury really?

I feel sorry for him as he's been in such great form. I doubt he'll get into Irelands 6 Nations squad now due to his lack of gametime. It's terrible for him because he's been one of the best Irish backs this season.

It looks like Steven Sykes is definitely leaving Leinster to return to South Africa. Lock is a big problem right now. Leinster don't have a top class lock and with Sykes leaving we'll only have an injured Cullen, Devin Toner and Damian Browne. That won't set fear into the heart of many teams.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Clegg wrote: »
    It looks like Steven Sykes is definitely leaving Leinster to return to South Africa. Lock is a big problem right now. Leinster don't have a top class lock and with Sykes leaving we'll only have an injured Cullen, Devin Toner and Damian Browne. That won't set fear into the heart of many teams.

Where have you heard this from? It may well be true, but all I've heard to back it up is 'rumour has it', or 'so I've heard' etc.

Have any newspapers picked up on it, or has there been anything said from Leinster management?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭ongarite

The guys on the Leinster Fans website say he has signed a 1-yr deal with the Sharks back home. Looks like an official announcement could be made tomorrow.

Any chance Dom Ryan coming back for Leinster soon? Could be useful to have him back for the Leinster games during 6 Nations if Cullen has his operation & McLoughlin moves to 2nd row as cover.

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Where have you heard this from? It may well be true, but all I've heard to back it up is 'rumour has it', or 'so I've heard' etc.

Have any newspapers picked up on it, or has there been anything said from Leinster management?
    It's only a rumour right now tbh. Some lads I know are saying that his wife gave birth recently which may explain his absence. It still sounds a bit dodgy to me though. He's been absent for quite a while now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

WeeBushy wrote: »

In today's Daily Mail apparently. Not exactly a bastion of reliability but in the media circulation nonetheless. Has been very suspicious for quite some time now. Disappointing if confirmed but sometimes players just don't take to a new place.

Big focus on the likes of Flanagan and McLaughlin now to provide cover if Cullen has the surgery.

I expect Leinster will take another shot at signing a NIQ player in the summer. White, Berquist and VDM all have their deals expiring this summer. Strauss becomes Irish qualified early next season and Sykes appears to be gone. That's a fair bit of work in the transfer market and at the negotiating table for Dawson and Schmidt.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

... we hardly knew ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

GerM wrote: »

Played a total of 197 mins!!!

I remember reading this and thinking it would be good for Ireland to get him playing

Sykes started his career with the Sharks in 2003, playing for the Under-20 side. Standing 1.98m tall and weighing in the region of 115kgs, the big lock forward quickly made a name for himself in Durban and earned his Currie Cup and Super Rugby debuts in 2005 and 2006 respectively.

The former South Africa Under-19 and Emerging Springbok player is determined to play top level rugby and he believes that moving abroad is the right decision for him, both in the short and long-term.

'For me I believe it is a good career and personal move - I want to play international rugby and it would be a fantastic honour to play for Ireland as well if it came about. Before any of that though I am really excited to play for Leinster. I really do believe it is the right move for me.'

Sykes has been an ever-present in the Sharks' line-up in recent seasons. Deciding to leave King's Park has certainly not been an easy decision for him. Speaking about his move he said he did not want to leave Sharks supporters with any doubts about his passion for the 2010 Currie Cup Champions.

'Of course it was not an easy decision to make, I don't for one second want anyone to think I am unhappy here or unhappy at the Sharks; I love the Sharks! I have played over 130 games for the Union and loved every minute of it.

'However I believe that it will be very good for my rugby to make the move and I am looking forward to the experience of playing in European conditions week-in and week-out, learning about their way of playing - which I think will suit me.

'I remember sitting down after I signed the Leinster contract and reflecting on it - it is obviously a massive decision to make. I do believe 100% it is the right choice for me. I am really looking forward to the challenge!

'Leinster is a leading European club, regularly challenging for top honours, and I can't wait to be involved. I think it will be great for me and my wife to get the experience of living there as well.'

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I wish him the best for the future but I found it very hard to warm to the guy after he implied he was coming here for international rugby and then the PR disaster that was the Northampton friendly. Oh and he kept dropping the ball!

Big Nelly wrote: »
    I remember reading this and thinking it would be good for Ireland to get him playing

He was a good signing. He's a very talented bloke and I expect him to settle back into Super Rugby and be a totally different player to what we've seen over the last 5 months. I would agree with CFH though. Very hard to warm to the bloke after the rumours doing the rounds in pre-season of him not getting along in the camp, the Northampton fiasco and his anonymous display in an A game before being subbed. Think he wanted to be back home some time ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I know I said it earlier, but can we have Hines back now, PLEASE?

Nagle for Ruddock swap.

tolosenc wrote: »
    I know I said it earlier, but can we have Hines back now, PLEASE?

There isnt a hope in hell, doesn't matter how many times you post it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Nagle for Ruddock swap.

Done and we'll throw in Denis Fogarty and Duncan Wiliams to, cough cough, sweeten the deal ;)

Nagle for Ruddock swap.
    I'd rather we kept Ruddock tbh.

Although we will have a problem when Dom Ryan returns to full fitness. I think one of them may end up leaving.

I'd rather we kept Ruddock tbh.

Although we will have a problem when Dom Ryan returns to full fitness. I think one of them may end up leaving.

One of them will have to leave, and so why not try and have them leave on our terms in a way that benefits both Munster and Leinster in the long term?

I cannot see it ever happening, but I'd try my hand at it if I were Leinster (or the IRFU, before he moves abroad!)

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

CatFromHue wrote: »
    the PR disaster that was the Northampton friendly
    What happened?

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006