Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

Cronin is Ireland's future standout #2.

I would love to have him

• Registered Users Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

CouchSmart wrote: »
    Really don't agree with that. Strauss is equally as good as Cronin in the loose, perhaps with less pace. He's also an excellent defender and poacher of opposition ball, Cronin will need to add this to his game to overtake Strauss.
    Not at all in my opinion.

Cronin is faster. That is all. Strauss is a stronger ball carrier though, and much stronger in contact.

Cronin has shown he has problems with scrummaging (for Ireland) whereas Strauss is extremely solid in the scrums.

Cronin's lineoue throwing is shakey. Strauss has been the best lineout thrower in the country this season.

Both players are also extremely similar in age.

Lads I think you're getting carried away with Strauss. He's playing well this season but in the loose he can't compare with Cronin. Cronin is a much better athlete than Strauss. Bigger, faster etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

Both players are also extremely similar in age.

Jaysus, I had no idea how young Strauss was, I was thought he was 30 or something. Isn't he able to play for Ireland soon?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

profitius wrote: »
    Lads I think you're getting carried away with Strauss. He's playing well this season but in the loose he can't compare with Cronin. Cronin is a much better athlete than Strauss. Bigger, faster etc.

Don't know why you think we're getting carried away. I would take Strauss over Cronin everyday of the week. Having both would be great.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

CouchSmart wrote: »
    Don't know why you think we're getting carried away. I would take Strauss over Cronin everyday of the week. Having both would be great.

Because I disagree that Strauss is better than Cronin in the loose or even near Cronin. Throwing is a different matter but Connacht fans say Cronin is a solid thrower for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

If Strauss chooses to play for Ireland, I see him ahead of Cronin. He's more physical and holds himself better in the scrums. That said, his throwig has been well below par. Strauss pros - effective at the breakdown, good tackler and scrums well. Cronin pros - he's quick and throws well.

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Oisinjm

jolley123 wrote: »
    If Strauss chooses to play for Ireland, I see him ahead of Cronin. He's more physical and holds himself better in the scrums. That said, his throwig has been well below par. Strauss pros - effective at the breakdown, good tackler and scrums well. Cronin pros - he's quick and throws well.

I'd say that Strauss is infact a better thrower than Cronin. Strauss runs some ridiculous lines. I think its the whole used to be a flanker buzz. But sometimes he just comes in from nowhere. Love it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

profitius wrote: »
    Because I disagree that Strauss is better than Cronin in the loose or even near Cronin. Throwing is a different matter but Connacht fans say Cronin is a solid thrower for them.

You've obviously not watched a lot of Leinster this season.

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Strauss has been heroic this season for Leinster, one of our best players. Cronin arriving would generate competition for the shirt but he (Cronin) wouldn't be coming as nailed on first choice. Both very dynamic, Cronin really does look fast for a front row, but it would be very foolish to underrate Strauss' work rate around the park.

I would welcome Cronin at Leinster with open arms - these days you need two top players in each position, especially specialised roles like hooker. Munster have Flannery and Varley - we need an established second hooker. I'm terrified Strauss will get injured at some point this season.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

I think Cronin would be well capable of starting for Leinster, game time at club level for him, Healy and Ross together could be a very good thing for Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭David900

I've only been able to watch Irish and Leinster games this year so far so I can't comment on Cronin for Connacht, but if his Irish games are anything to go by I'd leave him at Connacht.

I agree with what someone said about Leinster being quite bare in the number two slot, but I kind of like the situation we have now with Strauss really playing well and Harris-Wright improving. It would be terrible if Strauss got injured because HW probably isn't there right yet to step up but he can only get better going forward, looks like an excellent prospect.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,407 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

LEINSTER:
    15: Isa Nacewa
    14: Shane Horgan
    13: Brian O'Driscoll
    12: Gordon D'Arcy
    11: Fergus McFadden
    10: Jonathan Sexton
    9: Eoin Reddan
    1: Cian Healy
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Mike Ross
    4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
    5: Nathan Hines
    6: Sean O'Brien
    7: Shane Jennings
    8: Jamie Heaslip/Dominic Ryan

REPLACEMENTS:
    16: Jason Harris-Wright
    17: Heinke van der Merwe
    18: Clint Newland
    19: Devin Toner
    20: Dominic Ryan/Rhys Ruddock
    21: Isaac Boss
    22: Shaun Berne
    23: David Kearney

REFEREE: Nigel Owens (WRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Tim Hayes, Hugh Watkins (WRU), 4th OFFICIAL: Brian MacNeice (IRFU), 5th OFFICIAL: Barry O'Keeffe (IRFU), TMO: Derek Bevan (WRU)

taken from: http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/6303.php

Eoin Reddan's an odd one. I thought Boss had a great game last week. Good to see BOD back in. Shame for O'Malley.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Thank god dricco is fit, I think we would've seriously struggled to win this one without him. Desperately hope Heaslip is fit, but we have such good depth in the back row that I think if he doesn't make it we can cope better than losing O'Driscoll.

Bring it on Clermont :)

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Reddan :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,407 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

• Registered Users Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Rushing BOD may prove to be a mistake. Kearney on the bench doesn't enstill much confidence either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Wow 11 out of 22 players on the Clermont side are actually French-qualified.
    This must be a record!

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Stev_o wrote: »
    Rushing BOD may prove to be a mistake. Kearney on the bench doesn't enstill much confidence either.

The BOD call looks like one in desperation, he better be ok to play. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Jeebus look at the strength of the Clermont bench. Everyone of them would start for 80% of teams in europe.

This is going to be one hell of a game

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Why must I have an exam from 6 - 8 on Saturday, why?

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Why must I have an exam from 6 - 8 on Saturday, why?

I'm flying at 6:25.
    :(

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

Reddan at 9 is a shock....

But got a bigger shock when I clicked on the wrong 'Leinster Team to face...' link....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

aaaaargh .... Nigel Owens... we're doomed :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

The BOD call looks like one in desperation, he better be ok to play. :(

Oh yeah, absolutely desperate. Picking one of your best players. What is Schmidt thinking?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭Hippo

I share the Reddan apprehensiveness. Fingers crossed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

I'm flying at 6:25.
    :(
    You hope :O
    Airports being hit with weather. All refs have been travelling early, even already for sunday games

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

danthefan wrote: »
    Oh yeah, absolutely desperate. Picking one of your best players. What is Schmidt thinking?

Sarcasm ................ fail :(

Clearly a reference to his fitness or lack there of

JustinDee wrote: »
    You hope :O
    Airports being hit with weather. All refs have been travelling early, even already for sunday games

shhh.

I need to be home for Christmas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I agree that it might be a bit dodgy starting O'Driscoll, but to be honest, we need him more than anything right now and i think he was always going to start this game regardless of how O'Malley faired in the away trip. He just needed those extra few days.

I hope to god he makes the 80, or at least 70. It'd be worth another injury if he got through most of the game and was fully fit for the next round of Heineken Cup games. I'm not sure he'd agree with my viewpoint on that though.

On paper team looks strong, in reality i hope there aren't too many knocks being carried. Hopefully dricco and Heaslips injuries have been played up by Schmidt. O'Brien at 6 suggests Heaslip is going to start. They usually have O'Brien / Ryan and Heaslip / O'Brien in the two positions if it includes a positional switch, no? and there's no way Ryan would be at 8 with O'Brien at 6....

Anyway, excited and nervous for this one!! Any win will do.