Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

French rugby Updates : Le café du Rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Lucky Carter pulled that horror DG out now and not 2015 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Toulon actually look a bit out on their feet to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Lucky Carter pulled that horror DG out now and not 2015 :D

Runs time off the clock...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

The aerial shots of the Camp Nou are pretty class.

That looked too easy for Toulon - easy conversion too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I think Mermoz was in front of the offloading player.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Toulon finally making yards and the Racing legs looking very heavy suddenly. That penalty is a terrible one to concede. 40m yielded with no resistance.

Halfpenny subbed off.

Racing have to take a tactical penalty here and kill the ball at a ruck.

EDIT: Not needed.

5 minutes left to hold on now.

Camp Nou is above international standard.

This looks ominous. Huge scrum for Toulon in front of the posts.

Has to be a smell of a penalty try coming here to win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Huge decision that.

[edit] actually a lot easier from the other side.

Ah wow. Racing win a penalty!

Is that legal to bring a prop back on who went off injured??

Massive. The change by Laurent x 2 looks like it's a title winner.

How the feck is Tameifuna back on?!

The hook from the Racing player, wow!

Clever clever play by Racing. Fab lineout and now a penalty.

Advantage! That has to be game. Let Carter kick it and win the title.

Dan Carter, I love you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

Tamefuina (or whatever his name is) looked to be driving in at an angle on that scrum, no?

Delighted for Racing anyway

I'll need to dig out the law book as I'm completely befuddled.

That change was the winning of the title. Ducalon stays on and I'd say a Toulon try was likely.

Is that legal to bring a prop back on who went off injured??

This forum would be a fun place if the Boks pull that trick tomorrow.

I assume it's allowed in the Top 14??

Yes!

Carter p*sses ice cubes.

Delighted for Machenaud. Deserved to be sent off but did not deserve to carry the guilt of a title lost.

This forum would be a fun place if the Boks pull that trick tomorrow.

I assume it's allowed in the Top 14??

Must be, cos they did it before. Big call.

Good man ROG!

vienne86 wrote: »
    Must be, cos they did it before. Big call.

I don't agree with it at all.

It's like league with the interchange rule or Gridiron.

No-one here cares because everyone (including me) was for Racing, but I don't like it.

Was Tameifuna injured or "injured"?

If he was marked as injured coming off, he's not permitted to return. That's in the laws and not open to local jurisdiction, as far as I'm aware.

If he's marked as tactical, he can return to the field under certain circumstances (blood, HIA and needing to secure a scrum in the closing minutes of the T14 final, apparently).

In the infamous bloodgate incident, you can hear Owens asking the official if he had marked Evans down as a tactical or injured departure from the game.

As far as I know you're limited to 7 changes. But you can use them roll on roll off if you want. I guess that's why they never brought on a back.

The commentators didn't squeal at all. So it must be OK.

Man, I really hope that isn't generalised across all rugby.

He limped off...

errlloyd wrote: »
    As far as I know you're limited to 7 changes. But you can use them roll on roll off if you want. I guess that's why they never brought on a back.

OK, so it is like rugby league then with an interchange bench.

Time to write a letter of protest.

The commentators didn't squeal at all. So it must be OK.

Man, I really hope that isn't generalised across all rugby.

He limped off...

He more than limped off!

That's just lovely - well spotted, Thomond.

What's with the pink bow tie?

vienne86 wrote: »
    What's with the pink bow tie?

Apparently the Racing Metro team wore them out onto the field when they went on to win it in 1990.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

Buer wrote: »
    If he was marked as injured coming off, he's not permitted to return. That's in the laws and not open to local jurisdiction, as far as I'm aware.

If he's marked as tactical, he can return to the field under certain circumstances (blood, HIA and needing to secure a scrum in the closing minutes of the T14 final, apparently).

In the infamous bloodgate incident, you can hear Owens asking the official if he had marked Evans down as a tactical or injured departure from the game.

Different rules for props though?

Edit: yes, rule 3.14.

If a player is substituted, that player may only return to play when replacing:
    an injured front row player in accordance with Law 3.5
    a player with a blood injury in accordance with Law 3.11
    a player undertaking a Head Injury Assessment in accordance with Law 3.12
    a player who has been injured as a result of foul play (as verified by the Match Officials).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Absoluvely

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Swan Curry

Can't believe I forgot this was on, I've been stuck watching rugby league for the night. Nice to see such a big stadium be filled for rugby.

I thought Phillips was on the bench for Racing. Unless Chauveau covers 9 I don't Racing had a replacement scrum-half.

Edit: Chauveau is listed as a 9 on the Racing site but I'm pretty sure the commentary were calling him a replacement 10.

I thought Phillips was on the bench for Racing. Unless Chauveau covers 9 I don't Racing had a replacement scrum-half.

Doesn't just cover it....he is a 9!

http://www.itsrugby.co.uk/player-zoom-31101-top14-2015-starter.html

Buer wrote: »

Maybe they didn't fancy bringing him on due to age/experience? Anyway they got away with it!

It was a dark day for Toulon. A lot of their signings for this season weren't available (Vermeulen, Nonu) or were just useless (Cooper) and that hurt them. Still they had enough quality in that lineup to win the game. I'd be concerned for them next year, bar Liam Gill and FTD there's not many top players arriving in the summer. Giteau and Habana (both turn 34 soon) look finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,379 ✭✭✭✭phog

From Twitter

Fair play to ROG.
    Ronan O Gara ‏@RonanOGara10 Jun 25

Thanks to players(ex)+coaches @IrishRugby and @Munsterrugby for all the kind messages.Ye showed me the right values required to succeed.

phog wrote: »
    From Twitter

Fair play to ROG.

Well I'm not a great fan of Toulon or Racing, but of the two, I would prefer Racing. Delighted for ROG.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭PetKing

vienne86 wrote:
    Well I'm not a great fan of Toulon or Racing, but of the two, I would prefer Racing. Delighted for ROG.

I wouldn't be a Toulon fan at all, but found myself cheering them on for the sake of a good game, which I got :)
    Still glad to see Racing close ot out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

I'm late to the party but that was a fantastic final. A great publicity for top14. That wasn't always the case lately.

A great performance from Racing. And credits to their coaches for lifting the spirits up at HT. I'm not a fan of their way of playing rugby but you have to give them credit when credit's due. And they're only the third ones to win the Brennus with 2 different clubs (after Laporte with SF & Toulon and Delmas with Biarritz & Toulon (assistant coach with Toulon)).

I just felt sorry for Guirado who played in his "garden" (Camp Nou is the dream stadium for every catalan) and had to get out injured. Unfair end of a great season from him, particularly under the Blue jersey.