Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travellers Racing Horses - Riverbank behind UL

• 13-04-2010 9:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭

Posting this by way of a warning as I'm sure this is going to be a regular pastime.

Was out for a walk yesterday on the Riverbank behind UL and as well as Families, Mammies pushing Buggies and Kids strolling around there was a pack of Travellers racing Horses up and down the narrow pathway.

It was lethal, they were literally galloping up and down the pathway without regard for anyone else's safety and the worst bit was you wouldn't even know until they suddenly charged at you with fcuk all room to get out of the way.

- I know there's a load of politically correct language for dealing with the discussion of Travellers many and varied rights to live a culturally unique and utterly marvellous existence at the total expense of the rest of Society - But I do have to point out that this was utter Scumbag behaviour and if it continues some poor Kid if going to get lobotomised by an out of control Piebald.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭Casperbhoy

was out there myself yesterday evening about 6.30pm, didnt see them

There were 3 men sitting on a bench drinking cans, no travellers on horses though

Would not surprise me, no regard for other people:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Raiser wrote: »

Was out for a walk yesterday on the Riverbank behind UL and as well as Families, Mammies pushing Buggies and Kids strolling around there was a pack of Travellers racing Horses up and down the narrow pathway.

I bet the horses won*

*This is assuming the traveller wasn't being pursued by the Gardai, because nothing moves as fast as a traveller on the run from the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Millie

Was out there last summer and both me and my dog were almost trampled by a traveller and his horse and buggy.
    He was booting it and I only managed to drag the dog onto the ditch in time.
    Thankfully I wasn't listening to my MP3 or we'd both of been run over.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Millie wrote: »
    Was out there last summer and both me and my dog were almost trampled by a traveller and his horse and buggy.
    He was booting it and I only managed to drag the dog onto the ditch in time.
    Thankfully I wasn't listening to my MP3 or we'd both of been run over.

Yeah they are lethal :mad:

P.S. A whole year later and you still just have that one single MP3?

- This damn recession is hell. HELL I tells ya :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

some poor Kid if going to get lobotomised by an out of control Piebald.

And its only until this happens , might there be something done about it , unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,590 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Added to their jaunts around the city zig zagging dangerously through traffic and they really are nothing but a nuisance.

Yeah they are lethal :mad:

P.S. A whole year later and you still just have that one single MP3?

- This damn recession is hell. HELL I tells ya :D

You have now idea Raiser :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Last time I saw a traveller with his horse I witnessed one of the funniest things ever. As he passed a ditch that had a number of large bushes a wood pigeon burst out in panick and flew straight into the side of his face knocking him off the horse in the process. The guy didn't know what hit him.He wasn't hurt but the look on his face was priceless :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

was just beside the university pitch that borders kilmurry village yesterday. Saw at least one of them racing round the field on the cart (not sure what you really call it) absolutely flying it, not a fear of him being able to stop if someone didnt hear him coming.
    this coupled with every time im driving on the parkway road i get stuck behind them on there jaunts is starting to get on my nerves

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

freyners wrote: »
    Saw at least one of them racing round the field on the cart (not sure what you really call it)

A sulkie

• Registered Users Posts: 6,685 ✭✭✭flutered

the horses are known as steppers, they can cover one and a half miles quicker than any derby winner, believe it or not.

flutered wrote: »
    the horses are known as steppers, they can cover one and a half miles quicker than any derby winner, believe it or not.

Not in relation to the Sulkie Drivers - but for the Bareback Limerick Commanches.....

- I read a report before (think it may have been ISPCA ) where they detailed a practise of making an incision in the Horses back and inserting a shard of glass, stitching it up and once 'healed' the Horse could be encouraged to run faster by vigorously and frequently applying pressure to the site......

Not in relation to the Sulkie Drivers - but for the Bareback Limerick Commanches.....

- I read a report before (think it may have been ISPCA ) where they detailed a practise of making an incision in the Horses back and inserting a shard of glass, stitching it up and once 'healed' the Horse could be encouraged to run faster by vigorously and frequently applying pressure to the site......

thats true, most of them usually use a cork screw to "encourage" the horse to run faster when racing

Oh Jesus I feel sick after reading that.
    How in the name of mankind are some people so horribly cruel.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭mike kelly

Casperbhoy wrote: »
    thats true, most of them usually use a cork screw to "encourage" the horse to run faster when racing

If only that technique could be used on themselves to make them go and do an honest days work

Millie wrote: »
    Oh Jesus I feel sick after reading that.
    How in the name of mankind are some people so horribly cruel.

In a lot of cases the Authorities should take the Horses off them - preferably when they are a long walk away from Home at the time......

- I drove past Chawkes one the way towards Finnegans one weekday evening at ~5pm about two years ago, suddenly both lanes of traffic veered to their verges in panic as two Travellers had a Horse Race down the middle of the road heading towards the City followed by 15 Knackers in a Toyota Hillux cheering and waving fistfulls of €50's

Haven't the authorities already taken a lot of horses from them.
    Think I read about it recently but then again I suppose they just keep replacing them.

My heart goes out to the animals that they own, most evenings on the way home from work their goats are weaving in and out of traffic by the Maldron Hotel.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Spotted these lads as I was heading into the gym a few days ago. Three guys around the age of 12-14 from what I could see. I wouldn't call the little yoke that was pulling them a horse either. Possibly a small donkey/mule? Think it was on Sunday afternoon. As I was leaving (about 5pm) they were still on the grounds, but a white security was crawling slowly alongside them. Looked as if they were escorting them off the grounds.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

Would not surprise me, no regard for other people:mad:

No regard for their horses either, racing them like that in the heat we had yesterday. Those trotting ponies are wrecked by the time they're two or three years of age - their legs give in from the constant trotting on hard surfaces. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Builderfromhell

I may be wrong but to the best of my knowledge it is not illegal to tarvel the roads ona horse and cart, or in this case a pony and sulkie. So the gardai need good legal grounds to arrest them when they see them on the road.
    They would have to carry out surveilance to see them racing on the road or at UL. Then they might, at best, get a conviction for dangerous driving.
    Miscreants get a suspended sentence from judge. Gardai then frustrated with waste of time and resources.

As someone posted earlier, someone will probably have to die before action is taken.

Even then, it will probably only be a token gesture by the powers that be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Like A Fox

The Guards can settle it with a good ol' fashioned pony race!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

As someone posted earlier, someone will probably have to die before action is taken.
    Even then, it will probably only be a token gesture by the powers that be

Would not hold out any hopes for that provoking action either. How long has gone now since the gangland laws were passed? A year or so and no convictions under that act in Limerick.

Inaction is the name of the game for the local courts and gardai.

Saw another example of this yesterday on Childers Road beside the Greenpark retail park.

Six scumbags leathering the passing cars and the shops with rocks. Not kids, guys who looked like being in their 20's.

One driver stopped after his window was smashed and got out and got a hiding off of them.

Roxboro Gardai WERE rang as the rocks where being thrown and again when the attack happened. Did they show up? No.

If any garda from the no show station wants to debate it, then I suggest you check your incoming phone logs for my call at 14:12 yesterday. I stood with the guy who got thumped for nearly 25 minutes before he got sick of waiting and decided to go home to clean off his bloody face. I had also walked down behind the scum through oakview drive and into Ballinacurra gardens with Roxboro station on the line telling them exactly where the six guys were going and giving them a description of the ones who were wearing distinctive tops.

People are better off dialling 999 for anytime they need a garda as ringing Roxboro is a total joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

To Joe Duffy with thee..........

I'm not messing by the way, it seems to be the only way to get a response to anything in this country.

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    To Joe Duffy with thee..........

I'm not messing by the way, it seems to be the only way to get a response to anything in this country.

Hate his show :D

I tried contacting the Ombudsman once before, as I was naive enough to think that following the correct channels was the right thing to do, over a similar issue with a no show where somebody got hurt despite a call going in to the gardai about 30 minutes beforehand, and I won't be making that mistake again.

A garda got a warning for negligent behaviour out of it and I had six months of having certain gardai checking me for tax, car insurance, randon visits about supposed calls about noises and whatever other reasons that could be made up to show me that reporting one of them is taken more seriously by them than dealing with actual crime.

Kess73 wrote: »
    Would not hold out any hopes for that provoking action either. How long has gone now since the gangland laws were passed? A year or so and no convictions under that act in Limerick.

Inaction is the name of the game for the local courts and gardai.

Saw another example of this yesterday on Childers Road beside the Greenpark retail park.

Six scumbags leathering the passing cars and the shops with rocks. Not kids, guys who looked like being in their 20's.

One driver stopped after his window was smashed and got out and got a hiding off of them.

Roxboro Gardai WERE rang as the rocks where being thrown and again when the attack happened. Did they show up? No.

If any garda from the no show station wants to debate it, then I suggest you check your incoming phone logs for my call at 14:12 yesterday. I stood with the guy who got thumped for nearly 25 minutes before he got sick of waiting and decided to go home to clean off his bloody face. I had also walked down behind the scum through oakview drive and into Ballinacurra gardens with Roxboro station on the line telling them exactly where the six guys were going and giving them a description of the ones who were wearing distinctive tops.

People are better off dialling 999 for anytime they need a garda as ringing Roxboro is a total joke.

When did this happen, yesterday?..a broom handle was thrown at my car window javelin style last Halloween but these were kids

I thought this kind of behaviour was isolated to that time of the year

When did this happen, yesterday?..a broom handle was thrown at my car window javelin style last Halloween but these were kids

I thought this kind of behaviour was isolated to that time of the year

Yeah yesterday afternoon and these guys were not kids they were adults. Not isolated bahaviour though. There are loads of incidents in that area now. Scum are literally flowing in there daily and doing what they like.

I know that there is a man in Ballinacurra Gardens who has being going to all the houses there and on the main Ballinacurra roads for the last week getting signitures for a petition to get some of the laneways closed off to try and lessen the amount of routes for the scum.

In Ballinacurra gardens alone over the last two weeks, there has been a number of cars with the windows smashed, a couple of cars turned onto their roofs, and house windows smashed as well as threatening behaviour and mass drinking on a nightly basis with the gangs heading back into weston drunk off of their heads in the early hours.

The councillor living in that estate was made aware of the issues but has pretty much kept himself off of the radar in terms of doing anything as usual, then again he is known as being a joke by locals there and is generally regarded as a me fein type. It seems that only two elected officials have gotten involved at all and those two are Joe Leddin and Maria Byrne, with the former being the most active on any issues in the area.

Photographs of damage and of the mass dumping of rubbish and the literally hundreds and hundreds of broken bottles and beer cans were handed in to the city council as well.

I am pretty aware of what is going on there as my mother lives nearby and this year alone I have had to drive there in a hurry after I have gotten a number of worried calls from her over scum going into her garden and ruining plants or scum smashing windows of neighbours and other scummy acts.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

Why is it that the Guards get slated on boards the whole time. You'd swear that they sat in the various garda stations all day doing nothing. Limited manpower, limited availabilty of vehicles etc play a big part in some calls not being attended to quick enough.

Kess,
    You appear to have a major beef with Roxboro. Do you know what size of an area they cover, how many vehicles they have on at any one time, how many calls they get etc. You'd be surprised how many Gardai are on at any one time. As for thinking that you'll get a quicker response if you diall 999, not true, calls are still prioritised.

It's not a case of calling for them & they magically appear!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Childers road is what ... 5 mins from roxoboro garda station , and yet 30 mins later there is still no one on the scene. Its incidents like this imo that the garda "get slated" as you put it.

So what your saying is that if your window got smashed by thugs and you got out and then took a hammering from them , after ringing the garda (5 mins away) and waiting 30 minutes and still no show you would find it ok because they have a large area to cover ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

buzzman wrote: »
    Why is it that the Guards get slated on boards the whole time. You'd swear that they sat in the various garda stations all day doing nothing. Limited manpower, limited availabilty of vehicles etc play a big part in some calls not being attended to quick enough.

Do you think this is ok?